reviews for: listing #94559 - Seneca Lake, New York House rental

"Dreaming a View"
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Village of Dresden
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,800 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

We rented "Dreaming a View" for a family vacation but because of a family wedding and birth of a new granddaughter not all our immediate family could come. The rest of us had a wonderful time though! Also our extended family was able to come for a day and all commented how much fun they had and what a great place it was. The pictures don't do it justice. Linda and Phil were very welcoming and helpful. You basically only need to bring your food and clothes, everything else is supplied. We had a relaxing time sitting by the water, fishing and kayaking. Enjoyed hanging out by fire pit at night. Even got up early to see the sunrise out our bedroom window. We visited the wineries one day, went to the Waterloo outlets shopping but mostly just hung out and relaxed at the house. Had such a great time!! Already reserved it for next year and hoping all our family can make it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 9, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

We have been vacationing renting housed for few years but never felt so well taken care of by the owners as at this property. The house is absolutely beautiful. The pictures don't do it justice. Very clean, comfortable, spacious and very well supplied. The property is close enough to do shopping on your own in Geneva, about 20 min drive, and there is plenty of room to put things away. It was serene, calm and very relaxing. We loved the grill (cheeseburgers for the first dinner is a must), the kitchen and the soooo comfortable living room. We spent every night we could outside by the fire, the view of the lake in the evening during the sunset is just breathtaking. The way all of our questions were answered and attended to by Linda and Phil made us feel very important and put us at ease. We knew we could count on them for anything to make our vacation time unforgettable. Thank you for all you did for us and we will see next year.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. It was great meeting you and your family - getting to meet families such as yours is one of the reasons that we do this! Our goal is to give you the best vacation possible, and from your very kind review, it appears we are doing that.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

Spent last weekend at Dreaming a View with friends and family. The property is nothing short of awesome. We found the property to be in perfect condition very clean no complaints whatsoever. We spent the weekend touring the wineries and just relaxing this is the perfect getaway to just kick back and enjoy each other in the property itself The owners Phill and Linda are more like friends than landlords very nice people to deal with and they went to great lengths to make sure we are well taken care of and happy with Our stay at their home on the lake. This was our second year in a row to stay at dreaming a view. We highly recommend a visit to the property and we plan to return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed 'Dreaming a View' - we try to make it a special place for our guests to relax and enjoy the area! We thank you for the suggestion of replacing the regular coffee maker - we placed a new coffee maker in the house immediately - it will be waiting for you at your return visit!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

bachelorette/bachelor getaway weekend

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

The home was more way more then we expected it to be. The picture didn't do it justice. The views is breath taking. The owners were a pleasure to deal with and more then welcoming. We usually come up to the wineries at least once a year. This was the first time we rented a house and will definitely rent it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind words - it was a pleasure to meet you and your group. It is gratifying to hear that our guests enjoy the house and especially the view - we make every effort to make the home as enjoyable as possible.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Surprise Engagement Weekend

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

I reviewed several homes in the area before selecting this one. The combination of amenities and price was very attractive but what sold me was how pleasant the owners were to work with. The pictures are spot on, no surprises. The house was beautiful and comfortably slept all nine of my friends and family. They are genuine and exceptionally accommodating in helping me plan my engagement proposal. I had asked the owners if my soon to be finance's parents could pickup the keys on my behalf Friday night while my girlfriend and I camped in the rain no less on Friday night. All of my friends and family members arrived Friday throughout the day cozy and dry enjoying the wonderful home. The next day I proposed at one of the winery's and all of our friends and family showed up to surprise her, don't worry she said yes. It was amazing!!! We all went back to the house where we celebrated. Between cooking kebobs on the grill, roasted chicken in the oven, and preparing salad/sides on the gorgeous island there was plenty of cooking space. The table sat all of us very comfortably. After dinner we all went out to the lakefront and enjoyed the fire-pit roasting marshmallows and listening to the water roll inland. The next morning we made breakfast, cleaned up, and went home. My now finance was so shocked and surprised with the house, she said she loved how clean and warm the house felt as soon as you entered. A great place to spend with family and friends. Everyone loved the house enjoying the sleeping arrangements, the wifi, and of course the lakeside view!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Surprise Engagement Weekend

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

I reviewed several homes in the area before selecting this one. The combination of amenities and price was very attractive but what sold me was how pleasant the owners were to work with. The pictures are spot on, no surprises. The house was beautiful and comfortably slept all nine of my friends and family. They are genuine and exceptionally accommodating in helping me plan my engagement proposal.

I had asked the owners if my soon to be finance's parents could pickup the keys on my behalf Friday night while my girlfriend and I camped in the rain no less on Friday night. All of my friends and family members arrived Friday throughout the day cozy and dry enjoying the wonderful home. The next day I proposed at one of the winery's and all of our friends and family showed up to surprise her, don't worry she said yes. It was amazing!!!

We all went back to the house where we celebrated. Between cooking kebobs on the grill, roasted chicken in the oven, and preparing salad/sides on the gorgeous island there was plenty of cooking space. The table sat all of us very comfortably. After dinner we all went out to the lakefront and enjoyed the fire-pit roasting marshmallows and listening to the water roll inland.

The next morning we made breakfast, cleaned up, and went home. My now finance was so shocked and surprised with the house, she said she loved how clean and warm the house felt as soon as you entered. A great place to spend with family and friends. Everyone loved the house enjoying the sleeping arrangements, the wifi, and of course the lakeside view!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun for the whole family

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Extended family vacation with 6 adults and 5 teenagers. Highly recommend house and location. Property owners mentioned if we needed anything in the house just to call...didn't have to make any calls all week. House was clean and well maintained, plenty of room for all, extra large flat screen a plus at night. The back of the property faces east, providing wonderful sunrises and sun majority of the day. The lake is more like a cove by the house, kayaking was smooth with an inlet close for exploring. Biking trail nearby plus back roads, many state parks within one hour drive for hiking, wineries nearby. Or can just relax at the house and enjoy the view all day. We all had a relaxing and enjoyable week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic Long Weekend

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at this amazing house for the long Memorial Day Weekend. The house was in great shape (there are new owners and they are making improvements left and right) and the neighborhood is very peaceful. The house is right on the water (and I mean RIGHT on the water) so you are treated to some amazing sunrises (especially from the top level balcony that is seemingly 10 feet over the water's edge). My family and I had a great time and will be looking to come back in the near future.

ps, for those that make the trip, I highly recommend the vineyard tours and several trips to Mr. Twistie's (the local ice cream stand that is in walking distance).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Watched the sun come up over the lake in the morn-

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

while sipping a cup of coffee and sitting out on the top balcony, and I felt like I owned the world...or at least the lake. My family has been coming to the Finger Lakes for the past 15 years, but this was the first time we rented a house. This was the best experience we ever had up here!! We visited many wineries, the Belhurst Castle for brunch, the Muranda Cheese place, and the Windmill in PenYan. The couple who own the house live nearby and were very helpful with anything we needed and a wealth of information on things of interest in the area. They just bought the house a few weeks before we got there and it was in great shape and clean throughout. We had some extended family members from as far away as Houston, Texas join us for a few days and everyone had a great time. We enjoyed kayaking on Lake Seneca and it was easy keeping an eye on the kids from one of the balcanies outback and the water in this location is shallow so if they tip-over they,re in about 4 foot of water. We're inviting other extended family members to come see us this year so we've reserved the VIEW for two weeks. The house is easy to find and just a mile or so off a main highway, but in a quiet little neighborhood.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review