reviews for: listing #93941 - Miami, Florida House rental

Historic House 5 Minutes to South Beach, Coral Gables, MIA
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $119 /nt
    $799 - $799 /wk

sort by:

Couples Getaway

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We were two couples staying at the house for a vacation from yhe cold winter in RI. The house was bigger than I thought it was going to be which is always a good surprise. Upon arrival Raul was able to do a walk through with us of the house as well as explain anything and everything we needed to know. One of the areas we used most was the front porch, coming from snow to the sunny state of Florida we wanted to enjoy the outdoors as much as possible and that was a perfect spot for us to sit and talk. We ran into an incident because my husband touched the alarm buttons because it was makin a noise; which resulted in a louder noise at 3:30am that resulted in police officer showing up because the alarm company called them. We felt horrible about calling Raul at that time of night but he was very sensitive to the issue and resolved the problem by providing us with the code so it would turn off and coming over the next morning to make sure everything was ok so that it wouldn't happen again! (I felt horrible; but he was great!!) Somethings I would suggest would be to have a grill small in the backyard where guests would be able to grill it's just so beautiful to cook outside as well as having some beach chairs and a cooler that guests could bring with them to the beach. Overall it a good house; the location is wonderful if you have a car because there is a gate and if you don't have a car you can walk to supermarkets, restaurants, bars, etc.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Clean and beautiful house, will be coming back!!

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

Definitely will come back next year. Excellent bathroom facilities and very clean, which was important to my wife who is picky. In addition, the house was in a great central location nearby to everything in Miami. The owner was very friendly too.

A very good buy considering how expensive hotels in the area are.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Not what it appears online

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

The owner seems like a very likeable person. The property, however, is most definitely in a neighborhood with a lot of character. There are more burglar bars and metal fences than I have ever seen in all of my travels. The home was nicely kept on the outside. There is an iron fence that remotely opens and closes across the driveway - otherwise I would not have felt comfortable leaving my car there overnight. The home is actually divided into dwellings for others also. All of which share the same hot water heater with us. The floors were very dirty. I wouldn't suggest walking without something on your feet unless you don't mind black bottomed feet from the grime. We called the owner about having to take cold showers. He was very responsive and came over and did something? Don't know but the cold showers continued. The shower isn't working properly so most of the hot water stays at your feet when you turn the nob to take a shower. I mentioned this to the owner but he said "that it is working fine". In at nutshell, we got what we paid for I guess during high season in Florida. I won't be back to this property. I hope that my cleaning charge actually is used before the next tenant arrives. We left early and did not stay the duration of our rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Little Havana has a distinct character & history. All neighborhoods in Miami of every socio-economic status have a certain look, & feel. Many have bars on windows that have been on properties here since the early 80s. However this renter was not here for the cultural or ethnic experience that tourists that stay with us are looking for. Instead my house was chosen because I was willing & able to accommodate the renter’s huge commercial sized vehicle which she didn’t want to park on any street. She said she always had trouble finding places that allowed such a huge vehicle. My house also happened to be conveniently close to where she had to be. When I went to the property to greet her, I noticed she brought not 1 but 2 vehicles, & was unloading a large number of boxes from the storage vehicle into the house, unpacking them, & some of my furniture was moved to the side. This was ok with me, but it explains the supposed dirt that was brought into the house from the yard, going in & out of the house with boxes for 10 days. The cleaners I contract had thoroughly vacuumed & cleaned the floor right before her check in. During this first meeting she mentioned that the water was cold the first night, which was a bit odd to me because the water tank is a brand new 40 gallon tank that services up to 6 people in the house where she was and 2 in the back apartment. When she was here, there was a grand total of 4 people on the premises, including her. I checked the breakers & found no problem at all with the temperature. The shower water was very, very hot when I tested it for several minutes. It was a bit of an awkward situation for me so I avoided suggesting that she might be using the wrong knob for the hot water. I left in good terms, gave her suggestions for dining that night, & I told her to please call me if she has any problem, question or concern whatsoever. After that first meeting, she never called once to complain to even give me a chance to rectify any of these alleged problems. Instead, on the 10th day of her stay she text'd me saying she left. No reason was given. 3 days after this, she texts again, this time with the complaints mentioned above. I ran the hot water for 20 minutes when I inspected the house after her departure and still found no problem with the hot water. That being said, I'm content that I was able to help someone with special needs when they needed it, even though they didnt appreciate my efforts, my hospitality or our unique town

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Close to everything

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

This great little house is right in the "Little Havana" area and Calle Ocho. We had an awesome time walking to the local attractions and it was only a short drive to everything. We will stay here next time we are in Miami, Thanks Raul.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

conveniently located

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

The house is conveniently located just minutes from the airport, beaches, and downtown Miami with all it has to offer, as well as being situated in "Little Havana" with the colorful local shops, restaurants and night life all available for your enjoyment. The house is clean and up to date with all the amenities for a pleasant stay. The owner is very kind, efficient, and accommodating. We particularly enjoyed our visit to the historic Viscaya House, the local food and wines, and of course the beaches. In addition, we found that it isn’t too far from the Florida Keys and the wonderful State Parks there. If you require a reasonably priced, clean, comfortable and conveniently located property with a thoughtful and helpful owner, you found it. I am very pleased to be able recommend this property without hesitation. Thanks Raul, we look forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful Miami Visit

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

My close friends and I had a fantastic time in Miami. The house was perfect, walking distance to Calle Ocho, 15 m from the beach, and 5 m from downtown. Raul provided such sincere hospitality also. we were all more than impressed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review