reviews for: listing #95505 - Turks and Caicos, Caribbean Villa rental

Sapphire Sunsets Beach Villa
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sapodilla Bay
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $6,000 - $12,000 /wk

sort by:

Paradise within paradise

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We celebrated our 1st yr wedding anniversary here and it was breathtaking. We spent several hours each day shuttling between the salt water pool and the ocean, which are just steps from each other. We would end our nights with a final dip in the ocean which was magical under the stars and no one for miles. The house was well stocked, and the supermarket was just a 10 minute drive where we bought all the essentials for our final night BBQ. Dinesh and Julian were a perfect team with Dinesh giving us an excellent overview of the interior at check-in and Julian showing us all the outdoor activities available to us (paddle boards, kayak, etc.). Dinesh even recommended to us a baby sitter which we used one night (funnily enough it was the same lady who rented us our car at the local Hertz office). We fell in love with Las Brisas restaurant (the coconut shrimp and run cake are to die for), which is only a 5 minute walk from the front door. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone…it’s truly paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

After a long search for the perfect place to stay, we agreed that Sapphire Sunsets would be a good choice. As it turns out, it was the perfect choice.

Our group consisted of 8 adults and two children under the age of 3. Everyone had an amazing time. The beach is perfect and only about 30 yards from the house (roughly as far as you can throw a baseball). The beach is very shallow for a long way out (about knee deep at 100 yards) and is amazingly calm. The beach is very quiet and feels as if you own it. We would see other families on the beach, but they were few and far between. They provide lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, etc. and so you always have things to do.

The house is great as well. The beds were very comfortable, the appliances were new, the kitchen was well stocked, etc. The towels provided for the showers were so nice that my wife ordered them for our house when we got home.

The home was perfect. We have recommended it to a number of friends.

If you are looking for drawbacks, I am going to dig deep and say that the main grocery store on the island was about a 20 minute drive. We new this going in, but it might be a small consideration for you (it would never stop us from staying here again). There is a small store that is about a 10 minute drive, but I would recommend making the 20 minute drive for anything more than just snacks or drinks. I will say that I highly recommend renting a car. It would be almost impossible to stay here without a car rental.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

An Unsung Gem in the Caribbean

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

Our family rented this villa for a vacation to celebrate my husband's 75th birthday. As always when renting something totally unknown, we were concerned that the description was too good to be true. When we walked in the door, we knew we were in paradise. The beach really is 15 stepping stones from the house. The pool is lovely, though the levels are more steep steps than gradual inclines.
Everything you could want is furnished for you except food, clothes, personal items and mosquito repellent. We must have been there following a rainy season?!
We ate most of our meals at the house, using the barbecue grill for fresh fish, chicken etc. A day before leaving, we discovered Quality Market, where the food prices were more reasonable.
Back to the villa - the beach is pristine. Our 5 and 6 year old granddaughters could wade in the water as much as 50 yards out during low tide. They collected all kinds of shells. Two kayaks were furnished, offering hours of enjoyment, as was some snorkeling equipment. Four beach chairs and two umbrellas were waiting for us as well. A whole locker of pool toys provided all of us with lots of fun. I had a great time engaging our grandchildren in water gun battles.
We used the A/C at night in all of the bedrooms. The additional cost for four nights of A/C electricity was only $72. It was worth the extra expense for us.
The wireless worked very well.
Every sunset (the villa faces west) was photogenic. Even though we had cocktails on the patio every night, we didn't see a green flash this time. Our daughter-in-law is a fantastic photographer, and the pictures she took will provide us with great memories.
We went to Las Brisas for dinner on our last night. The food and service was excellent. It is a short drive or enjoyable walk from the villa.
We found the owner of Sapphire Sunsets to be exceptionally helpful by answering all of our questions promptly. Denish, their on island property manager, was also delightful.
While I doubt we will ever return to Provo, Turks & Caicos, if we were to do so, we would certainly rent this villa again. If you are looking for a great place to just "chill out" with family or friends, I don't think you could fin a better place to do it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

The villa is GORGEOUS; completely renovated the end of 2011. Decor is modern and up to date. Beds are comfortable, bath towels thick and fluffy, kitchen well-equipped (we cooked most meals and had everything we needed). Very clean and spacious. Two laundry rooms. We had three families of 4 and a grandmother and all had our own bedrooms and bathrooms and were not crowded at all. The BEST thing about this villa is LOCATION! Sapodilla Bay is beautiful! Beach is clean (no seaweed, etc.), water is smooth, perfect for kids! Most days there were only about four other families on the beach. I think unless you're staying in one of the houses on Sap Bay, it's hard for other tourists to find it. They provide 2 kayaks, which the kids really enjoyed. If you kayak around the corner to the left, there's a sunken ship. We went to Coral Gardens on Grace Bay one day to snorkel, but the waves were too strong for the kids and there was seaweed everywhere. The kids were ready to go back to Sap Bay after just a few minutes. There's really no need to leave the house! We did take the kids on the "Undersea Explorer", since they were too little to snorkel, and they loved it. They take you out to a reef and back and we saw many sea turtles and fish along the way. We wanted kid-friendly restaurants to go to when we didn't grill at the house, so we went to "The Tiki Hut" on Wednesday night for ribs and chicken night (get there by 5:30 because it does get crowded). The ribs were excellent and they have fruit smoothies and milk shakes for the kids that were really good. We also made a trip to "Da Conch Shack" which was very fun for the kids and adults! Per request, the chef will take you out to the beach and show you how they crack open the conch shell and give you some other interesting facts about the conch. ;) The kids bought beautiful, polished shells there to bring home. "Las Brisas" is right by the villa and very good. We ordered take-out from there a couple of times when we couldn't drag the kids off the beach. Very convenient. The IGA Graceway is the largest grocery store and maybe a 15 min drive from the villa and they have everything. I was pretty surprised at how large it was and the selection. Prices are high as to be expected on an island. Annalisa, owner of the villa, was always quick to respond to my emails and very accommodating. Dinesh, the property manager, met us at the airport and showed us to the villa. She's very nice and went out of her way to help us. Will return

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Sapphire Sunsets is an amazing spacious brand new villa.You will not be disappointed. We had 2 families with a total of 7 kids. The villa itself has everything you need and beautifully decorated. The sunsets were amazing and just steps off the best beach in TCI. Sapodilla Bay is gorgeous!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for relaxing with family and friends

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

We just returned from a week at this fabulous house, located on the quiet side of Providenciales, away from the more crowded tourist-y parts like Grace Bay. It is pretty much exactly as the listing describes...

Sapodilla Bay is a perfect beach for families: with beautiful turquoise color, soft sand, shallow enough for even the youngest kids to wade, with no waves to speak of. If you look closely you can also collect perfect tiny conch sea shells. And for when it's too hot to be out on the beach (or when the kids are asleep), you can wade and float in the swimming pool that is literally right outside the dining room and shaded by a pergola.

The owners have provided everything you need for a luxurious, relaxing, and fun vacation. There's a fully equipped kitchen and grill, beach chairs, kayaks, TVs with cable, board games, WiFi, and even a pack and play and high chair.

The house also has an amazing manager who is very attentive and knowledgeable about both the house and island in general. She's available by phone and is very helpful. We found this to be a most amazing and relaxing spot and can hardly wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing in Paradise

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

Sapphire Sunsets is in such a beautiful area – quite private - away from the bustle of resorts. The beach is soft ground coral powder - so it’s not hot on the feet! Pristine blue ocean stretches wading depth for about half a football field out, and the waves are never rough. Of all the beaches we visited on Provo, Sapodilla Beach is the best one for children. Adults can swim beyond the gentle slope as the waters deepen. In the sea kayaks provided, we paddled to see a sunken ship around the left arm of the bay.
The villa is clean and new! Such a pleasure to enjoy the uncluttered openness inside or out. Beautifully landscaped, it faces west with a clear view of the sun setting sun right into the ocean. You can lie on the patio chaises or sit on the sofa/chairs under the pergola roof and enjoy the fresh breeze. No need for air-conditioning (it’s extra anyway). Open the windows and a cooling breeze flows through the screens.
The pool runs almost the length of the villa, has stepped depths so children can feel safe, and has changing light features that add ambiance at night. The bedrooms are comfortable – particularly the beds. There is free WiFi which WORKS! Flat screen TVs with cable are in the living room and all the bedrooms. The kitchen is equipped with brand new appliances – toaster, blender and coffee maker along with the stove/oven, microwave, and dishwasher…AND one I really made use of – hot water heater right next to the tap – great for tea drinkers! Lots of dishes, cutlery available - even the requisite wine glasses.
We stayed in for dinner some nights and used the grill. I want one of those at home! The villa accommodates 13 and is great for families or a gathering of friends. For grocery stores – there is a terrific IGA on Leeward Highway (main artery on Provo) and even an IGA Gourmet which has a freshly-caught-around-the-island seafood salad that is yummy! Pricewise groceries and entrées are more expensive than at home. But –food is great, menus varied and restaurants numerous!
Overlooking Chalk Sound within walking distance even for kids is Las Brisas Restaurant, a great place for lunch/dinner with delicious food at reasonable prices. Their Fish Basket – absolutely the freshest, flakiest fish fingers! But, be prepared all restaurants add a gov. tax of 11%, and many add a service charge (tip) of 10% or more. Check your bill before you add additional tip. A 15% tip is customary for good service on the island.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful House, Beach, Sunsets & Water. Will Return Again !!!

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

We just returned from this new, large 5 bd., 4 ba single family home sitting directly on Sapodilla Bay and beach. One bedroom has bunk beds ideal for children and adjacent to the master suite. They have thought of everything from WI FI to sea canoes, flat screen Tv's in every room, granite tiled baths & kitchen,large gas BBQ grill adjacent to the kitchen. Service for 12 in dishes, glasses, etc. There are 2 laundry rooms with washer & dryer. Plenty of beach towels and outside shower for sandy bodies. Beach umbrellas,chairs, chasis, sand toys are provided. A swimming pool is just outside the door with the beach a few further steps. Maid service is provided on set days. The house is very clean and spacious. The home is everything the listing implies and much more. We really enjoyed ourselves and have already reserved our return. We will definitely recommend this home. Las Brisas Restaurant is very good and a short stroll away that serves Lunch & Dinner. All the restaurants are very good serving large portions. The water is crystal clear and the beach is very clean with powdery sand. Sunsets are fantastic and the view goes to the horizon. Hint: Immigration is slow so be prepared with "Sapphire Sunsets at Sapodilla Bay" listed as your destination on both forms.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise in Provo, Turks and Caico's!

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 24, 2012

What a perfect spot! Saphire Sunsets is the most amazing place. The sunsets that can be viewed from the patio or the beach are incredible & cannot be seen from other places on the island. The house is really beautiful, it has been totally renovated from top to bottom and some additions were also made to the house. An interesting pool has been added along with a great patio which is where I could be found reading a book, alot of the time. It was a very restful and relaxing vacation. The beds were so comfortable that I didn't want to get out of bed each day. There are 5 bedrooms so it is perfect for families or several couples, etc. One bedroom has 2 queen beds, another has 2 twins, another with a queen bed, and another with bunk beds and the master bedroom has a king bed. The property is very well maintained and very clean. This house is just like a new house since they renovated everything! Beautiful granite kitchen and baths. And, it is equipped with everything you need including kyaks and other beach toys; hair dryers; fully stocked kitchen, games, etc. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Turks & Caico's (Provo) try to book Saphire Sunsets, you won't be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

We had a wonderful time. We swam in the pool and ocean, played in the sand, went on a boat ride, and just relaxed. We loved the lights in the pool, the pathways, the paintings, and the view. We took a lot of pictures of the beautiful ocean to remember it. The weather was perfect, we really enjoyed our stay. A house is built with boards and beams, a home is built with love and dreams. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review