reviews for: listing #94784 - Queens, New York Apartment rental

Modern Garden Apartment in NYC, 10 Minutes to Manhattan,
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $79 - $149 /nt

sort by:

Great location! Great stay!

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

This awesome little apartment is within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Everything you need is close by. The one bedroom apartment was perfect for my wife and I and our 9 year old son. Plenty of room, especially compared with New York hotel rooms. A nice patio out back for drinks in the evening or coffee in the morning. Astoria is a very diverse neighborhood. We went to a local sports bar and enjoyed the Brazil v Mexico World Cup game. The place was packed with everyone wearing the jerseys of their home country. The atmosphere with all of these energetic fans was amazing.
It was a pleasure to deal with the owners. Jessica was great. Everything was seamless.
Thanks again. We will be back.
Mike and Monique

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Garden Basement Apartment

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

As said in previous reviews the owners Jason and Jessica were quick to respond to any request or questions. The apartment is comfortable, with steep stairs down into the living space. The photographs on the web a true reflection of the space. (The garden depends on the season!) Though you will find everything you need to do some in house cooking, the selection of pots and pans are very limited. It is more a basement apartment than a garden apartment as one has to traverse some uninviting steps up to the garden area. The only windows are the ones in the kitchen area. The garden/patio furniture could be better taken care of especially given the rainy season. The bedroom is a tight fit and one has to move about with great care so as not to bump into the corner of the base of the bed. The bed itself, with Tempurpedic mattress is super comfortable. Only one bedside table. The fact that there are no windows in the bedroom was not an issue and the apartment very quiet apart from when people moved about upstairs. The wooden floors do creak a lot even when people move about with care. It is a great location with easy access to the subway and a quick ride to Manhattan. A great location for short stays. The space became a bit too confined for a twelve day stay. Would we stay here again? The answer is yes!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for our family on a budget!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Loved this apartment! The owners were quick to answer questions about booking, and most hospitable. They provided everything we needed and even offered to help with our special requests. The apartment was clean, well stocked and in a great neighborhood. Very easy access to the subway stop- we spent most of our time sightseeing in NYC and the commute was easy to everything we wanted to do. Perfect for our small family visiting for the first time. We even got to see some stars filming a movie in the neighborhood. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

GREAT STAY IN ASTORIA, NY

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

apt was great! very clean, spacious (2 bedroom ) & well maintained.
jessica was wonderful to work with, answering all our questions prior to our stay. she made it very easy to book with her. great location in astoria and there was a very helpful guide book that made many suggestions about the area.
would def. recommend the apt to others and hope to stay there again.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Convenient Location

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

The owners are very nice and always willing to help. It is a nice neighborhood with good restaurants and stores within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this property. Easy access to the M and R trains.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Canadians

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

Very nice! Owners were pleasant and promptly replied to emails. Clean and roomy - will recommend it to my friends.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Convenient location

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

The owner Jessica is very nice and helpful, the apartment is clean, spacious and modern. Very close to subway station, restaurants and there is 24 hours Rite Aid half block away from the apartment. There is no window in the bedroom, so if you are claustrophobic you have to sleep in the living room and we can't fell the AC in the bedroom, but there is a portable fan though. Other than that, we enjoyed our stays in the apartment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A wonderful experience!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

This was our first time using Homeaway and we weren't really sure what to expect, but Jessica and Jason were wonderful. They worked with us and allowed us to drop off our luggage a few hours before check-in and pick it up a little after check-out. Apartment was spotless and quite comfortable and the little garden area out back was very cute. I would definitely recommend this place and stay here again. Thanks for a great stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfection

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property while having a long weekend in NYC. Jason and Jessica greeted us, and were very helpful and gracious.We were there primarily to see friends and attend plays. We found the apartment to be perfect. So spacious, stylish and tidy! The back garden was perfect for coffee and pastries (which, by the way, can be had at a number of very good bagel and coffee places nearby). We've stayed at many VRBO places, but this was our favorite by far.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great location in a quiet neighborhood - convenient to Manhattan

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

We loved the apartment and the surrounding area. We felt very safe - even walking at night. We caught the R subway at Steinway every day to Manhattan and got there in no time.
The listing photos are very accurate and the apartment was very clean. We enjoyed having the huge TV w/DirecTV along with the fully stocked kitchen. There were even condiments, butter, olive oil, and other food items left by previous renters available for our use.
We hardly encountered the owners at all but were able to get our keys via lock box. They were very responsive to emails. We didn't have a need to contact them via phone during our stay. It appeared that they lived in the upper apartment?
I'd rent here again for sure. I'd highly recommend this rental.
The only drawbacks were a lack of a microwave, towel bars, hooks for hanging coats, etc., and the lack of an automatic coffee brewer. We got very proficient at French Pressed coffee.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Very comfortable lodging in an excellent location in Astoria

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

This apartment was very comfortable for the two of us and was conveniently located for our NYC holiday. We put the kitchen and appliances to good use. We were able to locate on-street parking both nights of our stay. We are already booked for another stay and will check out the gardens later this year. Jessica was a delightful host.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A Clean & Convenient Place to Stay in NYC

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 3, 2013

First and foremost, prior to check-in the homeowners were amazingly accommodating and quick to respond to any questions I had via email. At check-in, they were very helpful with check-in procedures, parking questions, restaurant recommendations, etc. They even delivered to us (at 11:00pm on a Sunday) something that was missing from our apartment without any complaints! Truly, the homeowners were amazing, professional & friendly. We couldn't have asked for more from them.

The apartment was exactly as pictured. Very clean and minimally decorated. No problems here. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed to make a few great meals (and this comes from one the guests staying who is a CHEF), so we were ecstatic with this. We utilized the garden just for a quick jaunt, just because it was very cold outside, but would've loved to have spent more time out there if the weather was warmer.

One downfall was the lack of natural light. There was only one window in the kitchen, since this is a half basement apartment. But if you are a person who sleeps in, this might be perfect for you since it keeps it very dark even when the early morning sun comes up. The other small negative was the burner, which is located in the apartment, behind a wall, so you can't see it, but it was very loud. It didn't wake us during the night since we kept the door to the bedroom closed, but if you are a light sleeper, it might be an issue.

The location to the NYC subway was perfect (a short 2 min walk) and even though we had to find on-street parking each day, we were able to on the same street as the apartment without a problem. We had dinner at DiWine and LOVED it, so I highly recommend it... Especially get a private curtained-in booth there if you want a perfect romantic setting.

All in all, we'd return here in a heartbeat. I don't know if I'd suggest more than 2 guests in this apartment (I really love lots of space), so if you are a couple it is ideal. I would definitely stay here again and refer this apartment to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Comfortabel, spacious and CLEAN

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. It;s a clean, modern and spacious basement apartment in a GREAT location. We were a party of three adults and two small children and we slept comfortably utilzing the sofa's, and huge blow up mattress. Really loved the area. We had a rental car and were able to find parking everyday that we were there. Many restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The owners were very pleasant. Definetely will stay here again if we return to Queens.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Queens apartment

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

The apartment was very nice and new.. The owner was ready to answer
any questions on the apartment and the surrounding area.
We enjoyed the stay... Just what we
needed to visit Manhattan for 2 days.. 3rd floor walk up....
2 blocks away from the subway..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spacious & Clean Apt

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

We had a great experience at the Modern Garden Apt. We had more than enough space for 2 adults. I would say it's definitely spacious enough for 4 people. It was quiet, clean, private, and fully furnished in every way. The kitchen didn't lack a single utensil and even contained a fully stocked spice rack. The backyard was a plus...we soaked in some sun. The owners were super accommodating and responsive. The only thing that bothered me was that it is half basement/half first floor. But overall, it's a wonderful place to stay in NYC.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Place.

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

Clean, generous size, 3 stops on subway from Manhattan. Very easy access to subway, Metro.
Very nice owners.
Will be coming back within the year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable and convenient

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

The apartment is clean, attractive and comfortable and convenient to public transportation. The neighborhood is safe and has a range of choices for good dining from bagels to gourmet. Jessica and Jason provide helpful information about the neighborhood's amenities and are responsive hosts.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for a family vacation in NYC area

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

Four people of my family including two seniors spent last thanksgiving holiday at this cozy apartment. It has plenty room (two people slept on the sofa.) and an access to a nice garden. The location is very close to a subway station, supermarkets, convenient stores and good restaurants. It was a great stay and we look forward to using this as a base for our next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place, very clean and great location

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

The apartment is very nice, clean and in a very safe area. The subway is only 5 minutes away. I wish there was a bit more mirrors in the apartment but otherwise everything is perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice apartment to rest your head

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

The space was wonderful and I'm excited to maybe stay here again in the future. I arrived at the apartment directly from the airport and so I was a little overwhelmed with being in a new place and didn't really get my bearings before checking out the next day, but the area was very walkable. Jessica and Jay provided a great list of recommendations and important information about the area specifically and NY in general. The kitchen was very well stocked with dishware and cooking utensils, which I wasn't able to use this stay but will helpfully take advantage of at a later date.

The only negatives were that there was a slight miscommunication upon my arrival and I wasn't initially able to get into the apartment, but this was taken care of within 5 minutes and wasn't a huge inconvenience, just a little stressful at the time. Also, there is a furnace that turns on and off occasionally which is a little noisy, but I'm a really light sleeper and didn't hear it from the bedroom.

Looking forward to staying longer than one night in the spring when I come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for a NYC visit

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

The apartment was clean, quiet, very comfortable, and well located - close to subway stations, cafes and grocery stores. The owner was very helpful and provided lots of information about local things to do, and it only took 10 minutes by subway to get to Manhattan. I'd definitely stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, friendly owners

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

We had a wonderful week in this apartment, stayed here with two adults and our baby (<1y). We would definitely recommend it to everyone searching for a nice and not too expensive accomodation in NYC. The furniture looked like it was bought yesterday, everything was perfectly clean and we had a very friendly welcome by the two owners. The surrounding is very nice, subway to Manhattan just 2 minutes to walk and all shops for the daily need also in walking distance. If we would come back to NYC, we would book it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Landlord, apartment and Great Location

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

Jason and Jessica were more than gracious. We were able to take the subway to Manhattan, Bronx, Staten Island, museums, central park, Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, etc. The apt was very comfortable and after a day of site seeing it was nice to be able to relax, have a glass of wine and cook dinner if we chose or go to one of the restaurants close by. We cannot say enough about the great time we had and the comfortable apartment we were in. And we will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place, great location

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in May 2011. The place was fantastic. Jason was a real help. He didn't even mind when I set the fire alarm off whilst 'cooking' chicken. The apartment is 2 minutes walk from Steinway St. Subway, and an easy ride to Manhattan. Queens is great, really enjoyed exploring. Fully equipped apartment, everything we needed, home from home. A great place, I'd recommend staying outside of Manhattan, and giving Queens a try. Would like to return soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

P&P

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

One always takes a risk when you book a property over the web, but we have never had any problems with this VRBO site and our stay at Astoria just proved to us yet again that we only pick the best! The owner Jason and his wife were especially accommodating and friendly to us, nothing was too big a problem for Jason and he made our stay that much easier and interesting. We loved and shopped at the Organic Market in Astoria, their evening hot dishes and salads were superb. Would highly recommend this apartment to anyone contemplating a trip to New York.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean with a friendly owner

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 17, 2011

I booked this apartment for my family who were visiting for a week. It's in a great location in Astoria, located very close to the RM subway line with a quick commute to midtown.

The owner was extraordinarily friendly, accommodating, and accessible. Would absolutely recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun Family Long Weekend

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

The apartment is everything and more! The apartment is clean and very easy to relax after several long days in the city! We cook a St Patrick's Day feast for our son and his roommates! The neighborhood is very nice to walk, shop and eat out! Jason was very helpful with anything we needed and easy to deal with! We highly recommend this apartment! We will be back and we look forward to seeing the patio in bloom! Thank Jason this is a real GEM IN NY!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Vacation Stay

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

Great host, great apartment, great location. I recommend that anyone who wants to go to New York should consider staying here for excellent value for money. Will definitely stay here the next time I visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Carbonnel

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2010

Jean Francois Carbonnel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

This place is a gem in NYC. Located on a great, safe street in a good Queens location, with subway a 2-minute walk away and direct service to Manhattan. The apartment was even better than the photos! It was spotless, quiet, and felt welcoming right away. Jason, the owner, was amazingly accommodating and very accessible. I highly recommend this place, and it will definitely be the first place I (we) check out on our next visit to NYC. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review