reviews for: listing #95460 - Mason, Texas House rental

Beautiful Hill Country Vacation Lodge- River Runs Through It
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $395 - $495 /nt

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Memories

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

Thank you for providing the perfect memory builder!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing House and Beautiful Nature...

Review submitted: March 8, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

Recently stayed with a group of 9 guys for a bachelor weekend. The overall stay was amazing! First off I have to say, the only reason I didn't leave 5 stars was because the shower of the master room wasn't really usable, as the shower head was caked with grime and the tub was dirty (leaving all of us to use 1 shower). It wasn't that unpleasant but it would have been much easier to have full use of both bathrooms. Other than that, it really was an amazing time, the rest of the house was very clean and comfortable. Plenty of space for us to lounge and relax, we made full use of the shooting ranges, took a few hikes through the country side and river, and cooked a lot of great meals. The outside fireplace was especially great.

Thank you for letting us use the house, it is a memory that I will never forget and exactly what I needed. I recommend anyone looking to get away to rent this place, you won't regret it. Oh and just a few tips, if you have four-wheelers, bring them, the trails and roads are perfect for them! Also, drive a truck if you have one to get to the house, the roads get really bumpy and rocky once the black top ends (you probably don't want to cross the river in your car, though you can). And lastly, stop off at the original Coopers BBQ in Mason, TX for your first night's meal, the brisket and sausage links were delicious.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your feedback we have since taken the Shower Head off and cleaned out the minerals deposits. The lodge is on a well system and it is high in minerals thus the white discoloration on that shower head so we are constantly cleaning all the sink/showers/etc hardware. The tub is on the cleaning punch sheet and should of been clean. Sorry for the difficulties we would of gladly sent someone out to give the tub a quick wipe down to make it useable. We all work hard to try and get a five star rating on every visit. This is the first time we have let our guest down and not receive 5 stars and it is our wish to constantly improve. Hopefully you get to come back out as we have just installed a wedding arbor and new birdfeeders. Apologies from me and the cleaning staff.

Safe Travels
Tim Osburn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome time with great friends!

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

House was just a awesome as in the pictures. Wrap around porch and outdoor fireplace were utilized quite often. Shooting range and skeet machine were also used quite often. This place was just what we wanted, a quite place to relax and catch up with friends and a place to show off our shooting skills (or lack of). I would highly recommend this house and me and my friends are already looking forward to our next visit, and we will definitely be visiting again soon.

Thank you,

Daniel

Owners response: Daniel,

Glad your group had so much fun and thanks for taking such good care of the place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring Chute

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 20, 2013

Thanks Bar None Family for a great retreat. We love the James River Spring Chute. You've got a great place here and we appreciate the natural environment out here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bike Rides

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Thanks very much for a well stocked wood pile and a warm and welcoming stay. We got in a few bike rides as the weather hovered above freezing. We did kill a few bottles of three buck chuck.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. My first time to stay on a ranch. love the river and the spring so glad for the hot shower, comfortable bed and more fireplace inside and outside. Bless you and your hospitality

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us spend our family Christmas together. We loved the serenity and nature this beautiful place provides

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 15, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your home and beautiful countryside with us!
The quiet was just what we needed to recharge. We hiked all over the hillside and took some great pictures Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay so much! We did a ton of hiking along the river and enjoyed all the fireplaces/pits near the house. Being here helped us bring in the New Year with great friends and surrounded by God's country. Our dogs loved being out here and do think they have ever been so worn out. We loved it! Happy New Year

Grant, John, Justin, Stuart

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Piece of Heaven

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2013

We enjoyed everything from the comfortable relaxed style of the ranch house to the beautiful starlit skies. We enjoyed hiking all over the hillside with our two dogs, laughing while they tried to catch little fish out of the river.

At first we were not sure about renting a home without a TV, but soon realized that it was a blessing to be unplugged from the noise. We only came indoors to eat and sleep.

Thank you so much for sharing your piece of Heaven with us. Next time we will extend the vacation time a few more days.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Deep in the Heart of Texas

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

We had the most glorious weekend at the Bar None and cannot thank the owners enough for the opportunity to experience their beautiful ranch.

My boyfriend surprised me with a 'mystery weekend' trip (we live in Dallas, but are originally Yankees from the far north), and I'm obsessed with Texas, so the location was absolutely perfect. We spent Friday exploring the land, taking advantage of being able to shoot our pistols and shotguns whenever our hearts desired, and drinking cold beer in the cool, secluded spring (we're still not sure we found the correct one, but it was exquisite--our own natural grotto). Grilled out some delicious steaks, and headed down to the river to watch the sunset, where I got the most amazing surprise of my life when my man got down on one knee and asked me to marry him!

I could not have DREAMED of a more perfect location, and we truly savored our few days there, away from technology, and enjoying nature. Even caught a picturesque thunderstorm that rolled through, and sat on the porch one night with a fire in the fireplace, drinking wine, listening to music, and watching the lightning strike the hills.

We will definitely be back, whether on another romantic getaway or with a big group of friends... the most beautiful spot we've been in Texas and cannot recommend highly enough! Thank you Tim!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing fun and relaxation!

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

This is the second time that a group of friends and I have rented this property for a holiday weekend. We fell in love with it last Labor Day and quickly snatched it up for this Memorial Day. As usual, we had a blast! We cooked out on the spacious grill/smoker every day. We shot skeet every morning, and were more than happy to take advantage of the new pistol range. The owners think of everything at this property! In the afternoons we would crank up the music on the porch (speakers go all the way around), and we'd relax in the rocking chairs with some beers. Then later we'd walk on down to the river and take advantage of the beautiful, cool spring-fed chute that is perfect for sitting a chair in. Evenings would be more relaxation--taking advantage of either the fireplace on the porch or the fire-pit by the house.

Bottom line: We've stayed at many HomeAway properties and this is by far the absolute best. The amenities are unbeatable and the price is a steal for what you get.

My advice: Book your trip quickly, pack the house full of family/friends, and then prepare to have an amazing time!

Owners response: Austin and Crew,

Thanks for taking such good care of the place!

Cheers
Bar None Ranch

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Place

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

Awesome place/ Great fun was had by all. We are looking forward to our next visit already

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Time

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

Awesome Time. Beautiful Place. Love the Hill Country

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

The family had a wonderful time during our stay at this beautiful ranch!
Thank you for sharing with us and we will be returning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Different group of Men

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We has such a great time on our annual man-trip

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guys Weekend

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

This place is dynaomite! We had such a great time on 3rd annual man trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memories dear to our hearts.

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

Thank you for letting us stay at your gorgeous ranch! My family and friends thoroughly enjoyed the peace and relaxation and lack of city lights! We will keep the memories dear to our hearts... and hope we can make it back soon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Engaged!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to the Bar None Ranch. It was the best 4 days of my life! and now I am leaving with the best Giance

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

We had a great late Christmas celebration with family. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

Thank you for opening your beautiful home for a holiday retreat! We saw lots of deer, hunted for arrowheads, walked the perimeter of the property, explored the river and found the spring and beautiful pools. Our doggie learned that you cannont stand on the lilly pads :) We hope to return this next year during the summer months!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Friends Giving Ever

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

Thanks for the great weekend! Bar None -always in my heart. I feel as though i've found my "true self" love always with much grattitude. Had the best friendgiving ever. Thanks for sharing this beautiful place. Bar None really helped me tap into the "frontier masculinity" deep inside me.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Boys time of their lives

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 29, 2012

Where do i start? Thank you!! We all had a GREAT time here at the Bar None Ranch. The boys loved having a fire and sleeping in front of it. THEY HAD THE TIME OF THEIR LIVES.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great weekend

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

This was a wonderful review from so folks. That was so long will have to shorten. Hope to come back, Thanks again. Dad really enjoyed your shooting ranch, we feed the birds. If you are ever in East Texas look us up.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Garden Bible Study

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

What an amazing place. We had a wonderful time. I have heard about the place for years. It is truly everything that they have said and more.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ethan R's Weekend

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

Had a great time. House worked perfectly, especially the porch and outdoor fireplace. Many a s'more was consumed. Well-stocked kithen was really appreciated.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sons 2nd Birthday

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

My son's 2nd Birthday was amazing. He had so much fun opening presents on the deck and riding his new tricycle around the yard. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. We'll definitely consider doing his next birthay here! Thank you for letting us stay in this beautiful hous. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2nd Annual Girls Week

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Has been fabulous! We relaxed, read,hiked,cooled off at the springs, ate good food and laughed. We plan on returning next summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Thank you for sharing your home with us! We had a wonderful time exploring and also got to visit the Bat Cave. The kids are almost in tears over us leaving, so we will definitely have to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quality Time

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

What a wonderful week we have had - spending quaity time with family in a beautiful setting. We hike, watch the deer, went to the spring several times and got to see the bats.(Eckerd Bar Cave) We palyed lots of games and threw washers. The week has just gone by to quickly. Thanks for sharing your wonderful ranch!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5 Families

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2012

Great country experience for our kids

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely wonderful

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

The property was a little further out than we expected, but as soon as we arrived at the house and looked up at the stars, we knew the trip was worth a somewhat tricky drive. Fantastic weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay at the Bar None Ranch

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We had a wonderful mini-vacation at the Bar None Ranch! We had 7 of us there and could have fit many more with no problem. There are so many activities available - skeet shooting, hiking, exploring, finding a cold spring at it's source, swimming in the river, seeing 5 million bats at the nearby Eckert Bat Cave, and even just relaxing on the huge porch in one of the rocking chairs. The kitchen is well stocked and we cooked all of our meals there easily. The location is gorgeous - rolling hills, lots of prickly pear cactus, the James River, all with an endless expanse of the huge Texas sky. We did get a rainstorm one night that we were there but it was so neat to watch the storm from the huge porch. Tim was awesome to work with - quick to answer any questions, pleasant and very helpful. We would absolutely stay here again and can't wait to come back! In fact, all 3 of our children were in tears when we left and have been in tears off and on since, begging to return! Thanks again, Tim!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You and your family are always welcome. I am glad your family made it home safely.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Fun Weekend

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We hosted a family fun event at the Bar None Ranch in late March. Not only was the scenery incredible, the house was so comfortable and well appointed. My only regret was the short duration of our stay. We all kept very bust shooting skeet, fishing in the river, and visiting on the porch. Tim was incerdibly helpful and friendly. We cannot wait to go back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Getaway!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

My family all stayed at the Bar None Ranch over a long Easter weekend, and even with 16 of us the house was very adequate. The house was very clean and had all we needed, we just added food! Beautiful house and property, the wildflowers were amazing. If you are looking for a secluded getaway this is it! We swam in the river, hiked in the hills, shot skeet, and enjoyed some beautiful sunsets and sunrises. The owner was very accomodating and welcoming and made sure everything was to our liking. Thank you Tim and family for opening up your house to our family. We are already planning our next stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Getaway!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

My family and my brothers families celebrated our parent's 50th Anniversary with a family getaway. There were 16 of us total and the house was very adequate. We swam in the river, went fishing, hiking, and skeet shooting. Beautiful house and property, the wildflowers were amazing. If you are looking for a secluded place to unwind and unplug this is it! Thanks to Tim and his family for opening their house up my family. We are already planning our next visit to the Bar None Ranch!

Owners response: Jason,

Thanks for taking such great care of the place that is what makes it so special.

Thanks
The Bar None Gang

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful fun!

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

We really enjoy the peace and quiet on the ranch. The fishing was excellent - our teenagers were so proud of the fish they caught and released. The lodging was very comfortable. The river crossings gave us pause, but once we were through the big river crossing, we had nothing but fun! Great family time!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: First thanks for taking such great care of the place. You looked so relaxed sitting on the porch in that rocking chair I hated to see you and your crew leave. Look forward to seeing you again and stay safe in your travels.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing time

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

incredibly relaxing! i'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure to host your film crew. Great success on your upcoming project.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Anniversary

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2011

Thank you fora a great anniversary stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Thanks for opening your home to us!! Wonderful time, beautiful sunsets, cool springs and memories we won't forget.
Owner Submitted Review

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is Perfect!

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

"thank you or opening the Bar None Ranch to our family! I wish I counted times someone said this perfect" "we were able to relax, recharge"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Girls Weekend!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Thanks for opening your home to us!! Wonderful time, beautiful sunsets, cool springs and memories we won't forget.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Anniversary

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2011

Thank you fora agreat anniversary stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is perfect!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

"thank you or opening the Bar None Ranch to our family! I wish I counted times someon said this perfect" "we were able to relax, recharge"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review