reviews for: listing #93942 - Southport, North Carolina Condo rental

Saint James Golf & Beach Villa MWC #102
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  St. James Plantation
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $90 - $125 /nt
    $575 - $775 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place to call home while building new home

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

We enjoyed our four month stay while watching our new home being built. The condo more then met our expectations. It's in a great location in St James.....easy access to everything. We spent a lot of time at Tommy's at the marina, Southport, and Oak Island. The furnishings were comfortable and the unit was very well maintained. Tom was the best landlord I've ever experienced, communication was a breeze! We highly recommend this property to anyone, its first floor location makes coming and going ever so easy. Sitting on the screened porch and watching the blue heron and deer at the pond was so relaxing. If we ever experience an overflow of guests in our new home we'll be back. Thanks Tom!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August Stay at St. James Condo

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at your condo in St. James Plantation. The condo is beautiful with a great location within the St. James community, being close to the Members Club and Founders Club. All local amenities, including the beach, were easily accessible and the staff was always willing to help. We found the town of Southport to be charming, with many shopping and dining options. Also, the location of the condo within NC was also excellent - both Wilmington and Myrtle Beach are easily accessible, and both have lots of activites and dining options. We had a great time and look forward to spending time there again in the future. Thanks again for all your help and hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Vacation

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

this was our 2nd stay at this unit and i have to say our expectations were fully met. Let me preface this by saying that my wife is very picky and doesn't like to stay at the same place twice. She was extremely pleased with the cleanliness of the place, convenience to a beach and pool area and the comfort of the condo. Everything was as expected and I would definitely stay here again. Immediate pool access is a plus, great restaurants nearby and the grounds were very well kept.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Soon to Be Home

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

The condo is better than the pictures could ever show you. There is an immediate "home" feel to it due to the comfortable furnishings and finish to the unit. The unit is equipped with virtually everything which made the rain time we had pass more easily. The purpose of our visit was to become more knowledgeable of St. James as we prepare to build a home there and take up permanent residence. We dined in all the clubhouse restaurants and enjoyed them all. We had lunch at the Southport Provision Company and Tommy Thompsons at the Marina thoroughly enjoyed both. We found all of these meals reasonably priced. Any questions we had were promptly answered by the owner by whichever method you preferred. ( phone, text or e-mail) He also sent any updates from the property such as the change of the code for the Beach Club restrooms. The beach club, the golf courses and the close proximity of both Wilmington and Myrtle Beach make this condo a perfect home base. We have already recommended it friends and family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Superb Accomodations in St. James Plantation

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in this nicely 'beach themed' decorated condo. The owner was great to work with and the unit was exactly like the description. Cleanliness is a must for me and I was very happy staying there!! We would love to return and would recommend this unit to anybody. While my husband played golf at one of the local courses I could safely take a run through the gorgeous plantation or sit by the pool which was a 30 second walk away. The Beach Club on Oak Island was a 10 min. drive and had a nice pool too. Being beach fans, we couldn't have been more happy! The beaches were wide, clean and not crowded at all, and are very family oriented. For dinner out we tried Shagger Jacks, The BBQ House, Fishy Fishy, and Blue Marlin - all were quite good. Can't wait to go back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Nice

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

I found the Owner very responsive and easy to work with during the booking. The place was CLEAN!!! and well kept. The beds were nice and the furniture in the bedrooms was much nicer than what you would expect in a vacation rental. Plenty of room for your clothes. Bathrooms were clean plenty big enough. The beach club access was nice. It was located just beside a public access and provided a nice place to use a real bathroom while on the beach as well as a place to wash off the sand before returning to our cars. There are three TVs, one in the living room and one in each bedroom. All we newer tvs which was also nice. Even the kitchen utensils were nice, not just castaway stuff you normally find in a rental. It was a great place for me, my wife and three kids to enjoy a short vacation to the beach. I would stay here again without hesitation and would highly recommend it. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Conveniently Located Condo at St James

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Review #6213406 Conveniently located condo at St James

Nicely maintained condo just off the main street in St James Plantation. Owner helpful and easy to deal with. Property was as advertised in listing. Convenient to all activities in St James plus easy access to beach and to Southport. All restaurants in the St James Clubs are good; we like Fishy Fishy in Southport on the water, too. Definitely recommend this condo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Six Month Rental

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

We stayed in the villa for six months. It was on the first floor of the building, which was very convenient. The villa was beautifully and tastefully decorated, everything was very clean and in working order, and we had everything we needed for an extended stay. The owner was always responsive to our questions and accommodated us in every way. Behind the villa is a natural area, so it was pleasant to sit in the screened porch and watch the wildlife. We would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend the villa to friends and relatives.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Recent Stay

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

My family rented this unit recently. I own another unit in the same development but we had a lot of family come down for a wedding. Everything was as described. Tom was helpful and always communicated information about access, etc. We would highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, spacious, well appointed condo perfect

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

This was our third stay in Saint James and we were very pleased with the villa. It was very clean, had all the amenities that you would want, and conveniently located in the development. The unit was beautifully decorated, and had many personal touches you don't normally find in a rental. The Saint James Property is well maintained and we enjoyed our stay a great deal. The golf courses and restaurants are exceptional, and the property also boasts pools, tennis courts and a recreation center. It is a short drive to Southport and the beach property owned by Saint James.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

St. James Plantation Condos

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We had a wonderful week at the condo in St. James Plantation. Walking distance to golf and other amentities. Tom was outstanding in addressing all our needs during our week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quiet with Access

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

It was a pleasure to retreat to this condo after a day at the beach (9 miles away) or fishing or golf. Comfy, clean, stocked with utensils, this was a home away from home. That there were beach chairs, an umbrella, and a boogie board made our day trips easy. Supplied linens made for a light trip, too. If approaching the property from Wilmington, a nice drive is along the coast (glimpses of the beach) and then a ferry ride from Fort Fisher to Southport ($5 per car). Southport has shops and resturants and a big welcome center. The price for a ferry to Bald Head Isl $25 per person (we did not go). On Oak Island there is a unique menu at Shagger Jack's; the dishes were tasty and nicely-presented, too. For a clean and serious ice cream cafe -- lots of coffee drinks -- try Tropical Treats farther down the main drag (Oak Island Drive and 56th, I think). Within St James, the Marina is a resource - mini general store and deli connected to the Pub. The Artisans' Gallery provided gift shopping and all by St James artists. Cons: The only thing I would add to the condo is a detailed map of St James Plantation. Wifi was great, but I was unable to get a strong enough signal to make phonecalls, unless outside in the parking lot. Not too big of a deal, though, considering it was vacation!

Owner response:We appreciate your review Joanne and were glad to hear you had a great time. Sorry, to hear you had cell phone troubles. We are working on a fix for that, right now we only have a signal booster for Sprint Phones but hope to be able to address some of the other carriers with weak signals in the near future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorable 4th!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Great amenities and a fantastic experience! The beach was tremendous and not crowded at all! Weather was perfect. And the golf was everything you could ask – each course has a very distinct personality. My wife and I loved the trip! We can’t wait until we move on down!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review