reviews for: listing #93850 - Sanibel Island, Florida Cottage rental

Snow White's Charming Beach Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  East End-Lighthouse
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $450 - $785 /wk
    $3,150 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

2 Poodles

Review submitted: July 26, 2014   Date of arrival: July 4, 2014

This Island has everything. You can get around on bike, kayak, scooter,or fun cars. The description is accurate. You will not need anything but your bathing suit and shorts. The cottage had plenty of extra towels which we really appreciated. The owners will go above to make sure your stay is pleasant. We had a delightful vacation. We needed a vet and a doctor while on vacation and found them readily available without leaving the island. We did eat out several times but made our own meals most of the time. The kitchen was fully equipped and efficient for our needs. We gave a birthday party and hosted a dinner for six people with no problem. I would recommend this vacation cottage to anyone. I am currently trying to get a return reservation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much, Barbara: It never fails -- we keep on getting the same awesome people year after year. Why does the cottage attract THE nicest people on the island? We try to do everything to make your stay special, unique and as perfect as can be. It's our trademark and we'll always be there for you and anyone who enjoys their holiday at Seagrape Cottage. We appreciate your help in showing other potential Sanibel vacationers the way to our paradise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Florida Escape

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

This was our second year that we returned to Seagrape Cottage. Again it was a wonderful experience. The location is excellent, on a quiet street near the lighthouse. It is in walking distance to grab a good cup of coffee and pastry each morning. The ice cream shop and one of the very good restaurants on the island is also within walking distance. The beach is a short walk from your front door. The cottage has everything you need, just bring your swimsuit and flip flops.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You two are great. We hope we'll see you again & again. It was a pleasure working with you. Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We are very happy that you liked our cottage enough to come back again. It means a lot to us. Best wishes ~

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

We'll be back

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

This was the second time we've vacationed at Seagrape Cottage and we'll definitely be back. The location could not be better and we enjoy the privacy of a backyard, the quiet of a residential street and cozy cottage feel of the house itself. We have stayed in other places on Sanibel, but Seagrape just feels like home.

Owners response: It was so cool to have an author stay at our cottage. Being so close to the beach, perhaps the Gulf breeze provided you with inspiration. And maybe Seagrape Cottage was your muse... We know we will see you again and we will welcome you and your husband soon. Thank you for your lovely comments.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place, Great Value

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 15, 2013

My husband and I spent two lovely months here and found this cottage to be "just right" for us! So we have already booked it for next year.

We loved the location being on the east end of the island with less traffic, nearby shops and restaurants, the Lighthouse, fishing pier, and of course, the fabulous beach just a short walk away at the end of the street.

The cottage was clean and very comfortable, good beds, well-stocked kitchen, washer and dryer, and airy screened in porch. It was evident that the owners take great care to insure their guests have everything they need. Books, videos, and puzzles for indoor activity, beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for the beach. Not to mention the welcoming bottle of wine when we checked in!

Sanibel Island is such a beautiful place, and we have been coming down during the winter for the past four years. We've looked at lots of rental properties and this place is a really great value. I highly recommend it.

Thanks you, Karyn and Richard, we look forward to coming back next January.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your beautiful review. We are very excited to welcome you back next year. It's always a pleasure to have people as kind and nice as you two. We don't always get to meet our guests, but lucky for us we had the opportunity and good luck to meet you both. We'll see you next year~ Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pertect holiday at Sanibel

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

We were not sure what to expect from Sanibel Island but we were looking for a beautiful, sunny and relaxing place. And Sanibel appeared to be that and much more!

The cosy cottage with its perfect location on the island really contributed to make this into a perfect holiday spot for our family. After just a short walk we easily got access to the most perfect beach. Beautiful water and seashells everywhere. The five-year-old was busy for hours every day. The cottage also has a short walk to some smaller shops, a café and a restaurant. Our five year old daugher was almost in heaven, playing on the beach and then ending the day with the amazing homemade ice cream at the ice cream bar. The cottage itself had everything we needed and had a cosy atmosphere. It was absolutely perfect for the four of us.

As most people do at Sanibel we rented bikes to go around the island. The island is equiped with perfect bike trails. The bikes also turned out to be the perfect transportation in the evenings when we went to the really, really good restaurant the island offers.

Karyn and Richard put in a lot of effort to make our holiday at Sanibel the best possible. They really made us feel welcome and gave us a lot good hints on what to do, what to see, where to eat and so on.

We cant wait to go back to Sanibel and the cottage!

/Katarina, Andreas, Livia and Anton from Sweden

Owners response: Europeans are sometimes unsure about vacationing on a private island in southwest Florida, but you took a chance & loved it~Our cottage is perfect for a romantic hide-away or for families with little ones. It's a safe enviornment and a place where only good feelings touch our lives. It's a kick-back, lie- around or bike everywhere and simply let-everything-go holiday. There is so much to do there -- no need to ever leave this paradise. You took advantage of biking all around the Islands. That's the best way to travel -- you can rent any type of bicycle a family might need. So glad you loved it. And everyone on the street talked about the gorgeous family from Sweden!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Seagrape Cottage - Fun for our family!

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Recently, my family stayed in the lovely Seagrape Cottage on Sanibel Island. We have two young children aged 5 and 7. The cottage was perfect for our family and was only a short walk to the beach. Not to mention a great value! It's obvious this cottage is well loved and cared for by it's owners.

I love to cook and the kitchen was stocked with everything I could imagine using. I did a lot of cooking in that cottage! We also had a chance to eat out at the amazing restaurants nearby, which we enjoyed very much.

The cottage was extremely clean! The cleanest rental I have stayed in. It had many great book and movie selections! Even some games and puzzles. There was no reason for us to even bring books or rent movies. The selection was wonderful.

We loved the screened porch and it was so nice to be able to do our laundry right in the cottage.

Since we had to travel from far away. It would have been very inconvenient to lug a bunch of stuff with us. We were so happy that the cottage had everything we needed.

Thank you so much we hope to be back!

Owners response: The idea of being able to simply show up with your family & bring nothing but clothes is major concept of Seagrape Cottage. I agree that a hassle-free vacation is the only way to go. I'm happy that you found everything perfect & suitable for your needs. After learning that you cooked and baked and did so much on your own, it was wonderful to know that you had what you needed in the cottage. Thank you for sharing that particular point with other potential guests. We loved having you and will post the pic of your and your daughter on the bicycle built for two~ Thanks for agreeing to it. See you next summer.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Pleasant dreams

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

It's difficult to select an ideal location in a foreign land when surfing the internet, but I would probably have been quite comfortable with the choice even if I had first knowledge of the Island. The location is perfect, allowing peace and tranquility yet being in easy reach of beach and amenities. The house itself was well presented and very comfortable with a really relaxed setup. Most things are catered for including a pleasant welcome basket. This isn't the typical plastic condo, I guess that this was a home which has been updated and has a pleasant atmospheree.
The owners couldnt have been more helpful, both prior to arrival and during our stay. Although we are not the youngest of visitors, access to the sea and its proximity made it more than comfortable to going swimming most days.
If you can divert the kids from Disneyland this is a great place to see some wonderful wildlife and swim safely.
The whole Island is set up for safe vcycling and it realy is comfortable and the best way to travel and enjoy a healthy holiday. To be honest you see a lot more when you travel by bike rather than the car.
This corner of Sanibel is a great focus for birds and the number of twitchers mooching around the island photographing birds just underlines the quality of species encountered.
We watched ospreys in the garden each dsay using the tree and adjacent roof as a feeding station Woodpeckers feeding on the tree at the front of the house and several other colourful birds which I've yet to put a name to. On the last day saw a pileated woodpecker(woody woodpecker with the big crest. )
Although some things on the island seem expensive, some of the restaurants provided some excellent meals at respectable prices. I think that it was the lazy lizard which won my vote for the best value.
If you are into fiishing, the most consistent spot on the island is within walking distance, the fishing pier lies just before the lighthouse and produces a wide variety of fish. I had my biggest ever fish from here, a nurse shark aroud 150lb. More realistically there are plenty of other species like spanish mackerel and trout which provide pleasure in the catching and the eating.
The pier also provides a welcome viewing platform to get up close to vast host of large birds and also see manatees and dolphins at very close quarters. The dolphins were coming right onto the beach amoungst the paddlers while I was there.
Thanks to Karyn for a pleasant stay

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Seagrape Cottage in Sunny Sanibel

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Location! Short walk to beautiful, walkable, swimmable and dog-friendly (on leash) beach. East End has less traffic and is walking distance to Gepetto's for baked goods, Pinocchio's for ice cream, and the Lighthouse café for breakfast. All wonderful. Our favorite restaurant for lunch or dinner is close by too – Gramma Dots at the marina – an easy bike ride or a short drive. Great island for biking everywhere. Terrific bike paths!!
The bed is very comfy… we didn't try the twin room. The bathroom shower has wonderful water pressure and nice thick towels. The pull-out basket cabinet is very handy for toiletries.
Good electronics…TV,DVD, cable, wifi; also decent library and movie assortment. Very helpful to have the full-size washer and dryer.
The welcome basket with wine and goodies was an unexpected treat. The neighbors we met were delightful. And the best bonus was being able to bring our little dog. The little lanai proved handy for drying her feet and ours after outside hosing off from the beach. Beach umbrella and chairs were put to good use.
Karyn is a gem to deal with. Very responsive. And she gives good suggestions... our favorite – not to miss the Sunday Farmer's Market! Plus she ordered the most perfect weather for us. Sunny and warm every day:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so happy that you recognized our East End location as being far superior to any other area on Sanibel. The charming little cottage is the best place to simply "chill-out." This beach is recognized by most as superior and stunning. People adore shelling and examining all forms of sea life and lovely seashells so abundant on the Sanibel beach shores. Plus the sand is so soft and perfect. Add blue, calm Gulf water and you have something for every beach lover's taste.

Sanibel itself is just a marvelous little haven from the rest of Florida~ It is an easy, laid-back life. We loved having little Piper hang-out on the dog-friendly beach. (We allow small dogs on one side of the duplex, the other side is pet-free for those with any allergies to animals.)

Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We do hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A terrific value

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

The accommodations were as advertised. The they are comfortable, clean, well maintained, and and in a great location -- a short (4 minute) walk to the nearby beach. Only a few minutes by car to the grocery store. The owners are nice people who do everything they can to accommodate their guests. Overall, the duplex cottage is an excellent value for anyone looking to enjoy the wide variety of attractions and activities on Sanibel Island.

Owners response: It's good to hear that you enjoyed our island. Sanibel is a location that is extraordinary. Many people don't know about Sanibel and Captiva Islands; however, once they visit, it usually becomes a yearly habit. These islands are like something out of the past - not your typical Florida get-away. Serene. Comfortable. Tropical. Beachy. Laid-back. Sanibel has so much to offer. And you are right about the cottage being in the perfect location to everything -- the east end of the island is much easier to manipulate~ It's In the middle of everything you need to make it an easy stay and a hassle-free vacation holiday.
Thanks for your review -- it was certainly our pleasure to host you and your wife.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Our month stay on Sanibel Island and our accomodations was wonderful! The weather was perfect everyday. We loved Seagrape Cottage! It was perfect for the two of us. Very clean and nicely furnished which made it very comfortable and relaxing. The location is great, just a short walk to the beach, which we did every day. Loved the big yard. We would sit outside every morning with our coffee and read the paper. What more could you ask for, very peaceful. We also played golf several times on the island. We tryed a different restaurant for the first time this year called the Jacaranda, it was great. The grouper sandwich was excellent.
Karyn, the owner was very nice to work with on reservations and making sure everything was ok for us. We would definitely recommend this cottage to our family & friends. Hope we can make it back there next year!

Owners response: Thanks, Tom. You two were such a delightful couple. I am hopeful we'll have the pleasure of seeing you again next year as well. It's people like you and your wife who make us proud of our work. Sanibel will miss you too! (By the way, I am so happy and proud to know that you booked next year, 2013 to return. These returning guests make all of our hard work, dedication to our cottage and guests' needs as well as keeping everything clean and neat seem even more important and special. We look forward to your return stay in 2013. Thanks again, Tom and Jean

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Sweet Sanibel Sweet Seascape

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

The cottage was nicely furnished and very comfortable. It was clean as a pin, well maintained, and the owner was helpful and most responsive. The WiFi was a bit cranky but I believe it was going to be replaced. My cell phone service (Verizon) from cottage was not always reliable. The location was in a quiet friendly neighborhood and just great. No mass resorts (i.e.people) to contend with. A 5 minute walk to either the Gulf beach or the San Carlos Bay, and near the famous Sanibel lighthouse. Convenient by auto to nature refuges, walks, museum, the causeway and great restaurants. To mention a few of our favorites: Matzaluna, Jacaranda, Gramma Dots, Island Cow, Over Easy, Timbers, and Doc Fords. Overall we were very pleased with our Sanibel/Seascape experience and would definitely recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: When we received a 4/5 star review from this lovely guest, we contacted him and asked what we may have done to get a 5/5 review rather than the 4 star review.

Here's what our kind guest said in his email in answer to my question when we wrote to him:

"Sorry about the 4 out of 5. For my grading, 4 out of 5 is as about as good as it gets. I look at 5 out of 5 as perfection and no one or anything is perfect. It certainly is not a reflection on you all as you certainly did everything plus to make our stay enjoyable. And it was!"

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wasn't able to comment on site, but she told me ~~

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

Anna told me she wanted to write something too; however, only one entry per guest booking is allowed. (She is Carter's partner from MN who said "Carry this Little Gem with Me" in the Guest Reviews.)

She told us that her favorite part of her visit to Sanibel was getting up early in the morning and running on the beach. She loved the fact that the beach was a few houses from the cottage so she could get there in only a few minutes.
During her run, she said she saw lots of dolphins and was amazed that they were so close to the shore. She hadn't seen dolphins in their own habitat before this time.
She'd then jump into the Gulf and swim for around 20 minutes (hoping to catch a ride on one of these lovely creatures;) then return to Seagrape Cottage, shower, eat breakfast on the screened porch and chill out for the rest of the morning.
Lunch was usually a 3 minute bike ride to Pinochio's famous Ice Cream Parlor a block away from the cottage. She said she "...justified the ice cream because the run equaled the calories so it was an even swap!" She and Carter already booked the cottage for this summer.

Thanks to Anna for her submission. As told to Karyn and Richard ;)

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beach Cottage at Sanibel

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

Hello from South America. I am from Argentina and I came to your Seagrape Cottage 3 years ago. I came with a friend last time but I would like to come back soon. Your new pictures look great, I believe you made changes and it looks even better.

I love waking up to walk to the beach in the morning. Is there still some dolphins? They had many there during the time of my stay. My friend Marta saw sharks too and found some shark teeth and lots of seashells. When I saw the new photos, I found that I missed it so much I am going to come for April this year. Do you think is too early in the winter to go to Florida? I think it will be warm in Sanibel Island by then.

Thank you for your help and I know you will be as nice as when we were there before. Thanks to you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Senora! I remember you well and yes there are still dolphins! Of course, they are a part of the sealife and animal population of Sanibel and Captiva Islands. Some of our guests took pictures so I'll send them to you. And we did make lots of changes and updated the furnishings so it's nice that you noticed. We do that a lot and are careful to keep things clean and fresh. Thank you for your nice comments and we look forward to seeing you in April. Best wishes, my friend.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Carry this little place with me

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

I stayed in side 1 of this quaint, spacious cottage last jan. with my partner, and I am happy to say that this was one of the best vacations I have ever taken to florida!!! When we arrived, the place was clean like a hotel, but unlike a hotel it felt much more like an islander's real home--its rustic, beachy, but very comfortable, and there are all the trappings of a beach-side paradise. There are nice little touches like books, dvd's, etc., and there are plenty of towels, sheets, and all the appliances/furnishings I could need.

There was a slight issue with the cable (not that we wanted to use it that much anyway!), but the very friendly owner responded to the problem promptly, and the tv was working in no time.

But all of this is really to ignore the crown jewel at the "center" of this island getaway: the beautiful beach, which is literally 5 houses down!!! Seagrape's beach access is apparently one of two private beach access points on Sanibel--evidently, other people need to drive to public beaches unless they are staying at a resort or have a house directly on the water. So needless to say, we took advantage of this access EVERYDAY!!

A few sabibel jewels are also nearby. We often made our way to pinnochio's ice cream, which is a 3 minute walk away, and the east end deli is also within short walking distance. Both delicious.

One really cannot stress the proximity to a beautiful, uncrowded beach enough, and not to mention the fact that this cottage is on the side of Sanibel that is MUCH less populated by tourists and all the "noise" of high season. I would, and plan to, stay here again! The owners have a little gem on their hands, and I am just happy that they have made it available to people lucky enough to find this rental!!

WHOLEHEARTEDLY RECOMMENDED!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: How nice to hear ~ Thank you so much. And you are right when you state that being on the beach is a HUGE deal, especially when you consider the traffic that occurs on the other end of the island and the lack of parking spots once a group gets to the beach, especially in-season. All you have to do as our guest is grab the towels and chairs which we provide, pull out the umbrella and beach toys we have on the porch and walk 5 houses to the East End beach which is practically deserted. It is a special place and people who stay at Seagrape Cottage all say about the same thing. Glad to know you enjoyed it so much and that you will be back. We'll await your return. Thank you for the kind words, Carter.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Shell collector's dream

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

We had a wonderful vacation at Seagrape Cottage. We were welcomed with a goody basket upon arrival and how nice and unexpected this was, but after getting to know the owners it was obvious it was a reflection of their caring ways. The bed was so very comfortable, plenty of room in the closets, and loved the outdoor shower for cleaning the sand off your feet and for cleaning the shells collected on the beach. There is a stock of games and puzzles for your enjoyment too. It has a small but quite functional kitchen and all in all the duplex has a nice layout for a prolonged stay, but I would have loved another bathroom.

There are so many great things to experience on Sanibel. Shelling on the beach has to be number one. I bought a lamp at the sea shell shop on Periwinkle and loaded it with the shells I collected. It is now used in my living room as a great reminder of this vacation. The Community Center has get togethers for the shellers every week who want to learn how to make flowers and arrangements, etc. from the shells you collect. Of course going through Ding Darling sanctuary is a must. There are many good restaurants to choose from. We loved the Blue Giraffe for lunch and dinner as it had good food at a reasonable price.

If you are looking for a relaxing affordable place to stay you will find it at Seagrape Cottage. It is a short walk to the beach, near the causeway so easy for going off the island to explore other nearby places (we spent one day at the Everglades and went to the Manatee park in Fort Myers on another day) and it is located on the quieter end of the island. I hope you enjoy your stay on Sanibel as much as my husband and I did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: (Dear Reader: The former owners of our property visited us today 1/11/12. They stayed with us a year ago and after we updated the cottage, they returned this week to see what we had done. So here is my response to her) Liz: It was great to see you again today ~You and your family saw the up-dates we made on "your old homestead" and we were thrilled that you appreciated the new look. It must be such a treat to be able to revisit the memories of childhood. How fortunate for you and your family. I loved it when you told me that the one room was full of bunkbeds for you and your cousins and how everyone ran to the beach all day, had all the neighbors over for bbq at the end of the night, and then slept together in one big room as little kids. It must have been a riot. But now the bunkbeds are gone and we have a pleasant and serene tropical feeling. It isn't wild like when you were a child, but it's still as much fun. Thanks for stopping by. It was fun for us too. And we hope you will stay with us another time. It was very special for us to have you as our guests.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful HOT Sanibel in summer

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

We liked cosy Seagrape Cottage and enjoyed the close access to the beach.
We were warmly welcome and the lessors are great hosts, taking care of their guests as VIPs - it was clean, easy and everything worked as promised.
Seagrape Cottage is a very fine place to stay, no luxury but convenient, handy, comfortable...
Thanks Karyn and Richard for your awesome hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was wonderful to have guests from Switzerland visit our cottage. Working with you was really great too. You have a good sense of humor and a delightful personality so we enjoyed talking to you before, during and after your stay. We love the type of guests who stay with us on Sanibel Island. It's funny, but we always get great people and try to treat everyone with care and concern. I guess Seagrape Cottage is contagious. We hope your family will come to us again and we welcome you. Thanks again to another international guest who seems to love the beauty that Florida, Sanibel Island and Seagrape Cottage offers.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We really enjoyed staying and relaxing at Seagrape Cottage. It is hard to add any new comments, as all reviewers already mentioned everything. A very good and actual review is made by Peter, Bonn!
Our 2-year-old son enjoyed especially the fantastic beach on Sanibel!
Hopefully we make it back again...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: This was our third or fourth German family to stay at our cottage and it was a pleasure to work with you. I understand your 2 year old son, Vincent, was mesmerized by the sea, the sand and Sanibel beach seashells. Perhaps he'll have great memories of Sanibel as much as you two do. How nice to have such lovely guests who take such great care of our home come to stay. When guests are coming all the way from Europe, they may worry about what the residence will be like since they don't know the area; but you were happy and everyone else who comes from overseas feels the same. We are what we say we are. Thanks for the great review from Frankfurt, Germany. Hope the summer in Germany warms up. I hear it's cold. Maybe it's time to get back to Florida!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

SeaGrape Vacation

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Our family had an excellent time at SeaGrape Cottage. The cottage was everything the pictures showed and more. Karyn really went the extra mile to make sure that everything was perfect and was always available for questions regarding the island. I felt like we were renting from a friend!!!
The cottage was very clean. The beach was wonderful. We did visit a couple of other beaches while on the island and there was not anything that compared to the lighthouse side.
We were looking to get away from everything and that is exactly what we found at Seagrape....a nice quiet getaway free of worries. There were many games, movies, books to enjoy in the evening.
I would highly recommend and plan on returning!!! Thanks for the awesome vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sometimes you feel like someone is just right for your home and you were it, my new pal.

This family is very special. I was only too happy to do anything I could to make them smile. And with the tough job you do, you deserved some downtime in order to get away from the stress you face daily in your profession.

Thank you for this review and in the future when you come back to Seagrape Cottage, we plan to stay on side two of our duplex so we can have a pleasant dinner with you at Doc Ford's! Sounds like a plan!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect holiday at the seaside

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

All statements regarding the cottage are accurate. You won`t find a luxury stylish condo here but an house with a very relaxed and quite aura - a perfect hideaway. We (2 adults and 3 kids) had enough space, the access to the beach is shortly and safe (our 5-year old girl could do on her own) and for me this part of the beach is the best of the island (lighthouse, huge shells, dolphins, not cowded etc.) and perfect for an everymorning jogging tour around the eastern-end of the island. You`ll find a restaurant, some small shops and a place for Italian Icecream in a 2-minute-walking-distance.
Absolutely no problems with cleanliness and condition of the equipment including internet access.
The owners provided us with an excellent service regarding infomations about the islands infrastructure and local events. This very close and pleasant contact started months before our vacation and is still ongoing.
I´m sure to come back one day and also would recommend this property to friends and relatives.
Again: Certainly no location for extravagant pool-partys but a quite place just to hide away , find a peaceful time or for family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Peter, his lovely wife and 3 adorable daughters were a joy to have stay in our cottage. Their enthusiasm and zest for trying everything available, was amazing. Luckily, along with being an oncologist in Germany, he's also a photographer... So for that, I was provided with lots of gorgeous digital shots of Sanibel, our cottage and his "All-American" family ;) What a treat! We were so happy to have been hosts to such a wonderful group of new friends . I know we'll see you again and next time we'll meet- up for sure. Thanks for taking such good care of our cottage -- now you are "family!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seagrape is in a great location!

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

Great location! Cottage was a little too small for guests, but great for just two people. Terrific location, on the quiet side of Sanibel and the beach was always wonderful and never crowded. Karyn and Richard were most accommodating, even got us a new box for the TV so that we could watch Butler almost win the NCAA Championship! Two minute walk to Pinocchio's for ice cream, Rosie's for muffins and a short bike ride Gramma Dot's for grouper sandwiches!

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thanks, Betsy and Dick, it was a pleasure having such a lovely couple stay at our cottage for five weeks during some of the coldest months up north. March is so unpredictable -- good decision to visit during that cold spell. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we know that having one bathroom with so many guests visiting you over that period of time could be a bit cumberson, but you are right -- for two people, Seagrape Cottage is the perfect size. The gorgeous flowers you arranged in and around the cottage made it even homier. We hope you'll join us again and maybe we'll get to see your alma mater, Butler University, win and not 'almost win' next time! Have a good summer up in beautiful Michigan. Thanks for your review.
Again, it was our pleasure to have you visit Sanibel and stay at Seagrape Cottage.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I just made a great memory!

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a short time but didn't write a review at the time. Now that it is winter here in Chicago and we are looking for something for next year, we remembered our time at Seagrape Cottage a few years ago. How wonderful it was and now it's even better to remember it. Should we go back and see if it's the same? I think it may be better. We saw the new pictures and it looks updated quite a bit. Okay, we're sold. Back we go next year. The owners are so nice. They are really such nice people. And they couldn't try to help us more with everything in the cottage and all the sites around the island. It will be even better!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh yes, we remember you well --what a great story and we are extremely happy that you have those fond memories of our cottage. We welcome you (and your little dog too -wasn't his name Toto ? :) back again. He can run the beach and chill on the porch! See you soon....
(PS Glad to know that you think we are so nice... we pride ourselves on customer care.)
Karyn/Richard

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Extremely Helpfull!!!

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

Inquired about a rental property (last minute during busy season) and Karyn informed us that the property is reserved. Instead of just ending the inquiry, she asked what my situation was. I told Karyn my story, in short my family decided we wanted to go to Florida. I also indicated that we were having a difficult time. This is my first time renting. I thought the conversation would end there. Nope, Karyn was determined to help me out. She went out of her way to help look for another property. In the days to follow I received great advice and tips about renting and where to go. I sent links to other properties that I was looking into and she checked them out. She diverted me from possible nightmares and questionable properties. She answered all my emails! I finally found a property that she reviewed and gave me the O.K.. I am extremely thankfull for all she did. As for customer service, if she will do this for non-renter , I can only imagine what she would do for her renters. I will highly recommend karyn to my family and friends for future vacations. Again, thanks for everything and hopefully I will thank you in person when I get down there.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Wow! All I did was talk to a super-duper nice fireman from Illinois and look what he did for me! I hope you & the family have the best vacation ever. Firemen deserve good stuff --- they are amazing people -- just like you, Jeff! Thanks for the nice comments. Hope we can help you someday. Karyn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful!! Close to Gulf and Bay. Clean and well maintained.

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Care-free living, clean and well maintained. VERY close to Gulf beach and a block to the Bay. Very comfortable furnished Ideal for couple, family or girls time away. Porch and laundry facilities. Walking distance, less than 2 blocks, to resturants. Light house and bike path are also very close. East end of Sanibel is quiet and the view of the night sky is like no other place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sandra: Thanks so much for staying so long & caring for our cottage so well. Wow! You got 6 months in Sanibel, practically on the beach, while you worked from the island ~that would be many peoples' idea of paradise. We welcome you back anytime and we especially loved Sully! Our dog friendly cottage has one side of the duplex available for certain types of dogs -- he was certainly one of those types! One of the silliest and sweetest guys I've met.
Our cottage is not only seasonal, but it can be a great long term rental for the right situation. Spring and summer rate for long term stay is also possible.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

Sanibel is a lovely island with beautiful beaches and wonderful wildlife preserves. No high-rises here, just houses and condo complexes no higher than 4 stories, great restaurants, and miles of sand and surf.

Seagrape cottage is perfectly situated -on a quiet street on the quiet eastern part of the island. Walk out your front door and you are only a few houses from the gulf beach. Or go left and you are steps from the bay. It's amazing.

The cottage is quaint and comfy, and has everything you need. Just bring shorts and bathing suits. We can hardly wait for next March. What a great way to shorten the New England winters!

Owners response: We miss you! Come back soon -- loved meeting you both.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

Our family loved this quaint Sanibel cottage. It's located on a very quiet street, a short walk from the beach (an endless sugar sand beach with plentiful and diverse bird life, and occasional dolphin sightings) and the extensive bike/walking/running trails of Sanibel. Fishing, golf (Beachview and The Dunes are two nice courses on Sanibel, with lakes and bird life), wind surfing (try Ace at the causeway) and birding are in close proximity (do not miss Ding Darling National Wildlfe Preserve - a birder's paradise). Bike rental is a must and is inexpensive. There are several good restaurants on Sanibel (for example, try Doc Ford's for dinner and the Lighthouse Cafe for breakfast/brunch). Just across the causeway are additional golf courses, good supermarkets and an outlet mall. Eastwood Golf Course and Eagle Ridge Golf Course are good bargins. Both have several lakes with plenty of bird life. Many day trips are available from Sanibel. Finally, there's a fitness centre next to the Doc Ford's restaurant for those who need more than walking, running and biking. Have fun!

Owners response: We would love to have your family return. It was wonderful to have guests all the way from the cold days of Canada for their Christmas holiday. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: August 16, 2009   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

Seagrape Cottage was a charming, relaxing, peaceful place to live. The hardest decision each day was walking to the right to go to the gulf side or the left to go to the bay side. I caught almost every sunrise and sunset and timed my life with the tides. The shelling was amazing! The cottage was comfortable with an old Florida charm - I loved all the wood! Karyn and Richard were great hosts and anxious to make my stay be everything I wanted it to be. Sanibel was a fun to place to explore and I spent hours riding the bike paths and walking the beaches. I enjoyed the ice cream at Pinocchio's, eating at the Lazy Flamingo and the Mucky Duck, and sailing on the Star of Orion with Captain Paul. I was hard to leave and I will definitely be back.

Owners response: You were a joy. The time you spent making art from seashells you found was awesome. It was like a jigsaw puzzle and amazing. Glad you were here. You learned sailing with your son, great bonding... And Trish, thanks for the sunset photo! I relish them and use them to show people the gorgeous Sanibel sunsets. You are really a great photographer!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: April 20, 2009   Date of arrival: April 20, 2009

Cottage was very lovely and was supplied with everything needed to enjoy our time at Sanibel. Great location to beach and island activities. We would recommend it to anyone.

Owners response: Since we never met you and your wife nor did we get to talk much, I'm glad you were happy. I know you had a last minute stay in order to be next to your dear friends who were renting the other side of the duplex and that worked out so well for all of us. Do try us again and stay longer next time!! Best wishes, Bill, for a good northern winter. Come back down to FL instead!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing

Review submitted: March 20, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We loved Seagrape Cottage! We spent 5 weeks there this past winter and can't wait to go back again. The owners, Karyn and Richard, were gracious and very responsive to any questions we had! Seagrape is in the perfect location at the East end of the island...couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more!!! Thank you! Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so fortunate to have the guests we do. Most come back again and again. We certainly hope to see these two lovely new friends next year.

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Moonflowers in the night at Seagrape Cottage

Review submitted: December 14, 2008   Date of arrival: November 5, 2008

I cannot wait to get back to Seagrape Cottage next year. I never saw moonflowers before but we all pulled out the beach chairs and had wine as we watched these beautiful flowers open at sunset.

To be at the beach, in a cute little cottage, and best of all in the sunshine all day-- it just was heaven!

The owners are super people and attended to any needs we had.

Can't wait to visit again next year. Back to the ice and snow seems wicked bad!

Visit if you can. Sanibel and Seagrape Cottage is one in a million.

Thanks to you so much, Karen and Richard
PS See you next time for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love having new and old friends arrive at Seagrape. We are blessed with wonderful people who appreciate our home and make it their own. Thanks to all the great people who come to us. See you in 2009!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 31, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We love Seagrape Cottage and its owners--our
hosts. It lived up to their description and more.
Leaving is easier because we have secured it for
another season. For our first time to be snowbirds,
we're glad we picked this island and Seagrape. Sanibel
is a world class nature sanctuary. For us, it is a
snowbird sanctuary too!

Owners response: You have been back twice now. We want to see you again! You took such good care of our home. You stayed a long time and we got the good fortune to meet you and have dinner. That was great and if you come again, let's go to a new place we know... Hurry back for a third year! I know how much you enjoyed the wildlife on Sanibel. That was the biggest thing for you and your husband. Sanibell is very special to so many of us. What an island. Thanks for the nice comments.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 25, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We've been here for a month and we are not ready to go home. Seagrape cottage is absolutely the perfect place to be on Sanibel Island, and we are counting the days until we come back!

Owners response: You were a joy. The time you spent making art from seashells you found was awesome. It was like a jigsaw puzzle and amazing. Glad you were here. You learned sailing with your son, great bonding... And Trish, thanks for the sunset photo! I relish them and use them to show people the gorgeous Sanibel sunsets. You are really a great photographer!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 14, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Sanibel has been one of our favorite places for decades. We feel so at home with the harmony between people and nature on the island and Seagrape cottage is very much in that spirit. The combination of a quiet street, easy access to the beach, lighthouse, bay, Olde Sanibel shops, and bike trails initially attracted us to Seagrape. We were very comfortable in the well-equipped cottage, even the broadband wireless connection worked flawlessly. We were cozy on chilly nights, listening to the neighborhood's screech owl calling. Richard and Karyn are delightful to work with, very accommodating. We recommend Seagrape for those seeking old Florida charm in a peaceful setting.

Owners response: These visitors have been back again for another season. We miss them and hope to see them again soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 3, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Awesome! We came to see Sanibel and Captiva Island
and ended up having such a relaxing time at the beach
cottage that we barely left it to explore. Next time we
come to Sanibel, we'll do it again. Yes, we'll stay at
Seagrape Cottage but we'll explore as well! Can't say
enough about the Island and the home away from
home. Thanks for a superb time in the islands.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 31, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

What a wonderful place to relax and get away from
winter's snow. We have always loved to visit Sanibel
and have stayed as guests at Seagrape before Karyn
and Richard owned it so it was like coming to visit
old friends when we stayed there this past winter.
We hope to do it many more times. You will not be
dissappointed in your stay. Karyn and Richard are
lovely hosts.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 17, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We have always loved Sanibel. After staying at
Seagrape we love it all the more!
5000 miles is a long, long way but we would do it
once a week if we could. Thanks Karyn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 10, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

My parent wants to come to United States and we
did. My friend told us to come to Sanibel or to
Captiva island and we did like it very much. Same
friends said to stay at cottages and we choose to
see this one. My family thinks it is a good place to
stay and we were a the beach every day. No Korean
food But Lots of other American food that were very
good. I will go again for my wedding someday I
hope. For a honeymoon maybe. Some day.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 10, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

The Conrath's are perfect owners who made my stay absolutely wonderful. If
anyone wants a relaxing, enjoyable, perfect setting vacation, coupled with owners who care
about their guests, this is the place to stay. And, the surroundings make it all the more
pleasurable. I'll be back again and again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 9, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

I can't say enough about this place. It was an absolute paradise and the owners were just WONDERFUL to rent from. They really cared about our needs and were so helpful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 9, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

The owners are very accommodating and were eager
to make my stay enjoyable. I love Sanibel! I remember
it well. Want to go back to this cottage soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

I stayed at Seagrape and fell in love with Sanibel. It is
such a peaceful and safe place. My daughter and I felt
like the cottage was home. We walked our private
beach every day. So much better than an impersonal
motel or condo. Loved it. All our needs were met.
Thank you and we'll be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

I loved this cottage! I desperately needed a
private place where I could spend quiet
time working on a very detailed project
without distraction. I took a chance on
Seagrape and lucked out. Quaint, tranquil
and right by the ocean.
Thank you, Karen and Richard, I will spread
the word! It's a gem!

Fran G., Ohio

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

Owners are lovely and helpful-- will do anything to make your stay enjoyable-- right by the beach-- couldn't ask for more!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

Hello: My husband and I love to travel and Sanibel Island is one of our favorite places. We talked to the owners of this cottage before agreeing to stay there. They couldn't have been nicer, and were very informative about dining, fishing areas, and the beach. The cottage is lovely. It takes me back to my teens when we stayed at a beach resort with my parents. It is very clean, great location, quaint, and our favorite moments were sitting on the front porch, reading a book, and enjoying the ocean breeze and the sun resting on our faces. While in Sanibel we ate at the Bubble Room which is always fun, the Green Light(I think that was the name), the Mucky Duck and other places. I like to make our own breakfast and lunch and go out for dinners, which is easy and convenient with the full kitchen. We picked numerous shells from the beach and found some starfish too. We rode bikes all over....and stopped at a lot of the shops on the main road.... I highly recommend this place to stay especially if you want a peaceful and relaxing vacation.

Owners response: I wish everyone was as sweet as you and your family. We are lucky though because most of the people who stay at our home seem to come from a particularly special ilk. Somehow, our cottage attracts wonderful guests who care for it the same way they must care for their own homes. It was really a pleasure having you and your husband. So distinguished! You make a super couple Thanks again, see you next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review