reviews for: listing #94902 - Julian, California House rental

Alpine Mountain Lodge
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  julian kentwood
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt
    $700 - $875 /wk
    $2,800 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Absolutely magical cabin!

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

OMG,

I flew all the way from Sweden to San Diego and together with my boyfriend I stayed for an entire week in this absolutely gorgeous getaway in the heart of Julian. There was plenty of room on the bottom floor, but also a beautifully decorated top floor, similarly to a luxury suit that can be seen in old movies. Even though there was plenty of rooms to enjoy, we spent most of the time in front of the fireplace which was located in the center of the cabin. We were given masses of wood to use and so this was our favorite spot! It was surprisingly peaceful and with huge windows towards the deck behind us we could also enjoy a stunning view each and every day as the cabin was located on a hill. Everything that we needed was within walking distance so we did not have to use our car during the stay either. If you and your partner, or entire family, want to enjoy a vacation together including a luxurious cabin with a relaxing atmosphere I would suggest you to rent this one! Next time I travel to San Diego I will definitely rent this again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

sweet cottage in the mountains

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Spent a weekend in this lovely A frame in the hills above Julian.

If you're looking for a country getaway with gorgeous views and quiet nights and stars galore this is the place!

Wonderful hiking in the mountains nearby.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Romantic retreat

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

An ideal mountain cabin for a romantic retreat!. It is rustic -- ( though it has all mod cons) and a marvellous Cal-King 4-poster bed in what is called "The Cuyamaca suite. From the main room (and loft bedroom) a splendid view of Mt Volcan. A well functioning stove with plenty of wood. Widescreen TV with an amazing video library. Not far from 'downtown Julian' and a short drive to marvellous walks in Mt Laguna National Forest, or Lake Cuyamaca State park. Don't come imagining 5-star luxury, though the 4-poster has enough to last you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great value in a beautiful setting!!!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

Spent a beautiful weekend here with my adult daughter and a friend. We enjoyed the ambiance of this lovely home. Spent many hours watching the stars from the deck as the view of the night sky is fabulous. There was plenty of room for all of us to sleep comfortably and we were happy to be in such a peaceful place to enjoy each others company.The two bedroom areas are comfortable and quite separate as they are on different floors. The top floor is great and really my favorite spot. We found everything we needed in the kitchen to make some great meals and enjoyed our days outdoors in nature.
There is great hiking in the area,(a bit hot when we were there) and some interesting historical sites (Julian was once larger than San Diego). Great part of San Diego County to explore. Awesome coffee shop in town .
I recommend this rental .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great weekend in cozy abin

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

This is a nice weekend cabin getaway, The owner said the bedroom was refurbished and it was very comfortable with a huge Cal-King 4 poster bed.
The rest of the cabin is cozy with a log burning stove and another large loft bedroom. We sat out on the deck mostly as its quite private and the views are lovely.
The Kitchen is nice but we only used the breakfast bar as we ate out in Julian which is about a mile away.Its got big techno TV,s in every room but we were out hiking and sightseeing most of the time.
Overall it was clean and well looked after apart from a few spiderwebs way up in the corners but hey, its a mountain cabin!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

This Place Is Fantastic

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 3, 2012

My Fiance and I stayed here for a week and it was the best vacation we have ever had. This little A Frame Cabin is amazing. It's situated in a very quiet mountain neighborhood only a mile out of Julian and it is perfect for a nice relaxing getaway.

The outside of the cabin is incredibly beautiful, and the inside is the same. It is so cozy and comfortable while being very roomy at the same time. The living room is great and it was awesome sitting in front of the wood burning stove watching one of the movies from their huge VHS selection. I know it is 2013 but having a week away from modern technology and watching only VHS movies was a great feeling.

Both rooms are very nice, the bottom floor room is big and roomy, but the upstairs room, (upladder actually) is incredible. You have to climb a ladder up to this loft area that is situated at the top of the A Frame where there is a bed. It is very cool and different to have to climb a ladder to get to your room. It's really nice sleeping in the loft area because and you can look down over the living room and there is a huge window where you can look out at the mountains. The kitchen was really nice as well, we cooked breakfast and dinner every day but we went into town for lunch.

I would for sure stay here again without hesitation. So if you are looking for a nice relaxing vacation, stay here. You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

3rd re-visit WOW!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Our 3rd re-visit and WOW! Congratulations on your remodelling of the "Cuyamaca Suite" with CalKing 4-poster bed, classy repainting, and superb artistic mural of a British chstnut woodland!. It is truly comfortable AND romantic! Thankyou

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Cozy cabin, great location

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

We loved this cabin as a great mountain cabin weekend getaway/hideway.
After hiking Volcan mountain and apple pie and coffee in town, we cozied up in the great room and learned how to stoke up the wood burnig stove soon becoming maestros at it!
The star gazing is fantastic on a clear night, just like a planetarium and we saw wild turkeys and raccoons.
We would definitely recommend a trip up to wild Mt. Laguna - only 20 miles away but at 6000 ft up theres was snow, deer and awesome views to the desert. and if you still have the energy a 30 minute trek up Stonewall peak in Cuyamaca Rancho state park is spectacular.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Perfect hideaway!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Everything we expected and more! A lovely A-frame cabin, with a view of Volcan Mountain from the deck -- and from the loft bedroom up the stairs. Our favourite. If you prefer there is the other comfy double bed in the bedroom downstairs. Everything worked -- a neat little timer switch on the heater in the bathroom!The log stove is easy to light IF you read the instructions properly. It was very clean and the agent was helpfulness itself. We'll be back. (This was our second visit)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

charming weekend

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Surrounded by trees, romantic and cosy. We loved curling up with the wooden stove. Definitely a weekend hide-away. And, if you can climb the ladder, the bedroom in the loft with the view is great fun! Comfortable bedroom downstairs otherwise, and so quiet and peaceful.

Everything worked and it was clean. The agent was really helpful. Plenty to do in town, and lots of hikes in the country around with the famous apple pie and coffee at the end of the day!

Would certainly come again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Cute Cottage

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We stayed the weekend in this cute cabin and felt very comfortable during our stay. The location was very convenient and the surrounding neighborhood is very quiet.The outside deck is perfect for relaxing and viewing the surrounding mountains. The kids especially loved the tire swing outside and we all enjoyed the large movie library. This is a place we will visit again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Adorable cabin

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

This is a great romantic weekend getaway cabin in the woods!Its really quiet and not overlooked by neighbours and the mountain views from the deck are awesome.The Property manager is on hand and helpful.
Although there are propane & electric heaters you really want to get the wood burner stove going to cozy up the cabin and get the real mountain log cabin 'experience'!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review