reviews for: listing #947 - Turks and Caicos, Caribbean Villa rental

Casaurina Villa
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Leeward
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,750 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Casaurina Villa

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

My spouse and I stayed at Casaurina Villa for a week in early February. We had a bit of an issue upon arrival in Providenciales as the person who was supposed to meet us at the airport wasn't there. We had not been directions to the property or a phone number for the local caretaker of the property. After over an hour we were able to get directions from some very helpful people at the airport. Upon arrival we were able to get into the villa and the caretaker arrived soon after. Apparently there had been some miscommunication between the owner and the caretaker and some problem with a vehicle. Regardless, it was a stressful beginning to the trip but got better from there. The villa itself was nice and the deck and pool were great. The path to the road and the beach access was okay but the closest beach access was still impassable due to issues from a past hurricane. We found two other nearby beach access paths which were still within a few minutes walking distance from the villa so it wasn't an issue but it would have been nice if the caretaker had advised us of those instead of having to find them ourselves. The villa was adequately stocked with kitchen items and towels and bedding but there was not enough toilet tissue in the washrooms. The furniture and beds were good. A few deck chairs could use some maintenance but there were lots to choose from so it was fine. The pool was great and was well looked after during our stay. We enjoyed being able to eat breakfast on the deck and then have a morning swim. The only problem we really had was with ants. They were ever present in the kitchen and we had to make sure to keep all food in the fridge or in well sealed bags. They also found their way into one of the suitcases and were discovered on the morning of our departure requiring everything to be unpacked, shaken out and repacked after the ants were eradicated. We understand that it's a tropical environment but a few ant traps or ant repellent powder outside the windows and doors would be helpful. In general we had a great vacation and overall the good outweighed the bad so we were satisfied with our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best location on the island

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

I would recommend this home. It was clean and open concept. We were a group of six adults and had plenty of room. The location is the best on the island. We love the Leeward side. The house came with a cell phone which was very handy to be able to leave a number with people at home. The backyard is incredible. It is secluded with beautiful flowers. You walk down a path out the back of the home and you can see the ocean. The beach is beautiful!. We were able to contact Rosevelt with any questions. We are planning a return trip in 2013. We would recommend this home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Villa to Rent

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

We stayed in the Casaurina Villa from September 11-18 2010 and we had absolutly no issue's. The pool was wonderful, warm and clean. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean upon our arrival. Roosevelt did a great job in making sure that everything was in order and that we were happy. There was a brand new blender, as I noticed from a previous review that they did not have one. We also had a bug zapper and although the noseeum bugs didn't bother me at all, some of the people that we travelled with did get a few bites and the zapper wouldn't of taken care of this at all. I found the island is a great place to visit and we would definately go back to Casaurina Villa.

We did lots of touring while there and we felt comfortable where ever we went. We also went on snorkelling adventures and parasailing so this island has lots to offer anyone who doesn't want to sit around. Casaurina Villa is a great place to sit back and relax and also to jump in the pool to cool down from the heat. We were there in September which just happens to be the hottest month of the year. But a great vacation was had by all on our trip and we have nothing bad to say about anything.

Beautiful ocean/sea, white sand, sun, friendly people, safe, lots of walking if you want to, so really what else could you ask for?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

No working Pool

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2010

The pool only worked on the last evening we were staying there.
Here is excerpts from the email that we sent to the owner after we returned home:

Berend,


The pool issue put a sour tone over the entire vacation.
It was clear that no one checked on the state of the house before our arrival.
We were in the villa for 5 full days and 2 half days due to travel. We basically were able to use the pool Sunday afternoon and some of us were able to use the pool Monday morning before we left the island. There were many smaller issues, lack of Internet, no blender, the bug zapper being given to the house next door, aggressive dogs that would block our path, and bark through the night, rodent droppings in some of the bedrooms. Some of the issues were resolved immediately some were not but all of these issues are part and partial of renting a villa. I have rented villas in many different islands in the Caribbean and expect a few hitches here and there. However not having a pool for 5/6th of the vacation is a major issue.

I understand that Roosevelt was doing the best that he could however it was clear on the 2nd day that the water was not circulating. More importantly someone should have checked before we arrived on the state of the villa and the pool. The pool was an absolute scum hole when we arrived.
After shocking the pool the scum sunk to the bottom but none of the scum was able to be removed until a technician repaired the vacuum pump on SATURDAY. From Tuesday to Saturday we were placated that "It will be fine tomorrow." However we would awaken to another day to an eye sore on the patio.


I personally had to show your staff that the Pool vacuum that they swished around the pool for 3 days was not performing any type of suction and the jets were not circulating the water. If I would have not pulled the vacuum out and showed them myself they would have continued to swirl the muck around until we left. Also the first evening we were savaged by the Noseeum bugs. The nights following the pool being shocked the bug bites were less common. We don't know if it were that we were "Fresh Meat" when we first arrived or if the pond scum filled pool gave the bugs a bredding ground.

The island is beautiful the beaches are amazing, I plan to visit T&C again however it will be very unlikely I will trust a private villa again.

I hope you do the right thing and attempt to make amends for our unpleasantness.

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review