reviews for: listing #9456 - US Virgin Islands, Caribbean Condo rental

St. Thomas Caribbean Beachfront Condo,Discounts From 10-30%
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Watergate Villas Eas
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $295 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,950 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Cant go wrong with this condo!

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 3, 2013

Cant go wrong with this condo!
1626 Watergate Villas East, St Thomas, 00802, Virgin Islands (U.S.) (147351)
-
Date of Stay November 3, 2013

Earl made our stay in this large 2-bedroom condo as simple as possible from pre-programming the electronic door lock to the last 4 digits of my cell phone, to being available by phone and email to answer any of my questions. The condo has a great view and if you want to? You can take photos of a great sunrise each morning while having coffee on the balcony. You don’t feel like cooking in the fully equipped kitchen than there are 3 restaurants within walking distance along the beach. There is also a dive shop which we used to rent snorkeling equipment. The chlorine swimming pool is steps away and is clean and clear. The condo is centrally located between Redhook and downtown charlotte amalie . Nothing is more than a short drive away; I would recommend a car rental and remember stay “LEFT”. Earl provides detailed information about the area after you make your reservation. Even with all of the outdoor activities you still have free wifi and on demand TV indoors once you have had enough sun. Overall I would give this Condo 5 stars out of 5 stars. You won’t want to leave.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This vacation was awesome!

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

Karla Starkey said...
Oct 24, 2013
Excellent "Girl-cation" Get-away
1626 Watergate Villas East, St Thomas, 00802, Virgin Islands (U.S.) (147351)
-
Date of Stay October 10, 2013

This vacation was awesome! Earl's condominium is very comfortable with the most beautiful view from a spacious patio/lanai! We had the convenience of a kitchen and appliances to make our vacation even more enjoyable. One evening we stopped by a local grocery store and picked up some fresh fish to steam for dinner. Try the Sea Bass - it's excellent! The driving in the USVIslands is somewhat of a challenge - always remain focused to "stay to the left." We rented a car at the airport and used it every day - multiple times a day - our trip would not have been the same without a vehicle. We traveled to Saint John by car ferry (left from Red Hook) as well as on a chartered day sail trip with Morningstar Charters (Leaves from Point Pleasant Resort) - a must do if you have the time. The pace is a bit slower on that island. And the beaches are practically empty of people. (at least at this time of the year) Save a 1/2 - whole day to shop in Charlotte Amalie - and don't forget to bargain for your items. They are prepared to adjust the prices of jewelry, etc. Earl has a trunk full of clean beach towels - that was so handy and we really appreciated having clean towels to take to the beach. We re-used the ones we had so the cleaning staff didn't have to wash all of them at the end of our trip. Earl's phone service is handy - we were able to place long distance phone calls to the mainland from the condominium's phone free of charge. This kept us from racking up huge long distance/roaming fees with our phone plans from the states. The folks staying at the condominium complex are very friendly - we had several chats with other residents/guests staying at the Watergate Villas who offered tips on places to go/things to do on Saint Thomas. We felt very safe and secure at this location at Bolongo Bay. Also, the restaurant called Mim's Cafe - just on the beach - located in front of Earl's condo - is quite good. We had dinner there twice. The ambience is warm and friendly - the ocean views are better than a postcard - it's just beautiful! We hope to go back with our families - however, this was a mom's "get-away" trip.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything we could have needed

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

Aug 30, 2013
Great for families
1626 Watergate Villas East, St Thomas, 00802, Virgin Islands (U.S.) (147351)
-
Date of Stay August 22, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed in a private condo, and we will do it again! We were on the island for a wedding at Bolongo Bay, with a toddler, so we needed something more spacious and accommodating than a hotel room. We found it in this condo. Everything we could have needed made us feel right at home. Netflix was a big perk of this place, it really made it feel like home. We didn't realize how expensive everything was in St. Thomas, so the kitchen was key. We packed some dry foods in with our luggage and stopped by a market on the way to the condo to buy milk and other things, after visiting the market, I'm glad we packed what we could. The place that seemed to have the most reasonable prices for food was K-Mart (a short 10 minute drive), but they had no meat, although there is another market nearby there. All in all, the location of this condo is great, very quiet after Mim's (the bistro downstairs) closes for the night. We had breakfast on the balcony every morning, the priceless view didn't hurt.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful family place to stay

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

lynn boughey said...
Wonderful family place to stay

Date of Stay May 11, 2013

My wife and I cannot rave enough about how wonderful our stay at Earl’s condo was to us and our ten-year-old twin daughters. Everything advertised was absolutely correct, and indeed, the information supplied does not do the place (or more importantly the location) justice. If you want a really great place to stay that is safe, beach side, great restaurant that is literally 20 yards out your deck, a fun bar 300 yards away along the beach, right next to the scuba place, which is right next to the catamaran that takes you to swim with the tortoises, and 30 minutes from basically anything you want to do on the island. We slept in a very comfortable king size bed, bedroom looking out at Mim’s restaurant and the ocean. Our twins slept in a separate bedroom in twin beds. The living room was comfortable, and the kitchen the right size with everything you needed. All rooms had air conditioning – and coming from Montana I admit we used it whenever we were there. Although there was no need to go anywhere else, I admit we did venture out (as is our want) to numerous places, including having dinner at the Marriot, a fish place next to the ferry, and several restaurants. But by far, the restaurant right in front of Earl’s condo was the best we ate at. 4 times! The pool, just thirty yards from Earl’s place right to the east of Mim’s, was ALWAYS warm. I was born in California and HATE the cold, so swimming with my daughters is often a pain frankly, but that is what they want to do and I tough it out because that is what they want to do. I spent probably anywhere from 4 to as many as 8 hours swimming with my daughters on days we weren’t doing something else – there complete joy at this was probably the best part – for me – of the trip. But of course we did more and ventured forth – there is SO much to do. We hardly sat still. We swan forever, did the beach, built sand castles, partied at Iggy’s, ate at Mim’s. We swam with tortoises, sea lions at a ocean rescue site, went sailing, fine dinners, checked out and visited probably 6 different beaches. We meet dozens of couples who told us that the hotel they were at were old, run down, and they didn’t get what they had paid for (like a room with a view to the ocean). So, at the end of our stay, there was only one question my daughters wanted to deal with: Next time can we stay a month? We'll see. . .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Wonderful

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

Absolutely Wonderful
Date of Stay May 4, 2013

My best friend and I stayed at Earl's condo for a week and absolutely loved it. We had everything that we needed and then some. We were happy to not have to eat out each night since it does get pricey and loved being able to have a full kitchen to work with. It was nice and quiet and we enjoyed our time there and will definately stay again next time we go. Thank you for everything

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

If only time did not go by so fast.

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

Vacation Rental at Waterfront Condo at Bolongo Bay

Date of Stay April 15, 2013

I can not say enough good things about our stay. The view was fantastic, being so close to the beach and the restaurants were so convenient. The condo was very comfortable and clean upon our arrival. When we had any questions, we just called Earl and he was right on top of it. Earl also provided us with very good information about the island, stores etc. We would definitely stay there again. The people were very friendly. If only time did not go by so fast.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Stay at Bolango Bay!

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

Amazing Stay at Bolango Bay!

Date of Stay March 13, 2013

Our family (2 young adult kids, my husband and I) stayed at Earl’s condo for 6 nights. We were looking to get out of the cold and have some fun in the sun! We were unable to stay our first night in St. Thomas at Earl’s because the condo had already been booked. He went above and beyond to try to make it work for us by looking into other airfare options. We did end up staying one night in Charlotte Amalie but that was just fine. We rented our own car so we had the freedom to go when we wanted and where we wanted. For our first trip to the Caribbean our only plan was that we had no plan! Once we arrived to Earl’s everything fell into place. He checked in with us a few times during our stay to see if everything was as it should be, and it was. The condo was exactly as described in the listing: clean, comfortable and spacious. Staying in the condo we realized we would have never made it the entire week in a hotel- it would have been too close for comfort! The beds were clean and comfortable, flat screen TVs in each bedroom and main room. The kitchen had all the appliances needed to make any meal and a dishwasher for easy clean-up. Having two bathrooms was perfect for my adult family of four. We were more than set to spend a wonderful day at the beach- he has beach towels, chairs, beach mat and coolers. The pools at the condo were very nice and well maintained but our mission was the beach! Everyday we went to a different beach, each one just as fabulous as the last! Our family favorites… beautiful beach: Sapphire and Lindquist… Snorkeling: for fish- Coki, for sea turtles and sting rays- Bolongo Bay… People watching: Megan’s bay (busy, but fun). One day, we took our car to St. John’s on the car barge. I’m so glad we did this- St. John’s is beautiful!! There is a reason Iggy’s bar in Bolongo Bay was voted best beach bar on the island- it is FUN with entertainment every night. Dinner at the Lobster Grill will not disappoint either. On our last full day on the island we decided to try the zip line. This proved to be just another amazing adventure to make this trip even more memorable. Most of the above ideas came from Earl’s emails that were filled with recommendations and links to websites. Thank you so much Earl for ALL of your help! I don’t think our trip would have been as incredible if we hadn’t seen your listing. We loved our trip to St. Thomas and hope to be back soon!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bolongo Beach Paradise!

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

Bolongo Beach Paradise!

Date of Stay January 14, 2013

Thanks to Earl for the use of his wonderful condo at Bolongo Bay. This was our first visit to St. Thomas and we had a marvelous time! The condo was perfect for our week long visit for the four of us. It was spacious and clean - stocked with bath towels, beach towels and even toys for the beach! The kitchen was clean and well functioning. Our balcony overlooked the water and was lovely in the mornings and evenings. The condo is so conveniently located to the resort and we were able to use the amenities at the resort as well. The beach was beautiful, the water was awesome and the snorkling was fabulous! Be sure to visit the pool at the top of the hill which overlooks the water. The cliffs are filled with Iguanas and the sunsets are gorgeous. Mims Restaurant sits right in front of the condo and had terrific food and wonderful service. Iggies provided the night life without having to leave the property - Be sure to go the Carnival night - it was very entertaining! Earl provided excellent customer service - calling a few times to make sure the trip was going well and quickly returning our security deposit upon return home. I would definitely recommend this destination to my friends and family! Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best vacation we had

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

The best vacation we had

Date of Stay October 20, 2012

We stayed at Bolongo for 8 days and enjoyed every one of them. We got married at Lindquist beach. The condo was clean and well furnished. If you choose to cook, kitchen has everything you need to prep the food at home. The closest food market is just 5 minute drive from the condo, thanks to Mr. Thomas, for sending the directions to reach it and bunch of other helpful links to the islands. We spent few nights at the balcony, sipping cocktails and enjoying the view. There are 3 restaurants within short walk from the condo. Iggies got live music every night, Mim's which is right outside the condo, serves the best fish we ever ate. Owner of the condo was very helpful from the booking, to the end of the trip. We had an air conditioning malfunctioning - the unit was changed very next day, while we were away, exploring the island. It was our first visit to the tropical islands and my wife, a week after the visit, still lives the island mood :) We would definitely stay at this condo again. Thank you from all of us for this beautiful home, away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great family vacation!

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Aug 13, 2012
Great family vacation!

Date of Stay July 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time on Bolongo Bay! The condo had everything we needed. Even back scratchers for those itchy healing sunburns! Earl was very easy to work with and called after we arrived just to make sure everything was okay. Bolongo Bay is great for snorkeling. We seen several sea turtles, lots of colorful fish, conchs and even an octopus! Iggies has good food and is a fun place to go and has music every evening. Mims has awesome food. The blackened Maui Maui was the best meal on the island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location-Very Quiet home away from home

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Kelly Drost said...
Aug 2, 2012
Great Location-Very Quiet home away from home

Date of Stay July 23, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful stay to St. Thomas. Earl's condo was our home away from home. The condo was fully stocked with everything from a first aid kit to beach chairs and ice chests. All you really needed to bring with you were your clothes. The location was perfect because you could reach either Charlotte Amalie for shopping or the Red Hook area for all the beaches and the ferry to St. John. It was a nice quiet location and we enjoyed watching all the people dine at Mim's down below. Earl was a wonderful host and always just a phone call away. The Netflix and wifi were great for our techie kids. We took a snorkel trip to Turtle Cove aboard the Heavenly Days which was right down the beach at the Bolongo Resort. The crew was wonderful and our glass of rum punch was always full. Thanks for a great stay Earl.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean and well stocked-Had everything we needed

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Earl's waterfront beach condo served our family of four well, with everything we needed for a seven-day stay in St. Thomas. Having been to the island three times previously, the Bolongo Bay location halfway between Red Hook and Charlotte Amalie is convenient base to experience the best of St. Thomas and St. John. And we did it all--ferry to St. John, day snorkel/sail on Heavenly Days, powerboat to the BVI, beaching at Magen's Bay, Lindquist, Sapphire, laying by the condo pool, and shopping in Charlotte Amalie. My husband and son also played golf at Mahogany Run. The place was clean, well stocked with beach towels, bath towels, kitchen utensils, and much more. The view from the balcony is a great place to drink coffee in the morning and watch the waves roll in. The three restaurants on property were very convenient and we ate in all of them. Earl's condo is a good value, and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting St. Thomas.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you EarlI-t was PERFECT!!!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Thank you Earl for sharing your gorgeous place with us! It was everything that we were looking for. It was in the perfect location to be able to enjoy the entire island! The kids went swimming every day- they didn't want to leave! We are looking at dates for when we will be able to return! It was PERFECT!!! Thank you again!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous stay-had everything we needed

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

This was a fabulous condo. Earl was helpful every step of the way! He made sure we had everything we needed. The photos are representative of the condo--comfortable, great deck furniture, etc. The location was good as we took the ferry from Red Hook to visit many of the other islands. We did a lot of beach hopping/snorkeling/diving. The best hidden treasure was the double queen size sand mat--what a life safer on the beaches along with the beach towels provided. Iggies Beach Bar and Restaurant, just down the beach from the condo, was reasonably priced and good food. We saw baby sharks and turtles in the water at Bolongo bay. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends. Friendly people and location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I definitely recommend the condo-Ideal location

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the facilities - there was everything I needed to cook some gourmet meals when we were not going out. The rooms were well equiped and comfortable and the free streaming netflix movies provided us some good entertainment - We had been to Mims Restaurant (one of the 3 restaurants right on the beach) before and had a very nice meal our first night - then as a cap to our trip (8 days) we went to the Lobster Grille - I would definitely recommend the condo to another party. Earl called us when we arrived and made sure all was as expected - the location is ideal - we took the ferry to St Johns one day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second stay was even Better

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

Second stay was even Better

Nathaniel and Cameron, Albany, NY

We stayed in Earl's condo once before almost exactly a year prior to this year's visit. Returning was a great decision. This year we knew what to bring, which restaurants we preferred, where to get groceries, etc. We were also pleased to find that the condo was still lovely and had some new additions and improvements. There is an new television which includes access to Netflix instant watch. The french doors between the two bedroomss were heavier doors, giving more privacy. The things that we loved the most were still the same- falling asleep to the sound of the ocean waves, the relaxed atmosphere of Bolongo Bay and the fantastic wildlife right in the bay. I highly recommend Earl's condo as a place for anyone who is looking for a relaxing escape from the 9-5 world.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I highly recommend Earl's clean well stocked condo

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Clean and well stocked
Dan and Silva, Roseville, Minnesota

Earl's waterfront beach condo served our family of four well, with everything we needed for a seven-day stay in St. Thomas. Having been to the island three times previously, the Bolongo Bay location halfway between Red Hook and Charlotte Amalie is convenient base to experience the best of St. Thomas and St. John. And we did it all--ferry to St. John, day snorkel/sail on Heavenly Days, powerboat to the BVI, beaching at Magen's Bay, Lindquist, Sapphire, laying by the condo pool, and shopping in Charlotte Amalie. My husband and son also played golf at Mahogany Run. The place was clean, well stocked with beach towels, bath towels, kitchen utensils, and much more. The view from the balcony is a great place to drink coffee in the morning and watch the waves roll in. The three restaurants on property were very convenient and we ate in all of them. For the price, Earl's condo is a good value, and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting St. Thomas.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Romantic moonlight walks on the beach!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2011

So impressed with our stay that we're planning on returning in the future! Perfect place for a quick getaway!Can't express enough how perfect the condo is....completely equipped with all that one could need for some enjoyable beach time R&R....watching the sun rise and set from the fabulous balcony! Snorkeling and watersports right there on the beachfront...... a catamaran outing for a day just soaking up some rays......stay in and cook a great meal before taking a romantic moonlight walk on the beach! Grab a swim in the pool or grab a bite to eat @ three of the restaurants within a stone throws way from the condo!All without ever leaving the Bolongo Bay!Sounds perfect right?! LOL....that's because it is!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This condo is a hidden jewel, Thank You Earl!!!!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2011

A Delightful Surprise
Robert and Kim , Riverside,R.I.

All I have to say is Thank You Earl!!!! This condo is a hidden jewel in the Bolongo Bay! Perfect location for a quiet relaxing get away by tranquil waters with a wonderful view! The condo itself is spacious,clean and well maintained. Earl could not have been more helpful and accommodating of our wants and needs. The condo contained everything and anything we needed to not only enjoy our stay at the condo but also to enjoy our time on the beach! There are three fantastic restaurants along the beach front with one located right under the condo balcony! The property being connected to the Bolongo Bay Beach Resort is very convenient for arranging taxi rides to visit nearby beaches or to take in the sights. The condo is located in a fantastic secluded area where you can sunbath,jetski,arrange for a catamaran day excursion or just spend the day snorkeling(hey you just might come face to face with a turtle like I did......lol). This property was a perfect choice for us. It gave us the option to have fun in the sun,as well as, the opportunity of rest and relaxation! It came equipped with cable tv,internet,a pool just below the balcony and a full kitchen to whip up a meal in......with all the conveniences of home. A quick stop at the Gourmet Gallery on your way to the condo is a must,as it has anything you need to stock up on some food essentials and drinks! Be sure to read all the info Earl provides as it's a great helpful resource to hence your vacation stay! We definitely will be coming back for another stay in the future! Earl.....you are the best! Robert and Kim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic,Lovely, well-maintained condo!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2011

David and Barbara, Fremont Michigan

Lovely, well-maintained condo! There is an 8 x 30 foot balcony that runs the width of the condo; much of which is shaded most of the day by palm trees or the overhead roof. Since this second floor unit faces southeast, if you are an early riser, you can take a chair out the front door overlooking the small parking lot and read in the shade there. All the amenities are provided--towels, paper products, linens, even a couple of snorkel setups. The complex is kid-friendly with a pool (not kiddie-bring water wings for the little ones), but a sandy beach is a few yards away. We only stayed three nights, so we opted not to self-cater, but we found that Iggie's Bar was a good place to split a sandwich and fries and be satisfied. Mim's Bistro is a must for a special dinner--in fact you can watch them set up each afternoon from your balcony. We found the staff overall at Bolongo Bay Beach Resort next door to be friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are large and comfortable, with A/C and fans in each. The kitchen is narrow, but fully equipped, and there is a TV in each bedroom, plus a large flatscreen/DVD in the living area. But with the view, who needs a TV? We found Earl the owner to be very accommodating, and he answered all our questions (even those we didn't think to ask). We have visited the Caribbean more than 30 times in the past, and we have not found a condo better equipped or located for the price. David and Barbara, Michigan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Value, Thanks for your hospitality Earl.

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

Casey, Boise, Idaho
Review Submitted November 24, 2011 Date of Stay October 26, 2011
Me and a few friends stayed in Earl's condo late October. We just moved to St. Thomas, so we used it as a transition until we were able to get into perm housing. We came to like this area, and moved to a condo up above in Sea Cliff just up the hill. We also stayed at a few other condo's here for a few days during that transition. That being said, this condo was clean and ready upon arrival, it was the best bang for the buck we found in Bolongo area for vacation rentals during off-season, and Earl was very accommodating and made himself available if we needed anything. The description is of the condo is accurate, location is close to Charlotte Amalie, and Red Hook (about halfway between both) and was stocked with pretty much everything we needed to enjoy our first week here; kitchen suppies, towels, etc. I'm a tech guy, and like to stay connected, so internet was much slower than I'm used to, but was glad there was access. 2 rooms, 2 baths. Rooms have own doors, but are also shared by french style doors, which I enjoyed, it made everything more open, and allowed the other room to have more light and hear the surf. The view is great at Bolongo. 3 pools to choose from, but the Bolongo pool is a 30 second walk from the condo, and overlooks the beach. Although a more rocky beach than others, it is still a good beach to walk along and get into the water; or if into snorkeling, many turtles and rays hang out here due to the grass in the bay. The beach and grounds were very mellow and fairly quiet (especially off season). Iggies is a great mellow beach side bar to just hang out and enjoy the scenery with live music nightly. 2 other higher end restaurants within walking distance. Activites can be arranged with bolongo beach hotel also. Overall a great stay! Thanks for your hospitality Earl. When family comes down, I'll send them your way!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place and a generous host!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

Benedict

My partner and I stayed in this condo for a week during low season (late August) and we had an absolutely wonderful time. The location of the condo is just as perfect as it looks in the photos, right on the beach and right next to the Bolongo Bay resort, which offers several nice restaurants only a walk away. The resort also offers scuba diving, snorkeling, and other trips, which we happily took advantage of - again, just a short walk down to the docks. It's also a short cab ride from Charlotte Amalie, Red Hook (where you can take the cab to St Johns), and a number of lovely beaches. The condo is very well stocked with everything you could possibly need - kitchen supplies for cooking, plenty of extra blankets, linens, and towels, and even snorkeling equipment. It's clean and well-maintained. Our trip actually overlapped with Hurricane Irene, and Earl, the owner, was extremely thoughtful, flexible, and generous, checking in with us by phone about travel schedule and doing all he could to make sure the hurricane didn't disrupt our stay. I cannot recommend this place more highly! And if you go to the VI during low season, you not only get a better price for accommodations and airfare, you also get to spend time on beaches with no crowds at all, a nice bonus.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers , Girls Getaway , Sightseeing , Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect accomodations for our stay on St.Thomas

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Kevin

We really enjoyed our stay at Earl's condo. Our family of four-2 adults and 2 teenagers were very impressed with the amenities. Comfortable beds, clean kitchen filled with microwave,dishwasher,toaster oven, blender,3 t.v.'s-everything we needed or wanted was there. Breathtaking view! Iggies was next door on the beach good food and beautiful outdoor spot to eat. Earl was excellent to work with. He called to check on us and make sure any concerns we had were addressed. He also offered info on great sightseeing spots. The pool was great and was just steps from our door. We found at Bolongo Bay there were lots of water sports available just a short walk down the beach. We were there 8 days and we would have been just as happy if we never left the condo area because everything was there (beach,pool,restaurants,etc). We rented a Jeep and drove to beautiful Magens Bay Beach one day, (well worth the visit). Driving on the left was new to us so that took some getting used to. If you rent a vehicle, be prepared for a learning experience. Another gorgeous spot that Earl recommended we see is called Lindquist Beach, it is absolutely perfect and we did some snorkeling there. We also visited Sapphire Beach which was great as well. We rented jet skis and went para-sailing which was a blast. This was best vacation we have ever been on and we are recommending it to everyone. We would love to go back!

Rating: 5 out of 5

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers , Sightseeing , Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great relaxing stay

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

Mike

Stayed at earls condo and it was great. The condo was very clean when we arrived. Everything needed was at the condo. Plenty of options to dine within walking distance. The condo is right above mims bistro which is a very nice place to eat. I would definitely recommend this condo to anyone looking to visit st Thomas. Earl was available whenever you needed him and gives great suggestions on things to do. Great experience
Rating: 5 out of 5

Recommended for: Age 55+ , Adventure Seekers , Tourists without a Car , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great relaxing stay

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

Mike

Stayed at earls condo and it was great. The condo was very clean when we arrived. Everything needed was at the condo. Plenty of options to dine within walking distance. The condo is right above mims bistro which is a very nice place to eat. I would definitely recommend this condo to anyone looking to visit st Thomas. Earl was available whenever you needed him and gives great suggestions on things to do. Great experience
Rating: 5 out of 5

Recommended for: Age 55+ , Adventure Seekers , Tourists without a Car , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The entire experience was wonderful

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Michael and Karen McGown
Review Submitted Date of Stay July 8, 2011
We just got back from a wonderful stay at Earl's condo. The entire experience was wonderful. Earl called after we arrived to make sure everything was OK and to see if we had any questions. He checked back later in the week and again at the end of our stay to tell us we didn't have to rush to be out by a certain time. Unfortunately we did have to leave to catch a flight. We definitely hope to go back. The deck overlooking the ocean and beach was wonderful for meals with a nice breeze blowing most of the time. Iggies on the beach was fun and not overpriced. We had rented a car and found the location very convenient to Red Hook and all the East End beaches. We loved everything about our stay.

Recommended for: Age 55+ , Sightseeing , Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow what a great View

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

Richard Dietterich
Review Submitted Date of Stay June 27, 2011
We stayed here June 27th thru July 2nd. Wow what a great View!!!! Condo was great and clean just like Earl said it would be! Pictures are real. Mim's seafood is great!! Earl gave us alot of tips on beaches and jeep rentals. We drove the whole island and saw St. John's. Thanks so Much Earl... We will be back!!!

Recommended for: Sightseeing , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

villa was very well equipped

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

Ralph Rieman New Mexico
Review Submitted Date of Stay June 15, 2011
By now you should have read several of the previous comments about this villa on Bolongo Bay. The great location and the even greater service you will get from Earl. It’s all true. My wife, two teenage sons and I spent 9 days there and it has been the best vacation we have taken so far. The villa was very well equipped and a great “home base” to come back to after a long day of sun and sand. If I do hear of any of my friends planning a vacation to the USVI, I will be sure to tell them about this place to stay.

Recommended for: Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was little hidden treasure!

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Peter Lashmet st thomas, USVI
Review Submitted Date of Stay May 12, 2011
Earl's condo was a lifesaver for my sister's wedding @Bolongo Bay. I am not a fan of all-inclusive resorts; but my sister's wedding was booked @Bolongo Bay in St Thomas, USVI mid of May. Earl's condo was 2 min walk down the beach; much nicer/cleaner & all amenities than Bolongo. I would definitely book the condo again for long-wknd/week stay in St Thoams! Earl was also very helpful w/sites, shops, beaches, etc. in the surrounding area. It was little hidden treasure!

Recommended for: Age 55+ , Adventure Seekers , Girls Getaway , Tourists without a Car , Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The view is awesome

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

Lois Argyle Evanston, WY
Review Submitted Date of Stay April 15, 2011
My husband and I stayed at Earl's condo for our wedding/honeymoon trip. We had another couple stay in the guest room with us, and family members and other friends renting condos from other owners in the next building over. The view is awesome, morning (sunrise) and night (moon reflecting off the water). Also a short walk to the cliffside pool, amazing sunset while taking an evening swim). Iggies is right down the beach, fun spot with nightly entertainment. Earl was very helpful in every way. We even thought we had left some items behind, and he was right on top of it working on how to get it shipped to us. Turns out we hadn't forgotten anything afterall, but it's nice to know he is so willing to put forth the effort. This is just a general tip to new travelers to the area. BEWARE OF CABS! They will charge $10 per person, each way, period. Better off renting a car and it's really not too hard to find your way around.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Experience and Great Snorkeling

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

Guest: Very Happy Vistor(Albany, NY)
Date of Stay: 03/06/11 Review Submitted: 03/14/11

The condo is beautiful and very well maintained. It is stocked with all the amenities. Earl is without a doubt the best owner I have ever met. He was available before, during and after our trip. He checked in the first couple of days to make sure all was going smoothly. The location was fantastic. My husband and I loved falling asleep to the lapping of the waves. We toured around the St. Thomas and St. John and we concluded that we picked the best spot to stay. We layed out in the sun and spent a lot of time snorkeling. St. John is beautiful no doubt, but we loved the wild life that lived in Bolongo Bay- 3-4 sea turtles, beautiful manaray, squid and loads of colorful fish. The sea grass and giant bolders provide a habitat that out weighed any of the other beaches we visited on either island. The beach had a moderate number of people, but never to crowded. There are 3 delicious restraurants along the beach. When you eat at Mim's plan to eat around sunset, it is absolutely breath taking. We have already been recommending to our family and friends to visit St. Thomas and stay at Earl's.

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, families with young children, romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely condo at Watergate,many amenities

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

Date of Stay: 01/15/11 Review Submitted: 02/09/11

We have just returned from 3 weeks of vacation at Earl Thomas' lovely condo. Once again we found the condo comfortable, clean, and Earl providing many amenities. He is also constantly updating -- we noticed beautiful drapes and a new floor this year. Housekeeper Merlyne is excellent. Through the entire process of booking, Earl is most helpful, gracious, responsible. He answers queries very promptly. During our stay Earl called to check on our needs several times. He is genuinely concerned about his guests. We certainly are eager to return and do not hesitate to recommend Mr. Thomas and his condo to others. The complex is filled with very friendly owners and guests which always makes a stay here utterly pleasant.

Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Location, Great Host

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

Fantastic Location, Great Host
Guest: Doglips (Champaign, IL)
Date of Stay: January 7, 2011 Review Submitted: January 14, 2011

For our needs, this was ideal. We went for simply "doing nothing" and enjoying the sun on the beach. The feature of this property is location: South-facing beach for all day sun, three restaurants within walking distance, and pool. The complex is not new, but more importantly, everything works and is kept clean and maintained. The owner takes great care to ensure that guests are satsified, and is always available. Having a condo with a kitchen versus a hotel room means you don't have to eat out every meal, but when you want to eat out, it's easy.

Recommended for: Age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Earl is the MAN! Great Vacation

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

Earl is the MAN!
Guest: mark e b (Connecticut)
Date of Stay: December 20, 2010 Review Submitted: December 29, 2010

***** 5/5

This was my first vacation utilizing a rental property and I was extremely apprehensive about sending payment to a stranger but Earl made the whole process very easy. Prior to my vacation we corresponded via email and he responded to all my questions quickly. During my stay he kept in contact with us to ensure all was well. The condo is large enough to accommodate a family of 4 comfortably. It is clean and has everything to make your stay pleasurable. My outgoing flight was delayed due to snow in NYC and Earl made arrangements for us to stay at another rental condo (1620)in watergate villas from Ed. Ed understood our hardship and even offered us the use of the condo for free after after the 1st night if we could not depart. Great vacation!

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Tourists without a car, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean and Tastefully Decorated,You Won't Go Wrong!

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

Sherry L. Holloway Columbus, Indiana, USA
Review Submitted November 16, 2010 Date of Stay November 2010
I definitely recommend staying at Earl Thomas's Condo in Bolongo Bay, St. Thomas. The condo is very clean and tastefully decorated. I loved being able to walk out of the bedroom onto the balcony and see the ocean every day. Earl made a point to call and check to make sure we had arrived safely, which was a pleasant surprise. He (and his housekeeper) also called to make sure we were okay after the storms (from Tomas) rolled through on Saturday night. Iggie's and Mim's are great places to eat, as is Lobster Grille (past experience). If you are a diver, I highly recommend St. Thomas Diving Club, which is right there on the property and within walking distance. You won't go wrong!

Recommended for: ELDERLY , GIRLFRIENDS , TOURISTS , FAMILIES_TEENS , FAMILIES_YOUNG_CHILDREN , ROMANTIC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptionally clean and well maintained

Review submitted: December 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

What a Great Week!!!

Guest: Steve (Fort Wayne, Indiana)
Date of Stay: October 8, 2010

My husband & I planned our beachfront wedding at Bolongo Bay and the condo we rented from Earl was everything described. Everything in the condo was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The view from the balcony each day was breathtaking and we enjoyed the close proximity to Iggie's and the Bolongo Bay Resort where we were married. When visiting a small island such as St Thomas, finding such great amenities as cable television and WiFi within the condo was great for us and we shared our pictures over the internet with those that weren't able to attend the wedding. Earl's phone calls to ensure that all was well and our ability to reach him at any time was great. I would recommend a visit to St Thomas to anyone and would recommend renting this condo as your home away from home to anyone visiting the island.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Piece of Paradise!

Review submitted: December 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

5/5
A Piece of Paradise!

Guest: Brooke (Texas)
Date of Stay: September 16, 2010

My husband and I just returned from one week at Mr. Thomas' condo at beautiful Bolongo Bay. The pictures and description of his property was spot on! The condo is wonderfully decorated and furnished with all the essentials you need to make a home away from home. Mr. Thomas called upon our arrival to the island to ensure we arrived safely and checked in on us throughout our visit. His recommendations on where the locals go was just in line with our style. His housekeeper also called our first morning to ensure everything was in order. The attention to detail and customer service was above and beyond our expectations. We would highly recommend booking with Mr. Thomas!! We look forward to returning ourselves one day.

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Service, Villa as described

Review submitted: December 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

5/5
Excellent Service, Villa as described

Guest: C H (Chicago Area)
Date of Stay: August 8, 2010 Review Submitted: August 24, 2010

We recently stayed at Earl's Watergate Villa located at Bolongo Bay in STT. The listing description was very accurate. Compared to other condos we have stayed in, Earl's had a lot more of the staple type items that we did not have to purchase (i.e Toilet paper, garbage bags, dishwasher soap, paper towels, etc). This was very nice not to have to buy these things. The villa was clean and appeared to be in good maintenance order. The air conditioners were great to help keep us cool during our stay. The kitchen had plenty of items that were needed. Earl provided excellent customer service before our stay, during our stay, and after our stay. In fact, about 1 week prior to our visit, we called to ask if our niece could stay in the condo with us since she was going to be On Island at the time, and he said no problem at all and made the arrangements with the housekeeper to make up the extra sofa sleeper bed. He called to make sure we arrived safely and that we had everything we needed in the villa. I would recommend this property since the location and views were great. This condo is located at the Bolongo Bay which includes 3 on-site restaurants, several pools, and a swim up bar. The restaurant located the closest to the unit, about a 30 second walk, MIMS, was excellent and I would highly recommend it. We also took advantage of the Bolongo Bay Heavenly Days day sail which was very nice and walking distance. Compared to other beaches on St Thomas and the beautiful St John island, the beach at Bolongo Bay is not as nice, though it certainly has great views and will suffice if you want to be at a beach without having to drive anywhere. The location of the villa on the island is great, only 10 minutes from downtown, and 10 minutes from RedHook. Laundry facilities are located on the lower floor of the building and was convenient and easy to do. How can you beat doing your laundry and then sitting at the pool with an ocean view while waiting for the clothes to dry :) Thanks to Earl and his villa we had a great experience in STT. Thanks Earl.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just like home

Review submitted: December 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

5/5
Just like home

Guest: TravelinJLite (Prince George's County, MD)
Date of Stay: July 17, 2010

As I walked into the condo, it was so accurately described with two comfy beds, 2 full bathrooms, plenty of space, 3 tvs and although the kitchen looked small via the photos, it worked very well. I had everything I needed to cook breakfast each morning (the condo comes stocked with some seasonings), and pots and pans to cook almost anything you desire. We stopped at the grocery store on the way and we didn't want for much during our stay. Earl called within 15 minutes of my arrival to check on me making sure I found everything ok and asked if I had any questions. The housekeeper checked in on us about 3-4 times for provisions with towels, etc. I loved waking up to the view of the beach each morning. The pool is near and accessible. Mim's is a 2 minute walk and right in front of the condo. The food is tasty. Be mindful of refills--they are not free. Iggies and Bolongo Bay Beach Club is so close as well, just right around the corner. About a 4 minute walk. Just follow the path to the beach. My husband and I only spent one day there but our neices were there every night for their various entertainment shows. The area had plenty of parking. Downtown is nice. Prices are okay. If you visit, visit on days that the cruise ships are in port, as all the stores downtown cater to the cruise ships. We went on a Friday and many places were closed, especially Blackbeard's which sucked because we'd walked the 99 steps and more to get there. Bolongo Bay Condo is also very close to the Red Hook Ferry which we took one day over to St. Johns. Worth the visit. $45 for a roundtrip pass with our car. Pretty simple to get around. We drove the entire island in an hour and a half. Most beaches are free. Visit the ruins. Wonderful condo. Great location. No disappointments.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Well cared for condo. Great nighttime activities

Review submitted: December 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

A great home base to enjoy the VI.

Guest: Dave (Westchester NY)
Date of Stay: July 1, 2010

Everything that was written about this rental was accurate. This is a well cared for two bedroom condo, centrally located on St. Thomas between Red Hook and Charlotte Amalie (couldn't be a better location). It's clean with comfortable furniture and fully functional kitchen, complete with microwave. The views are spectacular. It was especially wonderful to wake up to the bay view right outside the kitchen/living room and master bedroom. There are ceiling fans in every room so that it wasn't necessary to use the AC that much. The owner, Earl was most helpful in discussing plans, day trips, etc.. as well as overall accomodating our needs. I would recommend this to couples with and without children as there were plenty of kids and teens at Watergate Villas. Iggys is a must. They had great nighttime activities, eg. carnival night with a band and entertainment. Mims is great and both restaurants are right on the beach. The upper pool is a must. I've never seen a pool with such an unbelievable view (it's on the Atlantic ocean side and there is a 180 degree view.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, People with disabilities, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Trip! We had every amenity necessary

Review submitted: December 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

Great Trip!

Guest: ~Cathy P (Roswell, GA)
Date of Stay: May 25, 2010

Thank you, Earl, for a very nicely furnished condo for our St. Thomas vacation. Our family of four fit perfectly in the condo and we had every amenity necessary for a fun stay. We apreciated the coolers, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels...anything we needed to pack for a day out on the island was there for us! Also provided and very much appreciated were the games, DVD movies, books, etc. for the nights we decided to stay in and enjoy a relaxing night cooking at home. Thank you again...we had a wonderful vacation!

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best place to stay on St. Thomas

Review submitted: December 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

Guest: Carol and Gordon Gholson, Moreno Valley, CA
Date of Stay: March 14, 2010

St. Thomas wedding Best place to stay on St. Thomas. This condo was even better than we expected. It was very clean and spacious. The location is excellent as it close to downtown Charlotte Amalie and Red Hook for a variety of restaurants. It has a well stocked kitchen for eating in as well. There were plenty of bath towels and beach towels and the beds were comfortable. It is right on the beach with fantastic views of the ocean and pool. The beach is not crowded and has two restaurants. You can book catamaran tours that leave right from the beach. It was a pleasure dealing with the owner Earl. He even called us the first day to make sure we made it there OK. We will definately return. We have rented other condos on St. Thomas from other owners in the past and have been disappointed. Not here! Thanks Earl. Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Tourists without a car, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I loved everything about this condo

Review submitted: December 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

5/5

Guest: Johnny & Christy Terwilliger (Sneads Ferry, North Carolina)
My husband and I took our son and his soon to be wife to St. Thomas. I loved everything about this condo, we felt quite at home there. Everything in the condo was great, it was very neat and clean. Everything that we needed was there, which was great. We enjoyed being able to get up in the morning and cook breakfast. I loved the thought of there being restaurants within walking distance. We had booked a overnight charter on a boat while we were there, which was an awesome experience. There are so many fun things to do in that area, we try to go to St. Thomas as much as possible. Earl called to check on us and even called on the day we were to leave to let us know that we could stay until we had to leave for our flight since no one else was checking in on that day(I was very appreciative since I had injured my ankle on vacation and did not want to be on it much). I will be looking forward to renting this condo again, loved every minute of it!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Earl was very friendly and professional

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

We stayed the first week of Feb 2010 with another couple. The pictures are very accurate but the descriptions are an understatement. You will get a better feel of the location by reading the guest comments. Bolongo Bay is a wonderful place that is away from all the cruise traffic and congestion. Earl was very friendly and professional checking up on us to make sure all was going well and responding to several email inquiries in a very timely manner. There were nothing but pleasant surprises with more dining choices, better snorkeling, and more things to do than expected right there along the beach. Definitely sign up for one of the catamaran trips aboard the Heavenly Days. A car is a must if you want to explore the island but is not needed if you are looking to just hang out and relax.

Patrick and Margaret

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was our 4th stay. Rebooked for next year.

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

My husband and I very much enjoyed Earl Thomas' Watergate condo Jan. 12 - Feb. 2, 2010. Throughout the entire process of booking through stay, Mr. Thomas was most gracious, dependable, prompt. He always replies to queries in a timely and pleasant manner, and it is indeed a pleasure to work with him! The wonderful gift basket upon arrival was so appreciated, and we enjoyed its contents throughout our visit. Mr. Thomas called several times to check on us and our stay. He is truly concerned with his guests' comfort and enjoyment. The condo is attractive, furnished well with comfortable bedding, and is so delightfully clean and well maintained. The housekeeper is conscientious and excellent. This was our 4th stay at Watergate, but our first at this condo, and we will definitely return to this particular condo and Mr. Thomas. We had done the sights, beach hopping, and trips on other visits, so this year spent considerable time enjoying the pool and the warm, friendly owners and guests at the complex, many of whom we had met on previous visits. Some nights we ate on the condo balcony, enjoying the view; many nights we enjoyed local restaurants such as Roberts, Room with A View, North Side Bistro, Wikked, Shipwreck, Jacks, Tickles, Hook-Line and Sinker. Our 3 weeks passed very quickly, and already I miss not being lulled to sleep by the gentle waves. Snow and cold here in Ohio cannot compete with this balmy paradise.

02/03/10
Positive Rating
Peggy Clason , Mentor,OH 44060

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The sunset from the balcony patio was awesom

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

We stayed at Earl's place the week of December 5-12th, 2009. We cannot say enough about the wonderful time we had. It was everything Earl said it would be and more. When we got there the condo was decorated for Christmas, what a nice surprise as it was 90 degrees there and -5 degrees at home. We weren't used to seeing a Christmas tree while having the windows open or the airconditioning running but it was a great experience. Earl called to check on us to make sure things were ok. They were great. It was a slower week on the island just before busy season and we loved that. We had the whole place to ourselves. Once in awhile we ran into some folks at the pool. We loved the laid back atmosphere. We spent a lot of time driving around to other beaches and seeing the island of St. John all which was very doable with the location of Earl's place. He gave helpful directions and attractions that saved us lots of travel time. We loved it. We have traveled all over the Caribbean and this was one of the most relaxing spots we've stayed. Although things are very pricey on the island, having the condo and a kitchen was just right. We put the blender to good use each night as we watched the sunset from the balcony patio which was awesome! Thanks Earl for making this a trip to remember, but hopefully not our last to Earl's condo! We're looking forward to booking this again. By the way, Iggies had great food at reasonable prices. The bistro right on the property also had great food but like most upscale places it was expensive but a nice treat once in awhile. Thanks also Earl for the use of the snorkeling equipment and lawn chairs. Our friends are covinced snorkelers now that they had equipment to try before they buy.

Thanks again for everything Earl and we hope to be back in 2010.

The Toths & Weikerts from Wisconsin
Janice Bobholz & Brian Toth, Beaver Dam, WI

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had an absolute ball at Earl's condo! Thanks for y

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2009

Had an absolute ball at Earl's condo! The place is so comfortable and cozy. Very clean and had everything we needed and more. The view is great and the food at the nearby restaurants was superb. Thanks for yummy basket full of goodies Earl!! Hope to see you again soon! Emily, Becky, Susan, and Julie :)
Emily Patrick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We could not have asked for anything

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

My husband and I plus another couple stayed in this condo and had a wonderful time. We could not have asked for anything, all was supplied at this condo. Earl was very helpful and just a phone call away should we have needed to know anything about the island. If we get to St Thomas again we would not hesitate to stay here again.
Charlie, Fort Collins, CO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Upon our arrival, Earl had a fruit basket delivere

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

My family stayed at the condo September 10 - September 17. This was our second stay at the Bolongo with the first being at the resort it itself. We much preferred renting from Earl.

As often mentioned in other comments, Earl was very easy to deal with and we corresponded many times before I rented from him and his responses were very timely and helpful. His concern and attention to detail was very helpful. Upon our arrival, he had a fruit basket delivered which we very much enjoyed during our visit and his housekeeper presented us with bottle of rum to start us on our way.

There were five of us staying at the condo and with the king size bed, twin beds and pull out sofa, the room was adequate. The kitchen is a little small and hard to maneuver with more than two people but this was a minor issue. The overall appearance of the condo is very nice and very clean. Earl has added a few touches which were very helpful and appreciated such as the snorkeling gear, water boards, water shoes and the rope on the balcony which was used continually for wet towels and clothes.

We used the swimming pool every night for several hours. There were very few people staying at the condo during this period because of the off season and we generally had it to ourselves. Very nice facility and the visitors and residents were very nice and helpful.

We used the facilities at the Bolongo resort whom I am sorry to say are not very friendly or helpful. Prior to checking into the condo, we stayed one night at the resort. Holel clerk very unfriendly to the extent of being rude. I would not recommend. On one paricular day we were using the beach and had our towels on a beach chair and were requested to remove them since we were not staying at the resort. There were 4 of us on the beach and didn't apprear be a problem! Small issue for using the beach however. Enjoyed Iggies and would recommend.

Thank you Earl for your attention and the use of your great facility. If we return to the St. Thomas, we will definetly use your facility.
Gary Keller, Omaha, Ne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the condo, or what we now refer to as hom

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying here August 20-27, 2009. I corresponded with Earl Thomas a dozen times before confirming our reservation and each time Earl was quick to respond and answered all my questions every time. Even after we signed the contract, Earl was quick to answer my miscellaneous emails and was very easy to work with. I had a couple mini meltdowns regarding the threat of hurricanes prior to our arrival and Earl was really flexible if we had to change our date. Fortunately, we didn't have to and the weather ended up being wonderful, despite my worry but it was nice of him to give us an alternative. It gave me the peace of mind I needed. Earl even called to check on us to make sure we arrived and he sent over a lovely fruit, wine and cheese basket, which we appreciated so much!

We loved the condo, or what we now refer to as home! The views of Bolongo Bay were stunning from the master bedroom, kitchen and living room. We enjoyed the sunrises with coffee on the lanai each morning. It was clean, well stocked with all the comforts of home and the beds were very comfortable. It was also fully stocked with beach towels, chairs, ice chests, boogie boards, snorkel equipment, etc. The AC in each of the rooms worked well and was definitely necessary! Parking was easy and plentiful. The three pools were definitely a bonus. We loved the wireless internet too. It was also conveniently located between Charlotte Amalie, Red Hook and the beautiful beaches on St. Thomas. We loved Iggie's restaurant and the St. Thomas diving club and both were within walking distance. We had the perfect vacation and intend on returning next summer and will definitely stay here again. I am counting down the days…!
Gray Family , Benicia, California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We highly recommend contacting Earl

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

First of all, to Earl, thank you so much for addressing our needs and making suggestions. It was a pleasure to get to know you.

We rented the unit at the other end from Earl's when his became unavailable, and it was very convenient with a great view overlooking the pool and sea. It was so peaceful sitting out on the long deck with the breezes off the water, and the kids loved the beautiful pools up the hill. The one with a 200 degree view of the sea is spectacular, especially at sunset.

The unit was convenient to the beautiful beaches on the east side. Coki Beach had fantastic snorkeling, and Sapphire and Smith's Bay beaches offered white sands and spectacular scenery. Red Hook is 10 minutes away so we took the ferry to St. John's from there with our car. We had a wonderful day there seeing the sites and Caneel, Maho, Cinnamon and Trunk Bays.

We enjoyed eating at Glady's Cafe in Charlotte Amalie and when we were near Red Hook, at Duffy's Love Shack, which years ago was in Charlotte Amalie (at Creque's Alley) and ties in to the Mamas and Papas spending time in St. Thomas in the 1960's.

We too thought we were in a much more relaxed location at the condo than the neighboring Bolongo Bay Hotel. Iggie's was a bit disappointing to us in our one visit there.

All in all it was a great vacation and we highly recommend contacting Earl if you want a great place to hang out for a week on the beach.
The Prichards, Cary, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

the most beautiful place on earth!

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at Earl’s “Bolongo Bay” condo in July of 2009 with our 2 kids, ages 13 and 9. Upon arrival there was a very nice gift basket with fruit, sparkling cider, and cheese & crackers which came in handy after a long and tiring flight. The condo is in a convenient location. The food market is just a quick 5 minute drive and is well stocked. Red Hook Marina is 10 minutes away and has several restaurants in every price range and taste. The ferry terminal to St. John was a few blocks from the marina. Downtown Charlotte Amalie is a 20 minute drive in the opposite direction. The town has lots of shopping, cruise ships etc. We really appreciated the helpful phone calls from Earl. He answered questions that we didn’t have until we arrived, and that made us feel right at home. He wanted to make sure we were comfortable, offered insider advice on the unknown beaches and even offered driving directions.

The condo itself is a comfortable home away from home. The King and 2 twin beds were all very comfortable. All of the room a/c were very powerful. The master BR looks out to the Caribbean Sea, the pool, Iggie’s Bar and Grill (AWESOME!) and Mim’s restaurant. It is well stocked with snorkel equipment, beach chairs, towels, and hard and soft coolers of all sizes. It even has a large deck (with access from the master bedroom or kitchen,) with a handy clothesline for drying towels, swim suits, etc. Of all the restaurants, our favorite was Iggie’s. The food was awesome, we ordered at least half of the menu choices and loved them all. The price is right as well, and you cannot beat the view, your toes are in the sand!

We recommend this condo to anyone who wants to enjoy their privacy in the most beautiful place on earth!
Anonymous, Ellicott City, MD 21043

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything the description said, 4 STARS!!!

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

The condo was everything the description said and more. We have a great time. The location of the condo was very convenient. Everything was right there. We could have stayed there the entire time without the need to drive anywhere. 4 STARS!!!!
Anonymous, Chester Springs, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It gets no better than this.

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

Connie, Charmae, and I are back from a glorious week's stay (6/20-27)at Earl Thomas' Watergate Villa condo in St. Thomas. The accommodations were quite comfortable and superbly located -- just steps away from the beach. We were also convenient to restaurants, visiting Iggies daily. We were especially pleased with our welcoming fruit basket and the attention displayed by Mr. Thomas. For a week of relaxation and quiet, beautiful beach, awesome sunrises/sunsets and great restaurants -- it gets no better than this.
Madeline Doyle, Fort Washington, MD

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Earl was an extremely gracious and very helpful ho

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2009

My Wife and I stayed at Bolongo Bay from May 16 - May 23rd, 2009. We made the reservation thu Earl Thomas. First - Bolongo Bay was beautiful and offered just the right mix of peace and quiet / beautiful ST. Thomas scenery / and also water type activities that my wife and I were looking for. The pool was nice, the sailboat ride (heavenly sail i think) was fun, the day trip to BVI was the trip highlight, and of course, Bolongo bay is a short cab ride to ST Thomas shopping. Food at Iggies was good and reasonably priced. Now the condo: It was very nice, clean, spacious, well decorated, and fully equiped in the kitchen. The beds were very comfortable. We especially liked the deck that went the whole lengh of the condo. I would higly recommend the condo over the rooms at Bolongo Bay - which looked modest and somewhat dated in my opinion. Finally, Earl was an extremely gracious and very helpful host. He met us at the airport, spent the better part of the day with us - giving us a tour of the island, and saw to it that our accomodations and trip were exactly what we anticipated. He is a great guy, true to his word, helpful, knowledgable and fun to boot. All in all - we had a blast and fully intend to rent / vacation again at Bolongo Bay. I would highly recommend a rental at Earl Thomas's unit.
Denny McCullough, Hershey, Pa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I wish I could have stayed here forever.

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

Wonderful!!! My family of 4 stayed in this condo from 4/28-5/13. There are so many great things to say I don't even know where to begin. We received a beautiful gift basket upon arrival with a personalized note addressed to my whole family welcoming us. The accommodations were beautiful, clean, and roomy. Each room has its own bathroom and tv. The beds and bedding are comfortable and the rooms are generous in size. The view from the balcony is beyond words. I enjoyed my coffee every morning sitting there looking at the ocean. No need to pack any beach stuff, everything you need is already here. We discovered a supply of beach towels, chairs, boogie boards, snorkel gear, beach umbrellas, water shoes (2 pairs which fit my husband and daughter so I would say a men's 10 and women's 7 1/2) and various ice chests. There was even an umbrella for those spurts of St. Thomas rain! If you plan on cooking, the kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. All you really need to pack are your clothes. I have been to St. Thomas many times and these are the best accommodations I have stayed at by far. I wish I could have stayed here forever. I look forward to staying here again in the future!
Laura, Los Angeles, California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You helped in making our honeymoon a special exper

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

What a wonderful 10 days/9 nights we had!! You definately helped in making our honeymoon a special experience with all of the helpful information, and staying in touch with us to make sure we had everything we needed. We rented a jeep for the trip -- which was definately a good thing for us with all that we saw and did. Several restaurants which we found EXCELLENT were: Tavern on the Waterfront in Charlotte Amalie, Latitude 18 over by Red Hook (down a beaten path but WELL worth it), and Banana Tree Grill at Bluebeards Castle. The condo is in a perfect location, practically right in the middle of Red Hook and Downtown. Can't wait to come back, hopefully really soon!! Thanks again for everything!
Denver Compton, Lynchburg VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

Our trip to Bolongo Bay was definitely a positive one. I was also impressed that on our first day there, Earl called to be sure all was well for us and to ask if we needed anything. We enjoyed being at Bolongo Bay and met some wonderful people there. We had everything we needed in our condo in order to make our stay a pleasant one. We rented a vehicle as well, which was a wonderful convenience. Plus Earl gave great directions about getting to the condos from the airport, as well as other links providing other helpful info. We had a wonderful time!
Becky, Brookings, SD

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would definately stay here again.

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2009

Earl,

This comment is way over due so please forgive us. My husband, I and our 3 sons stayed in your condo and had a great time. You were wonderful to work with, called to make sure all was going well and give support if we needed it. The condo was perfect. It was great to be able to eat our meals there with 3 boys who seem to always be hungry. We also liked having the option to go out to eat if we wanted a change of pace. It was nice to be able to walk down the beach to dinner. Snorkeling was great and we tried all of the beaches. Driving can be a challenge but if you expect it, it isn't too bad. There was plenty to do to keep us busy during our visit. We checked out the shopping by the cruise ships and even found several gyms where my son could work out. The Wyndham gave my son a day pass in their beautiful facility. My youngest son went parasailing there also. Thank you for the opportunity to stay at your great condo. We would definately stay here again.
Thanks Earl!

The Flynns

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much for a memorable vacation.

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We are just back to rainy Virginia :( We miss Bolongo Bay already. The condo was very accommodating and was far nicer than we ever expected. We all slept well after a long day of snorkeling, scuba diving, or visiting area sites. A huge help was having the Food Center close by. This saved us a ton of money. We ate breakfast and lunch at the condo and half of our dinner's at Iggie's, Lobster Grill and Mim's which were all walking distance to the condo. At St. Thomas, we checked out Mountain Top, Coki Beach, Coral World, Magen's Bay, Drake's Seat, Charlotte Amalie etc. We took the Ferry at Red Hook over to St. John and loved snorkeling at Trunk Bay. Renting a car also saved us money and we did fine driving on the left side of the road. Bolongo Bay beach was very relaxing and quiet. We met a few families but it was never crowded. The views from the condo were breath taking. Thank you so much for a memorable vacation. Our three sons ages 8, 10 and 12, my husband and I had a fantastic time!
Michael and Terri Drake, Virginia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The condo was plenty ample for five big guys from

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Hey Earl,
Your place on St Thomas was all we expected and
more. The condo was plenty ample for five big guys
from New York in need of a get away. The breezes
and the views from balcony made a great first
impression on us all. Everything we could possibly
need or want was there and ready for us to enjoy
from the first hour to the last. There was nothing
we wanted for. Thanks for that.
As for the Island itself, we loved it. Although
maybe not for everyone, we decided to explored St
Thomas and St John's by motorcycle. Traveling this
way gave us the freedom to experience even the
most private and out of the way beaches, dirt roads
and truly native areas of both islands. We had a
blast hang out with some islanders and we made a
few cruise ship friends, (wink wink). Can't wait to
go back. The only problem was that we ran out of
time too soon.
Thanks again from us all
John, NYC
john, bronx, ny.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Earl the owner is awesome!

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

Condo was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Kitchen is stocked with everything you need, and owner provides beach equipment. Location is great! You are only about 10mins to main shopping in the Harbor and another 10mins to Redhook! There is a cool beach bar about 200 yards from the condo (Iggies) and a restaurant directly below the condo (Mim's). We bought groceries and cooked every night and had our dinners on the balcony! The beach is nice but water is a tad bit choppy. We went to Coki Beach and were blown away by it's sure beauty. Coki Beach is a must do on the Island. If you are looking for Night-Life we recommend you hop on the ferry and go to St.John's more bars in one location.

Added feature not mentioned. The condo has it's own pet iguana! We named him Hank and every night around 4-5pm ish, he climbs up the coconut tree right outside the balcony.

Earl the owner is awesome! He called to check up on us to makes sure everything was ok and if we needed anything.

WE ARE COMING BACK AND STAYING HERE AGAIN!"
Roger and Brent, Austin, Tx and Los Angeles, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was a wonderful place to stay.

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

Review Submitted: January 30, 2010 Date of Stay: March 2009
It was a wonderful place to stay. Close to the beach and all the nice restaurants that are there. The condo itself was great!! I would definitaley recommend it and if I come back to St. Thomas I will for sure be staying there!!!
Rebecca, Madison, WI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our stay at this condo

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

We loved our stay at this condo - it was quiet, safe, secure and clean. The kitchen was well equipped too!! Lots of close parking. Definitely would stay here again! Thanks so much Earl for a great stay!
Alexis & Leah, Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Condo has everything that you need on a vacation

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

We spent a week at this condo in February. First I would like to say how easy it was to deal with Earl. You can trust him to honor his word and he is avaliible to his guests all the time.
The condo has 2 bedrooms separated by loover doors and 2 baths is in excellent condition and is very very clean. It has everything that you need on a vacation including extra beach chairs , umbrealla, beach balnket ect. It has an inroom safe. Extra touches that you would not expect.
There is a very nice pool which is never crowded.
WE enjoyed our stay and appreciated Earls gift basket- recommended
-Jeffrey Tannenbaum, North Easton, MA

North Easton, MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW what a fantastic place

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 25, 2009

WOW what a fantastic place accomadations were great the condo is just a advertised. We spent our 1st Christmas away from home with the kids and Earl made our stay a memorable one that any of us will soon forget. I only have one negative ( we had to leave ) we hope to maybe do it again this year. Thanks again Earl
Kevin and Lora Yeater , Alma WV

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfectly magical retreat

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

A perfectly magical retreat with all the comforts of home in a totally exotic environment.Can't wait to return!
matt forbes, ny ny

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Well organized and relaxing condo

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 9, 2009

Beautiful views of the Caribbean. Well organized and relaxing condo with spacious bedrooms and patio overlooking attractive shoreline. Close proximity to all the great island beaches.
Jim/Mary, Green Oaks, Illinois

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for your hospitality.

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

The condo was great. Good location - spacious and clean. We enjoyed every aspect of our trip to St. Thomas. Thank you for your hospitality.
Paul & Nancy Miller, Apex, N.Carolina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would surely want to stay there again next year

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Hi Earl, Just want to say thanks for sharing your condo with us. It was perfect, with everything needed for our vacation. We would surely want to stay there again next year!

Beverly, Weymouth, MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The condo was perfect

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

We had a wonderful vacation with our two adult children. The condo was perfect and we especially appreciated the convenient and thoughtful extras such as beach towels, chairs, and floats, high-speed internet access and fax machine, and DVD player and movies. The condo's fully equipped kitchen, lovely decor, air-conditioning, and extremely convenient location right above Mims restaurant, steps from the beach, pool, and dive club also contributed to a relaxed and very pleasant time. (Our children both earned their Advanced Open Water Dive certifications during our stay). It was great, too, that you were always available when we had a question, Earl. Thanks!!
Margaret T., Bridgewater, NJ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice relaxing trip. Thank you!

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

Hi Earl,
We had a wonderful time at your condo, which had everything that we needed to make our vacation the best we ever had. Thank you for supplying all info before, during and even after our trip. Between three places to eat, the beach, pool, dive shop and access to catamaran sunset cruise, we didn't need to go anywhere else. Nice relaxing trip. Thank you!
RoseAnn, North Bellmore, Long Island, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will come again

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

Dear Earl, I really enjoyed your accommodations in St. Thomas. The location of the condo was perfect and there were 3 of the greatest restaurants within walking distance - one being right outside the balcony. The views are wonderful and the breeze is just right. Will come again.
Judy , Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This condo one of the best deals on St. Thomas

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Earl,

We really enjoyed our stay at your condo. The unit was very nice and the location was perfect at Bolongo Bay. The local restaurants were excellent and the privacy of the beach was great. We've been to St. Thomas numerous times and the price, location on the beach and nearby dining makes this condo one of the best deals on St. Thomas.


Thanks ............. Bob Ingram
Bob , Nashville, TN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would like to return next year

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

Earl,

Thank you for letting us use your condo in St. Thomas. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed your condo. We would like to return next year.

A new St Thomas Fan,
Ellen Reynolds
Ellen and Curtis Reynolds
Germantown, Tennessee

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was the best vacation Bob and I have ever had

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

Hi Earl,
We got home safely after spending an incredibly wonderful week at your condo. It's a wonderful place and we were very comfortable. We loved Iggie's and spent several evenings there. Please feel free to use me as a reference if you want to for future tenants, we really enjoyed the condo.

This was the best vacation Bob and I have ever had. We both had high expectations, and they were exceeded. Thanks for having the condo nice and clean for us when we got there, and the gift basket was a great touch, too!

We really enjoyed staying at this condo. There are air conditioners in both bedrooms and the living room, which kept the place nice and cool. The bed was comfy, the decor was nice and tropical, there were lots of clean towels in the bathrooms, the internet was handy, and the view from the very large deck was like a postcard!

Iggy's, the funnest open air beach bar I have ever been to. It's a 3 minute walk from the condo, the food and drinks are reasonably priced (and St Thomas food is expensive) and the atmosphere can't be beat.

Do not miss the twice weekly karaoke, even if you are not a singer! It is just plain fun, with a nice mix of locals and vacationers all out for a good time. Then at the end of the evening, you can just walk back to your comfy condo, no worries about driving the narrow, winding, drive-on-the-left roads of St Thomas at night. The condo owner, Earl Thomas, is friendly and easy to deal with, always got back to me promptly when I was getting things set up. We would definately stay here again!
Mary and Bob Bowden
Wakarusa, Kansas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

View from the condo was absolutely breathtaking

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Hi, Earl

We wanted to let you know that we did receive the deposit refund last week. Thanks for being so prompt! I can't tell you what a wonderful time we had. It was far beyond our expectations. There was so much for us to do, and the view from the condo was absolutely breathtaking. The guys got to go scuba diving and fishing and parasailing, and we all enjoyed the beaches, sightseeing and shopping--and Mims!

We found the condo to be very well equipped, comfortable and well kept, and the perfect location for all the fun we could pack in. Thank you so much for sharing it with us. It was truly the trip of a lifetime.

Thanks for everything,
Sandy
David and Sandra Hough
Amarillo, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have a lovely place

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

Hi Earl,

I just wanted to send you a quick email to thank you for your help during our stay in St Thomas, it was very much appreciated. You have a lovely place and it is a very beautiful Island. Sorry it has taken me so long to get in touch but we have been travelling since we left St Thomas and have only just arrived back to Ireland.

I would also like to thank you for your cheque for our deposit which we received upon our return earlier today.

Yours

Pauline Shields

Kildaire, Ireland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have thought of even the smallest details.

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

We really enjoyed you place. You have thought of even the smallest details. Thanks.
Robert Burkart
Richardson, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for the basket

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Earl, Sorry it has taken me so long to send you a thank you.
Anyway, thank you for the basket. It was a great touch. The four adults toasted with the Champagne our last night on the island. The "relax" line was perfect for my wife. I am not sure she got completely uncoiled in seven days, but the time away helped.
Everything concerning the condo was fine. The line around the balcony to dry stuff was a great idea. The location was perfect for us as we split activities from both Red Hook and C.A.
The extra bed did not cause any space problems at all. The combination lock is excellent. I want one for my home here.

Thanks again,
Steve Forgy


Powell, Ohio

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time at Bolongo Bay

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Hi Earl,
We've been back over a week now and I just remembered I still have the key!
We had a great time at Bolongo Bay was really nice. We hung out at Iggie's and had dinner one night at Mim's. We went on over to St. John for a day then to St Croix after we left Bolongo and came home to the ice storm last week.
I'll get the key out to you tomorrow,
Regards,
Bob
Bob Seymour
Brick, New Jersey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We very much enjoyed the gift basket.

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2010

Date of Stay: March 2007
Hi Earl,

We arrived and everything is real nice here. We very much enjoyed the gift basket. We appreciate your thoughtfulness and generosity.

I found some mens jeans, sweatshirt and shirt here, so I will leave them in the dresser drawer in the masgter bedroom unless yuou want me to put them somewhere else or send them somewhere.
Thanks again.

Rich
Richard Gognat
Greenwood Village. Colorado

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We are coming back and staying here again!

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2009

Bolongo Bay Beauty!
Condo was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Kitchen is stocked with everything you need, and owner provides beach equipment. Location is great! You are only about 10mins to main shopping in the Harbor and another 10mins to Redhook! There is a cool beach bar about 200 yards from the condo (Iggy's) and a restaurant directly below the condo (Mim's). We bought groceries and cooked every night and had our dinners on the balcony! The beach is nice but water is a tad bit choppy. We went to Coki Beach and were blown away by it's sure beauty. Coki Beach is a must do on the Island. If you are looking for Night-Life we recommend you hop on the ferry and go to St.John's more bars in one location.

Added feature not mentioned. The condo has it's own pet iguana! We named him Hank and every night around 4-5pm ish, he climbs up the coconut tree right outside the balcony.

Earl is awesome! He called to check up on us to makes sure everything was ok and if we needed anything.Couldn't have asked for a better place!

WE ARE COMING BACK AND STAYING HERE AGAIN!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2 weeks in St. Thomas. The condo was very clean.

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

The condo was very clean and decorated very nicely. It was well equipt with most everything you would need as far as cooking and living. It is well lit outside and quiet. Close to beaches and eating out. We had a very nice time and I would recommend it to others.

St. Charles, Mo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

The condo was very clean and had a great location for us. We don't like to be directly in town but want access to it. The view was great; however, there is a restaurant directly below the condo that was a little noisy at times. The condo owner was great to work with, and he provided many "extras" that were very thoughtful. We would recommend it to others. I would say that you definitely need a rental car. We used a local owner who was cheaper, offered a great vehicle, and was wonderful to deal with. Also, if you get a chance, make sure you visit Sapphire Beach while you are there, which is a short distance from the condo. It was awesome!

15 year anniversary travelers Cave City,Kentucky

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review