reviews for: listing #93898 - Des Moines, Washington House rental

Redondo Beach Retreat!!!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Redondo
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $800 - $1,000 /wk
    $1,500 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Redondo Beach Family Reunion

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

We live in Europe and have rented villas in several countries and the US. I found Ruth to be one of the most responsive owners with whom I've corresponded. She always replied within just a few hours, amazing given the nine time zones between us. Ruth provided excellent materials regarding the property including a short-term lease. She was very professional.

I rented this property for a family reunion for people in the PNW and a few who flew in to attend. The property worked amazingly well. The kitchen downstairs was very well appointed, all of us had everything we needed for cooking and cleaning. There were more spices and other supplies in this property than I've had in any other. We used the upstairs wet bar as a staging area for patio parties and grilling. It was very convenient. After the Mariners game we actually had 24 people aged 2 to 78 in for dinner. The play area in the backyard saved the day with the children and the adults enjoyed the view and multiple places to sit and talk.

The television and surround sound system are the best I've ever had in a rental villa. There are movies included in the satellite package and a few extras on-hand. All of the equipment worked very well and was clearly well-maintained. The water and ice in the refrigerator door feature was a blessing.

There are sleeping accommodations for six. There are two comfortable beds in the bedrooms and a daybed in the downstairs sitting area that we didn't use. The downstairs bedroom is in the back of the property and was very quiet. The downstairs bathroom was just a few steps away and had a bathtub.
The upstairs bedroom is open to the rest of that floor and provides a great view of the water but much less privacy. It's also noisier for sleeping. This bedroom has an ensuite bathroom that is large and well-appointed (shower).
The boardwalk across the street was easy to access and gave the property a real resort feel. The view is spectacular from all windows. There is a beach close by and good restaurants at the end of the boardwalk. The small aquarium is well-done and interesting for visitors of all ages.

We were able to park six cars in the driveway once but four was the norm for us. The house is easy to find and very accessible to highways and arterial roads.
We found the house to be very clean with sufficient towels in both bathrooms and the kitchen. Check-out was easy and my deposit was returned timely.

In short, this place is a gem.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Willsons, San Antonio, TX

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

Awesome stay. Fantastic view. A great place to stay. We will look forward to staying here again. Salty's is a great place to eat but a little pricey. Wally's Chowder House was very good. Lots of places to go and visit and not too far away. 1st floor toilet needs some attention but all was OK with everything else. The only thing wrong with the place is having to leave. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Redondo Beach Retreat

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

Great place to stay. The home was very comfortable and had everything (except a hair dryer) we could ask for. We enjoyed the view from the home, Salty's and Wally's seafood restaurants, taking walks on the boardwalk and in the area, relaxing on the large deck, and visiting the Marine Science Center on the boardwalk. We watched a baby seal resting on the shore everyday until the mother seal would come at night. The location was convenient to Seattle and Tacoma but we rarely left because it was so great just enjoying the home and view.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your time at the Redondo Beach Retreat and the surroundings with the views and the sea life. It truly is so beautiful out there and the Marine Science Center is very neat and actually is free to the public. Hair dryer has been provided for the house and the running toilet and any other minor things have been fixed. The house also has an iron and an ironing board. Enjoy the stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entered by Owner

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

The coffee pot not working properly and other little issues (screen door, etc.) mentioned in earlier reviews were fixed in Jan 2013. Enjoy your stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect alternative to staying in a hotel!

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

I just wanted to tell you how nice our stay was at your Redondo Beach house. It was such a nice place for taking walks and to watch the ships on the water. Everything was very nice, thank you. I look forward to coming back some time.

My old dog could not get up the wood stairs so we just stayed downstairs but we were still very comfortable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3/13

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

3. Thanks for renting your beach house for the week. We really enjoyed our stay here. The views were great and so were the prices. Great location. Really close to Seattle, Tacoma, and the airport.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Easter 2013

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

2. Great walks,the beautiful puget sound. Quite a weekend. Thank you for sharing your peace on earth.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

April 2013

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

I lucked upon this lovely home while searching for some temporary housing. My two sons absolutely loved the gorgeous views as did my husband and I. It was perfect for our family of 4. Many thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bambi from WA

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

I just wanted to say thank you for allowing us to stay in your son's beautiful home. I would highly recommend this location to anyone who is looking for a relaxing place to stay while visiting the Seattle area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Edm/Canada

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

It was absolutely amazing here. We loved the place. Just like being at home except we don't have the beautiful view. Thank you so much for the stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Boston, MA

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Thanks for a great week! Your beach house is lovely and has a perfect view for the water & sunset. Your house is very comfortable. The second floor is especially nice with the deck and view right there! The quality of your place is everything I had hoped it would be. My week at Redondo Beach Retreat has been terrific!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oklahoma

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful week. We thought you might want to know we found the coffee pot to be cracked & unusable. It is on the counter upstairs. You might also want to have a plumber check the upstairs toilet. It is slow to flush & sometimes the water continues to run. We could not find a "trash" can outside so we put our trash in the recycle container. It appears others have done the same.
We've left some non-perishable groceries - cereal, tea,etc. - and some pinochle cards! (Because we brought them by mistake and don't know how to play!)
We had a great 7 days. We found lots of things to see and do in the area - Lavender farm, Pike's Market in Seattle & Art in the Avenue in Tacoma.
The upstairs of the house is especially welcoming, comfortable and open. Great view & wonderful area to paint. We have left you an original watercolor (of the dozen or so we painted). We hope you like them.
Gig Harbor is also beautiful & we had our best meal of the week @ Kelly's - although Salty's was also very good!
You can remember us as the ladies who were crazy enough to think they needed air conditioning in NW Wash!(Thanks for having Samantha bring the fans. They were nice to have. She is a jewel.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sierra Vista, AZ

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

This is a piece of paradise. The view is fabulous and the house was perfect. The screen on the door upstairs is broken however that was the only problem we had. We'd love to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Littleton, CO

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

This house is amazing and even though we were here for my father's funeral we loved the house, the deck & the beach! Thank you for the lovely home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tulsa, OK.

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

Everything was wonderful. Very relaxing and fantastic view. The instructions in your book were very good. I love this area and will definitely be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family from Boise

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

Ruth,
thanks so much for this great place! Great LOCATION - close to the airport, great VIEW, great PRICE, great parking - free! for 3! We had a wonderful time and it was an easy trip to SPU graduation. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Garfields

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

The house was clean and well equiped. Nicely furnished and everything was explained. Surprising the amount of traffic on Redondo Beach Drive. You might note that the transition piece on the floor in the upstairs bathroom is not secure! Otherwise a lovely stay and would return in the summer! Thanks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Georgia

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

Was near to tears when arrived. Saw how darn cute this places is! I felt like I may have somehow been here before. This whole endeavor is a "God Thing". Because of one need in one's life - many are being blessed. Greatest pleasure is the kitchen and 1/2 - can have like 2 separate little parties if desired. Not to mention we have always had a love for the water and have boated on Puget Sound for almost 10 yrs. Ruth,this has been the greatest blessing since I saw it on the net. And you have been so kind and considerate.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Willsons, San Antonio, TX

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

Awesome stay. Fantastic view. A great place to stay. We will look forward to staying here again. Salty's is a great place to eat but a little pricey. Wally's Chowder House was very good. Lots of places to go and visit and not too far away. 1st floor toilet needs some attention but all was OK with everything else. The only thing wrong with the place is having to leave. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review