reviews for: listing #94783 - Queens, New York Studio rental

Modern Unique Luxury Studio in NYC, 10 Minutes to Manhattan
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $69 - $129 /nt

sort by:

La ubicaciĆ³n es excelente, un sitio muy bonito

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: April 23, 2014

La ubicación del apartamento es excelente, los propietarios son muy serviciales, muy cerca al metro a solo 3 estaciones de Manhattan, hay un supermercado a menos de 3 cuadras, farmacias, panaderías restaurantes, costo beneficio es muy bueno, el apartamento es pequeño, tal cual se ve en las fotos, pero muy cómodo y bonito.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a find!

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 5, 2014

We so enjoyed this studio and what a great location! You are 3 blocks in either direction from the metro and can be in Manhattan in no time. This neighborhood is so much quieter than Manhattan and yet has so much to offer. There were markets and restaurants of every nationality within blocks and you really had fun exploring what this area of Queens is all about. The studio is clean,efficient, and works perfect for two wanting to be close to NY City but away from the lights and noise that is a little too much for 24/7. Loved our stay and would definitely recommend to others. Ground floor so only a few steps up for the luggage, too, my husband loved that!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Accommodations with Many Advantages

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

Superior convenience and comfort, very close to LGA, in a lively neighborhood with lots of interest and also closer to the East Side of Manhattan than most of Manhattan is. I would recommend this lodging for business travelers, couples, urban hikers, museum-and-theatre goers - anyone looking for an affordable and flexible alternative to a hotel stay in New York.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Studio Apartment in Astoria

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

This lovely studio apartment was perfect for two people. Very clean and located near subway (3 stops into Manhattan) and many restaurants. The apartment has all modern conveniences, updated fixtures, etc. Owners provided local information and were available should we have needed anything. Overall, a fantastic option for the price and location.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pretty studio in Astoria (Queen's)

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

The studio is very nice and clean, exactly as shown on the pictures. You can sometimes ear the neighbours upstairs or people entering the building as it's quite an old one. The owners were very kind and seem to do their best for you to enjoy your stay. The studio is a few blocks away from the subway (Steinway Street) and you'll find everyting you need on Steinway or Broadway. It will take around 25 minutes from the studio to reach Times Square. Will definitely go back when next travelling to NYC !

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely Place

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

Cozy and amazing. The place is well located (close to La Guardia Airport and Subway Station), fully equiped, clean and secure. Jessica gave us total suport and, if I go back to NY, for sure I will rent it again. Totally recomended.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very good for 2 people

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

Very accurate listing and pictures. Never had to take more than 2 trains to get anywhere. Lots of independent shops nearby. Air Conditioner does a good job cooling down the apartment. Bed is very comfortable.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

italia

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

Con la mia famiglia abbiamo soggiornato in questo appartamento ben curato e molto accogliente , la metropolitana era molto vicina , anche la zona era molto sicura, sicuramente consiglio questo appartamento, jason si e mostrato molto disponibile e il nostro soggiorno a new york e stato piacevole

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

EF

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

Great place and awesome location. Everything was right there and its super friendly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Will stay again

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

Great apartment with good location. Planning a new trip to NY and probably will rent this apartment again.
Definitely recommend this apartment to any one.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

Very tidy and convenient to trains. Safe and friendly neighborhood. Love it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Astoria Studio

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

The listing description was accurate with regard to location, layout, amenities, etc. The pictures are accurate. The bed is very comfortable. The studio size was not an issue.

The studio was clean and well-maintained. There were a few minor flaws. None of the flaws are serious enough to cause concern. For instance, there was visible water damage on the ceiling in the bathroom.

Jessica was very helpful. She answered all my questions. She was there to greet us when we arrived. Jason helped with the parking. We were provided with a packet filled with a wealth information.

We loved eating breakfast at Bagel and Brew. Great coffee, wonderful bagels and the pastries were to die for. Gino's pizza was great. We picked up a few grocery items at one of the local grocery stores. The subway was very close.

It is tough to beat the price. I don't think I couldn't find a hotel room for the same price.

Would I recommend? If you are a heavy sleeper than yes. If you are a light sleeper than no unless you travel with some kind of noise canceling device. The studio is at street level and I could hear traffic during the day and night. We were asked to not make excessive noise after 10 p.m. We gladly did so. However, some of the people who live in the building did not extend the same consideration to us two out of the three nights we were there. The studio is the first apartment just past the inner door. Door buzzers are on the outside wall where the TV is in the apartment.

Astoria streets are clean, but there was some trash. Nothing gross, but it would be impossible to expect the area to be super clean. I felt safe walking around both during the day and night. Astoria is up and coming. It has a lot to offer, so don't judge too harshly.

I gave 4 out of 5 stars based on the loud noise level from the neighbors. I get that NYC is crowded and that one should expect a certain amount of noise. I am okay with the street traffic noise. I was not okay with the noise from neighbors at inconsiderate hours.

Nancy

Owners response: - The small water damaged area on the bathroom ceiling has been repaired.
- Being disturbed by noise from the neighbors is quite rare for my guests to experience. Perhaps the neighbors had relatives visiting them at that time.
- The entrance door to the building is located near the entrance door to the apartment. However, the entrance door to the building has a soft-closing mechanism, which guides the door to close quietly.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cute, clean great price

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

Really cute studio apartment. Very clean and in a nice neighborhood that is convenient to restaurants and the train. Much more reasonable price than a hotel room. Unfortunately we had to cut our trip short due to a family emergency, but I will definitely recommend this place to my friends visiting NY, and will try to stay here again next time we come up to new york.
Thanks!!

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

This property is exactly as described and pictured. It was very clean and the pull-out bed was super comfortable. If you are a clean freak like me, you might want to pack some extra towels and washcloths, but Jessica was very nice and brought us more when we asked for them. The Subway was only about a 5-minute walk, and it took no time to get to Manhattan. The price is amazing!! Unless I hit the jackpot and can afford to stay in Manhattan, I would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

satisfaction

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Nous étions 4; mon mari et nos deux jeunes filles. C'est un peu petit pour 4 mais suffisant car nous y allions pour dormir.
Nous sommes satisfaits de cet endroit qui était très propre. Jessica a été attentive à nos besoins. Nous avons trouvé du stationnement devant la maison sans problème.
Les métro sont près de la maison pour se rendre à Manhattan et les restaurants et épiceries sont aussi très accessibles.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Awesome location. Awesome host. Safe, clean and friendly area. I was traveling with my toddler and mother. We love NYC, but I wanted to find an apartment away from the city chaos(with a toddler and grandma) Astoria is the perfect location. Unfortunately they were already booked when we decided extend our stay, so we booked the "W" in Manhattan for the duration of our trip. I would've taken this quaint apartment in Astoria over the "W" in the City if given the choice. Next time I will try to plan better :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for NYC getaway

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

Very clean. Quiet neighborhood, close to subway station. Would recommend to anyone who needs a place to stay in NYC, it's cheaper than most hotels there! The owners were nice, met us there and answered all our questions. We will stay here the next time we travel to New York.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

enjoyable stay in Astoria

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

comfortable and very handy to restaurants, grocery stores, subway and bus. Owners very obliging and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Made Our Trip

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

My mum and I stayed here for our recent trip to NYC. Jessica was a great communicator leading up to our stay, and the flexible check in time was super helpful. This place really is 10 minutes from Manhattan. The subway entrance is just a few blocks away, making getting into the city super easy. There are lots of local shops down the street for food shopping. We ate dinner locally all but one night during our stay. Jessica and Justin provided us with a list of local shops and restaurants enjoyed by themselves and locals. Our meals were absolutely amazing, and very reasonably priced.

The apartment was just the right size, very clean, nicely renovated, and very comfortable. The neighborhood is very safe, and super quiet at night. We could not ask for more, especially at half the price of staying in the city. Thank you two so much for providing the perfect crash pad for our stay in NYC!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent apartment, great location, great service

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently got back from a great stay in New York. We had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful little studio apartment and can highly recommend it for anyone else traveling either alone or as a couple.
The studio fully lived up to our expectations and was well decorated, cozy and excellently situated in a quiet neighbourhood with only a short trip by subway to Manhattan.
Jason and Jessica were excellent hosts and all questions we had were quickly answered and any issues resolved. They had even written out a list with recommendations regarding restaurants and cafés in the vicinity (very good recommendations based on the ones we got to visit).

All in all we had a great stay in New York much of which can be owed to this wonderful little Studio and the great service we received in renting it and staying there. Many recommendations from my girlfriend and me, and definitely a place we'd consider renting again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Modern Luxury Studio in Astoria

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

Very hospitable host/renters.

The place was comfortable, clean and convenient.

I never figured out how to use the wireless USB device, but that was just me, I think.

Good price.

Recommended.

d

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Two great weeks

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

We stayed at this studio for 14 nights in early March 2012. In sum, we would stay here again and highly recommend this apartment to other NYC visitors. Why? The apartment has been renovated with new appliances, fixtures and furniture. It was very clean and has large windows that fill the area with sunlight.
It has a very convenient location with the subway "R" and "M" line just a few blocks away. We often reached midtown Manhattan from the apartment within 20 minutes. We seldom waited more than a few minutes for the next train. We felt the neighborhood was safe. We found it easy to reach food stores and their were many restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy, comfortable, clean and convenient!

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in this spacious studio for 10 days recently as she recovered from surgery. Jessica and Jason were very accomodating and helpful.
We were provided a list of grocery stores, pharmacies, and restaurants with complete directions and all within walking distance.The neighborhood is quiet and friendly. Mundos is my new favorite restaurant!
Jessica and Jason have anticipated all needs and are readily accessible. The listing is precisely accurate, and I hope to return soon for a true vacation!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Enjoyable stay in Astoria

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed over Thanksgiving 2011. We had come to visit our son who attends college in the city. We all decided to try Astoria after having read about what a nice area it was. We can verify that personally now, thanks in part to Jessica and the great studio apartment on 43rd Street. The three of us spent 5 nights there. Was really comfortable with a temperpedic bed pulling out of the convertible cabinet and a couch making into a bed on top of the cabinet. The kitchen was well furnished with all supplies needed, and the bathroom was modern and roomy. The studio was very clean when we arrived. It is airy and light. We explored Astoria and found ourselves very close to parks, more restaurants than we could decide upon during our stay. (Just means we have to go back:) Access to the city was very easy -- about a 10-15 minute ride by subway. We could enjoy the sites in Manhattan, but it felt great to be able to come "home" to a more laid back and chilled atmosphere in Astoria. While we were there, we saw a special on National Geographic about the Human Family Tree. There had been a reserach study to look at DNA to trace people back hisotrically. They actually did the study in Astoria as it has one of the most ethnically diverse populations in a concentrated area. We really sensed and enjoyed that diversity while we were there. Jessica, thank you so much for all you did to make us feel welcome and to ensure that we were comfortable in our stay. We will definitely keep in touch and think of you when we plan future trips.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

We had a great time on our trip! Jessica was very friendly and helpful! The apartment was clean and comfortable and was close to the subway and bus lines. The neighborhood is nice, and there are a lot of great places to eat nearby. I would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful apartment in a lovely neighbourhood

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 8 days. The apartment was lovely, equipped with everything you would need from a lovely couch, a comfortable bed to a fully equipped kitchen. The owners were kind enough to be there to greet us and show us the place when we arrived. They were very friendly and left us a stack of informative papers about the neighbourhood in general, mentioning good restaurants, and places to shop. The place was well cleaned, the area was lovely, and we did not at any point feel out of place or unsafe, even when walking around at night. Lastly, the area was nice and quiet. It was very relaxing to be in a peaceful neighbourhood after walking around in the loud and chaotic Manhattan streets all day.

Subway was a short 5 minute walk and would take us to Manhattan in no time. While we spend most our time in there, it is certainly worth walking around in Astoria, as the are lots of great places to shop and dine.

We encourage people to stay in this apartment and do not feel we can recommend it strongly enough. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

GREAT GREAT GREAT EXPERIENCE

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

WE were in town for a conference and we stayed here for 3 nights.
The owner made us feel right at home and gave use all the information we need. Inside was spectacular, modern cutom built furniture, immaculate bathroom and kitchen. We were amazed with the place just walking in. 5 minutes walk to the train station and the area is very safe. Close to lots of restaurant and shopping centers. My wife and I will definitely stay here again. Just the custom work and design that went in to this apartment is worth staying here. Thank you again....... BABAR & SIMMI

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review