reviews for: listing #93837 - Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

Napping Turtle, 3 bedrooms, Ocean Front
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Private Beach Home
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $202 - $1,000 /nt
    $929 - $3,000 /wk
    $2,955 - $8,251 /mth

sort by:

Fall Vacation

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

My rental experience for this vacation was Great! The maintenance and customer service reps were awesome. My guest and Family was very pleased. We really enjoyed the heated pool. I would highly recommend this vacation rental.

Owners response: Hi Angela - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The house would have been fine, if not been in a poor condion

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

Theoretical the house could host 9 people but there were only 5 chairs and even fewer garden furniture. One bathroom for 6 is even not enough - the second toilet was outside the house near the cobana. Cups, plates etc were not there in the appropriate number.<br/>The first days of our stay neither the telephone nor the internet worked because the owner hadn't paid. The rental business fixed the problem two days before our departure. <br/>The pool was nice and big - the only reason for not being absolutely despaired, however, with the leaffall in stormy weather it meant half an hour cleaning before getting into it.

Owners response: Hi Edda - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. This is not up to standards. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

House was not in good shape

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

No, the house was not in good shape. It had a bad roof on it when you rented it to me and it had not been booked up to the date I rented it as one of your workers wanted too tell me. I will not recommend your company to anyone. I am reporting your company to the BBB for renting a home with damage to the roof and you knew it. No one has ever gotten back to me about this. Very upset about this.

Owners response: Hi Tracy - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. My VP of Operations is calling you direct as we were not aware of the roof issue. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property not as described; disappointing experience.

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

Leak in roof, causing water to drip into the Florida room; Wi-Fi not working upon arrival; kitchen fridge did not work and had to use one in the living room; air conditioner malfunctioned; waited 3 times for repairmen; house in disrepair; linens and towels badly need to be replaced. Grill did not work properly.

Owners response: Hi Kitty - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. This is not up to standards. I sincerely apologize again. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pluses and Minuses

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

My mother & I stayed here while she went to Mayo Clinic. This house is NOT in Jacksonville. It's in South Ponte Vedra, about 30-min drive from Mayo.

The description is deceptive & not what we expected. There are NOT 2 living spaces. The downstairs is 1 large room with the living & dining room furniture & kitchen.

The description says: “The master bedroom overlooks the ocean, with a luxurious queen-sized bed...” The master is actually the photo with the TWO queen beds and takes up the entire upstairs. Which is fine unless intended for 1 person or 1 couple. The 2 rooms downstair have 1 bed & shared bath.

The “bonus room” with the twin size bed is directly at the top of the staircase in a small sitting area that leads into the bedroom. It's ok for a small child, but not someone requiring privacy.

The house is stocked with towels, kitchen utensils & linens. It doesn't have any cleaning supplies or paper products. There are not any beach accessories like umbrellas, toys or chairs like other houses.

Views of the beach, the access & the location are all amazing. It was easier to travel into St Augustine & we enjoyed the selection of locally owned shops & restaurants. The house is private without feeling secluded & was very comfortable for 2 adults.

The house needs some updating. If we owned this house, we’d put up with the issues. But, at the price of these rental costs, the updates should be included, or the price should be reduced. Mostly, it is little things like water damage on the ceilings, out-of-date décor & the whole house needs an interior coat of paint.

The private deck & walkway to the beach is an unbelievable amenity to have, but this particular deck may have 1 more summer before it needs to be completely replaced. Several boards are sagging or soft. The outdoor furniture should also be improved.

There is a substantial cleaning fee & breakage fee. We were greatly disappointed with the non-refundable breakage fee. If we didn’t break anything shouldn’t that fee be refunded? Don’t forget to budget that extra money into the price of your stay!

We greatly enjoyed our time at Napping Turtle, but the biggest part of that enjoyment came from being on the directly beach, the privacy that the property afforded & having easy access to the lovely St. Augustine.

Our trip was out of medical need & we booked at the last minute & didn’t have much selection. This was the best option for us, but will probably not stay here again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review