reviews for: listing #93704 - Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania House rental

The Good Ol' Days Private House Rental
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $450 /nt
    $950 - $1,350 /wk
    $1,750 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Vintage and luxury simultaneously!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

"My husband, nieces, nephews and I will be talking about this place forever! The kids ranged in age from 8 to 17 and they OOOHED and AAAHED while Melanie took us on a quick tour. We applaud Melanie's attention to detail, accuracy, and hospitality. We believe that the sleeping and bathing accommodations and hospitality to be the best we've had yet. We LIVED here for just a short while but FELT like it was our home and that we knew the folks who had once shared meals at the dining table, told jokes in the living room and played records in the bedrooms. The kids loved their boys and girls' special bedrooms and hungout there when John and I chatted by the Christmas tree with our perculated coffee. We went into the city but only briefly as the kids just wanted to "come home" to Belle Vernon and the rumpus room and their bedrooms. Huge gratitude to Melanie for making our annual Christmas memory so very special and memorable."

Owners response: Beckie,
The pleasure certainly was all mine having you, your husband, and nieces and nephews spend Christmas 2013 making precious memories of their "Home for the Holidays" at The Good Ol' Days House. How lucky & blessed these children are to have such a wonderful, kind & loving Aunt & Uncle who take the time to create lifelong memories with them. You are special and have been an inspiration to me .... so happy to have met you all. Years from now -- it would be super to have these children return with their " future" nieces & nephews for a trip down memory lane....and by then it will probably seem 'prehistoric'! Thanks again for taking good care of your home away from home -- you are very special guests to our family.
Love & God Bless You All!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for family get-togethers

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

The number of period pieces in this house is staggering. Everywhere I looked there was something that reminded me of my childhood. (I was born in 1949.) Melanie Patterson, the owner, has a real passion for collecting '50's, '60's and early '70's articles. Last year we booked the "Good Old Days House" for a cousin reunion, and we had such fun we did it again this year. It will certainly be a tradition we'll maintain for as long as any of us are standing--that's how much fun we had. The accommodations are quite comfortable, and the whole place is squeaky-clean. Melanie cares about every single little detail, and takes good care of her guests. I highly recommend the "Good Old Days House" for any family gathering.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for the Memories from Canada!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

We've just spent an amazing week in your beautiful home. Thank you for opening the doors to the past -- your home unlocked memories that we will treasure for years to come. You are a warm and caring person and your love of live and family fills each room of this dear home. Being a child of the 50s, raised in a Polish Catholic Family, I just 'connected' with so many things in here. I truly felt as if I'd come home. Thank you so much for the treats, breakfast, you are very thoughtful. We wish you and your family all the best. Thanks for the Memories! With warmest regards and heartfelt appreciation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fondly, Fabulous Michigan Memories

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

The "*** Clan" was here from Michigan and had such a fabulous time recalling the good ol' days with reminders in every nook, cranny, drawer, table top, shelf, rack, closet & more --- they were everywhere reminders of how it was back then,
We siblings came here because our dad grew up in Braddock, PA having moved to Michigan married out mother and raised six children born from 1941-1956!.......Dad died in 1983 and Mom in 2012... and so we looked for a place we could all be together just as we were growing up. Somehow my daughter Molly, found this remarkable place where we could all, once again, sit around the dining room table and reminisce. This house was nothing less than perfect.
Then we found Frick Park & what did we stumble upon "The Braddock Trail"!
Thank you Melanie, for the joy and great spirit you brought to our trip; for the wonderful antique store where we were able to find great rememberences of this great trip and for providing the perfect place for so many memories and loads of laughter. We loved every moment. Will all of our affection....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas Stay

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Thank you for your hospitality! We enjoyed chatting with you so much about our former home town. House was a blast & the Christmas Tree made my little girl's heart silly. Mom and I thoroughly enjoyed our travels down memory lane as we discovered so many items we used to have or that my grandmother had. Our friends & family also enjoyed joining us here. We took some special pictures that we will share via email! Thanks again and God Bless.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Get Together

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

Thank you so much for our visit back to childhood -- The house is amazing It was great fun to see all the things our Grandmothers, Mothers, and even ourselves had in past. It was like staying at Grandma's. We had a wonderful time taking in past and visiting with each other. Thanks for sharing your family's home. We all had a great time. Alot of reminiscing and alot of laughs too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

College Girls Reunion Getaway

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

What a wonderful week the three of us college 'girls' had for a little reunion. Memories galore from top to bottom along with the friendships we have made with you. Thank you ever so much for making us feel that your home was our home! God Bless. We want to return soon. We may have to turn this into an annual thing. Your passion for what you do spills over into the house. You have created a very special world for us to experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Duquesne Univ. Graduation

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

Thank you for your hospitality. We had a lot of fun reliving our past in your home. My sons and husband played pinball all night!
Your attention to detail is amazine.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed Pittsburgh Culture/Decor

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

Although we did not spend much time in the house, we really liked the 1950s feel. The kids loved the basement. My little one was after all the door knobs. The elders had a good learning experience of the 1950s American/Pittsburgh culture/decor.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Presidents Day Getaway

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 19, 2013

Thank you so much! We had such a fun time looking around and remembering our past. The basement was the best. The boys enjoyed the barber chairs. Olivia loved the pinball and record player. We had lots of adventures. This was the perfect meeting place for our two clans (from Cleveland & New Jersey) with lots of fun in nearby Pittsburgh. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

50th Birthday

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

Thank you so much for creating a place where people can come together to reminisce. My mom and family had a such a good time during our stay celebrating her 50th birthday. Kids were introduced to toys and games they've never seen (but loved) and grown ups got to say "remember when....."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Repeat Customers- 4 years

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

Thank you for another year in this wonderful house. We really appreciate all you do to help our vacation be very special. We have many relatives and friends and look forward to next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Independence Day

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

Thank you for sharing your 'nostalgic treasures' with us! We love all the ways you've preserved, re-used, and repurposed all of the amazing items. A good time was had by all and we are leaving with some great memories!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

10 year old Guest review

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

I really liked all the stuff in this house. Now I know what it was like in the 50s, old phones, pinball, pacman, way too much to name.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Reunion visit

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

I really love our house a lot! It is very fun to kind of live through another time of history and to see what it was like in the past. Your house has so much detail as well as a great representation of the time/good ol' days!! I look forward to coming back to visit your great house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This place Rules!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

This place rules!! Our entire family had many hours having fun both outside and in the basement. I was my nephew's first game of pinball!! Thanks for your generous hospitality & kindness. When the ***** Clan return to the area we will be paying your sweet house another visit. Take care....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kid's review

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

I like this house. The pimball and the pacman were my fvourites. This house is very big. It has a lot of things. Thank you for this house. Bye!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family from Elkhart Indiana

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

Your attention to detail is astounding -- not just regarding all the period pieces in the house, but also what you've taken care to provide for your guests' comfort: fresh bakery items, printed Welcome sign, the squeaky clean bathrooms and crisp sheets --- everything in this house speaks of a woman dedicated to her guests having a relaxing, stress-free time. And so we did. See you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Local Family Ties revisited

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

Thank you for your great work of love and remembrance for all us 'boomers' who remember those good ole days.
Having grown up in McKeesport, this home brings back many fond memories and great times.
The Patterson girls made a fantastic find in your treasure.
Thanks so much for another fond memory...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Girls Getaway

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

We haven't stopped saying "Look at that" & "Have you seen this?" & "We had one of those! since the minute we arrived.
Thank you for the opportunity to re-live great memories while creating new ones. We've had a blast and will be telling our friends from around the country to give you a call if they are ever in need of a wonderful place to stay.
Thanks to your fabulous home, I was able to spend a wonderful week with friends I haven't seen since I moved back home to Pennsylvania. What a splendid way to relax, laugh, and catch-up. Thanks for your wonderful hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Transitional Home

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

After living in the Good Ol' Days house for over a month & half (including a few days in the Happy Days Hideaway) we still discovered something new almost everyday. Staying here while waiting for our new home to be completed was guite an adventure. It was fun to live in 'town' for a while since we have been living & built our house in the 'burbs'. Our boys loved playing in the rumpus room & bathing in the big tub. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Georgia Gentlemen

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

It really has been a blast to the past staying here. And every room and corner keeps you in that state of mind. We have had the pleasure of staying here for 5 weeks and up until the last night we were still asking each other if we had seen this or that. We would love to stay here again because normal will just not do anymore. It truly has been our pleasure to stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas Guests

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Once again we have to thank you for allowing us to enjoy this wonderful house. We actually refer to it as 'home' as this is our third Christmas visit. All 3 families made it this year and we made lots of great memories, especially Landen and his cousin Tanner who spent many hours in the basement, which is something they don't have in Florida. Haven was especially fond of the stairs, something else he's not used to back home. I lost count of the many trips she made up and down. Crystal, Hailey, loved just hanging out with the whole family & Crystal even got in bubble bath in the big tub. Fondly, (Pictures to follow)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

South Dakota Steeler Fan

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

Growing up a Steelers fan in South Dakota isn't easy. They are rarely the featured game in the region so we are limited to radio coverage. Never the less, we die are die hard fans. One of my goals has been to come to Pittsburgh to see a game in person. The older I have gotten, the more obstacles seem to get in the way. Along with that, the experience has been lifted up to some utopian pedestal that I have believed could not be reached. I made excuses to explain how there would be no way it could live up to what I imagined.
Thank you Melanie and Bob for showing me the experience of a lifetime and assuring me that it happens like that every Sunday. You and everyone in Pittsburgh for that matter absolutely blew me away with your hospitality and generosity. If this was the first time you have catered to a Steeler dream, you should consider making it a part of your business. You guys went way above and beyond on the tour and Steelers game. I will be talking about this special event for years and hopefully booking return trips!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Steeler Game

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

In our wildest dreams we could not have imagined a more gracious & hospitable couple. We have had an extraordinary time staying in this house, remembering and teaching our kids about the Good Ol' Days & fulfilling a dream by attending our first Steelers Home Game. The boys had such a great time playing games, running around in the back yard & leaving messages on our answering machine back home from the rotary phones. This was the perfect spot to celebrate the biggest boys in the group's 40th birthday & the 2 of you couldn't have done more to make it special. Next time you're in Texas give us a call. We'll spread the word about this wonderful place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Steelers Fans

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

This has been one of the "Best" weekends of my life - definately a bucket list checkoff! To spend it with my family on my 40th and my son's 11th birthday was very special. Your kindness and generosity from the moment we arrived, to showing us around the town, to the tour & game time "tailgaiting" at the Steeler game was second to none. We truly got the REAL DEAL on this trip. I can't wait to spread the news about the Good Ol' Days Guest House" in Texas! We will be back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Judie and Daves Wedding Party

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

There are no words to accurately describe our stay at the Good Ole Days House. It was beyond our expectations. Every hour was a new experience as we found more and more things that were so much a part of our earlier lives. Those of us that stayed there were constantly busy either playing games or reminiscing about our childhood. The owner was a perfect hostess, and the entire weekend was so much fun. All of our guests were so much in awe of the place, and it was so appropriate for our themed 50"sreception.( We plan to go back every year for our anniversary). In a vew words, everything was perfect!

Owners response: What a pleasure it was to be able to 'meet and greet' all of you as you celebrated this special wedding celebration! Judie & Dave you are two special people who are so much fun I wish I were related to you so I could be a part of all your gatherings with friends & family! You were wonderful guests who took great care of the house (as if it were your own) and all its 'memorabilia stuff' and I really appreciate that. We welcome you back any time you want to ride that 'time machine' back to the 1950s!!!! God Bless you all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A LOT OF FUN!

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

We stayed overnight for a girl's getaway, shopped the next day at Tanger Outlets. We've done this as a yearly thing, but always stayed at hotels ... this was a great alternative to have a complete house with 3 bedrooms and 2.5 baths. Plus, so much fun to be surrounded by the "retro" atmosphere as we are six girls who all went to high school together and graduated in the 70's. Owner is great, friendly and very accommodating. Will definitely consider a return visit.

Owners response: I'm so glad you and your "70s Girls" enjoyed your overnight getaway at THE GOOD OL' DAYS HOUSE! You all looked great in your "decades outfits" which made you all look "decades" younger too. It was a pleasure to meet all of you and very happy to have you as my guests. I look forward to having you return for a future visit to my nostalgic guesthouse. As we used to say in the 1970s.... "Have a Nice Day".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect!

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

Our stay at the Nostalgic Guest House was absolutely perfect! Melanie, and her husband Bob, were outstanding hosts and made us feel completely at home. The home was clean and inviting...and a whole lot of fun. It was a blast for our kids to get to experience so many things that we had growing up...can you say Pac Man and rotary phones?? They were our guides to and from the Steelers game and really went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. They made my husband's 40th birthday experience one he'll never forget.

Owners response: It was our pleasure and we so looked forward to welcoming you to our home for a unique, nostalgic "Pittsburgh Steeler" fan experience. You are a beautiful family and we had so much fun showing you around Steeler Country. I'm also glad you found our home to clean, comfortable and memorable! We look forward to a return visit, this time we hope you'll go back to Texas with a Steeler Victory! Thanks and God Bless! P.S. The Texas license plate is at the TOP of the steps....how do you like THAT placement!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved this house!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Retro Retreat July 2-6 along with our 10 year old grandson. We all had such a good time while we were there over the 4th of July weekend. Our grandson learned about the patience it takes to dial a rotary phone, open a metal ice tray, percolate a pot of coffee on the stove, wash dishes and survive a warm summer night with a floor fan humming at the foot of the bed. He also took a spin with the push mower and had a blast.running up and down the back lawn with it. We watched old movies, played records and games downstairs and just had some simple fun. We used the house as a retreat while in Pgh for two family picnics, a Pirate game and 4th of July fireworks at the point. We also visited Melanie's newly opened store across the street and got some great candy there. Thank you for providing this great house and we hope to be back next time in Pittsburgh. Tom and Linda Walters

Owners response: Just logged into my computer and saw your review and it made my day! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to me and so pleased that you were able to create fond new memories of the good ol' days with your grandson during your stay at The Good Ol' Days House! You can also "Like" me on facebook and I hope you will come back with family & friends soon! Have a nice day!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ytuarte Famiily Reunion

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

FIne place to stay to be to relax and unwind in the peace and quite of the house. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the basement game room the kids loved. Would stay again if the need every arose again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Roberta for taking the time to share your nostalgic vacation experience online! You were great guests and we hope you will think of us again, on a future visit with the kids, to our area. P.S. We've added a Texas license plate to the basement steps! In November, a family from Frisco who stayed in the home sent it to us. We hope that makes our Texas guests feel a little closer to home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unbelieveably great house

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

I rented The Good Ol' Days house and the adjacent Hideaway for our family traveling to Belle Vernon for a wedding. What a great place. Grandkids were awed by the "old stuff" and didn't want to attend the wedding. Lots more fun to stay at the house and play games, Pacman and the pinball machine, listen to music from 33s, old albums (Terry Bradshaw ??, how's that for old) and just have fun. Melanie, the owner, was super. Supplied us with pastries, candy, cookies, water etc. and was especially nice to the grandkids even inviting them to her own home to swim and enjoy a cookout. How mch better can it get.
The house was super clean, well maintained and had everything to make your stay comfortable. We will definately stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Just logged onto my Homeaway site for updates and was so excited to see your review! I so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others online and so glad that your family enjoyed your stay at The Good Ol' Days House. You all were a real treat during your stay and so glad you were able to create great family memories during your family wedding visit. We hope to see you again in the future, perhaps to visit with the 'newlyweds'. Have nice day.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

relaxing getaway

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for only a weekend but it rejuvenated us as if we were there for a week. Melanie has considered every detail. We had a snack plate and small cake along with wine at our arrival. The house has memories abundant from several generations. We kept finding something new around each corner of the house. We had originally planned on the house being our point to wander around the area. Instead, we spent the time watching old movies, playing games and reconnecting. It was wonderful. We only left the house twice to bring food back.
I highly recommend this rental and renter.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I want to thank you for sharing online, your 'nostalgic' weekend getaway experience at our home, The Good Ol' Days House in North Belle Vernon. So glad that you and your husband kept yourself busy with all the old-fashioned fun and amusing games, television shows and many other things that we used to do in those good ol' days to keep us busy. Hope you'll be back to visit again as we had a few new suprises to the Good Ol' Days House. You can also 'like' us on Facbook now, too. Thanks & have a nice day.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New Years Eve

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

My family had the pleasure in spending New Year's Eve with our grandchildren at the Good Old Days Guest House in Belle Vernon, PA. We are from New Orleans and our grandchildren live in Connellsville, Pa. We wanted to spend some of the holidays with them. The home was a true blast from the past. The decor was so true to the 40's - 70's era, The house was decorated for Christmas complete with the genuine retro toys under the Christmas tree. We were able to truly celebrate Christmas and New year's with them. The children were so enchanted with the game room and the toys and games. We had a wonderful time and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Pennsylvannia. Melanie has put such love and care into this guest house. We hope to return there very soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Janice, Having you and your family stay in the home during the holiday season was such a treat! I enjoyed hearing your funny stories about younger family members being intrigued with the way we lived back in those good ol' days without microwaves & dishwashers. You are blessed with a such a wonderful family and hope to see you again with a future visit to THE GOOD OL' DAYS HOUSE. We will be opening an old fashioned candy store &; Antique Gift shop right across the street on June 4th 2011. It is called SWEET NOSTALGIA ON BROAD for those who want to satisfy a sweet tooth with a little piece of the past! You gotta see it -- its truly a unique shop. Take care and God Bless!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving 2010

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

My son is a student at Pitt and we rented the house for 3 days over the holiday. The house is unbelievable "cool" had lots of memorabilia that my husband and I could relate to. My kids had a great time and my son enjoyed a touch of modern day watching football on the large flat screen TV in the basement! We prepared a turkey and all the fixings at the house and ate in the beautiful dining room. My family even thanked me for arranging this and said it was a special time. Melanie and her husband couldnt have been nicer and even bought me a turkey for the meal as well as having the refrigerator stocked with waters. I think my kids ate all the old fashioned candy despite me begging them to leave some for other guests. I definitely recommend and I hope to be a repeat customer. Loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Brenda & Bob for taking the time to review our home and I'm so glad you enjoyed your Nostalgic Thanksgiving Holiday & the fresh turkey too. It is also good to know the 'teen' family members had a great time, too. I appreciate the care you took during your stay and it is having families like yours, in the home, that I love welcoming. We would love to have you join us again in the future, as your son completes his education at the University of Pittsburgh!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mayberry

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

If you were lucky enough to grow up in the Belle Vernon area then do yourself a favor and stay at this property. It's a piece of Belle Vernon's past that is all brought together in one wonderful house that is conveniently located and within walking distance of the entire town. Enjoy the memorabilia from Kennywood, Forbes Field, the Super 71 Drive-in etc. See if you can find family members in the Belle Vernon H.S. class pictures from the fourties; I found my mother, father and two uncles!
I found the property to be exactly as advertised and extremely clean. The owner went over the top in making us feel welcome and comfortable. I would recommend this property to anyone, regardless of whether you're from the area or not.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jim, for taking the time to share your family's experience at our home, in your former home-town. I really appreciate your comments and glad that were able to relive those days gone by at Kennywood, Forbes Field, & the Super 71 Drive-In. We are always changing and adding new Pittsburgh & Local memorabilia from the area -- and since your visit we've added a 1960s photos of Shirley Jones & autographed Bill Mazeroski photo and something for the younger ones a 1980s Pac-Man Cocktail game table in the Rumpus Room. We'd love to have you back in your home-town, Mayberry/ BVA for any future visits. Thank you & Happy Travels!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Good Ol' Days Guesthouse

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

Myself, my family and friends have stayed at this wonderful guesthouse on three different occasions. My husband and I are originally from Belle Vernon so it's a great place to stay while visiting family still in the area. I also brought two of my friends from California for a "girl's long weekend" and we had a great time sightseeing in the area. It was their first time visiting the southwestern Pennsylvania area and they just loved the guesthouse, the beauty of the area, and the great people that live there. My family and I look forward to returning this winter for deer-hunting season. The Good Ol' Days House is now considered our "home away from home" and we will return year after year to enjoy it's warm hospitality.

Jean from California

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

D. Thompson San Diego

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

I love this place...I feel like a teenager again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Texans

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

What a treat to step into a place that reminded me of so many people I love! Every room brought back people and times and places which I had not visited in a long time. Thanks for your dream and hospitality. We had a grand time! Thanks.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mavrikas from Florida

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

Everything in the house certainly took me back in time...and it had an even stronger impact for my in-laws. They felt like they were in heaven with all the nostalgia displayed here. It was a great experience for us...Melanie has created a real gen for the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jomisko Family (Florida)

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

You gave my husband and me a chance to make some wonderful memories with two of our daughters and their families...it will always feel like home to use.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Lackey Family from Texas

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

Me and my family are so fortunate to come across this place..this house is incredible and your imagination is so creative I can't wait to see what the future holds for you. You really made our family fell comfortable. Thank you doesn't seem like enough....so here's a little Jambalaya mix for yal

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

SGarber Suprise Birthday Retreat

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2009

Thank you for making my 60th Birthday a wonderful, wonderful suprise!! I love your house! It was truly a great suprise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Medved Retirement

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

Dear Melanie, We had wonderful retirement party here. A Great Suprise for my husbnad!! Thank you. You were wonderful to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Waggoner, Sharpe, and Privetti Families

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2009

Our family stayed for 9 days and had a wonderful time. We came from California, Texas and New York. It was so nice to have a base house where we could visit together. We took a canoe trip and a gambling trip plus a family reunion. The house is GREAT!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peters Family

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

We want to thank Melanie for her brilliant idea of establishing a guest house in North Belle Vernon. It gave our family an opportunity to all stay together in one location...and to share nostalgic and fond memories with our kids about growing up here. This great old house is truly a great bridge to the past and Melanie did a wonderful job of restoring it. We take many great memories back to California with us. Melanie, thanks for the memories!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review