reviews for: listing #945753ha - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

Nestled in Rain Forest Preserve yet only 5 min to beach New pool/spa. Wifi
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 90 - $ 175 / night
    $ 630 - $ 1,102 / week
    $ 1,500 - $ 3,000 / month
  • sleeps  5
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

The Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Our stay here was absolutely lovely! The house is right in the middle of the jungle which makes you feel like you're in a tropical paradise. The views are stunningly beautiful and the house itself is very nice. The location is great because you're tucked away in the jungle, which gives you a great sense of privacy. At the same time, you're minutes away from the beach, as well as the town, so you don't have to go out of your way to get anywhere. There's a great kitchen area that was a lot of fun to cook in and the wrap around balcony is incredible! I think the balcony and views were two of our most favorite things about staying here. We saw so many colorful birds and butterflies outside in the front yard which was awesome. We even saw a sloth down the road on one of our walks to a nearby waterfall. There's a tent platform on the property that you can camp out in which was really cool and there's a downstairs room with two beds that makes it really easy to travel with friends and family. It was so nice to be able to just walk outside and have so many great trails for walking and hiking. It was also nice to be conveniently near the beach and all of the town's restaurants and stores. This was honestly the best vacation I have ever had. Costa Rica is a beautiful place and this house was the perfect home during our stay. If I ever get another chance to visit Costa Rica, I will definitely choose to stay at this wonderful vacation rental again.

Pura Vida! :)

Owners response: Thank you Brittany! I love sharing my Costa Rica home with people such as yourself who really appreciate the many wonderful aspects of this house and location.

Kathleen

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 8, 2014

Couldn't ask for a better place to stay in dominical. The drive up definitely needs a 4x4 and is a little daunting the first time but that's the fun of Costa Rica! I absolutely loved this place, along with everyone in my group.

Owners response: Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful new house; brilliant location

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

The vacation was great! You have a beautiful house. The upstairs/downstairs configuration suited us perfectly with our two older teenagers. We really enjoyed the pool -- very glad you put it in before we got there! We also appreciated the air conditioning in the bedrooms; it helped us get a restful sleep each night.

The caretaker was very helpful and came right away when we had a little trouble with our door lock. His wife did our laundry for a small fee while we were away at the park for the day. Although they don't speak much English (and we don't speak much Spanish), they are very nice people, and we managed with text messaging and our translation app on our phone. It was an adventure in communication!

It was lovely to just sit and listen to the jungle noises, watch the toucans fly by, and eat some fruit while reading our books. On several occasions we walked to the sunset platform; it's a beautiful view over the ocean with amazing sunsets.

I don't know if we'll get back to Costa Rica, but if we do, we would definitely consider staying at your house again. And if anyone we know is headed to Costa Rica, we'll recommend your house as a great place to stay. It was a wonderful experience for all of us!

Owners response: Christina,
Thank you very much for your feedback on the house. I hope you'll be able to come visit again soon!
Warmly,
Kathleen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A beautiful sanctuary, love the toucans!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

The home feels new and is well maintained, with a fantastic wrap-around deck that allows easy viewing of the rainforest canopy. We enjoyed sitting on the deck every morning with our coffee to check out the vistas and the wildlife. We were fortunate to see a small flock of toucans stop by on a nearby tree every morning. Also saw a baby tapir several mornings foraging for its breakfast.

One reviewer had mentioned the heat in the unit, and that was a concern. However since that time, air conditioner units have been installed in the bedrooms, so there was never a problem keeping cool and getting a good night sleep.

We enjoyed our time in Dominical and walking the beach and enjoying the sunsets. There are some fun restaurants and several nice live music venues. We did a day trip out to Canos Island and another day trip and a horseback ride out to Nauyaca Falls.

We loved our 2 weeks over the Christmas holiday at Canopy Vista and Dominical, and are looking forward to going back in the next 6 months and enjoying the new pool that is being installed there in February.

Owners response: Thank you for your review!
Kathleen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A tranquil and beautiful oasis

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Yes, the jungle views are truly stunning. You have to squint to see a sliver of the ocean, but we we loved relaxing on the wraparound deck and gazing upon the rain forest. Even from inside the house, you get an amazing feeling of serenity, as light pours in and you're surrounded by a gorgeous landscape. You feel like you've escaped to a private paradise--you won't see or hear any neighbors, although the house is not so remote as to feel unsafe. The road leading to the house is rather harrowing, though, at least at first. Trust Kathleen when she says you need a 4-wheel-drive vehicle and you should arrive before dark! Speaking of Kathleen, she's wonderful to deal with. Easygoing and accommodating, she responded quickly to emails, provided helpful tips on what to do in the area, and returned our security deposit promptly. Edwin, the local caretaker, was also a sweetheart, but he doesn't speak much English. As for the house, it was clean and comfortable, although the downstairs quarters aren't nearly as appealing as upstairs. The beds had good mattresses, the kitchen had everything we needed (including a very welcome big jug of bottled water in the fridge), the Wi-Fi worked great, and the large selection of movies available to watch was a nice surprise. One thing to be aware of: the walls of the bedroom and bathroom on the upper level don't go all the way to the ceiling, so noise can carry over from the living area and kitchen. Also, we found it impossible to keep bugs out--there were a few ants on the floor when we arrived, and other little insects kept appearing. Fortunately, they weren't troublesome (we got no bites of any kind, had no kitchen invaders, saw no scary spiders), and after all, this is the jungle! One other caveat: I wouldn't consider the beach to be within walking distance, unless you're a very hardy walker. The trip down might not be too bad, but the return hike back up the hill would be challenging, especially in hot weather. Also, don't count on swimming at the waterfall in the preserve. It was only a trickle when we were there (early January), but we found a nice alternative at nearby Posa Azul. Not as impressive as Nauyaca Falls, but refreshing and un-touristy.

Owners response: Thank you very much for your comments! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. At the end of January we installed a pool/spa and hang out area on the ground level. Pictures coming soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful views, Quiet & private home

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

Modern, updated home tucked in the beauty of the rainforest. Tranquil sounds of native wildlife is all that's needed to relax and enjoy the 360 views of the lush surroundings.
Four wheel drive vehicle is a must to manage the steep drive to the home. The home was comfortable and very private. Close driving distances to local restaurants, beaches, shops and markets. Owner was very responsive to questions and needs prior and after stay. Town of Dominical is non-commericalized, relaxed and business owners are friendly. Food and service was great.

Owners response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! Thank you especially for alerting me after your stay of areas where I can make it an even more exceptional experience for guests.

Kathleen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous house and perfect vacation getaway!!

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

My husband and I had been looking forward to our vacation getaway for so long, and Canopy Vista House was everything we’d hoped for and more! Time really seems to slow down there, and you forget all the little stresses of non-vacation life as you look out over the gorgeous 360-degree views of the rainforest, savor the quiet and tranquility, and enjoy watching wildlife from the wrap-around balcony. The house is a little gem in the rainforest, with all the comforts of modern life, but blending beautifully into the surrounding nature as well, and high enough to enjoy the fresh breezes and amazing views. Kathleen, the owner, was a pleasure to work with - very helpful and accommodating, making the arrangements very easy. The little town of Dominical was charming and a lot of fun, with a surprising number of activities, little shops, and great restaurants, despite its small size. We’ll definitely be back!!!

Owners response: I am happy to be able to share my little home with you!
Kathleen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Purrrfect:)

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

This is one amazing place to stay. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. The most surprising part about this place is the view. There is a wide open jungle view that is breathtaking. You can hear howler monkeys faintly in the distance and also see some amazing exotic birds. We were very excited to spot a toucan the very first day we arrived. I would highly recommend this place as a vacation spot

Owners response: Thank you very much for your evaluation!
Kathleen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Too hot, insufficient ventilation

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

This is a tough place to review for me. My family and I came intending to stay for a week, but left after one miserable night.

I had inquired about the temperatures there, and was assured that it was high enough in the mountains that it was plenty cool at night even without air conditioning. This made sense, so I accepted those assurances.

When we arrived, it was hotter than usual (~7 degrees hotter than average) and inside the house was quite hot. I wasn't worried though, as I assumed it would cool down overnight. But even with all the windows and doors open and the fans on it was still over 85 degrees in the house by 2 in the morning according to our thermometer.

My wife got sick from the heat and our baby cried throughout the night. We left the next morning and spent the day searching for different rental house. Eventually we found one on the beach that had air conditioning in one room and much better ventilation throughout the house, and had a much better experience.

I informed Kathleen that we had vacated the house, but she was unable to find someone else to rent the house. She offered a token refund of one night's fees, so we are out almost the full charge on this property that was unusable due to the heat.

Outside of the heat - the property seemed very nice. The downstairs room is separate from the upstairs quarters, which could be a little awkward depending on your needs. There were lots of orange trees around to pick from (though our kids were a bit nervous about the very large spiders camped out all over!) and the views are quite nice.

Kathleen has told me that nobody has complained of the heat before - so perhaps we just had bad luck with the weather. I'd bet at 10 degrees cooler we would have had a fine time here. But with external temperatures around 95 this house was brutally hot and completely unlivable.

Owners response: I was very sorry to hear that this family felt the need to vacate the house after one night due to the high temperatures in Costa Rica that week. I refunded them for the night they stayed, even though I have no control over weather in the tropics. I do everything possible to make my guests comfortable, but they had already moved out by the time I heard from them. As the guest mentions, the temperature in Dominical the night he arrived was 95 degrees, and the normal for that time of year is 88. He knew this new house had large overhead fans in every room. I'm sure it was difficult for him to know ahead of time that his wife and three young children would be very heat sensitive. I do provide full and honest descriptions of the house.

I have personally stayed at Canopy Vista in all months of the year for the past 7 years and have never been uncomfortably warm there, especially with the sea breezes and screens on both sides of the house. Fans are located even on the balconies. The neighbors will concur that my home has the best ocean breezes of any at the Preserve. I have never had a guest complain about the heat or the ventilation at Canopy Vista.

This family was initially given several hundred dollars worth of discounts, and I also refunded them $135 for their 1 night's stay. They did not inform me of their hot weather concern until they had already booked another place and subsequently demanded a full refund. In addition to the discounts they had already received and the refund of their first night, I offered to give them a full refund if someone else could rent the days they had reserved.

I would certainly encourage any guests who come to Costa Rica during the high season to check out the temperature and humidity as part of their travel plans. Many places in Costa Rica have loud air conditions that recirculate dirty air. Those who wish to stay at Canopy Vista will be rewarded with a place where they have a unique opportunity to experience the rain forest and awaken to the sounds of exotic birds and monkeys calling from the jungle below.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Too good to be true!!!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

AMAZING PLACE : quiet, near to evrything (grocery and stores), incredibile view of RainForest and toucans, 360 degree view of the surrounding jungle. GO GO GO!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Too nice to be true!!!!!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

This place is just AMAZING do not hesitate to go there!!! It is quiet, the house if perfect two rooms on two floors, a balcony 360 degree view of the surrounding jungle.Proximity to the the beach, grocery and stores!!!!

There is also a magnificient view of the GREAT VEGETATION of the Rainforest, you will see tucans (more than the Manuel Antonio Park!!!!) and butterflies.

There is also the mirador (5 minute walk from the house) that offert an incredebile point to view the sunset on the ocean.

So stop reading and book this place right away:)
Isabelle

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review Isbelle! I'm staying here now with my own family for a couple of weeks, and it is easier to remember now why I invested all of my retirement money in this place. Today the kids & I went over to the reserve waterfall and took a natural shower. On the way we ran into a sloth and a block monkey-like thing & met some Canadians, Americans & Costa Ricans who are staying at another Reserve house.

When I get back I'll post a movie of my son doing yoga under the waterfall next to the huge red flowers. My other son went surfing & then got $35 massage in town & walked the 15 min back to the Roca Verde Restaurant to meet up with us.

Tonight I and the rest of my family all walked down to the Roca Verde Restaurant, where it is live music & party night. (Next Friday we'll go to the near by "Movies in the Jungle") Everyone is armed with flashlights & the kids can party as much as they want & then walk back home & mom doesn't have to worry about them driving. And they know they will have to be at least half-way sober to make it up the hill. This is what I call a family vacation!

Kathleen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeded our expectations - a wonderful stay

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

Truly one of the most lovely places we have visited. We were looking for a place that would allow us to get away from crowds and tourism, yet still be able to rent a surfboard, hang out on thebeach, go out for a few nice meals, and kick back and relax. We are already looking forward to our next visit to this unpretentious, well-cared-for, bright, clean, place. It was exactly as advertised. Kathleen was super-keen to help us by giving recommendations and advice for activities and tours if we wanted it. I would without a doubt recommend it to anyone looking to get "away from it all."
You will need a 4 by 4 vehicle to get up the road and to take you into the town of Dominical or any other places close by. Negotiating the rental in San Jose, making the 3.5 hour drive, and finding the house took a bit of effort, but it was without a doubt worth it for the amazing accommodations in the jungle. We will be back to this wonderful property.

Owners response: I've enjoyed the beauty of Costa Rica for the past 6 years, and now I look forward to sharing it with travelers. Your comfort and enjoyment are my priorities! Glad to hear you'll be back.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Rainforest Canopy View is Spectacular

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

The house is rightly named, "Canopy Vista", as the view of the rainforest canopy is spectacular. The patio that surrounds the upper story of the building on 3 sides allows a nearly 360 degree view of the surrounding jungle. And because the roof extends well beyond the the patio, you can see the views from a dry vantage point, even when it is raining (after all, you are in the middle of the jungle!).

The wildlife that can be seen from the house will include many birds and butterflies. Our favorite view tree was a lang-lang tree. It was about 20 mtrs east of the patio, and we could see tucans and adtari plus many others.

The early morning was an especially nice time to listen to the animals. We could hear all manner of birds, howler monkeys, as well as many other animals we were unable to identify.

The road outside the property allows exploration of the jungle. The banana, palm, and fruit trees, plus the flowering plants plants were truly beautiful. I was continually amazed at the long lines of leaf cutter ants as they industriously took provisions back to their nests.

The house is quite recently built and comfortable. The home is a great oasis from which to view the jungle.

Bill

Owners response: Bill,
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Come back again any time.
Kathleen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2009

I visited the Canopy Vista when it was just a tent platform in 2008 and 2009. I really enjoyed both visits and the opportunities that the location of the vista provided. Dominical is a great town with excellent surfing beaches. The beach is only short walk downhill from the property. The beautiful views of the rainforest from the platform definitely make this an ideal vacation spot that I would recommend to anybody.

Owners response: Thanks for your review, Forrest!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Yellow Flower in the Jungle

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 7, 2011

When I first saw the house, I said "Wow!" It is a beautiful yellow "flower" in the jungle canopy. The immense vastness of beautiful life here is incredible! I found I wanted to be on one of the patios all the time, as I wanted to hear, feel and see the beautiful life around me. Seeing the tucans on the 'Tucan Tree", seeing the many birds from every vantage point. The flowers and the birds are so incredibly colorful! It is a great, peaceful location. The bananas that grow here are the best tasting bananas! The care-taker of the property would bring us all fresh bananas we could eat.

The house is the "fruit" of much thought and planing. It was great to have separate upstairs and downstairs living space. Then to top if off, there is the tent platform with a high roof over the place for a tent, with an enclosed bathroom for another living space. Come and see the beautiful living in another world for as long as you can.

If you feel that you "must" leave the area, there are many excursion adventures that you can go on, including the nearby beach. There is the "mirador" (only a 5 minute walk from the house) that will allow you to experience the sounds and smells of the ocean from a 200 mtr platform. It would be great for breakfast, lunch, or as a vantage point to view the sunset on the ocean.

Grateful for my experience,

Carol

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Canopy Vista- Mui Bueno!

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 12, 2011

Our stay at Canopy Vista was indeed a unique and pleasant one. To begin with, the view is indeed as advertised. The cabina is not only confortable but has fantastic views out of all the windows. The setting of course is quite intimate.

Proximity to the Roca Verde restaurant on the beach was either by a brisk walk down (walking back up is a challenge and not recommended for those with any physical problems) or by car. Dominical is another 15 minute hike from the beach. Very beautiful. Restaurants for tomantic dinners are everywhere. Try it and find out for yourselves. The only concerns, like anywhere, are about petty theft..... so be wise in that regard.

Overall? An unforgettable experience and we will definitely make plans to come back.

Owners response: I'm hoping a "tomantic dinner" is as great as a "romantic dinner"! Thanks for your review Louis, and the little reality checks about some of the things to be aware of in a non-US travel experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect private location for self-catered vacation. Better than owning a second home!

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2011

OK, we've been to CR before and visited a number of other tropical destinations over the past 25 years. This brand new home within the confines of a privately held jungle preserve is a true gem! We even cancelled our reservations at a highly regarded hotel in order to stay on here for an additional three days. (Luckily it was still available!)

The home's outstanding proximity to all of the most desirable area features made this destination ideal for the diverse needs of our family:

1.) Beach: A ten minute walk down the hill) and Costa Rica's best surfing. Teenage son's eyes were popping out over numerous bikini-clad "babes." HA! That entertainment problem solved.

2.) Birding: Wife's keen interest in birds totally satiated. Numerous check-offs on her Life List! I share her interest and was equally impressed. The property is a magnet for birds. You name it it showed up eventually. Outstanding photo opportunities right off the deck!

3.) Fishing: A big river runs into the oscean a few minutes drive from the house. It's a superb fishery and I happily discovered that the area has been a destination for wealthy, international anglers coming in to relax, catch big fish and enjoy the consistently productive waters.

4.) Excellent restaurants abound for when we didn't feel like cooking up fresh fish and locally grown organinc fruits and vegetables at the house.

5.) Shopping, people watching in town, fascinating nature reserves and a myriad of other delights are just icing on the cake. (The owner really did her homework when she decided to buy and build on this slice of Heaven.)

Bottom Line

We're already conspiring on when we can go back! Thank you Kathleen for making this vacation very affordable and a truly memorable, stress-free one to boot! You better know we're going to tell our friends about you little Valhalla! We'll contact you soon about dates.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review! Come again soon. Kathleen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for beach, birding, fishing, everything!

Review submitted: December 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2011

Very comfortable and super convenient proximity to the beach, CR's highest rated surfing, hang-gliding, fishing, reasonably priced restaurants, stores, communication services and more. This place was the highlight of our two-week vacation to Costa Rica.

Views from the wrap-around deck are sublime and the amazing bird life every bit as prolific as the glossiest brochures promise. The complete privacy of this new home combined with its very comfortable, nicely appointed creature comforts make it one of the best values we had!

By far, one of the best experiences we've had in more than 20 countries in the past 25 years. We can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review