reviews for: listing #94406 - Venice, Florida House rental

Avalon Home Venice - A lovely and spacious house
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Venice
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1 - $150 /nt
    $293 - $999 /wk
    $1,255 - $3,995 /mth

sort by:

OK for a few days to a week, but not longer

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

The condo was not as clean as advertised, and the fold out bed in the living room had springs missing in one corner, which meant only one side of it could be used. The air conditioners were very noisy, and they were present in the bedroom and living room only, so the kitchen (which had the door to the outside) became unpleasantly warm. As a consequence of the lack of central air con, my wife suffered two bouts of mild heat stroke during the stay. The pool was fine in the beginning of our stay, but the filter broke down after a storm at the start of the last week, and it took almost a week for the pool to be reinstated to usable condition, so that did not go down well with my daughter, who had been spending up to a third of the waking time in the pool. The kitchen was insufficiently equipped for extended stays, with totally scratched teflon pots and pans. That said, the managers did provide suitable stainless steel pots quickly when we complained, and they put in a new shower curtain to replace the moldy one my wife refused to use. I was less troubled by all this than my wife. The location is fine, with easy access to the beach, and the neighbourhood is quiet. So, good location, but overall a mediocre accommodation experience.

Owners response: Hi Gordon - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the cleaning and maintenance issues. This is not up to standards. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Base for Day Trips; Close to Beach

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

We used this location as a base to take day trips to Sarasota, Tampa/St. Pete's, Ft. Myers and Warm Mineral Springs. The short walk to the beach was fine. We had repetitive issues with a bad circuit breaker, which maintenance responded too, but after the 5th time, we gave up. I recommend this unit for 1-2 people as long as the circuit breaker has been repaired.

Owners response: Hi Laura - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First of all, we paid over $2100.00 for this dump. Unit I is the worst of the units. The entry into

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

If you are a Polar Bear perhaps you could swim in this pool. There were no pleasing amenities. The grill is a rusty charcoal piece that must be a hundred years old. The walkway around the pool is filthy. There were no flowers, plants, etc anything that one would expect when they are paying $2100.00 plus. The air conditioner was broken in the living room and it was so nice to try to sit on the old, uncomfortable furniture and have a gaping hole in the wall with insulation material sticking out of it. We had two towels and three wash cloths. I didn't know that I had to bring my own bath towels too--I knew about the beach towels. This place is atrocious and I would NEVER recommend it to anyone. Also, we had to leave a week early because my grandson was coming home from Afghanistan, and, we were not given our money back for that week. So much for Patriotism in Florida. This place was the WORST place I have ever stayed at. The property is not maintained AT ALL. It was like living in a depressed area in the slums. I was not happy at all with this unit. It is not what it looks like in the pictures and is not what it is advertised. It is a dreary, depressing, run down place. And I don't know how you got $495.00 because I paid over $2000.00 and I have the bank statements to prove it so someone is lying again.

Owners response: Hi Kieith - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. We are working with the owner to get these fixed during the off season. Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Don't even consider it!

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

The unit is in very poor condition. <br/>The bathroom is so small when you sit on the throne you prevent the T-paper roll from spinning. <br/>We found dead cockroaches and salamanders in various location. <br/>The caulking around the shower was awful.<br/>The "electric" stove was dirty and their was "a lot" of water under the heating elemts.<br/>The mattress on the bed needs replacing. It so lumpy both my husband and I woke up with back ache every morning.<br/>If you wonder why we stayed, because we knew complaining would do no good and we would not get our money back. So we spent the days out and came back only to sleep.

Owners response: Hi Edith - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance and cleaning issues. This is not up to standards at all. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. I will email you a large discount. We do have more modern rentals. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

When we arrived cleaning ladies were having lunch in the kitchen

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

The pool was dirty- the bathroom was to small . microwave did not work. I could go on and on, In the future I will look else where. It was not worth $1024.00 a week.

Owners response: Hi Larry - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I understand that you arrived early, and yes the cleaners had until 3 pm to have it fully cleaned. I apologize that the microwave did not work. I have already contracted my property manager to get this fixed and he indicated it was already. We do professionally clean the pool once per week. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Rental - Fantastic Value

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

I was sooooooo happy with the rental. Darling condo, fantastic pool, wonderful mattress (a real surprise), all the comforts of home in a very quiet, safe neighborhood with the beach within a half block!!! Loved it! Kevin and Robert were fantastic!

Owners response: Hi Edwin - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 246 8181, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved our 3 week stay here, so close to the beach we timed it 2 1/2 minutes and close to the Dogg

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

the bathroom needs a bit of work, no place to hang your clothes when taking a shower and no shelf or anything in the shower area to put your soap, shampoo etc on - had to put them on the shower floor (yuk, didn't like that). Could also use another towel rack. the shower curtain was moldy so I washed it myself, but after we were there the some cleaners were changed, pool was kept spotless and everyone was very polite and helpful

Owners response: Hi Eileen - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the problems with the shower. We will look into this. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice little place in Venice.

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

The location is terrific and having the private pool is a real<br/>plus. Perfect place for morning coffee. It is not really within<br/>walking distance to village for seniors but great for the physically fit and bikes available nearby. <br/>Not a new building but adequately furnished. <br/>The bedroom ACIs VERY noisy and the living room wall by the AC could look nicer but on the whole it was comfortable and clean.<br/>Kevin was very helpful and friendly and returned our call<br/>immediately with a small issue. Our thanks to him.

Owners response: Hi Karen - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. We are looking into the AC this week. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay

Review submitted: December 18, 2009   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

Propery manager, Kevin was quick to respond to a couple of minor problems. We loved our stay.

Owners response: Hi Ray - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 13, 2009

When we arrived, there was an open box of sugar cubes and some teabags left by the last guest. It was full of ants which were also all over the kitchen table. The property manager came over promptly with caulk to fill a hole in the ceiling where they were getting in and some bug spray which he left for our use. It did continue to be a problem. We had to keep all our groceries in the refrigerator, many things that do not belong there and had to stay on top of it, taking trash bags out after every time someone ate something. There were also dishes still in dishwasher from last guests. So, cleaning service could be more complete, especially for the $95 we were charged for it. The place itself was okay, but was very damp and our clothes often felt wet when putting them on. It seems they could more into the place for the large amount of money being brought in for the three units each week. We only saw someone attend to the pool once during our week and it was often full of bugs and dirt which we had to clean ourselves to be able to go in. The middle unit often has a large amount of people, so the area can easily get taken over, pushing out a small one like ours. We were told there was a gas grille to find out it was a kettle charcoal grille that had to be shared by everyone. This is hard when you have to wait over 30 minutes for it to even heat up to be used and other people may be waiting. The neighborhood was very pretty and we enjoyed walking it with our dog and runs to the beach. Very pretty. However, when we rented, we were told we had access to a private beach, then as soon as you walked in, a paper informed you that the owner is not a member and you cant bring chairs, use the shower or the picnic area. So, you have access to what exactly, to go look at it?

Owners response: Hi Robin - I just received your wonderful feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the cleaning on this. It is not acceptable and I will email you a discount. I apologize for the grill. We only have charcoal grills for our houses. Also, the private beach access is an access path that all renters have access to. I am sorry you did not contact us. As you have rights to use the access path. I apologize again. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Value

Review submitted: June 8, 2009   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

The property was everything and more than advertised. The best part was the location - a few steps from the beach. The worst was the neighbors who smoked and took over the outside shared features of the property (pool furniture). Dennis was great.

Owners response: Hi Perrin - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. I apologize for the neighbor who smoked. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Stay In Venice Florida!

Review submitted: May 9, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

We rented all three condos in this unit for our family/friends to stay in during our son's wedding. It could not have worked out better! The pool is beautiful and bigger than we expected which gave us plenty of room to entertain. Two of the bedrooms in the 4 BR unit were enormous and the Queen BR was good sized as well. The walk to the beach was actually shorter than 's one short block that takes 1-2 minutes to walk. All three units had ample supplies of towels and utensils. The pool was cleaned regularly. We had an awesome time!!

Owners response: Hi Gary - I just received your wonderful feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location.

Review submitted: May 4, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

The property was in the process of being renovated. It was a great location and the property manager was very attentive. Great for a large group to rent as a whole. I don't recommend renting only part of this property as the pool and yard area are small. Perfect for our whole family. We will go back!

Owners response: Hi Jennifer - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 31, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

1. Property obviously "created" as 3 units from pre-existing property. Our unit was much smaller than our previous rental with VPProse. Bathroom was clearly sub-standard. <br/>2. Pool had "difficulties" but we were compensated with credit. We would have preferred it to work properly.<br/>3. Location was the best feature.<br/>4. WIll not return.

Owners response: Hi Joseph - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I really apologize for the issues with the pool. As you know, we have several larger homes in Venice. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a Ball!

Review submitted: August 25, 2008   Date of arrival: August 15, 2008

Dennis our property mgr was terrific! Property was clean and comfortable. Planning on returning next year!

Owners response: Hi Michael - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property needs an overhaul

Review submitted: August 14, 2008   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

There are structural issues and cosmetic that need to be addressed with the facility. It needs to be cleaned up and it needs decent air conditioning. It was dark and depressing. There was a shower leak that left discoloration along the walls. The list is endless. I wouldn't stay there or recommend it. Sorry. Not without a major overhaul.

Owners response: Hi Hope - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the condition of the rental. We are updating it significantly during the off-season. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487 SHD

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 26, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

I submitted this before and was very dissatisfied with the place. I don't thing you will send this to other people and don't think you want to know what I have to say. I bought my own place after my experience there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quit crowded around the pool. Bathroom was very dated

Review submitted: April 14, 2008   Date of arrival: June 17, 2007

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great location!!

Review submitted: April 11, 2008   Date of arrival: March 3, 2007

Overall it was a good vacation rental. As a constructive criticism the sheets were threadbare and the couches were worn out, but the property was clean so we had a great vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review