reviews for: listing #95576 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

Mission Ridge
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $345 - $495 /nt
    $1,990 - $2,990 /wk
    $5,500 - $9,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful View + Beautiful Home + Peace & Quiet = Excellent Stay

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

This was our first time visiting Santa Barbara. We walked in just as the cleaning crew was leaving. Our eyes immediately went to the large windows holding a view of downtown Santa Barbara, the Bay, and the Channel Islands. Though the house was build ~35 years ago, the interior is very modern with beautiful wood floors, furniture, and a tasteful/modest decore throughout the home. There are 3 floors, with one bedroom on the lowest floor and 2 bedrooms in the middle floor. Each of those floors feel secluded with views blocked by trees that were trimmed prior to their reaching the living area on top.

Each bedroom had plenty of room and separate bathrooms. For elderly or the disabled, this would not be recommended, due to the stairs. But for my children and my parents, the stairs were fine.

Both the top floor and 2nd floor have wooden decks where you can relax and look out to the water. The kitchen has everything you need and there are multiple fireplaces. There is surround sound throughout the home so you can play your favorite vacation music. :) Its possible, but would be a tight squeeze to fit several cars in the carport...we had just one car so the covered parking worked great.

The home is surrounded by trees, so even though there are neighbors, it feel very secluded and private. (But, you do need to be aware of any workers doing trimming/painting, etc that maybe walking around the perimeter...especially in the mornings when seemingly private showers/bathrooms are being used)

The home is located up on the hill so there are some narrow turns up the hill to reach the house and there is nothing within walking distance. However, the view is worth it.

So overall, a great rental and a wonderful / relaxing time in Santa Barbara. We hope to visit again sometime and would be more than happy to stay in this home once again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding weekend

Review submitted: December 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 12, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Carol's house. My wife and I stayed with our 3 adult sons (one of whom got married that weekend. The pictures and listing information accurately described the house as much as words can as the view from the living room and kitchen are almost indescribable. When we walked into the house it was already dark and the city lights were amazing. Georgine, who assisted us was very helpful in getting us aclimated to the property. The house was very comfortable although unfortunately we did not spend as much time as we would have liked at the house due to the number of events that were going on surrounding our son's wedding. We would definitely reccomend the house to our friends and relatives and hope to come back some day. We had fantastic dinners at Cielito restaraunt where the rehearsal dinner was held as well as at Bouchon. If we do return someday to the house our plan would be to spend as much time as possible soaking in the awesome views that the house provides.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Riviera Home

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

We stayed over Thanksgiving and met my son who is attending college in San Luis Obispo. We have been visiting Santa Barbara regularly for many years and decided not to stay in a hotel so that we could enjoy some family time with our kids. The house and views were exceptional. You just do not get that in a hotel. They have gone to great lengths to make you feel at home. The rental pocess went very smoothly and the caretaker met us at the house when we arrived and told us to call her any time on the cell phone if anything came up. Plus, a membership at the tennis club with a pool and workout room. My son is an athlete and used the pool and my daughter used the exercise room. The house was exactly as shown on the web, even better. We will definitely stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait for our next vacation to come back!

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

Excellent location with the gorgeous view of the bay and town. It’s our third visit and we are still counting. Thank you very much for sharing your house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

We loved this beautiful house, with great views of Santa Barbara and the ocean beyond. It was perfect for our family, with a very pregnant daughter, a three year old Grandson and dog. The house is lovely and comfortable for all, and perfect for the dog as well as the property is fenced in. Beautiful landscaping capped it off, so the decks and terraces were a delight...we ate all our meals outside. The tennis club made it the perfect vacation, with a pool for the family and tennis every day for me. We would return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Heavenly Tree House!

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Tree House the last weekend in July, which in Santa Barbara, means some of the best weather in the world. The Tree House was the perfect venue for enjoying such a climate: plenty of open-aired rooms with access to decks boasting 180-degree views, a terrace with outdoor seating for family dinners, and a "nature walk" below that the children very much enjoyed exploring. We spent several of our evenings grilling dinner and taking in the unprecedented view this property had to offer. When indoors, the property was equally luxurious: the rainforest shower in the Master Bathroom afforded morning relaxation, while the deep jacuzzi bathtub provided a melting respite from the day. There was a washer/dryer on site, which made for keeping the items our family had packed clean and wearable. The spacious kitchen - including the chef's island, large rangetop, and Sub-Zero fridge - made cooking delicious local Santa Barbara dinners (visit the Farmer's Market on Tuesdays!) a breeze. Finally, the property owner, Angela, was extremely accessible, answering all our questions prior to and through booking the property, and very accommodating. We would recommend this property to our family and friends planning a visit to the Santa Barbara Riviera, and plan to return ourselves in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Rivera Home

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Since this was our first home rental experience, we were hoping for the best. What we actually got was even better! The house is truly beautiful....and so are the panoramic views! This home is extremely well maintained and clean, with a great kitchen for as much or little cooking one wants to do on vacation. Pleanty of closet space and an amazing master suite. Angela was very easy to work with, available if we had any questions and very accommodating since we wanted to bring our German Shepherd with us. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

June travelers

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

The view and photos of the homes interior certainly lived up to our expectations. The house is well appointed and clean however, it must have been closed up for a while as we experienced an unpleasant smell which was remeded after a day and a half of open windows.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great views and quiet!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

This is a very, very nice house. Terrific views and great decks/patios.

Only things we had a problem with were that the bedding needed to be newer (sheets in master bedroom were brown and had bleach stains) and that the master bedroom had two bathrooms and the other bedroom on that level had none. You could use the bathroom in second bathroom off of the master bedroom but there were no doors separating the master bedroom so if someone was in bed you could see them when you went to use the bathroom. Not very private for the master bedroom. There is another bedroom in the lower level with a bathroom and that is the one we used while our friends used the master.

Would still recommend it - you just need to work around the bathroom issue. It would be fine for a family just a little work around if it's 2 or three couples.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review Kathy! We actually just did some construction this week and now the downstairs bathroom has access from the hallway, solving the "privacy" issue. If your in the area again, we'd love to have you stay with us! :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding rental

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

Two couples shared this outstanding house for five nights in mid-May. Angela was very helpful and a pleasure to work with. The house caretaker even agreed to stock the refrigerator with some breakfast groceries for us as we knew we would be arriving past midnight.

This house lives up to it's billing -- the photos and description are accurate and perhaps even understated. The neighborhood is outstanding : picture postcard views; peaceful & quiet; great place to walk & explore; well situated to easily get anywhere you may want to go.

The kitchen is huge. Great counter space & appliances, including a great gas grill on the lower deck. We shopped every day at the farmer's market and prepared our own meals every night. Very comfortable and spacious living areas. Large bedrooms. Sizeable and comfortable beds. Great master bathroom.

We only used it once, but having access at no extra charge to the SB Tennis Club was great. It's only 2 miles from house and easy to get to. Very friendly.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Honeymoon Escape

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

We eloped and escaped to this wonderful home in Santa Barbara. Just the two of us in a home that would sleep six comfortably... how luxurious! We are definately coming back with friends. The proximity to town is what is so outstanding. You feel like you are on top of the world here, but you are actually just a couple minute from the mission and State Street shops and restaurants.
We love Santa Barbara, and now we love this house!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Panoramic Views

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This is a wonderful home and well maintained.The photos accurately reflect the panoramic view overlooking the beach and city lights of Santa Barbara. It is well suited for two to three couples as one bedroom will share a bath. This was never a problem with our group as we enjoyed the house and surrounding patios with quiet serene evenings for entertaining. The owner responded to all our questions prior to the rental of the house quickly via email, and we received our security deposit as quickly as stated in the contract upon our return. This was truly a memorable week, and a great introduction to Santa Barbara at its finest.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful week staying here

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

The views from the top floor are beautiful, and the kitchen is well-designed with easy flow to living room and to deck. The three bedrooms are all a good size with good privacy. The use of SB tennis club, including pool, was a great extra for us.

It is 10-15 minutes to get just about everywhere.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding views and exceptional comfort

Review submitted: February 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

Beautiful upper riviera perch, overlooking all Santa Barbara and the Channel Islands. We enjoyed the top of the line chef's kitchen, beautiful spa-like baths, and comfortable pillow-top bed. The proximity to parks and downtown was most convenient. Carol couldn't have been more accommodating, and the home exudes her hospitality. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury at its best

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

What lovely views from this comfortable home. Even with the inclement weather we encountered in
Santa Barbara it was a joy to look out the picture window and see the breautiful view. The house is
nicely decorated and offers a warm homey environment. I would recommend this house if you are staying in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Amazing View

Review submitted: December 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

I have been all over the world, few places have the view and charm of this location. If you're going to be in the area, dont second guess renting this house. You will love it! and our dog enjoyed the yard too!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

beautiful home, AMAZING view!

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed in Carol's beautiful home Labor Day weekend with 4 other friends. We weren't familiar with the Upper Riviera area, but decided to check it out because we were so impressed by the photos and other reviews. Let me say I am so glad we did. The views were amazing! You can see all the way to the ocean from the deck(s). Most of the weekend was foggy down by the beach, but we had blue skies and sun up in the Riviera. We enjoyed the house and sun so much we spent most of our time there either grilling outside on the deck or cooking in the state of the art kitchen. When we did go out, It was only a short windy drive down to State St. for restaurants, shopping, bars etc.
Carol and Georgine were very helpful and lovely to deal with. We all had a wonderful time and look forward to staying in this beautiful home again in the future.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Barbara Getaway

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2010

This a beautiful hilltop home overlooking the ocean, panaramic views from almost every room! The home was quite spacious, and the garden shower was so relaxing. The owner is extremely cordial as was her assistant, do consider renting this property if you are visiting the Santa Barbara area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway...Better Than Advertised

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

I am an event planner in the Los Angeles area. I booked this home for 2 couples. Fortunately for me, one couple dropped out at the last minute and my husband and I joined the other couple. Our stay was wonderful. Carol your home is better than advertised in your listing. Home should be listed as High End Amentities throughout! We loved the layout of the home with the tri-level floorplan, decks and patios. The layout of the home takes the best advantage of the views. The Master Bedroom is Sweet with the sittng room, fireplace and 2 bathrooms. The home is very clean and well maintained. If all of this wasn't enough, the home comes with a convertible car to cruise around town. I will definetly recommend this home to my clients!! Thanks Carol and Georgine!!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Memorial Day Weekend Vacation Home

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

Carol and her assistant Georgine did a wonderful job in accommodating our stay in Santa Barbara. Carol’s beautiful home had a PRICELESS view and is one of the most amazing houses on the upper Riviera; the pictures do not do its’ justice. She was great in communicating with us throughout the process and made an extra effort in the minor tv cable problem to make sure we were able to catch the Lakers playoff game as she was readily available via phone and email for questions. The three decks/patios in her home enabled to us to have breakfast overlooking Santa Barbara and have perfect bbq dinner. This home was a delight to stay in,vwell furnished and very clean. As a UCSB alumni, this is the only way to re-visit Santa Barbara. Looking forward to another stay in your beautiful home later this summer Carol!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review