reviews for: listing #9401 - Cayuga Lake, New York House rental

The 1843 House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $450 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,950 /wk
    $1,800 - $1,800 /mth

sort by:

Great vacation!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This was our first time renting the 1843 house. The guest list: my wife and me, my brother & spouse w/two pre-teens, other brother with spouse, and my dad and wife. Speaking for everyone, a great time was had. The house itself is beautifully kept yet very comfortable. The modern kitchen is well appointed (three frying pans!)with modern conveniences and has a nice open layout to accommodate multiple cooks. The beds were all extremely comfy with extra pillows and blankets.

The grounds around the house are beautiful. We were pleasantly surprised with the patio furniture, modern and well-suited to the space. The beach area has a raised deck with picnic table and chairs. While access to the beach is adequately described on the website, the 50+ stairs can be daunting for older folks or those with mobility or health issues.

The other really positive about the place is access to touristy thing-to-do. Wineries everywhere, a state park (Taughannock Falls) with a beautiful waterfall and gorge for hiking, a goat farm (great cheese!), a brewery and a bunch of nice, informal restaurants.

If your looking for a resort experience with four-star dining and exciting night life, this ain't for you. If you want low-key, uncomplicated days with friendly people in some of nature's most beautiful surroundings, make your reservation today. We will surely be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We really appreciate this review. We strive to give our renters the best possible experience while staying at our lake house. The house has all the modern conveniences but with the charm of a home built in 1843. When you stay at the house all you have to bring is your own linen, towels, food and personal items. Everything else that you may need is there. There is even a canoe and life preservers for our guests to use.

Come spend your vacation with us during the summer or a weekend during the fall, winter and spring. The house is also available by the month during the off season. We'd love to have you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Little Bit of Heaven

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

Thank you so much. We had a wonderful time even in the rain. If it is still for rent in 2015 we will give you a call. Certainly a little bit of heaven! Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Successful Retreat

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Thank you for helping us make our meeting and retreat a success. We
had a wonderful stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Functional but not clean and in poor condition

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

We enjoyed our week at Cayuga Lake in spite of our disappointment in this cottage. The band at the winery next door was great & we also loved hiking at the state park.

We carefully read through this cottage's reviews available to us before booking this cottage; we also requested additional pictures in order to feel we would be sure to be getting what we were paying for. Unfortunately it was not the case.

The cottage had dozens of cobwebs, multiple ant traps in most rooms as well as on the kitchen counter and food on the kitchen floor from previous tenants. We found to difficult to believe the cottage is being cleaned on a weekly basis between tenants, as we were assured. The upstairs toilet was barely functional (we needed to pour water to ensure flushing) and the showers were not in good working condition. There was a crack in the kitchen window, paint and wallpaper were peeling throughout the house. The frame of the entrance door was broken so the door did not close properly without using force. The spindles on several dining room chairs were broken or taped with masking tape to hold together. The outdoor chairs were worn out and the white plastic chairs for the beach area were utilitarian at best.

Although there was a sufficient quantity of cookware, there was only 1 useable fry pan; i.e. without multiple scratches. We did not expect we would need to purchase a fry pan and spatula, as we did. Although the instructions indicated the fire pit should be used for fires away from trees, the fire pit is located on a cement block beside many trees. The house had a damp musty odour which was not very inviting and was the first sign upon entry that we were being excessively overcharged for the accommodations to be offered.

As it was last summer, one can only find positive reviews on line. For a period of time we were not able to post our review since the cottage was promptly removed from the rental site where we found it. We believe it is important to advise the owner, as we did, and to post this information for all to see before making a decision about a holiday.

Owners response: This is in response to a “courtesy” email of “disappointing aspects” we received last year and then a year later, the review on Craigslist.
If we had been contacted at the beginning of their stay we would have brought the cleaning service back into the house, fry pans would have been replaced and dining room chairs would have been switched with other chairs. We offered to compensate them but were informed that it was too late.
The charm of the house in part is due to the fact that the house was built in 1843. We, as well as previous owners, have made improvements and had renovations done to the structure, but it is still historically accurate and filled with many antiques. That being said, there are minor problems associated with a much older homes than that with modern homes. Even though the house is vacuumed and dusted regularly, cobwebs return. We spray the perimeter of the house but ants still manage to come in, hence ant traps. If we were to update the house to modern standards, we would severely impact its charm.
We feel we offer a decent value for the price; a stay in the heart of the Finger Lakes wine country in a 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom historic house with private access to over 200 feet of Cayuga Lake front.
As far as the upstairs bathroom toilet not being functional, sometimes the handle sticks and needs to be jiggled to allow water to fill back up. When not done, the toilet can't be flushed.
The patio chairs were faded due to being in the sun all summer but their structure and seats were not compromised. Since we’ve found plastic chairs in the lake and wooden picnic table benches used as firewood, the beach furnishings are utilitarian. The fire pit is placed on the cement block so the grass can be mowed around it. It is not heavy and can be moved to different locations around the perimeter of the house. If we had been asked about it, we could have clarified this.
Since last summer fry pans have been replaced, dining rooms chairs have been replaced, the bathroom wallpaper that was peeling has been removed and the walls have been painted, a new ceiling light fixture has been installed, the kitchen door frame has been filed so the door now closes properly, patio chairs have been replaced, etc.
We have been renting this house for the past 7 years and this is the first negative review we have received.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Everything

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

Loved everything, house, lake, wine, etc. Just beautiful!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun Family Reunion

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 25, 2012

We had a fun family reunion. Enjoyed the scenery, hiking and good food. Your home made it all possible. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Week

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

We had a wonderful week, enjoyed the proximity to the lake and wineries. We liked the band at Buttonwood Winery, the flavours at the Cayuga Lake Creamery, the hike at Watkins Glen State Park and the many country music radio stations. We were very lucky to have beautiful weather to enjoy being at the lake.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Lovely Home

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We had a wonderful week - thanks so much for sharing your lovely home wit us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks For Your Hospitality

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

What a lovely home - comfortable and cozy with lots of fun gathering places. I enjoyed watching my two grandsons grow this week! The three year old LOVES the dock and water - his confidence grew by leaps an bounds this week. Thank you very much for your hospitality!! My "Florida" daughter loves the area, too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Engagement Celebration

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

A group of best girlfriends were here to celebrate our best friend's engagement and soon to be wedding, by sharing stories, memories, and advice. We laughed, played, swam, ate, talked, and cried from laughing so hard. We all slept well and enjoyed the house very much. The weather couldn't have been more perfect. We took full advantage of the water and the deck, relaxing and rejuvinating. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Celebration

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

All had a beautiful time here while celebrating Hugo's graduation from Cornell University. This house is peaceful, very good and a wonderful place to us. We would like to stay longer but we must return home tomorrow We will miss everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed Our Stay

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the lake house very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Convenient Location

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

The house was great. We really enjoyed our stay and loved the convenience of living right next door to the vineyards. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a Great Time

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

House was great. Had a great time wine tasting and enjoyed the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Not Quite What We Expected

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

A group of friends and I stayed at the 1843 house for a week to reunite from miles apart. We had a wonderful time due to good company and shared laughter, but the house and our experience with the owners were not exactly what we had expected or hoped for due to a number of circumstances.

While the owner did notify us that the house was located on a busy street and the ad did state that the water was "50 steps down," we were surprised by the cars zipping past at 60+ mph and the three and a half flights of steep stairs that we had to climb up and down to get to and from the water.

The house was also smaller than we expected. It was loaded with plenty of old world charm but comfort was lacking and it felt more like a cabin than a relaxing retreat.

About a week after our stay I contacted the owner via email to inquire about our security deposit and received no response. A few days later I received a portion of it in the mail with a list of 10 reasons why we lost $75. While I do believe 2 reasons were legitimate and worth the $75 (kitchen not clean enough and excessive recycling), others on the list were shocking. The list was comprised of several statements about items not being put back exactly where they were found and it mentioned excessive garbage although we left much less garbage in the outdoor pail then was there when we arrived.

Another item on the list stated that "there seemed to be more people staying at the house than previously designated." but when I spoke with the owner before renting the property I informed her that there would be 5-6 of us staying the entire week and possibly a few more staying for a few days. On the day the owners came to unlock the barn which we accidentally locked with our bikes inside it, we had 8 people on the property, 1 of which was only visiting for the day. The "special visit" to unlock the barn was also included on the list even though we were assured repeatedly that it was not a hassle for the owner and her husband to visit. We even offered to call a locksmith and replace the lock ourselves.

I would not recommend renting this property to a friend because it was not worth the hassle. If you do choose to make the 1843 house your vacation destination be prepared for the busy street, the stairs, and to put dishes and blankets away in the exact cupboards they were found in.

Good Luck!

Owners response: We began renting the 1843 House at the end of 2007. Since then we have had over 50 summer weekly rentals as well as several fall rentals. We even had a long term rental (several months) while the family looked for a house to purchase. This was the first complaint we received and only the second time we had to deduct some money from the security deposit. I was out of town on vacation when her email was written and did not spend time checking emails until I returned home on August 7.

Before finding out that we took $75 off of their $500 security deposit, for the cost of a housecleaner and removing several large bags of recycling, the following was written in our guest book. “We had a wonderful time celebrating our milestone birthdays (30! Oh my!) Your house is gorgeous and the lake was well enjoyed. Thank you.” This was signed by 9 people. I included several other things on the list of why they did not get the entire security deposit back even though no money was deducted for those items. This did not include “putting dishes and blankets in the exact cupboards they were found in”.

In response to the paragraph about cars zipping passed at 60+ miles per hour, we have no control how fast cars go on a state road. They knew there were 50 steps down to the lake which means they would have to climb it each time. If you have to climb down 50 steps to get to the lake you should know that the lake is down a steep hill.

In response to the paragraph about the house being small and like a cabin, the house is over 1900 square feet with 4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, large eat-in kitchen, dining room and living room. Even though the house was built in 1843, it has been well taken care of and modernized. This includes a newly remodeled kitchen with brand new appliances and hardwood flooring.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Be Back

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2007

We had a wonderful time. Everything was so comfortable and clean.
Understanding and accomodating owners. We all felt very blessed to have use of such a wonderful home.
We will be back! and hope we can stay here again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Enjoyable Vacation

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation in this charming, old, and tastefully decorated house. The location is very convenient and pleasant. We hope we have the opportunity to come again. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Family Gathering

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2008

We had a wonderful family gathering to celebrate our daughter's graduation. Such an historic, beautiful house, surrounded by lilacs.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What A Wonderful Place

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2008

My wife says "What a wonderful place!" Like my old headmaster used to say on his reports "I fully agree".

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Place

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2008

Beautiful place to stay. We all enjoyed the house and the lake. We so enjoyed the dock and the canoe.
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bachelor/Bachelorette Weekend

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

Thank you for being so accommodating! We are only getting married once, and this weekend has been fantastic. The house is adorable, the wines were delicious and the times were good. Your house will always be in our memories as the house we stayed in for our bachelor/bachelorette weekend. Thanks again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Graduation Weekend

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

Thank you for the use of your home. It is very beautiful up here. It was great for us to gather for our son's graduation from Cornell. Everyone enjoyed the weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank-full

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

Thank-full for friends time together away from the day to day distractions.
A time of rest and restoration filled with gladness to be remembered.
Good conversation, laughter by the water to be treasured.
Time on dock and around dining room table will be savored...
Celebrating life!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We're Sad To Leave

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

We're sad to leave today. It's been a wonderful week. We swam, had a clambake, rented a kayak, visited the falls and wineries. Great friends topped it off!

What a wonderful, relaxing time! We had so much fun lakeside and equally enjoyed our time spent in your beautiful home sipping our new favorite wines in the evenings. The children spent their days swimming, fishing, snorkeling & could not have been happier. We're looking forward to another vacation in the Finger Lakes.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2009

Thank you so much for a wonderful week! It was a wonderful time with family and friends - boating, campfires, grilling, playing games, cards...
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Place To Stay

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

This was a wonderful play to stay. Had a great time here. Will surely come back in the near future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Week

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

What a wonderful week! Swimming in the lake, fishing from the dock, sitting around the campfire. The wineries, gorges. Very nice.
Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun Time

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

We had a fun time relaxing at the fire pit and fishing off the dock. We all went in the canoe as well.
Thanks for a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Renunion

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

From the four corners (Maryland, Florida, NYC and Ontario) we came to stay at the 1843 House. We explored Seneca Falls, the Seward House in Auburn and took a long drive to Cooperstown.
During the week the kids used the canoe, wailed our Laser 2, swam and annoyed the fish.
A great week high above Cayuga's waters. Swedish Hill worth the visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review