reviews for: listing #938641ha - Holualoa, Hawaii rental

Luxury Coffee Farm Cottage -Endless Views -Pool/Gym/Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 175 - $ 200 / night
    $ 1,155 - $ 1,300 / week
  • sleeps  3
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Coffee farm wih a great view

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

We stayed in Kona Cottage recently for spring break. This is our first VRBO experience. We fall in love with the cottage and Big Island. It felt like, we are staying at our own house. Randy and Atsumi thought about all the details you can need for a vacation in Hawaii. Lovely Kitchen equipped with everything new looking cooking utensils, spices, cooking oil, sugar, ... We almost had all meals at the house, we shopped at Costco about 10-15 minutes drive. Every meal we had was at our lovely Lanai with a perfect sunset a background of birds singing. Grill was my husband's favorite, spotless clean as the house. I should mention my favorite: flowers at the house and Lanai. This unit has a great privacy, very quite except the nature. I wish we could stayed longer then a week so we could enjoy more Atsumi's spotless Gym, infinity pool and the hot tub. There are million things to do in Big Island. We did Manta diving, snorkeling, Volcano visit, Botanic Garden, Green sand beach, Makalewena beach and more. Definitely we want to go back and stay at Kona Cottage again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet and Scenic

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Kope cottage for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. It was clean, comfortable, and had just about everything we could have imagined needing. It even had a salad spinner! The sunsets were so beautiful from the Lanai that we made a point to be back every evening to watch them. It was so nice to have the grill too, and Atsumi even gave us fresh oranges from the property to juice with the juicer. It was so nice to have the gym on site too, and I even had a gyro tonic session with Atsumi that was really invigorating!

This was a great location for us, and Randy and Atsumi were helpful answering questions we had about places to go and even found a place for my husband to get his hair cut (he has tricky hair!). But if you are a person wanting to be in the midst of all the action, you will want to find a place closer to downtown. The coffee from the property was wonderful, and Randy had all the right equipment to make a proper cup! We bought and took home lots for family as souvenir's.

The photos of the place were good on VRBO, but we honestly thought it looked better and more spacious in person. We were able to find a great lunch spot in Kona, Shiono, and a nice fish market, Umeke's. We will recommend this place to friends and family visiting the big island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful and Comfortable

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

My husband is a coffee roaster so for this trip to Kona I wanted to stay at a plantation. I however need to see the water to really feel like I'm in the islands. This was the perfect blend. You are up in coffee country and yet have an amazing view. The property is gorgeous with exotic plants and scents. The unit is so well equipped, if you love coffee you will be in heaven. :) The owners are just so down to earth and helpful. Wonderful people! We would recommend this unit to anyone wanting an experience that isn't the big hotel vacation. It's great to stay with people who live on the island and have an understanding of the agriculture and businesses. You have the privacy you want, but also your own guides to give ideas. Give this kind of rental a chance, you won't want to go back to hotels. Thanks for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just What We Were Looking For

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Having previously been to all of the islands and stayed mostly in beachfront resorts, we were looking for a more secluded spot, away from the tourist frenzy and found it at Kope Cottage. The owners, Randy and Atsumi, provide a warm welcome and are available to provide a local perspective on things to do and places to eat. The photos on VRBO accurately reflect the room layout, however, they don't do justice to all the little details that Randy and Atsumi have thought of. Things like fresh flowers and coffee from the property, umbrellas in case it rains, a cooler and ice packs for those foraging expeditions, all sorts of beach gear, and pretty much all the basics in the kitchen to prepare anything you'd like.

The kitchen has a full refrigerator/freezer, a microwave, a large toaster oven, a two-burner hot plate, a rice cooker (even chop sticks), but no oven. This is certainly not a problem since there is a new gas grill on the lanai which we used almost every night. The internet connection is superb, even better than at home and there is a HDTV if you must (we didn't except for the Super Bowl). The cottage has a new HE washer and dryer along with all of the laundry products one could want. Hint: don't pack a lot, you can wash those t-shirts here.

Town and shopping (Safeway, Costco, KTA) are convenient and this is a great base for exploring the island. Volcanoes National Park is a nice day trip as is Hilo over the Saddle Road (which we were surprised to find was one of the best roads on the island). Another plan ahead tip: the Mauna Kea Observatories would be a memorable activity, best experienced when the moon isn't full.

Best of all: either hanging out by the pool and hot tub or coming back at the end of a day of exploring to have that gin and tonic on your private lanai while watching the sun set over Kona and the Pacific Ocean.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic accommodations

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

We spent a few days of our honeymoon at Kona Cottage and could not have been more thrilled with the accommodations. The place was clean, quiet, and beautiful. Additionally, it was close enough to get to town and other hot spots, but secluded enough to feel like a real getaway. Plus, with its being at higher altitude, the weather was perfect. I highly recommend this spot whether you are coming for Ironman, a vacation, a honeymoon, anything. To top it off, Atsumi and her husband could not be nicer and more welcoming.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

the Perfect Place to Stay When Visiting the Kona Coast

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We stayed in the Kope Cottage for four nights upon arrival on The Big Island. The views are matchless, the cottage is immaculate and has everything you would need or want. The use of the jacuzzi and pool are a relaxing end to a day exploring the coast and Holualoa hills. Our hosts were tremendously helpful with advice and information when asked, and gave us plenty of space and privacy to ourselves. They're aloha welcome includes coffee from their farm and papayas and bananas from their trees. It must be repeated that the views from the lanai are gorgeous. And the cottage's proximity to town and the beaches is very convenient.

We loved staying here and would definitely stay again when we return for a visit.

Perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

3 weeks in Paradise!

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

Our first time on the Big Island of Hawaii could not have been better and our positive perspectives were greatly impacted by our stay at the cottage owned by Randy and Atsumi. Where do we start... Attention to detail is evident from the time we booked the property right through to our departure. The ultra clean cottage is the perfect size for a couple, large bedroom with the comfortable king bed, and although there is not a stove, it was not needed. We used the BBQ for just about every meal and the hot plate and microwave worked fine for the rest of our cooking needs. Our hosts provided lots of extras such as fresh apple bananas, mangos and avacados all grown on the property. The fresh ground coffee grown on the property is amazing and we purchased a number of lbs over our 3 week stay. The pool and hot tub are just as described and the views are breathtaking whether you are sitting on the lanai or soaking in the hot tub or pool. We did lots of sight seeing around the island and the location provided easy access to the main highways. Shopping is close by for both food and anything else you may need. As we were there for 3 weeks, we did our initial food purchases at Costco and there is a Safeway and other smaller grocery stores close by as well. We enjoyed visiting with Randy and Atsumi and they provided advise on places to see, the best beaches and anything else we needed to know about the area. The cottage has restricted access to the pool deck if there are guests in the other suite, however we were never inconvenienced by this arrangement. Our wireless internet was not working consistently when we arrived and Randy quickly rectified the situation. (needed to Skype the grandkids!!) Thanks again for an amazing vacation. Would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet Solitude

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We went down to the beach by day and stayed cool at night on the coffee farm with the endless view. Wonderful hosts to great and help us with making arrangements.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Setting, Perfect Central Location for Exploring the Island

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

We had an excellent time during our stay. The views are spectacular, and the area is quiet and well suited to relaxation. We really enjoyed the on-property grown Kona View coffee, and access to papaya and other fresh fruits right outside of our door was impressive. The location is perfect: minutes away from Kailua-Kona and nearby beaches.

The photos with this listing are spot-on as far as what you get. The place really is that clean, and the views are that amazing. We did a little work while there, and the high speed internet and cable TV were nice additions to the property. Atsumi and Randy are very helpful with suggestions as to what to see, and easily reachable if we needed anything or had any questions.

We will definitely be making this one of our regular vacation spots.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

The two of us stayed for a week in early Feb. and couldn't have been more pleased. The cottage is of high quality and is positioned so that it has expansive views of Kona town and miles and miles of coast and ocean. Even when you're inside you feel as though you're outside because of the large sliders. We had most breakfasts on the lanai. Also returned to the lanai in late afternoons for Happy Hours and watching the huge orange sun slip below the horizon. One evening we witnessed the heralded "blue-green flash." The owners are very helpful without being pests. They referred us to the captain of a fishing vessel for a day on the water that included tagging and releasing a 125 lb. Pacific Blue Marlin. One night we also dined at a lovely outdoor restaurant just down the road in Holualoa, a funky little town with several galleries, a couple of which are high-end. We also enjoyed many excellent cups of coffee thanks to the free half-pound of their own roasted beans provided by Randy and Atsumi. The property is surrounded by lush greenery and fresh fruit, so flowers and fruit were provided throughout our stay. We were so impressed with everything that we're considering a long-term rental or home ownership in the area.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

very beautiful property and vacation

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

great property in a natural area, and very good to be quiet.
was a good choice for my preparation for Ironman and we are very happy with our stay. Randy Atsumi and do everything to make our stay pleasant and very discreet. We recommend the cottage Kope to all those who appreciate the quiet nature of the island, and this is just a few miles from Kona

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved this place!

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Kope Cottage for the last leg of our honeymoon. It was by far our favorite spot. The grounds are stunning, as well as the view. We had a great time getting to know the owners, which was a treat, as they are fantastic people. They have such pride in their home. One of my personal favorite parts of being there was the great coffee being delivered to the porch on the first morning. We had a great time cooking in the cottage and enjoyed our meals on the Lanai that overlooks the coffee trees. I hope to go back some day in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Terrific Vacation Rental

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

My husband and I spent several nights during the last week of March 2011 at Kope Cottage, the separate guest house that Randy and Atsumi have recently opened at Kona View Estate. We stayed last year in Vista Suite, but for only two of us, the cottage sounded ideal. It is too wonderful for words--spacious, bright, and comfortable--with the same amazing views of the Kona coast that the main house enjoys. The setting is perfect, overlooking the coffee plantation (the trees were in bloom, covered in “Kona snow”), high above the fray, and the heat, of the town below. Kope is lovely to come home to after an active day, with the option of a swim or hot tub soak and a quiet dinner on the lanai. We took full advantage of the new fitness room, with its elliptical trainer, treadmill, and more of that ocean view. One day I purchased a one-hour introduction to Gyrotonic exercise with Atsumi, which I loved! We played golf at the nearby Makalai course, the one with peacocks and peahens vying for your attention. The course is unique, in good condition, and reasonably priced--a great recommendation from Randy. It was a magical vacation--we had nary a complaint--and returning will be an easy decision!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review