reviews for: listing #94138 - Venice, Florida House rental

Lakeside House Heated Pool - Newly Furnished - HDTV, Wifi
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Private Beach Home
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $383 - $1,395 /wk
    $1,930 - $5,724 /mth

sort by:

Few "small" fixes and it woulda been perfect

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 30, 2011

The house was perfect & great location. A block & !/2 away is a ferry that's included to a beach where if you enjoy the hunt you can find sharks teeth by the jars full. The house is 10min to everything you NEED but !/2hr from mall. 40 min to Siesta beach WORTH the trip. So very very beautiful. Our subdivision is super quiet & people to the right are sweet. Next door left, house for sale & next to them (downfall) the house is a complete junk yard & eye sore. Can't see from house. Almost everything at our place was very clean but for the one side of the house by the pool. Lots of debris & old fence & rubbish. A few things in the house were loose & crooked (kitch tile floor loose, 2nd bathroom shower tiles pushed in, handles on screen doors fall off, main bedroom toilet didn't work, outside sitting area off 2nd bedroom really not nice & was kind of a mini storage room for extra doors & BBQ. Washer and drier great, fridge is new, kitch has everything & pretty good quality for a rental. I cook a lot. Lots of plates & cutlery. Were there a month & saw the grounds keepers once for 10 min & they did mostly nothing. The owner is wasting his $ on these guys, Next time they can clean the side yard. To anyone with a long ish haired dog be wherry of yard sand spurs. We're unfamiliar with them. We saw they were in the yard & the same day of arrival we saw the pool guy who called the manager & he sent maintenance to help us remedy the situation. As this problem really is mother nature, we were so happy with our quick fix. Although a few things can be changed, we had a 10 outta 10 time & loved the quietness of the area, & ferry so close by. We felt very safe there. Which is key. I'm a mid aged lady & like to jog. I had no problem in day running by myself with headphones on. Cars are courteous. If you're looking for quiet & nobody looking over your shoulder this is the place. No one will ever bother you until you call if you need anything.

Owners response: Hi Heidi - Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us. I apologize for the maintenance and kitchenware issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. We appreciate the feedback, and we hope that you will consider renting from us again next time. I'd like to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. Just enter the coupon code rebook10 when you reserve your rental! Thank you again for your comments. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Memorable Holiday!!!

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

December 2011 was one of the warmest on record, and we took full advantage of it! The heated pool beckoned on our arrival, and we used it every day! The ferry pass took us to an uncrowded private beach for sun, sharks' teeth, shells and fishing. Numerous bike paths in the area let us exercise while viewing alligators, eagles, and deer. Inshore charter fishing was great, and the manatee were a bonus.<br/>We loved the quiet neighbourhood, the privacy of the back yard, taking walks with our dogs... two minor problems were taken care of by Kevin within 90 minutes of a phone call.<br/>Sure, the Falcon house could use some upgrades and repairs....but we loved every minute of our stay and plan to return to Venice.

Owners response: Hi Raymond - Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us. We appreciate the feedback, and we hope that you will consider renting from us again next time. I'd like to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. Just enter the coupon code rebook10 when you reserve your rental! Thank you again for your comments. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Falcon is Fine Feathered

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We really enjoyed this house. Very comfortable and livable. I especially liked the kitchen with its' windows overlooking the pool & patio. The pool is nice, enjoyed the sound of the waterfall. One small suggestion: the trees & bushes surrounding the pool cage need trimming as they are rubbing against the screening, also, the gutters are clogged and need cleaned due to all the leaf debris. Outdoor maintainance in Fla. is a constant challenge. Again, we really appreciated Kevin and his prompt attention to our questions and requests. He does a great job! It's always a pleasure to deal with him. Thanks! Looking forward to returning in Autumn 2012.

Owners response: Hi Bonnie - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Okay Place in a Questionable Neighborhood

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

Pictures of the house are not accurate. There were cobwebs everywhere. The yard was mainly dirt. The pool area was not clean and there was old dog feces by the pool. The pool turned our daughters hair green. The laundry room was not clean and we had to rewash most of the dishes and silverware. The main shower tiles are somewhat moldy. The TV was old and we had to replace batteried in two of the remotes. We were greatly disappointed. The only pros to <br/>the house were the cold A/C and the tile throughout the house. Not really worth the money. The neighborhood is questionable, although it was somewhat quiet. Never heard from property manager, just recorded messages, which the phone rang constantly. Very annoying.

Owners response: Hi Jamie - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the cleaning and maintenance issues. This is not up to standards. I sincerely apologize again. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Neighborhood not great. Yard and exterior need work. Also has some minor maintainence issues inside

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Met the property manager once when we had an issue w/ Internet. He was nice and helpful. However we were surprised there was no other interaction. No one asked us if we had any questions or if we needed anything. The only times we heard from property management were recorded messages over the phone. A more personal touch is needed. We didn't want to be pestered but if we hadn't had a problem with the Internet, we would have never talked to anyone from management. Also, the property needs some work. There was trash and brush piled beside the pool, virtually no grass in the yard, stained ceilings from old leaks, etc. These are minor issues, but when you're charging $5000 a month, these issues should be taken care of. We liked the layout of the house and the location was convenient. We also appreciated being able to have our dogs with us. Do you have other pet friendly properties in the Venice area?

Owners response: Hi Robert - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contracted my property manager to get these fixed. We do have more pet friendly properties. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Private--Ferry Experience Terrific

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

December 2010 ended up being one of the coldest months in Florida history, but in spite of that, we enjoyed our time in the Falcon Beach home--although we used the heat inside, more than the heated pool! When weather allowed, we greatly enjoyed the ferry ride (Thank you, Captain Ralph!) to the very pristine private beach where we found more shark's teeth in one day, than would be expected at another beach in a week or more. <br/><br/>Kevin, the property manager, was quickly responsive in helping with the minor issues that we encountered with the pool and dishwasher. None of these were big deals, but could have become so, without his fast action in taking care of things. Thank you Kevin!<br/><br/>It was overall a great rental experience, but I do want to add the comment that when you rent a home with "a fully equipped kitchen" I don't think that it is unreasonable to expect ice trays in the freezer. However, there were none in the Falcon house. We bought bagged iced for the time that we were there, but it would save not only money, but also resources, to be able to have a source of ice from the faucet. I would strongly recommend the purchase of cheap ice trays for the Falcon Beach home for the future. <br/><br/>In spite of this one minor caveat,our experience was very positive. Thank you so much.

Owners response: Hi Martine - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the kitchenware issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Falcon Road property review

Review submitted: March 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

Front security light did not work until repaired; smoke alarms in kitchen went off while cooking; refrigerator door was broken; no ice maker (should be noted for guests); furniture was not new as described; neighborhood was undesirable, trashy; no replacement light bulbs on property; bought and left shower mat for slippery tub. Kevin was very helpful with wireless issue and repair issues. Siesta Key property was wonderful (first 2 weeks).

Owners response: Hi Pat - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. We be upgrading this house and yard in Spring of 2010. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So Venice in Nov.

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

Loved the access to the Beach, boat ramp and bike trails. House was ok, could use some repair and new living rm furniture. Worth the price off season would have been disappointed if we paid high season rates.

Owners response: Hi Joel - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contacted operations department to have these fixed. I apologize again for this. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This property is located in a declining neighborhood. Overpriced for the value.

Review submitted: April 3, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Owners response: Hi Ellen - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I was at the Falcon house 2 weeks ago, and do not believe the neighborhood is in decline at all. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Overall condition of property was "worn out" and not kept up. Not in peak rental condition. Window

Review submitted: March 4, 2009   Date of arrival: January 31, 2009

Pool furniture was very old and worn looking; about 1/2 of wall art had been removed and only the picture hooks remained. This was in keeping with the overall condition of "not kept up for rental". Location as nice and quiet. However, should be disclosed that you have to take a boat ferry to get to the beach, not 2 block walk to the beach as described in discripton of property. Pool was the highpoint of the property. The property manager did clean up the outside landscape after we expressed our concerns and provided a restaurant gift card. However, we were disappointed and would not use this company again. In general, the online description of the property is probably several years old and does not reflect the current condition.

Owners response: Hi Michael and Linda - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the condition of the wall art. I dispatched operations to go out and put missing pictures back up on the wall. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Versatile home, with great lanai-pool area

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2008

Beautiful tile floors, a very well-equipped kitchen, and nicely separated sleeping areas are prominent features of this home. Access to a private, nearby beach is another plus. A variety of tropical plants adds floral beauty to the setting.

Owners response: Hi Eric - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: November 30, 2008

Things were missing from the house or didn't work.There was not a DVD as it said, half the clocks didn't work. Maintainence people came unannounced. It was ok, but we will not repeat the visit.

Owners response: Hi Toni - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for some of the issues with the equipment in the house. This was not up to our standards and I will email you directly on this. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for My Family

Review submitted: May 5, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

The home was close to Venice and Nakomis beaches. S. Venice beach had less people, but was more difficult to use due to the need for the ferry. Family chose other beaches, I went to S. Venice a few times.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 5, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Land scape could be greatly improved Though it was expensive for the location

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A fantastic Venice property!

Review submitted: May 2, 2008   Date of arrival: January 8, 2008

In addition to the house/location, we especially enjoyed the heated pool, the privacy and the general quietness of the neighborhood.

The owner and the property manager were helpful and did their best to ensure that everything on site was perfect.

We especially enjoyed utilizing the ferry pass and the closeness of the house to the ferry--walking distance.

They even provided excellent weather for our 7 weeks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Venice Falcon home--an enjoyable place to winter with very nice features, and a few suggestions for

Review submitted: April 13, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Our time spent in the Venice area was very enjoyable. we enjoyed the neighborhood, especially as the ability to use the ferry to the private beach area was at the end of the street within walking distance. We really enjoyed having our own private pool and lanai. We just about lived in the pool, which was, by the way, very well maintained throughout our stay. The house was very clean, nicely decorated and furnished, and we were very comfortable. The kitchen was well equiped and neat.

The main drawback was with the third bedroom as there were no windows and the only door opened into the utility room. We did not need to use this room until our grandchildren came for a week. At that time, we realized what a fire hazard that could be as there would be no escape route. I am not sure if this even comes up to building codes!? It actually frightened me that the children might be trapped in there. If it were not for this factor, we would stay in this home again. I definitely think prospective renters should be notified about this and I think there should be an additional exit created.

The other thing we discovered was that the outside light and all the water to the home were all on the same circuit?! Again, I think a dangerous situation.

All worked out fine and we did enjoy ourselves and would like to spend another month in Florida in the future in a similar type of home.

I hope that you will take this review into account and thank you for the opportunity to express my views.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review