reviews for: listing #95564 - Haena, Hawaii House rental

Makana Akua
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $5,125 - $8,085 /wk

sort by:

Incredible slice of ocean front

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

Makana Akua is a wonderful place to spend your well earned vacation. The home is beautifully furnished and decorated and very well stocked. You can see the ocean from the kitchen, living room, and bedroom, but you can't see into the home from the beach which makes it completely private. We walked down the beach most mornings to look for shells or snorkel at tunnels beach. There is even a shaved ice stand at the state beach that is within walking distance. The other direction down the beach is the Hanalei Colonial Resort and Mediterranean restaurant which serves delicious meals. The road in front of the house is a nice road for early morning walks or runs. It is a beautifully scenic approximately three mile windy stretch of road to the trailhead of the Napali Coast trail. Makana Akua is just far enough away from Hanalei Bay to feel remote and peaceful, but still close enough to go to the grocery store, shop, or grab a meal. It was the perfect location and home for a relaxing vacation for a family of four. We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Didn't know it was possible to fall completely IN LOVE with a place. Now I know.

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I came here for our anniversary and to get away from the city life, and I can safely say this was the most relaxing and exciting trip either of us had ever done. Such a beautiful and extremely private house with sea turtles and coral reefs directly in front on our private beach. We literally snorkeled everyday and explored our surroundings (tons of attractions/sight seeing very close by) - One could imagine, we were both very sad to leave. Managed to stay away (for the most part) from tourists and hiked up to and swam in the Hanakapi'ai Falls. I would recommend this house in a heartbeat as it not only gives you a beautiful, clean space to live and feel comfortable, but experiences for you to take away and remember for the rest of your life!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Retreat

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

What a fabulous week in an ideal location. Right on the ocean and just a short drive to everything you could possibly want. This home is perfectly suited for 2 couples to share for a week or more. The layout was ideal. The kitchen and baths were well stocked. The laundry was a nice bonus - helped us manage the multiple outfit changes. The view was perfect as was the temperature. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and wouldn't change a thing.

You really need to make a visit to Kauai and to Makana Akua. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

can't get enough of that view

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

this place is truely breath-taking; it has a great view in a very quiet neighborhood. Great sound system, speakers in every room. We would highly recommend it to anyone seeking peaceful sollitude in Kauai.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Simply Amazing

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

There is really no way to express in words or pictures how perfect this house was for our vacation. Everything was impeccable decorated and sparkling clean. Our rooms had clean fresh sheets and the bathrooms were spectacular. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you need to cook a meal (we cooked a lot) and the appliances were easy to use and updated. We slept well and there were security features on the sliding doors so we could enjoy the waves and still feel secure. The beach is a short walk away and the sunsets were amazing. Overall an A+++ experience and we would 100% recommend staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We did'nt want to leave.

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Words cannot describe the beauty and splendor of the Makana Akua house. The house was luxurious and comfortable and very well equiped. The location was unbelievable. Sitting on the back lanai, the stunning views of the ocean with the wind surfers and kite boarders was amazing. And the sunsets!! The owners were always available and fully refunded our deposit. Our 10 days in paradise at the Makana Akua house will stay with us always. I would highly recommend this house to a friend. We will definetly return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review