reviews for: listing #94301 - Mission Beach, California Condo rental

!!Oceanfront with Huge Private Patio!! Family & Kid-Friendly
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mission Beach
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $300 /nt
    $1,500 - $3,300 /wk
    $3,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Summer Getaway

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

This condo has the best porch in North Mission Beach.It's very clean and well - maintained and the location is great .The owner is very accommodating and the listing photos are very accurate.Once you stay here you'll be spoiled and won't want to rent anything else.I have been renting Condo's on Mission for the last 30 years and by far this is my favorite.I would highly recommend this Condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We know that the private deck on the boardwalk is our most attractive feature, but we also know that it would be not be as enjoyable for our guests if we did not also provide them with excellent service and a comfortable stay indoors as well. Perhaps that is why so many of our guests come year after year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Staycation!

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 12, 2014

I was in need of a change of scenery, how delightful this beach front condo was. It met all my needs and look forward to returning sometime...

Owners response: We get a surprising number of locals who like to stay here at the beach even though they live only a few miles away. We like our beach house better than our primary house too! There is nothing better than having your own private deck on the beach!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Annual Mother's Day Vacation

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Very clean, modern condo with fantastic views and an awesome private deck for your little ones to play. It was a very relaxing vacation, we rented bikes and that is how we got from place to place and just a short distance away from Belmont Park.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: There are several bike rentals places within walking distance and Segway rentals too. Many of our guests prefer to park in the outside tandem spaces and use the garage for their bicycles and surfboards. There are miles and miles of walkways along the beach and bay with numerous parks and lots of scenery.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fun, fast, family getaway!

Review submitted: May 1, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

This is a great house right on the beach. We came for the weekend with our family. It was so fun to just wake up, throw on a swing suit and walk out the door.
The balcony is a great place to hang out. There is nothing better than sun, sand, and the sound of the ocean.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: There is a rumor that people from San Diego do not wear any underwear; just swim shorts and bikinis. The truth is; I know several lawyers who go surfing during their lunch breaks and court recesses and then put their business suits back on for the afternoon sessions. Maybe our police and politicians too? You won't need to pack much when visiting us here at the beach!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent vacation home! Wonderful location and the house was super clean!

Review submitted: April 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

My family of four stayed for a week and we had such wonderful accommodations. The house was pleasant, clean, and the very best part was the extra large patio out front overlooking the boardwalk and ocean. I had three friends staying nearby and they chose to spend the nights hanging out on our patio. It was quite lovely. Anything we needed and Andrew was a phone call away to take care of it immediately. We will definitely recommend this house to others who want a beach vacation in Mission Beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Yeah, we have friends with oceanfront homes too and somehow they prefer to hang out on our patio also. I guess the deck really is as nice as everyone else thinks it is. Come and experience it for yourself by clicking on the yellow Book It button now!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

FANTastic Mission Beach Beachfront Condo

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Super, beachside condo. We vacationed with our teen grandsons and everyone Loved it! The condo was comfortable, clean, convenient, and easily accessed from anywhere in San Diego. We were close to attractions, beach shops, and beach restaurants. The beach was just across the boardwalk and voila... We were in the water! Great spot in Mission Beach! Owner was very easy to do business with... Making it all easy. We will visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The number of people who walk past our property and tell us that they wished they had booked our property is amazing. You'll either be glad you did or wish you had!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

FaNtAsTiC Beachfront Condo!

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

We vacationed with our teen grandsons and this condo was Fantastic... Beach was just across the boardwalk, condo was Very comfortable, clean, and convenient to area attractions. Fun shops were close and easily accessible. We had a Super vacation due to Andrews quick responses and ease of doing business. Thank You!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: In addition to providing a great location, we try to make each of our guests feel as though they are coming to their own beach house. This is your home away from home, so we provide everything you need before you arrive so that you can show up, make yourselves comfortable, and enjoy your stay. This is the good life!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great location, great view!

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

We are a family of 4 with 2 girls in middle & high school. The weather was in the high 60's and a little breezy during our stay, but that didn't keep us from sitting on the beach, watching the waves, and enjoying every gorgeous sunset (from the deck, or even from the couch inside if it was too cool!) The strand offers fantastic runs, walks, bike rides, and a flat surface for learning to skateboard - not to mention some of the best people-watching you will find. The Belmont Park area is a minute's walk away and has rides, including a teenager-approved roller coaster, a wave pool and monster ice cream cones. There is also a rental shop where you can rent any toys your heart desires, and shops that sell bikinis, t-shirts and souvenirs. We saw surf lessons going on at the beach, you can SUP board on the bay side, take meandering walks up and down the cute residential alleyways, take a bike ride to neighboring Pacific Beach or even all the way to La Jolla. And I haven't even mentioned Sea World, the SD Zoo, Balboa Park etc. There is so much to do in this area. But the easy access to miles of sandy beach is what really sets this location apart.

The condo itself can't be beat. The whole building is neat and clean, and the unit is very clean and had pretty much everything we needed to make most of our own meals, as well as a washer & dryer (that actually dried towels!) We always felt safe, and appreciated that the deck couldn't be accessed from the strand (only from the sliders in the unit) and that it was all ours! The neighbors in the unit were quiet and polite, (thankfully no college Spring Break partiers) and everyone was cooperative when cars needed moving in & out of the shared parking space. So with absolutely no worries, we could just focus on the sights and sounds of the ocean and spotting dolphins.

We had a very relaxing week - thank you Andrew!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: What a great review that really sums up how much our guests enjoy staying here! You should stay here too!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Four Star Plus

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

This property proved to have an excellent location, to be clean and well maintained. We loved the large patio and beach/boardwalk access. Location was an easy walk to many restaurants and the large grocery store. (Ralphs) Beds were comfy and all the furnishings were nice, the only exception being the living room sofas, which the owner assures us will be replaced in the near future. With a new sofa and chair this rental will be 5 star! We plan to rent this property again.
R&J from Philadelphia

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We bought new living room furniture to make our guests more comfortable inside although we suspect most will prefer hanging out on the large private deck outside. Also, many of our guests choose not to bring a car since we are so close to everything, including great public transportation and a trolley that can get you to Mission Valley or to downtown and the Gaslamp in less than 30 minutes. Yay!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Relaxing Time at the Beach!

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

We had a great time at the condo and enjoyed the closeness of all kinds of entertainment, food, and fun. We had our two young kids (4) and (1 1/2) and the condo was great for our kids. The big patio was a hit to watch the sunset, early morning dolphins, and enjoy the sun of the afternoon. We also enjoyed evening dinners on the patio and loved that our kids could play and have space to room without getting into peoples way on the boardwalk. We loved being so close to the beach and the large collection of sand toys for the kids was an added plus. We took Andrew's advice and didn't get a rental car bigger than he recommended. The garage was a tight squeeze but after a time or two in and out you get the hang of the angles and such. Needless to say, we will be back! See you next year Mission Beach!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: The location and patio (deck) are great for families since you won't have to worry about crossing streets or losing sight of your kids (or spouse). We provide parking instructions that show how to maneuver into our small garage from the narrow alley. We also have three outside parking spaces as well. Make sure you take pictures so your friends and family back home can see what a great location you found!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Location, location... location!!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: December 11, 2013

As most families do, we're always looking for the best rate and coming from Virginia the nightly rate still seemed high... but then you stay here... Waking up and walking out on your private patio with a cup of coffee and being right on the beach brings a different level of relaxation. You don't have to worry about driving to the beach, getting the kids in the car or even hauling your stuff/kids across the street, you are on the beach. The condo is clean and has all of the amenities you would expect from a premier beach front condo. I can surf in the morning, my wife can run on the boardwalk with or w/o the boys in the BOB and then we can enjoy a great day at the beach w/o driving anywhere. Great restaurants are around the corner(great family sushi rest. by the bay, fish tacos and burritos) Multiple bike and surfboard rental shops are a block away!! Looking forward to the next trip to Mission beach!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's a great little beach house right on the beach. We've had quite a few people tell us or our guests that they booked at another property and later regretted it and wished they had stayed here. Quit reading these reviews and go click on the yellow Book It button! You'll either be glad you did or wish you had.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

This was a first time renting a vacation condo. We were a family of four w/ two small kids (3 & 4). The location was amazing!!! On the beach... near a small amusement park... and great dinning. My kids loved the bunk beds... wife loved the convenience of the kitchen & washer/dryer... I loved the view!!!

If you have a big SUV, there is tandem parking available since it can be difficult to use the tight garage. Overall, it was a great experience and will recommend for other families.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It sure is nice to have a view of the ocean from every room in the house. This really is a great place for anyone between the ages of zero and 120. The tandem spaces are provided for any guests of our small building although most medium-sized cars and smaller will fit in our private garage. Even though there are many things to do in San Diego, many of our guests prefer to spend all their time on the enclosed deck or right on the beach directly in front of the building. Sweet!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Awesome location!

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

This was a great condo to stay at. It's as close as you can be to the beach without being in the water. The beach facing patio makes for some great people watching, and great evenings as you relax with your favorite drink on the patio chairs - watching the sunset.
There are plenty of gift shops, places to eat and of course, the big roller coaster within a three minute walk of the condo. We rented some bicycles in that area and had so much fun riding up and down the walkway for miles. One great find was a fully stocked Ralph's Grocery Store within 2 miles of our condo. If you get tired of bar and restaurant food, this is great for buying some things for a home cooked meal and making use of the propane grill on the patio.
Noise levels were perfectly acceptable and we even enjoyed cracking the windows at night to listen to the waves as we fell asleep.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mission Beach and Bay are one of the few neighborhoods in San Diego where you can walk, run, skate, or pedal for miles without sharing space with cars. There are several stores nearby offering bicycles for rent and is a great way to enjoy the area. Grab some crackers and cheese and your favorite drink, hop on a bike, and choose among the dozens of grassy parks that line the edges of Mission Bay for a nice, relaxing afternoon picnic.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

A great time!

Review submitted: October 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

We had a six night stay at this home. My wife and I know the area fairly well from prior visits over the years and can say this home is extremely convenient to the Belmont Park area of Mission Beach. It's literally a two minute walk to all the shops, restaurants and markets in this area. There is plenty of room for overlooking the sand and surf on the raised patio above the walk that lines Mission Beach. The inside is comfy but extremely cozy as well. As there were just the two of us there was plenty of room. The master bedroom was comfortable with plenty of room. As noted in other reviews, you'll need a rather smallish car to fit into the garage, but there is outside parking as well. Before leaving, Andrew had HD tv and internet installed in the unit. The HD is a nice upgrade! I would recommend Andrew's place to anyone wanting to stay in this nicely maintained, perfectly located beachfront home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Many of our guests have asked for HD channels on the cable lineup and better internet reception, so we listened and upgraded. If the plethora of cable channels gives you no decent choices, we still have our BluRay DVD player and access to Netflix. Yay!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Mission Beach 2nd year

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

We stayed at this property last year for one week and had a great time, so decided to go for two weeks this year and these 2 weeks were just as enjoyable as the previous year. One party is in a wheel chair and the single story layout was accommodating. You could not have a better location right on the beach walk and only 1 block from the rollercoaster and amusement park and about 1 mile to Sea World. We really enjoyed sitting on the private balcony with a drink and people watching and then the magnificent sunsets each evening. The property manager Andrew was extremely helpful and was available at all times to assist if needed. We will consider going again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our property is a ground level unit providing easy and safe access for our handicap and elderly guests as well as those with toddlers and very young children. I guess that makes this a great place for just about everyone!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

best location ever

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

Great front patio, the best in the area! This is one of two front units in a building of 8 places. There's a bike rack, water hose and shower. The owner is available for questions and comments. The condo is clean, with adequate furniture and kitchen supplies. Biking or walking to the pier or jetty is an everyday must!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are fortunate to be in a small, well-kept and clean building with other owners who take the same pride in their homes as we do. The location is great since everything is within walking distance including sights, attractions, restaurants, markets, public transportation, and of course - the beach!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Summer Trip to San Diego

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

I took my daughter to San Diego for a week and we stayed at Andrew's place. We had a great time! Being steps away from the ocean was amazing! My daughter was able to take surfing lessons, ride bikes, we ran everyday along the boardwalk, so much to do for both Mom and daughter. Andrew was great! When I had any questions, he responded immediately.I would highly recommend staying at Andrew's place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Our deck is elevated, enclosed, and private - providing an additional sense of security, comfort, and a better view. Since our home is right on the boardwalk, all you have to do is step out your door and you will be walking distance from many sights and activities. If you don't already know what to do, just ask, and we will be glad to help.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Family Vacation!

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Our stay at the Oceanfront beach condo on Mission Beach was awesome. We have 2 boys ages 3 and 6 so we wanted something family friendly, easy to get out and do things without having to drive somewhere every time. This was just the right place, it had a huge patio so when we were hanging out at the condo we could just sit out there, see the ocean, watch the people. You literally step out of the condo and walk across the boardwalk to the beach, it is so easy to just run out there for a little bit and then come back in, you don't feel like if you go to the beach you have to set up a spot and be there all day. There was a boogie board in the garage which we used every single day, my 6 yr old loved that! Plenty of sand toys on the patio, although we bought more and left them there so now there's really a lot! We walked to Belmont Park every day, and again, it's so nice to be able to walk there for a short time, it didn't have to be an all afternoon outing, if the kids wanted to go ride some rides, or play at the arcade or something. It is so close, even the 3 yr old could easily walk to Belmont Park, and have a fun time there and walk home. If you have kids there is also an awesome playground/park at Mission Bay, it's huge. not walking distance but a 5 min drive away.
Andrew was really great to rent from.. he gave us detailed information before we came (especially on the parking situation - the garage is very small but he told us exactly what type of car would fit and that's what we rented and it fit just fine), he had all the locks programmed for us, very easy to use, and there were never any problems. He left detailed info inside the condo as well, it was all set up nicely for us to come in and set up home for a week. And of course, you can't beat the beautiful San Diego weather! So wonderful to have the windows open and feel the ocean breeze.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Actually, there are several parks nearby along the quiet bay side of Mission Beach. There are a few restaurants, markets, shops, and attractions, all within easy walking distance. You almost don't need a car. But if you bring one, make sure it is small! The weather here is great all year and this oceanfront home is the best place to enjoy it!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect Patio!!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We've gone on vacation to Mission Beach for the past 6 years - this is our first visit to this rental. PERFECT LOCATION!!!! Our overall experience with this property was wonderful. Parking space was small but we knew that before we went (fact that there's separate parking is a plus!!). We spent most of the stay sitting on the beautiful "PRIVATE" patio. Place was very clean and the owner was great. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you again for helping make our family vacation great!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well, I have to admit that the location is really hard to beat unless they ever allow camping on the beach. Until then, we will continue to offer our clean and comfortable ocean front home to our guests. One of the most common questions we receive about our property is whether the deck is shared with anyone else. Nope. It is only accessible from within the unit and for your personal and private use. Stay here and enjoy your vacation at the best location on the beach!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great Location

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We are regular visitors to the Mission Beach area. This is the first time we stayed directly on the ocean, and are so glad that we did. The location was very good, and felt very safe with the elevated porch, which prevented direct access from passersby. This was important to us as we were travelling with young children. The washer and dryer included laundry soap which was a bonus, and the bike rack and beach towels were nice to have as well. The kids room did get a little warm at night, as we chose not to keep the windows open in their room. While a fan was provided, a bigger one is recommended. Everything was clean and in working order, including the Wi-Fi, which we used often to plan our activities and keep up with school work. Thank you Andrew for making our week so memorable!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: The elevated and enclosed patio is definitely a favorite feature of our guests, especially those traveling with children. Also, all of our windows have safety latches that can restrict the opening so that you can enjoy the fresh air while still maintaing a level of safety and security. Our vortex fans should be sufficient during hot summer nights when used in conjunction with the window features.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

4th of July Week

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with our teenage son during the holiday week. This property has been recently remodeled with new furniture, large TV in the living room and tile throughout. It is very clean and the property manager, Andrew was extremely flexible and friendly to work with before our stay he even came to meet us as we were leaving to inquire about our visit and asked if there were any recommendations we could make for future visits...Wow! We have stayed in this unit before and have always had extremely nice neighbors, this time wasn't any different. The week was just very busy because of the holiday so there was traffic on the boardwalk than on other non-holiday weeks. I would recommend this unit to families who want to enjoy the patio and amazing beach/ocean views. Walking distance to the roller-coaster and shops at Bellmont Park so lots to do or you can do nothing at all if that's your preference.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: If you like to be around all the action and enjoy people watching, dolphin watching, and beautiful sunsets, then this is definitely the right place! Our priority is to provide a simple and very clean home so our guests can enjoy their stay with us. Our neighboring property owners have the same high standards we do and our building is very well maintained and centrally located with easy access to shops, entertainment, transportation, and dining. This is also a relatively quiet area during the week and non-summer months. Stay with us and have a great time!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Loud and Unsafe

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

We, unfortunately, had a very different experience here than other reviewers. We traveled to SD with our 10 month and 2 1/2 year old and were looking forward to a relaxing family vacation. When we arrived we realized the mid-sized SUV we rented wouldn't fit in the advertised parking spot (a family friend with a Ford Focus barely squeezed in after about 10 minutes of maneuvering) and all of the tandem spaces were full, as they remained for the duration of our stay. It often took an hour to find a place to park that was within walking distance to the condo. The view is beautiful, just as pictured, however, we rarely were able to enjoy the deck after our first night there. A group of multiple families moved into the unit above ours and dropped multiple items from the top deck, including cigar ashes, food leftovers and an item that hit my 10 month old. In addition, noise interrupted the kids' and our sleep. When we brought this up to the owner, Andrew, we were informed that they had replaced carpeting with tile upstairs just before we arrived so you can now hear almost every move. One of the few times we did get to enjoy the deck we witnessed a young man being arrested steps away and a fight nearly break out right in front of us. We decided to leave a few days ahead of schedule because we just didn't feel safe there anymore. Upon speaking with Andrew he told us that the owner of the upstairs unit had handled things accordingly and the problems were taken care of. This was subsequent to two more objects falling from the upper deck and continued noise. We cut our stay short because we just didn't feel it was a safe place for our kids to be.

Owners response: An interesting review. Memorial Day weekend is one of our busiest weekends and the beaches can get quite crowded, especially during unusually hot weather as we had this year. We received an email from the guests stating how much they loved the property and how much their two kids were enjoying themselves here. The contrary review was a complete surprise. The garage is small, as noted, but many of our guests arrive in mid-sized cars, as we suggest, and have little or no trouble. The neighbor's guests had family over for a barbecue one afternoon and were gone by 7PM. I found out later that my guests were mad because their toddler had trouble taking an afternoon nap with all the noise outside on the beach and closing the windows would have made the home too hot. Although ocean front properties like ours are very popular, some people may find the quieter bay-side properties to be more suitable during hot summer weekends. We do our best to make sure each of our guests has everything they need to have a great time in San Diego.

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Great for small kids!

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to San Diego and staying at this property! It was exactly as expected, and the patio was a huge hit with my 18-month-old. The property had everything I needed (and more), and we loved being so close to everything. I was worried a little about the potential for noise in the evenings (while little one was sleeping), but during the week it wasn't noisy at all.
The property owner promptly answered my emails and my phone call and was very helpful and friendly.
The parking was a little bit of a pain (my car didn't fit in the garage), but we were able to take the bicycle most places we wanted to go (and store the bicycle safely in the garage).
I would recommend this property to small families with small children, singles, or couples wanting to relax with a gorgeous view of the ocean.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We furnished our home with a family in mind, unlike so many other properties here trying to squeeze people into every room. There is plenty of space for guests who require cribs or other toddler accessories and we have several providers that many of our guests recommend. The beach can sometimes get noisy on the weekends, especially during Spring Break and the summer months, but being in a residential area, it tends to quiet down here significantly at night and during the week.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Perfect

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

We had this property for a weekend in May and it was perfect. It was very close to a few bars and places to eat. The best part is being right on the boardwalk and jumping over the wall to the beach. It makes it so much easier to be on the beach and not a few houses away from the beach. We had some young kids having a lot of fun till 3am one night but luckily our baby is a sound sleeper. The house is small, but the deck is huge and if we weren't on the beach, we were on the deck enjoying the sun. Great place and will be back ASAP!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Being on the beach makes a huge difference! You won't have to drag all your beach toys and towels back and forth and you won't have to go far to get your snacks, drinks, bathroom breaks, or more sunscreen. The beach does occasionally attract partygoers but people here are generally quick to quiet things down if someone makes them aware of it. If not, the local police are very responsive about noise complaints and do a great job managing these issues in a polite and professional manner. People here are really laid back and generally easy-going.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

First time to SD

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

My family and I were very happy with our stay. It was our first time to San Diego and I am always worried when you go somewhere for the first time that you may get sucked in. The location is couldn't be more perfect. The condo was clean, the manager was accomodating and he checked up on us to see if we needed anything. Relaxing on the pation was great with the ocean right there in front of you. We rode bikes to SeaWorld which is only about a 15min bike ride, walked to the pool, watched people try to surf the wave machine, walked to the restaurants for supper each night. We didn't try the roller coaster that was only a 5min walk. We would definately be interested in returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's an easy and fun bike ride to SeaWorld from our property and you won't have to pay for parking! There are numerous bike and pedestrian-only paths around Mission Beach and Bay which is a great activity for the whole family to enjoy together. There are numerous bike and surf rental facilities within walking distance and a Segway company too. A first visit is often followed by many more!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Love the Ocean View!

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

My wife, kids and I had a great time at this property. The view was awesome! This place was perfect for the four of us. It was clean and had all the amenities that we needed. I will admit that I was unable to master parking in the garage although it was fair to say that I was driving a medium sized SUV, which made things a little tight. This was our first time using VRBO and I am sure it will not be our last.

BTW...Andrew could not have been more accomodating! He was a pleasure to deal with!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: One of the most common compliments we receive from parents about our property is how much they enjoy being able to watch their kids playing on the beach from the deck. People on the boardwalk will often walk by and tell our guests (especially when barbecuing) how lucky they are to have such a great place to cook, hang out, and enjoy the view! Make sure to finish cooking before sunset so you can end a good barbecue with a front row seat at nature's best show!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Beyond Amazing

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

We picked this place at random off the website's pictures and it did not disappoint! It was perfect for our family of 5 (kids age 2, 4, 8). They loved the beach, I loved reading on the back patio and people watching. Belmont Park provided better and cheaper entertainment than Legoland and it was walking distance. The kitchen had everything we needed (except a baking sheet- but we made do) and was perfectly equipped--even had plastic cups and bowls for the kids :) Our bed was sooo comfortable and my husband inquired where we can buy linens like that. The kids room was big enough to accomodate the play pen.For evenings, we brought our Wii so we could play games and access Netflix (which was simple with the wireless network). We ate at the Wave house twice=the kids liked watching the surfers in the wave pool while we ate. We also went to Corvette Diner which my kids declared "the most awesome place we have ever eaten." A must-do if you have kids. My daughter brought her razor scooter and was excited to ride up and down the boardwalk with all the other skaters. Definitely pack sweatshirts, it does get pretty chilly outside (inside was perfect) I was so sad to leave, but the dolphins came out to tell us goodbye. We will definitely be returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We don't always have everything for everybody, but we did add a baking sheet for those who like to bake cookies! Strange that we did not think of that ourselves! The evenings at the beach tend to feel a little colder than the rest of San Diego due to our proximity to the ocean, so it is definitely a good idea to pack a light jacket or sweater for the evenings. And now we have a baking sheet for warm cookies to ward off the cold! Peanut butter chocolate chip cookies anyone?

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Beachfront relaxation!

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

The mornings were so relaxing! You can preset the coffee pot so that it's waiting on you to wake up, grab a cup and simply open your patio door to the check out the waves and the ocean. Being right on the boardwalk there is a great energy with so many people out running, skating and enjoying! The condo was very clean and very comfortable. I did have an issue with a smoke alarm chirping but management took care of it very promptly. The location was awesome being only a couple of blocks from the Mission circle with restaurants, shops and amusement park. I'm looking forward to bringing my family back for a longer stay!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Although we enjoy the evening sunsets, the mornings are so peaceful with the sound of the ocean and the fresh light breeze to get the day started. Our favorite place to have a hot cup of coffee is right here on our deck!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Month-long Stay

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in Mission Beach for the first time. We arrived for our four-week stay, not knowing what to expect. We were delighted with Everything. Andrew was polite and responsive to our questions and our little check-in details, making sure we were satisfied and settled. The property itself was perfect: nice sized deck to relax on and watch from, two bedrooms with plenty of sleeping and storage room, nice bathroom with shower, and a comfortable kitchen/dining/living room set up. The interior was well-kept, ample appliances and amenities, and handsome. The location was superb! Just blocks from the Belmont Park shops and free city parking lot (very convenient for our occasional guests when they visited). Yet at the same time we had privacy and any noise was minimal. Gazing from our living room or deck at the ocean, dolphins, surfers, pelicans, sunsets was great. And the positive energy of the people using the oceanfront walk was a wonderful daily experience. We'd recommend any of the eateries at Belmont Park, again, close to the property. Also, recommend the 1.5 mile walk north from Belmont Park along Oceanfront Walk to Pacific Beach and its Crystal Pier. Kono's is a great diner next to Crystal Pier. Woodstock's Pizza is inland a few blocks on Garnet Avenue serving delicious pizza etc along with an all you can eat lunch. Also on the same Garnet Ave block is Sprouts and Trader Joe's, both super grocery stores. Cafe Athena has excellent Greek food. Use your bike (or rent) and bike the 13 mile perimeter of Mission Bay, very pleasant and scenic. We will definitely stay at this property again as well as recommend it to any friends or relatives!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We do our best to make sure all of our guests have everything they need to enjoy our property and have a great time. Many of the restaurants mentioned here are some of our favorites and there are so many more to choose from that are also within walking distance.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

WHAT A VIEW!

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time, the view was incredible, accomodations were great. Would go back in a heart beat! Don't mniss this one.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: A view from every room! We are about as close as we can get to the ocean without getting wet. The deck is a great place to spend the afternoon watching dolphins and our awesome sunsets!

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Family of Five loved it!

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days beginning on New Year's Eve with 3 kids (ages 5, 8 and 10). Andrew ( the property manager) sent us a welcoming email prior to arrival and answered our questions freely. The house and property were exactly as pictured and detailed in the description. There were many things in the kitchen that we did not expect including a crock pot and blender. It is approximately 600 sq feet of living space, not including the spacious deck. It was clean and well maintained. Andrew was available by phone when we had a question regarding the WiFi connection, and was able to walk us through getting up and running.

The best part of of the home is the beach front view, 180 degrees of it! Many other rentals in the area do not have a view of the beach/ocean, let alone a deck on it. The sand is wonderful and soft. There is a lot of action on the walking path right in front of the house, (privacy?).

The garage stall is dedicated but SMALL (as described). We had a Chevy Empala that just fit. My husband had to wiggle in and out every day. It as a bit nerve racking parking, but nice to have our own spot.

I would definitely recommend this property to friends and family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: We are one of the few properties that has a view from every room. Many other properties have a building next to them or some other obstruction, but we are really lucky to have such a great location! I do wish the garage was a little bigger but fortunately, most of our guests take our advice and bring something more appropriate for our garage and the narrow alleys here. We also provide a pictorial guide to help maneuver into the garage. A great place to spend the holidays with family!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Great week at 3253 Ocean Front Walk

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

My wife and I and our three kids stayed at this property for ten days and it could not have gone better. The listing is very accurate, the location was fantastic and it could not have been better waking up to the sound of the Pacific.

The property had been recently renovated and was very clean and in great shape.

Parking is very reasonable if you have anything smaller than a minivan. Otherwise it can be a little tight.

This location is very close to the freeway (8 and 5) and the proximity to Sea World and Belmont Park is a big plus. Grocery stores are nearby as are many adult and kid friendly restaurants.

I would definitely recommend this property to other families and if ever back in San Diego will stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: The sound of the Pacific is such a soothing treat for anyone not used to hearing it daily. Actually, it is a soothing treat for those of us that DO hear it daily! :D

December is one of our quietest months even though we often have great weather and warm winds blowing off the deserts in the east.

I am glad parking works out well for most of our guests.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Woo!

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Clean, comfortable, efficient space which is accurately described in the ad's text and photos. The property is very clean, well maintained, and easy to maintain. The neighborhood location is safe. I'd definitely stay again and refer this property to friends and relatives.

The parking was interesting but I managed to park a (rental) Dodge Journey in the garage. Andrew provided parking instructions and I selected our rental car accordingly. Sure I had to fold in the mirrors and have my wife spot me but I managed and issues with tandem parking weren't a concern. We used the car for grocery store trips and area attractions. Otherwise, we were at the beach and walked to Pacific Beach several times during the week.

My family (me, wife, 7 & 4yo) really enjoyed the location. It's a few minutes drive to San Diego Zoo, downtown, Sea World, and ~30min to Legoland. Pacific Beach is nearby and has a lot of shopping and dining options.

Regarding food, we bought groceries and prepared our own breakfast and (most) lunches. Some lunches and all dinners we ate out. Restaurants we enjoyed within walking distance: La Playa Taco Shop, The Green Flash, and Rubicon Deli. We were disappointed by the food at Luigi's, Roberto's, and Kojacks. The food at Kojacks was absolutely horrible, despite having favorable internet reviews. Luigi's and Roberto's served standard quality beach fare.

Back to the property. . . the only improvement I can suggest is provide a TV channel guide.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Being in a residential area provides a quiet and safe location although the weekends sometimes brings daytime crowds. Parking at the beach can be a challenge and we are glad most of our guests take our advice when selecting a car. We provide suggestions well ahead of the arrival date to make sure our guests come prepared.

Our property is centrally located and convenient to main streets, highways, and a great public transportation system. It sure is nice to have all the best stuff to see in San Diego only minutes away!

There are many good local places to eat although I have to agree that there are some not so good ones as well. We are happy to provide suggestions and recommendations based on the preferences of each guest.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Great Beach Rental

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

This condo is in a great location on Mission beach! It was very clean and had everything necessary for a great week. Even though it's cozy, my family of four was very comfortable since the unit has a large deck (and we spent most of the time on the beach anyway!). My only complaint would be that a few of the other units were rented out by college students, who were quite loud a few nights. I would recommend this condo to anyone looking for a place in the heart of Mission Beach.

Owners response: Yes, the location is hard to beat and the deck is certainly worth much more than the competitive rates we charge. Regarding the neighbors, the students are only there until the end of the month and they are very polite and quick to keep the noise down once they're aware of it. It's hard not to get excited when you are staying right on the beach!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Excellent Location!

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

My family of 4 (two adults, two children under 5) stayed at this condo at the beginning of October 2012 for a week and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The condo is very clean, with new appliances, and the beds are very comfy, as were the pillows! The master bedroom was large enough to fit a playpen, and the bunk beds were very sturdy. This was our second trip to SD, and in our opinion, Mission Beach is the only place to stay, and the bonus with this condo is the HUGE patio. We loved just sitting on the patio people watching and letting our children play without worrying about them getting out. Another plus with this condo is the in-suite laundry, which if you're travelling with little ones, is a must. The only downside for us was the parking. We had rented a minivan and it wouldn't fit in the garage so we had to use the tandem parking, which works but you feel bad if you have to wake people up to move their vehicle in the morning so you can get out. Everybody was accommodating but you kind of hate to be a bother. We did utilize the street parking at times so we wouldn't have to bother anyone. But having said that, the parking was a minor inconvenience that wouldn't dissuade us from renting here again and we'd definitely recommend it!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Quite a few of our guests bring young children that require a pack n play, crib, or other toddler accessories and we decorated our house to be as family friendly as possible with enough room for the extras. The washer and dryer are certainly a nice feature to have at the beach and especially great for families!

Although a Dodge Caravan can fit in the garage, it is a very tight fit. We provide a guide with photos to help with the parking although our tandem spaces are usually available as well. I usually park on the street with no issues when visiting the property.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Awsome

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

We arrived sooner than expected and Andrew was very accomadating with getting the unit ready for us as he had people just checking out. This place was AWSOME. It was clean, great location on the beach.
The private deck is great for entertaining your guests or just relaxing and people watching, not to mention the great sunsets. Andrew is very professional in the way he handles your rental experince.
Look no further this is the place you want to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We try to be as accommodating as possible although we still need time to make the house as clean as possible. We treat each and every guest as though they were our first and only guest. Of course that makes it much easier to enjoy the great views and sunsets!

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Melted the stress away

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

This place was exactly what I was looking for. The place is clean and simple - just what I wanted! Check in and out was straightforward and perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our guests really enjoy our keyless entry system. No waiting for us to get keys and instructions. Our guests feel as though they are in their own home away from home, and rightly so!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Great Week

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The condo right on the beach was wonderful. Sea Breezes flowing through all of the time. The private balcony deck was large enough to hold 10 or 12 people. The unit was also wheel chair accessable. It was very clean and contained all of the amenities needed for our stay. It was within walking distance to shops and easy driving to Sea World and San Diego. I would recommend it highly. Andrew, the property manager was very helpful before and after the rental was concluded.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Owners response: This is definitely a great place to stay if you like quick and convenient access to local amenities and attractions. Although we cannot list our property as handicap accessible for technical reasons, we have a few guests that have suggested that we advertise such features since they found access to be very convenient.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Summer vacation

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

We stayed here for 8 days, great location, deck was awesome, you are on raised deck. Master bedroom bed is very comfy. If there is any negatives no t.v. In the master bedroom or 2nd bedroom, and no stereo to listen to. There was never a problem with the tandem parking, everyone cooperated nicely when vehicles needed to be moved. We really enjoyed our stay! If u are looking for any good restraunts to eat at we highly recommend Phil's BBQ! There is a line to wait in but definitely worth the wait!! Big portions also! Corvette diner is our #1 favorite place to eat. Evertime we come to San Diego we have to eat there! Great burgers, shakes and the atmosphere is Great with 50's music, DJ, dancing and the servers are dressed in 50's attire. Great place for all ages!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: It really is a great location. The TV and DVD player are both internet ready and also have USB ports from which to access your iTunes account or other music source. In addition to the TV, we provide separate speakers to hook up to your iPod or MP3 player. We also provide a one-car garage although the tandem spaces are necessary for larger vehicles and trucks. This is definitely one of the best properties on the beach from which to enjoy your vacation!

Helpful votes: 19 / 21

 

Wonderful Family Time at a Great Location

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Our family of 5 spent a week at this super clean and well kept condo. The deck is absolutely perfect for BBQing,sipping on coffee and people watching. The location is PERFECT!!!! We bacically walked everywhere except Sea World, which is minutes away. The beach was so much fun as we played numerous games, read books, and RELAXED!!!! Our neighbors were very friendly and we always felt safe. We met alot of really nice people. Andrew was terrific, as he was easy to get a hold of for any questions or recommendations. We would definitely go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: So glad the whole family enjoyed our property! Our neighbors are as discerning and responsive as we are and it really helps everyone have a good time. June is a great time to take advantage of our early summer rates while still enjoying all the great sights that San Diego has to offer.

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 

Best Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

This has got to be our best family vacation ever. Stayed here for 7 nights. The oceanfront condo is in a perfect location. We were able to sit at the private patio every morning and sip our coffee and every night--looking at dolphins playing right in front of us and just enjoy the waves. Condo came equipped with EVERYTHING you will need for your stay- owner Andrew even provided us with a welcoming package. The one car garage is pretty small but there is tandem parking next to the building.Once you stay here, you really don't want to go anywhere else. And Luigi's, a great place to eat, is right around the corner. If you are looking for location, comfort, cleanliness, easiest check in/checkout, best value...this is it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Isn't it great when you arrive at a clean and well-equipped vacation rental and you don't need your car to go anywhere? Well...you might need it to get to the Zoo and Safari Park, but there are many great places to eat, drink, and shop nearby.

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Great vacation Spot

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

My family stayed for 4 days. It was great. I had 2 teenagers and also my 72 year old mother with me. We all had a good time. My mother loved sitting on patio and watching the people. Would recommend this for all ages. Definetly going to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The property is great for all ages. Our guests really enjoy that the deck is fenced, elevated, and accesible only from within the property. That provides that extra sense of peace and security. Of course the view is awesome as well!

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Fantastic location with a great experience.

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

This was our first time visiting Mission Beach and we couldn’t have been more pleased with our experience. Andrew was a pleasure to deal with and very helpful with suggestions and advice to help make our stay enjoyable. We arrived on a Thursday after stopping off at the local grocery store, unpacked, parked the SUV in the garage and were on cloud 9 till we had to depart on Monday. We didn’t need to drive again. Everything U needed was provided for you or was within walking distance. Awesome food, picnics on the beach, roller coaster ride, beautiful sunsets and even dolphins. We look forward to the next time we visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our guests often wish they could stay longer and we totally understand! It's great that the SUV was able to fit in the garage. I hope our parking guide helped with maneuvering!

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Great location!

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this great boardwalk front unit in February of this year. The security at the unit is state of the art and the view is breathtaking! While taking a shower one day I peeked out the window to see a pod of dolphins playing in the surf, what a treat that was to shower and watch dolphins playing in the ocean.
The unit is conveniently located and the neighbors are very friendly. Andrew and his family have a great vacation rental; they were very easy to deal with and are honest. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The dolphins seem especially active during our non-summer months although we see them year round. They can often be seen playing right in front of our property.

We also have a very close-knit group of owners in our building who take great pride and care of our building and guests. You are in good hands when staying with us!

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Weekend in San Diego

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed here for a weekend getaway to San Diego and it was a really great experience. The condo itself is very adequate for the needs of anyone staying here but the highlight is definitely the huge patio that overlooks the boardwalk and beach. Also, Andrew was very accommodating to our requests while we were here. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: November is a great time to enjoy the beaches of San Diego! The weather is not too hot and it feels as though you have the beach all to yourselves.

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Awesome Condo!

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

Everything you need for a long or short stay is here! Right on the beach with a fabulous patio and front row seat for all the "people watching" you want. Friends came to visit and couldn’t believe how nice it was. 2 blocks from the Coaster and the convenience of several restaurants to choose from. If you wanted to walk, you could go for miles in either direction. Andrew was responsive to my questions and I can’t wait to stay again. Next time LONGER!! Thank you Andrew!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is hard to beat the location right on the boardwalk! It is also nice to be a little above the action on your own private deck!

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Perfect location!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

I recently stayed at the property with my husband and 2 small children. This place was the perfect location. Walking distance to market, restaurants, bars, Belmont park and we were right on the ocean. The Patio is huge and perfect for entertaining and for small children. You don't have to worry about the kids escaping off the patio like most of the other properties on the boardwalk.
Great vacation and we can't wait to go back again next year! Thank you Andrew for your hospitality too!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our patio certainly helps keep younger guests from wandering off since it is fenced and accessible only from the inside of our property. We are so glad you found us and enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 32 / 32

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review