reviews for: listing #93739 - St Augustine, Florida Condo rental

Island House G 118 ground floor, ocean view, Pool Tennis
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Island House
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $142 - $142 /nt
    $895 - $1,095 /wk
    $2,603 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Island House G 236

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

After I had booked the rental, I had agreed to a 300 nonrefundable fee and my credit card had been charged, I was emailed a contract to sign. This contract included a very obnoxious clause regarding my authorizing my credit card to be charged for a number of possible abuses to the rental property, including turning up the thermostat on the pool.<br/><br/>I have a couple of problems with this. When the booking was arranged and my card was charged, the transaction was complete and a contract made. If there is a contract it should be presented and signed before money changes hands. I would never sign anything with a clause as described above (would I and my family be the only ones who might turn up the pool thermostat?)<br/><br/>The condo was old and every metal part was corroded and marginally functional: faucets, door locks (especially sliding screens and doors); screen of back screen door had a big hole in it, ceiling light fixtures were noticeably grubby, a table lamp was missing the switch, stove heating coils were not flat so pans were sliding off.<br/><br/>The site was beautiful and the common areas well maintained. I would shop around carefully before booking this unit again. The cars on the beach were a definite negative which surprised me very much, something to know about florida.

Owners response: Hi Laura - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We really had a wonderful time and the view of the beach and pool was great! The condo is older but it was clean. It would have been nice to have WIFI access in the unit (instead of having to go down to the clubhouse) and a table with chairs for the balcony. Overall we had a great time!

Owners response: Hi Joanie - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

The property interior was "dated". Appliances were not in good shape, especially the dishwasher. The bathrooms were outdated. The owner told the property management company that WIFI was available in the condo, and it was not.

Owners response: Hi Paula - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the internet issues and maintenance. This is not up to standards at all. I have already contracted my property manager to work with the owner to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

island house G236

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

The property had a beautiful view, was a nice size, etc... It is really in need of some updating. Not one porch had enough chairs to accomodate 4 people--so if you wanted two on a bedroom balcony you had to steal from main balcony--there may have been 4 total..and i am talking inexpensivce plastic chairs. The kitchen towels had holes in them, the potholders the same and looked dirty. It would cost about 10.00 to fix that. and that same theme carried all through the condo. Nothing was what I would call..attractive or well kept from towels to carpet to the walls needing painted....take a look at the ironing board cover...that is priceless. We have stayed in many vacation rental homes and condos...and if this is representative of your company then I will not be retuning to any unit you manage. We were steered away from another unit and in hindsight it may have been better. Your agent, while nice, knew nothing about any units..I believe she was new. The view from the balconies was very nice, and we would have preferred to enjoy it without having to buy our own chairs and having to drag them from porch to porch. The other issue was while the unit had been "cleaned" the garbage disposal would not work nor would the master tub drain. The 1/2 bath sink would not drain. We contacted the agency on Sunday and they had to cal a plummer--he made it there on Tuesday. I did not expect him to come Sunday-- but as it was he wasn't even able to finish until Wednesday. These things did not happen over night...and cleaning personel had to notice the tub would not drain---it would have been impossible to miss... So all in all the view was nice, but in my opinion does not make up for all the negatives.

Owners response: Hi Richard - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. This is not up to standards. I have already contracted my property manager to get these fixed. I will email you directly a discount for this. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review