reviews for: listing #93881 - Wellfleet, Massachusetts Cottage rental

Old Salt
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $900 - $2,600 /wk

sort by:

Old Salt was Fantastic

Review submitted: May 23, 2014   Date of arrival: May 13, 2014

We are on a month long vacation in the USA and wanted to experience a few days in a seaside cottage on Cape Cod. Old Salt Cottage was perfect in every respect. It certainly measured up to the website description and photographs. It was comfortable and clean and just a few steps away from a great beach. We didn't have a car and found a restaurant and the village were in easy walking distance. Old Salt provided us with a great base for very relaxing and memorable few days. Thanks for everything Howie!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Old Salt was sweet!

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

We had a lovely time at Old Salt! Two of my friends got to the cottage before me & they both texted me about what a score we made. For a small, simple cottage the bedrooms were bigger than we thought. Plus the newly redone kitchen was as nice as it looked online.
Old Salt has been newly refurbished so it was fresh & cute. We loved the outdoor shower! We were unable to take advantage of the kayaks that were included but maybe next year as we definitely will return.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation spot

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Old Salt in Wellfleet. The cottage was located within walking distance of the Wellfleet pier and right across the road from the beach. We spent many hours sitting at the beach relaxing and our kids enjoyed swimming and kayaking in the calm bay water! The kids were able to ride their bikes to the pier easily and did this on a daily basis. The location was quiet and was perfect for sightseeing as it did not take long to get to Truro, Provincetown and various other locations! The cottage was clean and comfortable and was exactly as described. We especially appreciated the hot/cold outdoor shower and we utilized this a lot! There were many hooks to hang our towels and clothes throughout the house. It was pretty warm the week that we were there, so we used the window fans that were provided. The kitchen was well stocked and even came with garbage bags, paper towels, sponges and dishwashing liquid. A couple of the nights, we went to the pier to either eat dinner at The Pearl or the take out window at Mac's on the pier which served a variety of food and ice cream. We would definitely recommend staying at this cottage and we will stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Stay inOldcSalt

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Wonderful time. Clean, simpe and in every way adequate. Marvelous location.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love Old Salt

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We have been vacationing on Cape Cod for years, and always love it. This location however is special. With 2 young boys it is the perfect spot. A hop across the street to the beach, a 5 minute walk to a playground, ice cream, a pier, and great restaurants. It's everything we could ask for in a vacation.
Old Salt is a fabulous cottage, very comfortable, and very Cape Cod. This is by far our very favourite destination!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy home, great location

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We took our 2 daughters ages 10 months and 2 years to the beach for the first time. It was great to have the house was right across from such a picturesque and quiet beach and there were so many thoughtful and convenient touches. We would definitely return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Old Salt - Ocean Front Property

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We have stayed in this cottage for 2 years in a row now. We originally choose to stay in this cottage because of its location and all that it had to offer a place you can relax, a feel of home away from home. We bring bicycles for the whole family, and you can bike to the market, Wellfleet center, and many local eateries and bars.

At the end of the street we charter a deep sea fishing trip every year. The location is minutes from the Truro vineyard as well.

I was more than satisfied and definitely will be back for another stay.
No complaints, simply beautiful and would recommend this cottage for any family. Our guests included 4 adults and three children (children ages 2.5 yrs, 3.5 yrs and 3 months), and we couldn't have been happier. The kids loved the playground every night, the beach being so close is very convenient for the littler ones as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

My husband and two young boys ages 6 and 8 had a fabulous time at Old Salt. The location was great because we had many choices for activities (seeing a play outdoors, playground, charter boat at the marina for fishing, ice cream at the pier at Mac's and of course Mayo Beach which is across the street). We spent most of our time at the beach in the warm bay water which is across the street but managed to go on a couple of day trips to Cahoon Hallow beach and Provincetown. We went during a very hot week so the house was very warm during the day but at night it cooled down and the window fans cooled things nicely. We would definitely rent here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Old Salt Weekend

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Great weekend; thanks Howie. The place is super clean, fully stocked, with nice, rustic charm. Love the outdoor shower and access to kayak. And 20 steps to a nice sandy beach can't be beat. A 10 minute walk to restaurants, bars, etc. I'll be back! Peter V.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

weekend stay

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Thank you very much for helping us rent Old Salt this last Memorial Day weekend. I had a wonderful time, as did all the other guests. The house was clean and all the dishes were done and very clean when we got there. The bathroom and outdoor shower were great and we had plenty of hot water for everyone to shower. The kitchen was also very nice and the stove did a great job. The two ceiling fans did an amazing job cooling the place down at night and having the picnic table and the Adirondack chairs was also a great idea. Please send the owners a huge thank you for making this a wonderful and memorable experience they have a very nice property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Old Salt Is Awesome

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

This place is off the hook.. From the location to the interior of the cottage everything is perfect about this place.. The beach is actaully less than 20 steps.. My 15 month old had a blast, the cottage is very toddler/ child friendly.. The cottage is right at the beach yet walking distance to the Pier/park/resturants/BAR.. About 5 min drive to the Great island if you feeling like a hike.. Close to MTB trails if you're into that stuff..

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review