reviews for: listing #94039 - Santa Barbara, California Studio rental

Beautiful Mosaic Tiled Studio One Mile from the Beach/Romant
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $85 - $95 /nt
    $550 - $590 /wk
    $1,995 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

Peaceful stay

Review submitted: December 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2013

We've visited twice for periods of about a week, and have thoroughly enjoyed both stays. The house is next to a beautiful park, the owners are nice, the bed in the room is very comfortable, and the neighborhood is extremely quiet as well as being a short drive to downtown or Arroyo Burro Beach.

Owners response: Thanks Peter we have enjoyed having you stay 2 times with us, you are in our special group of returning guests, who pay no security fee and get a bottle of your favorite wine!! It is all true, we do have a very nice little canyon by the Ocean, a 100 acre park and close to downtown, we hope to see you again soon! happy Holidays Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy and adorable!

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our stay for a wedding. We found it to be very comfortable(the bed especially) and accommodating. If your a sight seeker there are some awesome trails for hiking very nearby. We really enjoyed our stay and can't wait for our next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a nice review! We are glad that you appreciated our great neighborhood, close to everything, and yet lots of nature right in our own parks and beaches. We hope that you will come back again soon. Happy Trails, Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful Xmas

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

I am single, and was traveling with my little dog, Burt. The location was wonderful, though you do need a car. The property was clean and very nice. I had a wonderful time, staying 2 weeks over the holidays, and I would recommend this to any other traveler. The kitchen is tight, and only includes a microwave. A tray or end table next to the bed would have been helpful for beverages. However, the Christmas lights in this area of Santa Barbara were wonderful, and it was perfect for traveling with an animal.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A small studio at a quiet location

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

We are a family of 3 (parents with a 8 yo daughter) who stayed at this studio (attached to the main building by the owner) for 3 nites. The studio is in a very quiet location. It has a queen-sized bed with a comfortable mattress top and an air bed. The air bed, however, needs to be pumped from time to time as it leaks air. It would be nicer if the air bed is replaced by a cot or a mattress pad. The studio is equipped with enough cookware and small appliances for simple breakfast and snacks. It has a chopping board, some silverware, dishes and plates, a toaster, a microwave and a refrigerator. The bathroom is a gem. The sink is covered with marbles and the decor in the bathroom is very adorable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay in the studio as it is pretty secluded.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Oh thanks for your helpful review, I have a bedroom addition coming up shortly which will solve the problem for the 3rd person, however until then I like your suggestion and will take your advise. Glad you had a nice time, and enjoyed our decor, we did take a lot of time to make it nice and loads of original and great artwork help, I know you mentioned the large wood carving outside with birds.
Glad you also enjoyed the bed we get many comments about the comfort and the sheets, so we hope you will come back again, we work out special add on's for return guests, and will have a cot with pad for your daughter. thanks again for choosing us. best regards, Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vintage Santa Barbara Living!

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this garden studio which is attached to the back of the owners' home in the quiet Mesa
area of the city. This is vintage Santa Barbara living...mature tree-lined streets, lots of flowers and bougainvillea blooming everywhere. We were there for the annual Santa Barbara Orchid Show at the Earl Warren Showgrounds so the location was ideal. Denise & Sheridan gave us and our Labradoodle dog a warm welcome! We thank them for their hospitality and for arranging such perfect weather for us too! We had a most enjoyable time in Santa Barbara and environs. Be sure to take Hwy 154 out of town and drive through the the lovely Santa Ynez Valley if you have time! Santa Ynez and Los Olivos are hidden gems...well worth a day trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted that you chose our sweet cottage and enjoyed our attention to details. I hope you will come again and we can help you find more things to do and day trips to explore! We always do special things for returning clients, so do come back and be sure to say that you are coming again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location, quiet, peaceful, good price

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

We originally were supposed to come earlier in the summer, but we had a family emergency and couldn't make it. The owners were very kind and let us change the date. We stayed for one week with our little dog. We love this quiet neighborhood. The studio is tiny, but nicely furnished. The whole neighborhood is very dog friendly - with a huge park one block away.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am glad that we could accommodate the change for you, and that your dog enjoyed our friendly neighborhood and wonderful Ellings park, it does make it very dog friendly, and you had a very sweet dog! thanks Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful Stay Here" 4 Stars ****

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

<3 Comfy Bed<3
<3 Quiet and Peaceful <3
<3 Lovely Setting <3
Thank you for the warm hospitality!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy and Close to the Beach!

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

This is our second time to this wonderful property.I'm almost hesitant to spread the word because I want to keep it all to myself. Sheridan and Denise are excellent hosts and this studio is the greatest for it's proximity to a great dog beach, wonderful park and the West Side vibe. It's small, but it's got everything you need for a very relaxing and peaceful stay in Santa Barbara.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: our very favorite people are like you! they come back and appreciate the ammenities, and the natural local neighborhood of the mesa, and yes it is ideally located. thanks so much we look forword to your return ! always remind me how many stays it is for you because I will have a special gift for each return ok? thanks Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A real find in Santa Barbara!

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced, clean and pleasant place to spend a few days in Santa Barbara you cannot go wrong with this one. The studio apartment offered everything we needed for our five night stay and was centrally located close to everything. Denise and Sheridan referred us to an excellent local produce stand where we obtained fresh fruit to enhance our experience. We fixed our breakfasts and enjoyed them on our own private patio. We stayed there while attending my wife's 50th high school reunion and will return again in two more weeks when I attend my 55th reunion. It worked perfectly for the two of us and I'd recommend it for any couple, young or old. It would not be appropriate for someone requiring wheelchair access. The cost, by Santa Barbara standards, is a real steal.

Owners response: Oh thanks so much! you two are so young for your years we loved having wine with you and hope you will come back soon!!! thanks again Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cramped & Unclean

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

This place worked for us in terms of location & price. We wanted to be near Elings Park & it fit the bill & the price was great. But we weren't thrilled about the accommodations. We expected small, but we found it to be VERY small & cramped - barely big enough for 2! Though the bed was somewhat comfortable the sheets were not the right size (too small) & therefore my husband & I were continually pulling the covers off of the other throughout the nights. Also, the bed sat very high, so for a shorter person like myself it was difficult getting on & off of it. My main problem with the place was the cleanliness - it didn't meet my standards - I dropped some clothes between the bed & the wall it is against & when I retrieved them, there were a bunch of dust bunnies on them - yuk! The bathroom sink left something to be desired also. It also smelled a bit musty! I don't think my standards/ expectations are too high - but cleanliness is very important. The place wasn't terrible, just not what I would have hoped & not as clean as I would like. The place was in a very nice neighborhood but not conducive to walking to places - had to drive to restaurants, shops, etc. But for the price & location to Elings, it served our purposes.

Owners response: Sorry we did not meet this couples expectations, we try our best to provide Clean,comfortable, affordable lodging in Beautiful Santa Barbara! We work hard, and with pleasure, to keep our clients happy, by cleaning each area of the floors, bathrooms, bedding and kitchen, plus the patio between each stay. You can see from the other 56 reviews, which have an average of 5 STARS ***** that we have been very successful. We have many clients who return again and again and that is our best knowlege that we are doing the right thing here, and our customers are happy!! Sincerely, Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderfully secluded and quiet

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Denise and Sheridan's home. A private entrance and room with charm and intrigue. Very quiet and comfortable stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Thanks very much for the lovely review, you were so quiet we only saw you a few times, glad you liked our place, do come back! regards, Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Santa Barbara Experience

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2013

The Studio was just as described. Photos are accurate. Loved the location. The Elings park is quite a bonus - many opportunities for walking and easy hikes. The beach is close enough for walking or a quick drive. The Studio is close to everything we were interested in. Santa Barbara is also a very short drive (35 minutes - 40 minutes) to Solvang and Santa Ynez. We made two trips up to the wine country. Denise and Sheridan are happy to answer questions regarding the area. We appreciated the local market tip - Lazy Acres. We shopped there daily for our breakfast and dinner needs - prices excellent and deli choices perfect. We spent a week and each day was filled with various activities. Tour the Santa Barbara Courthouse!! We rode bikes along the Coast Route as well as the State Street Route to the Courthouse. Hendry Beach and the Douglas Family Preserve are beautiful. We are 55+, enjoy hiking/biking, and found this rental a perfect fit for our budget. Thanks Denise and Sheridan - Do not be surprised if we make a return to your Studio in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Oh what a lovely review thanks so much we loved having you, and feel great when we have guests who enjoy SB as much as we do. Please do come back, we do have repeat visitors and you are more than welcome back! Cheers Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

First time VRBO: Better than I could have dreamed!

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

I arrived at Denise and Sheridan's amazing hideaway after a 5 hour stressful drive from San Diego. The room was gorgeous, and both Denise and Sheridan greeted me and showed me around the space while also giving me an overview of the neighborhood, parking, and good places to hike nearby. Sheridan handed me a map that became invaluable within the first five minutes. I was able to unpack, run to a nearby grocery store (less than a 5 min drive away) and settle in with a good movie on cable before I called it a night.

The house is close enough to anything you could need: State Street is a short drive, as is a grocery store, laundromat, gas station, and plenty of parks for great morning/evening walks. One of my favorite aspects of my stay was that their house is in a real neighborhood; I felt like I was coming home every night, and the sounds at night are the sounds of a neighborhood and not busy highways/downtown traffic as can be the case with hotels.

As far as the amenities go, the fridge and microwave were perfect for my needs. I loved having the option of "eating in" and the ability to brew coffee in the morning. The bed is *amazing*. Super comfortable, huge fluffy pillows and a great down comforter. The wardrobe held all of my clothes and there was a rod to hang up my dresses. The tv has every channel imaginable. There's a basket in the room of pamphlets, sights to see, great restaurants and tourist attractions left by Denise/Sheridan and other guests. There's also a journal for guests to write in where I got some great recommendations on places to eat.

I would highly recommend this space if you're visiting Santa Barbara for a weekend, a week, or an extended stay. It's homey, welcoming, comfortable, convenient, and well-equipped! Very glad that Denise and Sheridan have opened up this space for us to enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow you should be a writer! the best review ever thanks so much, I am glad you came and enjoyed, and that you will be back! Irish gal, we are delighted that you chose our rental and that you will be seeing us again! warmest regards, Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Comfortable Stay

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

The studio is cute and comfortable. Short drive to everything. Very reasonably priced. Would stay again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: thanks we would love to have you back again! glad you enjoyed our little hideaway. Sheridan and Denise

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

This place is terrific - clean, convenient, quiet and close to everything in Santa Barbara. The owners were very easy to work with and responded to emails and questions very quickly. I highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your great and accurate review! We hope you will send all of your friends and family and return to visit us! regards, Denise and Sheridan!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Lovely Location

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

My dog, Shelly, and I enjoyed our two week stay in this lovely studio. It is located in a quiet residental canyon. It is close to downtown Santa Barbara's State Street and also the beach and parks. Denise and Sheridan are gracious and very helpful. Sheridan suggested the Botanical Garden - it is beautiful and I enjoyed it, especially the Redwood Section. Wonderful place to escape the AZ summer heat!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Sheridan and I enjoyed Shelly and yourself! please come back again to stay and we will give you more ideas for things to do, it is a long list of museums, wineries, nature hikes, parks and restaurants. Not bad Shopping either! We have many festivals here, including the international Film festival, so keep an eye on the Santa Barbara Independent Newspaper website for upcoming events and reserve another 2 weeks! Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Very nice apartment, hospitality +++

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

This was just a lovely place to spend a week. I was there with my fiancee, and we didn't have a car. It is still really easy to get around though. A small walk down to a bus stop, or just a nice morning walk all the way down to the heart of Santa Barbara. The bed is amazing, and it is really great to have this little place in the backyard where we could sit out at night and share a bottle of wine.
The owners are really friendly and helpful. Would love to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you got to come to visit us in Santa Barbara! The Bed is wonderful, and we like to spoil and surprise our guests with the excellent artwork, and special touches like nice sheets, and over 900 channels, so yes live like a queen and spend only a little bit! please do come back and send your friends from Norway! Cheers, Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Quiet and Pleasant Stay in a Gorgeous Location

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay in this guest room. The accommodations were comfortable and private, the hosts very gracious and the location was extremely pretty with a major park (Elings) within walking distance. The street is an oak-covered canyon tucked away in a very quiet community. We found the location to be very convenient, with relatively quick access to the Mesa shopping areas as well as the Mission & State areas.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello John, we really are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We love it here, and so we love to share it with our guests. Any time you want to stay near the ocean and get away from the heat, come and stay with us in cozy Santa Barbara. Thanks Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Respite from the AZ heat!

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

We chose this Santa Barbara studio as the HQ for our August flight from the monsoons of AZ - couldn't have been more pleased! Clean and cozy, located in a quiet neighborhood minutes from the ocean. Sheridan and Denise are friendly, gracious hosts who are never far away from an email or phone call. We especially enjoyed Hendry's Beach and the Boathouse restaurant. Also had great meals at the Savoy, Max's, Mesa cafe, Harry's, and Brophy Bros. Took two trips to the Santa Ynez Valley for wine tasting - beautiful countryside along Hwy. 154. Fortunate to see both the sailboat races and an aquathon at the harbor area. Also did the State St. experience and a visit to the Mission. Would recommend this property for a couple or single person wanting to explore the Santa Barbara area, especially if you are escaping the summer Arizona heat! Hope to return sometime down the road.
Tom & Deb
Green Valley, AZ

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so very much for enjoying our place, we loved having you and please do come back, Tom and Deb! Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful Santa Barbara Stay!

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

I had a wonderful time staying at Denise & Sheridan's-- the house is in a charming neighborhood, has lots of character, and is very convenient for getting downtown. I loved the quirky ambiance of the room, and it had everything I needed, from cable tv to a fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. The room came equipped with lots of magazines about Santa Barbara and the surrounding area, so it was easy to learn about things to do in my down time. The bed was super comfortable and soft; I would definitely stay here again on another trip to Santa Barbara! Thanks for a lovely visit!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we agree with you, that it is a special town, and special place to come and rest, work, and play. Come back soon@!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesome Place for a Pooch/ Beach Vacay

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

I loved this adorable little studio with French doors that opened up to my own private patio. Denise and Sheridan are just great, very helpful and friendly without being at all intrusive. They went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and enjoy my stay. It was just ideal for me and my dog with the beautiful dog park at the top of the street, and the fabulous dog friendly beach so close (where I spent most of my time). I can't wait to return! Thanks so much Denise and Sheridan for being such gracious hosts. See you again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

More business than pleasure

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Great place, everything was as advertised, and certainly reasonably priced. However, I was there more for work than vacation, and had issues with wifi and my personal blackberry connection/bars up in the hills; sometimes I had to go outside to get connectivity with my blackberry. Sheridan was very accommodating and did eveyrhting he could to reboot the wifi for my computer, and the 2 times it went out, it did come back. IF you need to work or have internet, it could potentially be inconveneint for short periods of time. Everything else was great! Thanks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Most people do not have any problems with our WIFI connections and phones can be an issue, however our Verizon phones all work great!! We have had a couple here who were online everyday to do stock trading for 3 months, yes sometimes our lovely canyon is best with phones being used on our lovely patio, in fact many people work outside because of the birds, and tress and flowers. Please do come back for a vacation!
We always give returning guests an extra day for free! thanks again Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful area

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

First, Santa Barbara is a beautiful area! Terrific weather, food and shopping. Accommodations were nice and cozy, and pet friendly for our 2 pugs. Location is within walking distance of the most beautiful dog park I have ever been too. Terrific area!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Your Pugs are adorable, and we so enjoyed having you! Please do return, we would love to have you back. Cheers! Denise

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great find!

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

We spent a wonderful 2 nights at this charming property. Sheridan was the ultimate host, offering great restaurant and activity ideas. Being on a tight budget, we were able to have a few meals at the house which helped tremendously. So glad we found this spot!

Owners response: Thanks Susan, I am so glad you enjoyed our little place we do aim to please, and having traveled a lot, I know what I like, so I give you the best of my experiences! comfy well decorated, original art, cozy, private and yet friendly place. Come back we would love to have you again! Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

I have just completed my third stay at this property, which I now call my Santa Barbara "home away from home." A former Santa Barbara resident, I was looking for a clean, quiet place located in a safe residential area. This place meets all these criteria. Sheridan and Denise are friendly, extremely helpful owners. It is perfect for one person (and probably for a couple). However, I have had a friend stay with me for several nights, and it's a little "cozy" for two singles. I didn't bring a pet, but it would be a good place for a small dog (enclosed patio).

Nowhere in Santa Barbara is more than 10-12 minutes drive away. I recommend the beach area (just over the hill), especially the Breakwater area for walking and for several good restaurants. As a former local, I recommend three restaurants in the San Roque area--Max's (for breakfast or brunch); Harry's (old time Santa Barbara restaurant); and Petrini's (Italian restaurant since the 1950's). Sightseeing recommendations for tourists include the Court House and the Mission.

I definitely recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your lovely Review Joan, we enjoy having you and hope you will be back again! best regards from both Sheridan and myself!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Amazing Studio- Amazing People!

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

If they are available on the dates you are looking for- BOOK It! This is such cute studio, in the best location in Santa Barbara- charming location. Great people too, it was the perfect ending to our honeymoon! So well maintained and clean... Thank you Denise and Sher, we really enjoyed your place!

Owners response: Oh I was so thrilled you could end your honeymoon on a nice note with us here Melissa, thanks for the lovely review. Sheridan and I are very happy to have you back anytime, for a 2nd honeymoon, yes this is the REAL THING not like a hotel, but a little love nest. I knew you would be pleased, and the bottle of Champagne for you was our way of saying best wishes for a long and wonderful marriage. You are the 2nd pair of Honeymooners here, and I hope not the last!
Come back again and bring a baby! and your dog was so happy too. Our dog beaches are the best. warmest regards, Denise and Sheridan his real title is "concierge", he is a real gem. (formerly Diamond in the rough) good luck with yours haha! <3

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Hidden Charming Hideaway Close to Everything

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2011

My husband Dennis and I stayed here for a family reunion. Luckily it was just up the street from our nephew and nieces' home and also conveniently located to great restaurants, shopping and the 101 Freeway. Who couldn't ask for more. We loved that it was tucked away and quiet and off the beaten path yet still close to everything. Denise and Sheridan gave us the best restaurant sources too...gotta try Super Cuca's...for the best food ever, just like homemade. Also Mesa Cafe is more upscale but like home cooked meals and great service. The bed was soft with great linens, the quarters just enough for two of us and wonderful artwork on the wall. Denise and Sheridan were excellent hosts...try out this little gem cause it's well worth it! Thanks again to you both for the great time in Santa Barbara!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks it was a pleasure to have you, thanks for appreciating our special touches like original artwork, and tile work, something you NEVER GET even in a pricy suite!! It really does feel homey and that is what we strive for, and also to make people feel welcome, and tell them the "insider specials" in Santa Barbara that most tourists never do find out about!! come back, we would love to have you again. Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

December Stay

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

Lovely place to stay and visit Santa Barbara. Denise and Sheridan were very nice hosts. The location is very close to the beach, downtown, and local shopping. I may have to make this a yearly stop.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks very much for your short but sweet review, we aim to please our guests, as we know how we like to be treated when we travel, yes please come again. Returning guests get one night free! Warmest regards, Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Pleasant Stay in Mesa/SB

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this charming room from Sept - Oct 2011. This location in SB is our favorite as Mesa is so comfortable, laid back and close to everything. It's especially perfect for us because our dogs LOVE Hendry's Dog Beach. Rasta and Irie had way too much fun=)) The hike up to the dog park and down to the soccer fields were a perrrfect way to start the day and get your heart pumping. The dog festival at the park on Sat was awesome too! (We couldn't have timed that better)
The highlights of this charmer are definitely the COMFY queen bed. It made for a good night's rest after long, action-packed days. The location to all that is SB like State St./Sunday Art Festival, The Pier, the beach, restaurants/wineries, is ideal.
If you're looking to sleep in, keep in mind this room is Not ultra quite. From the acorns falling and construction beginning between 7-8am two doors down, you might not be able to "sleep in". However, it is a beautiful, quite, inviting neighborhood.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay in this charming room. We will recommend to our friends and family. Our only downside was that we should have booked a longer stay, as we did not get to conquer all that SB has to offer. =( But that's OK. All the more reason to go back.... and we Definitely will.

Thank you, again, Sheridan & Denise for all your help with the dogs while on our excursion Mgc.Mtn. and for waiting up for us to get there on check-in. We look forward to booking with you in the future.

Sincerely,
Santa Barbara Dreamers
J & D
Rasta & Irie
Nov. 2011

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I want you to know that as of January, the acorns are gone, that was only a 2 week Oak tree event, and the constuction is complete on the lovely house on our street, just to let you know we appreciate your honesty, so come back for a free night with any 2 night stay on us, and sleep all you want.thanks ever so for your indepth review and Honesty is always appreciated!! People will now feel that we are not paying our guests for reviews, as this is the first 4 not 5 star rating we have had! aha ha and this is only seasonal you just hit the one week of the year when the acorns fall from the 50-100 ft oak trees in our yard, and their loveliness I think you will agree is worth it, you fell in love with the bed so I can understand wanting to sleep in of course!! also the construction is almost completed so come back and we will get you a free night and blissful silence to sleep in I promise you!! Regards and thanks again Denise and Sheridan bring the dogs! Cheers we look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Cozy hideaway

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Quiet, private getaway located in a peaceful neighborhood that is a mile from the beach. Beautiful/lush garden patio with the upmost privacy. Perfect to bring along your furry friend. Centrally located to downtown (State Street). Hiking at the end of the street to a public park with a panoramic view. Came to the studio with a neck/back injury and by mid week was pain free because of the relaxed setting. Enjoyed the company of the owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Janine, we enjoyed your stay with us, and your enthusiasm about Santa Barbara! We are really glad you enjoyed yourself and relaxed enough to heal your pinched nerve, this is why we all need to give ourselves the gift of pure rest and rejuvenation. WE hope that you will come back soon, we always give a free night to returning guests who book at least 2 nights.
What a lovely couple you are, cheers! Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great little hide away!

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a few days get away from visiting our son in LA.Denise had the bowl of fruit and champagne I ordered and Sher lent us his cooler for a picnic.
Its a great location but you may need to rely on your gps to find it if you are new to the area.
We had no complaints but if asked we would recommend a firmer bed and perhaps more kitchenette space.
We highly recommend this cosy hideaway and would gladly stay there again next time we are in Santa Barbara.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ed and Jean, We have a BRAND NEW BED and we made the kitchen space more usable,since we get more extended stay guests!! Thanks for coming to stay with us, we really appreciate your review and would love to have you back thanks for recommending us! Our Map on the site is perfect to see the location so be sure to look at it next trip! gladly we would have you back anytime. Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Like having your own cabin in the forest!

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

This is a beautiful retreat, peaceful, tree-shaded and makes you feel you are living in a forest...yet you lack nothing by way of amenities. The property owners are very pleasant, social, helpful and perfectly balance that with letting you have your privacy. Their yard is a delight to behold, even if you don't love plants like we do. We were so taken with the place that we had to force ourselves to pack up and leave. Excellent access to walking, hiking and biking trails. Great opportunities for scenic nature photography. We intend to use it again as our secret hide-away spot! Highly recommended!!! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Anisha and Peter! You were so delightful to have at our place, we enjoyed your interest in our lovely city. Your variety of interests is amazing, and your eye for our fine art and mosaic was flattering. We hope you come back very soon to spend time with us. Thanks for the photos you sent and we hope the cuttings my husband gave you flourish in your garden and keep your memories alive too! Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Great cottage

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 28, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time relaxing at this sweet cottage. The surrounding neighborhood was very peaceful and quiet. The location was just perfect. Five minutes to downtown and five minutes to the beach. The owners were very cordial and even let us borrow their beach chairs!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words we loved having you come back soon! weather good all year round! Denise and Sher

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Plenty of adventures for active people (young and old),

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

My wife and I are active people from Alaska and stayed at Denise and Sheridan's studio for a week. Our daily routine included a 5-8 mile run every day which was easily accomplished in several different directions from "home base". While in Santa Barbara we enjoyed walking, hiking (Hot Springs/Cold Springs Trail), running, & beach wandering. Enjoyed dining at Aldo's (Italian), Brophy Bros (Seafood), and the Taj Mahal (Indian). Grocery stores like Alberson's, Lazy Acres (much like Whole Foods), and a laundramat are within walking distance. Shopping (for the ladies) and the Farmer's Market on State Street is World Class. Did a little wine tasting in Los Oliveras, visited Solvang (Danish Days), dinner at the Hitching Post II (Wine and Steaks are great) in Buellton (from the movie "Sideways"). Also made a 2-hour trip up to visit the Hearst Estate (must see). Went to the Santa Barbara Bowl (outside amphitheatre) for the "Further" concert. (remaining members of the Greatful Dead, Bob Weir & Phil Lesh).

The listing information, and pictures are accurate for this property. As you see, we found lots of things to do, and feel like there is still more to do when we go back. (other trails, bike riding, fishing, local history & live theatre. The locals in Santa Barbara are friendly and laid-back. Great place for couples and other active people who enjoy getting out and doing things.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are so welcome, and thanks for the fabulous review, you should write for a travel magazine! You are without a doubt the most active guests we have ever had. You did more in your short time with us, than we do in a month! What a pleasure to have you and do come back, we always give an extra free day for returning guests. Happy Trails Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Great Getaway in Beautiful Santa Barbara

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cottage this past July for a weekend. We loved it! It is in a great spot close to the beaches and downtown. The owners are extremely nice and make you feel at home. We will defiantly go back and stay there!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes please do come back Coley we are so happy you choose us, and loved having you in our special hideaway. Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Bob, Visitor from Phoenix

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

I stayed for the entire month of August, 2010. Found the studio beautifully decorated and very comfortable. I particuarly appreciated the owners allowing my small dog. Owners, Denise and Sher, were great fun and very hospitable, friendly, and accomodating. I highly recommend the stay and plan on coming back regularly during the year on a weekly or bi-weekly basis.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Bob it was a pleasure to have you, and to meet your very sweet dog Renquist, we look forward to your next visit! Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

our stay is always awesome! we stay here all the time and love waking up to all the beautiful art and amazing tile work. We love taking our pug for a walk up the street at the park. Its peaceful setting and views of the city/mountains0beach are to die for. You both are always so helpful and we love the little things you do like the brochures, local paper with entertainment and endless towels. Thanks Denise and Sheridan!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You and your pug are welcome anytime, we enjoyed our dining with you the last time, and look forward to seeing you again! Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Perfect weekend away studio in SB

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

Thank you Denise and Sheridan for the weekend away from home in Santa Barbara! We loved the lively garden and private studio accommodations. Having a quiet, clean, cute place to come back to in between visits out to the beach or around SB made the trip that much better! We appreciated the small amenities you left out for us and had 2 good nights sleep on the egg crate futon. Thank you for the hospitality and privacy. We'd love to come back again, especially with such a deal of a price! Kathy & Eric

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Kathy and Eric, we hardly saw you, you were so busy enjoying the many beautiful hikes, beaches, restaurants, bike trails, etc, we hope you will come again soon! Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!

Review submitted: October 25, 2009   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

Snuggled in the beautiful Santa Barbara foothills is the most charming place to stay for either a night or two, or for an entire month or more! Quiet, cozy, artistic and impeccably clean, I highly recommend this Santa Barbara gem! I stay here often when I travel to Santa Barbara on business. The owners are wonderful and welcoming! Do yourself a favor and book one or more heavenly days and nights and you will be so glad that you did!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow your description of our place is lovely and true! we really work hard to make our vistors welcome and comfortable, we are so glad you stayed with us, and hope to see you again and again. Denise and Sheridan.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Great value.

Review submitted: October 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 2, 2009

I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. Great artwork and patio to look at...luxurious sleeping linens...clean and comfortable. The hosts are friendly and welcoming.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your lovely review of our studio. We work hard to make it spotless and sanitary for each guest, and make sure they are finding out all about our beautiful town. We know all the best values for restaurants, Happy Hours specials, and private hot springs trails, so that you can get away from the tourtists. come back and see us soon ok? Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

Thanks Denise,

Your place really worked out well for us. The bed was long enough for me and I really enjoyed having coffee in the mornings on the porch. Thanks for accommodating us and we will keep in mind for future trips.

Eric and Kelly

Owners response: thanks we look forward to seeing you again! Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

We we to a concert at the county bowl, and we had a blast, loved the place and the owners are very flexible and nice.
Vitoria.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

what a lovely get a away we had in our cozy art filled, clean tiled little place, we are coming back for sure.
Kristina

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

I loved this Santa Barbara hide away! It's quiet, spacious, has a private patio and entrance, all amenities and is beautifully furnished, including amazing original art! I would go back in a heartbeat! Loved my stay there and plan to return.

Owners response: thanks Sheridan and Denise!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We enjoyed our stay in Santa Barbara :)

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: July 23, 2009   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

Awesome stay! brought my Pug he had a great time at the off leash park right on the cliffs super close to the house. very nice people and comfy room! would stay again!

Owners response: Thanks Katie, bring your cute pug back, we miss Pugsy! take care. Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

Loved the tile work and privacy, the town of SB is very nice and has everything a person could want, beach, lovely town, not to many crowds, we loved it!

Owners response: Erin, We are so glad you liked our place and Santa Barbara, we aim to please and are tickled with your great reference for future guests. Thanks Denise and Sheridan

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review