reviews for: listing #95574 - Marathon, Florida House rental

Tropical Pool Home with Tiki Hut & 60' Dock
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $7 - $180 /nt
    $1,299 - $1,599 /wk

sort by:

Great Vacation Get Away

Review submitted: July 29, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

Great location. The house is on the bay side in a quite neighborhood. This location was perfect for those who dive because it is close to Vaca Cut which made for a short run to offshore dive locations. The secluded boat ramp located one mile South on Aviation Blvd provided for easy lauching and a 5 min boat ride back the the house. A second seldom used ramp is on 33rd street 3.5 miles south on the bay side off US 1. This ramp is a great location for those who like to dive the south portion of the reef. There is also plenty of shopping and restaurants close by.

The accomodations are great. The house was very clean and sits on the embayment for the community. It has plenty of parking for vehicles and trailers. All appliances worked well. The pool made for a refreshing dip after swimming and diving in salt water all day. Mornings were great to site on the dock and watch manatees, turtles and sharks.

Finally, the owners were very friendly and easy to work with. They made the entire experience more enjoyable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing vacation in the keys

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We can't say enough about how wonderful this property was. We had an amazing vacation. This property is absolutely beautiful and we look forward to returning some day. Our kids loved the pool so much that we only got to go to the beach once. My father did some fishing and my husband and I went out on the kayak a couple of times. The weather was perfect all week which was an added bonus.
Although the pictures are very accurate, they don't do it justice. The property is beautiful and the location is perfect! Everything we needed was right there.
We've rented many houses up and down the East coast and we hit a home run with this one.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

lovin it........

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

we loved the house that Joe and Mary had for us, it was spacious, we had lots of room for the kids to play in the main area, balconies with amazing views of the canal/lagoon. The pool was a lifesaver, especially when we had a bit of inclement weather, we could go and just jump in. We fished off the pier, didn't catch anything but saw a few dolphins and loggerheads.

The best part of Joe was when we arrived (mistakenly) one night early, he really took care of us. He could have just said, 'sorry, you're mistake, you're on your own', but he totally solved our delimma in FL Keys style: no drama, no worries. Joe: Thanks again, you were awesome!

John, Stella, Mano, Kat and Zafi
Towson MD

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Week in Paradise

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

I want to thank you for providing a fantastic home for our vacation. From the moment we arrived everything was great. The home was even better than advertised. I was thrilled by the greeting from your manatee as soon as we arrived. The home was spotless and was so much more then we imagined. You provided everything for a perfect vacation. I have passed your name and the address of your home to several friends because we can't stop talking about how great everything was. If in the future we are going back to the keys, which I would do in a heartbeat, we will be sure to contact you first. Thank you again for making our trip one of the best vacations we have ever had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Marathon "Marge"

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

The Marathon vacation was the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation we have ever taken. Our arrival was met with an immaculate home and a warm pool. The home is located in a very beautiful area. Everything we could possibly need was located right on the property. We especially enjoyed the kayak and watching the birds. We named our daily visitor "Marge" the manatee. She seemed to enjoy hanging with us and swam alongside our kayak when we were in it. Most AMAZING thing ever! Standing on the dock watching schools of several different types of fish swim by was a blast. We even saw a dolphin and a sea turtle. A picture of the view from the property is now the background on my work and home computers. I hope to add an additional week to my vacation next year at this exact location. Thank you Joe and Mary. A big thanks to Debbie for the immaculate cleaning job! Sincerely, Gail, Donna and Jane (Massachusetts).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A relaxing vacation

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from spending a week at this property with our small dog. One of the reasons we chose this property is because it was pet friendly (for non-pet lovers - the property is very well maintained and there is no evidence that pets have stayed there). It was the most relaxing vacation I think we have ever had. The location was central to everything as well as quiet and peaceful. You can be in Key West in a little over an hour. We had the best time swimming with the dolphins at the Dolphin Research Center. Well worth the cost and very convenient. The restaurants recommended by Joe and Mary were excellent - great food and beautiful views.

My husband and I enjoyed looking out the window having breakfast in the morning and seeing giant turtles and dolphins swimming by. The property has a large dock and you can fish without leaving the property. We even had a giant bird come by and hang out for the afternoon with my husband! The pool is gorgeous and there is no reason to even leave the property if you just wanted to relax. You can spend the whole day in the pool, fishing and having a drink in your own Tiki bar. We would highly recommend this property and wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Search is Over

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Our family of six came to Marathon for the lobster mini-season. We like Marathon because of its central location in the Keys where we need only drive an hour tops in either direction to get to one end or the other (Key West or Key Largo). When we first reserved this 2/2 property we were a bit concerned about the amount of room for essentially six adults, but upon entering this home our concerns were immediately laid to rest. Not only did this house have plenty of room for all of us, there are several sliding doors that open to the balcony/porch area creating an even bigger and more open space if you desire. The location of this residence is just far enough away from the main road so that there is very little traffic yet centrally located in Marathon to where shopping or restaurants are only a short drive or taxi-ride away. The house and property were spotless when we arrived and the site manager, Debbie, was very accommodating and offered assistance if we needed anything. The laundry room is very convenient with a High Efficiency washing machine; the kitchen has plenty of storage and is stocked with the essential pots and pans; and both of the bedrooms have lots of closet space for sharing.
The yard is beautifully landscaped with many palm trees for shade and privacy including some coconut palms from which we enjoyed eating fresh coconut. The tiki-hut (with an electrical outlet) is a perfect spot to have a picnic or relax in the shade with your favorite music. There is wildlife everywhere including a family of woodpeckers in a dead palm trunk near the pool and the pool itself was absolutely wonderful after a day of fishing or for just cooling off while sunbathing.
Being located on a lagoon provides a great place for novice kayakers to try something new and with easy access to the gulf more advanced sportsmen are able to explore as much as they desire. The 60’ of docking is complete with a fish cleaning station, fresh water to hose everything down, and lighting to see when returning from a sunset cruise. A bait freezer and spacious storage room for all of your gear is located near the pool as well as an outdoor cooking area with both gas and charcoal grills for the grill masters choice to serve up that fresh catch.
Of the places we have stayed in Marathon, this ranks among the best. Joe was great to work with and we only imagine his attention to quality is consistent in all of his properties. No need to look any further, give Joe a call today.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Exceptional Vacation Spot

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We started our vacation planning searching for nice local hotel/motels and soon realized the only way to experience the Keys in Marathon, FL was to do so in a house right on the Gulf (or a bay off the Gulf as the case was).

We found this house and if I had to do it over again I would stay here everytime. The house layout/location was perfect. We had a large dock area to fish from as well as a nice setup to dock a huge boat. The house was very spacious and had all the amenities one could desire (fully furnished including a washer/dryer). It was totally spotless when we arrived. I especially enjoyed having the pool to soak/relax in.

Marathon is my favority Key. We traveled to all of the separate islands but Marathon felt like the most family-oriented location. The people were friendly. It was not too large but yet just big enough to provide the necessities. It was also centrally located so you can easily drive to Key West if you desire. Marathon also had a good selection of restaurants and we enjoyed eating the local fresh seafood at several of them (right on the water).

We rented our boat from Tropical Boat Rentals. They had an amazing supply of boats and are located about a 20 min boat ride away from this house. There are plenty of areas (overpasses) where you can move between the Gulf and the Atlantic sides in a boat so you have full access to all locations.

Big Time Bait and Tackle provided a lot of free fishing advice. The owner ran his own charter for 30+ years and definitely knew what he was talking about. He patiently revealed how to catch the fish we were looking for. And fishing licenses are easy to obtain. The state has a phone number you call, give them a credit card and they will give you a confirmation number right on the spot. No need to travel anywhere to get a license.

Finally, working with Joe on getting this vacation set up was a pleasure. He was an excellent communicator and truly cared that my family had a great vacation - Thanks Joe!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tropical, Relaxing - Cracking Coconuts

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

My family and I were so pleased with this property at Marathon Key. The home was spacious and uncluttered and the pool and dock area were beautifully landscaped. My son had a great time trying to crack the coconuts that fell off the palm trees surrounding the property. The inside of the home was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed having our morning coffee or evening drinkss from the tiki hut and relaxing in the hammock chairs. The fishermen among us could cast off the dock directly and caught several fish. This is one property that lived up to expectations generated by the web site. We would certainly stay there again on another visit. (enter on behalf of Bonds Family)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Destination

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We visited this home during our teenage boys Spring Break from school. The owners were very helpful in helping us select one of their properties since we were first timers (had not been to the Keys in 20 years), to ensure the best property for our boys to fish, relax and have the best of vacations. The home is spacious, clean, and all that a family could ask for in a vacation rental. The bikes, kayak, pool, grill, dockside fishing and tiki bar were all put to good use! The local wildlife, including the woodpecker in the palm tree, pelican visitors, iguanas, ibis, etc. were perfect picture opportunities. Marathon is less than an hour from Key West and from Key Largo which allowed for a perfect central location for daily trips for sightseeing, snorkeling and the beaches. The owners and property managers were extremely accommodating and responsive with questions about places to eat, visit and logistics in general. We highly recommend this home to anyone planning a trip to the Keys...it has absolutely everything one could ask for and we have already forwarded to a few family members and friends who are planning future trips.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Destination

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We visited this home during our teenage boys Spring Break from school. The owners were very helpful in helping us select one of their properties since we were first timers (had not been to the Keys in 20 years), to ensure the best property for our boys to fish, relax and have the best of vacations.

The home is spacious, clean, and all that a family could ask for in a vacation rental. The bikes, kayak, pool, grill, dockside fishing and tiki bar were all put to good use! Marathon is less than an hour from Key West and from Key Largo which allowed for a perfect central location for daily trips for sightseeing, snorkeling and the beaches.

The owners and property managers were extremely accommodating and responsive with questions about places to eat, visit and logistics in general. We highly recommend this home to anyone planning a trip to the Keys...it has absolutely everything one could ask for and we have already forwarded to a few family members and friends who are planning future trips.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun time

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

Vacationed here with my husband and 3 of our kids, two teenagers and one pre-teen. Home was clean and is spacious. Beautiful sunset views from the deck. The private pool was great, especially for the kids. We also enjoyed watching a wide variety of fish, jellyfish, and one manatee right off the dock - water was crystal clear. We did some fishing off the dock too and had fun feeding our catches to a visiting white ibis. Other visitors to the property included a large iguana, lots of tiny lizards, and a monkey. Snorkeling and diving tours available right down the street. Truly a tropical learning experience.

Property owner and property manager were both readily available when I had questions.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a great location! A perfect rental!

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Joe's rental property from mid-January to the end of March 2012. We just got back and are missing it already, this house in Marathon is close to everything yet you can sit on the dock and feel so secluded. The street is so quiet, nothing across the road so traffic is very minimal.

The place was amazing, such a great alternative to staying at a canal home. The lagoon is extremely wide so you have tons of privacy and the sunsets are very beautiful. Don't let the close proximity of the airport scare you away from this location, there are only a handful of small private planes flying in and out on a daily basis and I promise the noise isn't loud and won't disturb the serenity.

We rented a boat and kept it right at our dock, the house is only a 5 min boat ride to the Vaca Cut, and then out to the reef, for some AMAZING fishing and only a 10 min boat ride to Bahia Honda State Park. We also did lots of fishing right from our dock which fed us quite nicely. There are so many manatees right off the dock and the wildlife right at the house was beautiful (lots of birds, iguana, etc).

The house inside is nice and clean (new everything: appliances, paint, washer/drier, etc) and open concept. One entire wall is floor to ceiling windows with beautiful views and a walk-out to a balcony. The tiki hut was a great feature when the weather was too hot and the pool was perfect for cooling off.

We're already booked at this house for next year and we're counting down the days!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A week in Marathon

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

The property is as described, beautiful. Plenty of parking for a truck and twin axle trailer. We even parked the truck/boat/trailer across the road from the home on the short grass the day we arrived, and the day before we checked out, so we didnt have to worry about putting the boat in the day we arrived (late afternoon) or the morning we checked out. Plenty of dockage for large CC boat, and easy passage to the gulf, or out to the Atlantic through Vaca cut.The home was spotless, the AC was cold, and everything worked, no problems! The local restaurants served great food, and the suggestions of attractions from the owners were spot on. Publix, CVS, etc very close. Property is also in a quiet neighborhood- not a lot of traffic which was nice. Would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a 2/2 in Marathon, and we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review