reviews for: listing #95616 - Rome, Italy Apartment rental

Artist Loft
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (EUR) €70 - €150 /nt
    €500 - €1,000 /wk

sort by:

Charming Penthouse With Beautiful Terrace

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

The apartment is placed in an attractive area with good restaurants. We loved the simple and stilish furnishings with interesting pieces of art by Luca. Everything was very clean, we found all what we needed. Luca and Rosie were very helpful and made us feel at ease organising our stay. We loved our home and can recommend it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great views and great location.

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: December 10, 2013

Nice clean property with great views of the Trastevere area. Had many great restaurants walking distance and tons of charming streets to wander through. About a 5 minute walk to the street cars that will get you over to the subway system. Great base of operations for your Rome vacation

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Balcony

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

Lovely place in Trestevere, a bit bohemian but clean. The terrace is an amazing place to relax after a long day of walking.
Luca was amazing host to deal with, very prompt and professional, and Rosie who checked us in was full of informations and very helpfull.
Try the restaurant around the corner Trattoria Da Teo, with mostly locals and very friendly staff.
Make sure to arrange for car to airport with Luca, totally worth it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Even better than expected - has to be experienced!

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We had read many positive comments about this place - and we were certainly not disappointed! Luca's apartment is just as charming, as it appears from the presentation. You feel happy as soon as you step over the threshold, because of the light, the view over Trastevere's rooftops, the large terrace that seems to extend the inner space, and last but not least, Luca's lovely living photographic art, which characterizes this small and perfectly utilized apartment.

Rome is magnificent, we knew it. Trastevere is quite unique, we also knew this. Now, we also know that this very special spot in Via dei Genovesi is the perfect base for a romantic holiday - in all ways centrally located, yet in a surprisingly quiet corner where you have the feeling of living among the locals. You can walk to many of the most interesting locations in Rome. Also, one should not miss out on a daily stroll - especially in the early hours of the day - to explore and breathe the charming neighborhood of Trastevere, which is situated just outside your front door. We enjoyed both - and acquired a taste for more of both! Of course we must not forget to mention the small neighbouring café in No 39 - a very cozy place to enjoy a cup of coffee - and maybe have a chat with the very helpful owner or some of the local people.

Luca himself has been a very helpful and informative host, since we contacted him first. We hope soon again to have the opportunity to stay in this lovely apartment.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

???????? ?????! It was wonderful!

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

Hey, Luca! Thank you for the wonderful stay I had with my husband at your place! He kept this as a surprise romantic trip for me. It was wonderful to run away from -30 C Moscow to +17C Rome in January. And to live in your creative environment made it even more pleasant. And what a view from the terrace..oh you are so lucky, Italian people. I think the coffee place downstairs on the left is the best on the planet, no, really, this is how we started every morning during our stay, and I wonder if you miss it?) I hope your place will be available next time we decide to come, it is really convenient to go anywhere in town from it. We did not loose a minute, and the pick up from the airport and back was also very quick and convenient. Thank you so much! Anna and Grisha

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

wonderful apartment!

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in this apartment in May 2011. We were calibrating my birthday, and the place could not have been more perfect. The apartment is in the very center of everything you want to see and experience in Rome, and after a long day filled with adventures, we relaxed on the lovely sofa bed on the terrace. The terrace was also great for our morning breakfast, with fresh bread from the local bakery just across the street. Thank you; Luca, for a wonderful time! PS; send our Regards also to the polite and nice driver, who picked us up at the airport, and also at our departure.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfekter Kurztrip nach Trastevere

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

Man hat das Gefühl in Luca's Apartment zu sein. Alles ist authentisch, zum Gebrauch und nicht extra für den Feriengast. Alles was man sich wünscht ist da. Die Wohnung hat Patina wie Rom selbst, wunderschön und nicht geleckt. Die Dachterrasse, mit Blick auf den Aventin, bietet eine ruhige, private Atmosphäre. Wunderschön! Alles hat wie vorher besprochen super geklappt.

5 Sterne und vielen Dank an Luca!

Die Strassenbahnen und Busse sind nicht weit entfernt. Wer auf die Gastronomie zählt ist hier im Viertel auch abends bestens aufgehoben.

Ps. Wer Sonntags hier weilt hat es nicht weit zum Flohmarkt Porta Portese! Eine andere Welt, ein großer Flohmarkt, wie man ihn in anderen Städten oft nicht mehr findet.
Tipp: mit Roma Pass sind Museen und Nahverkehr inkl. .

Owners response: ENGLISH TRANSLATION

One has the feeling of being in Luca's apartment. Everything is authentic, to use and not for the extra holiday guests. Everything you could wish for is here. The apartment has patina as Rome itself, beautiful and not licked. The roof terrace, overlooking the Aventine Hill, offers a quiet, private atmosphere. Beautiful! Everything has worked out great as previously discussed. 5 stars and many thanks to Luca! The trams and buses are nearby. Who is counting on the gastronomy is here in the neighborhood in the evening in good hands. Ps Who dwells here on Sunday it has not far to the flea market Porta Portese! A different world, a large flea market, how it does not find in other cities very often. Tip: with Roma Pass including museums and transportation.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

Luca's pleasant penthouse loft is on via dei genovese which is a bustling street in Trastevere with everything you need (many restaurants, and a bar, coffee shop, tabacco shop, grocery and dry cleaner). The apartment is small, but the large terrace with great view makes up for it. Luca, the owner, arranged transportation to and from the airport which was a great perk. Highly recommended. (Only 4 stars because bathroom is very small and hard to keep dry.)

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunshine and view in Trastevere

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

This somewhat bohemian studio is located at the top of 5 flights of stairs, so be prepared, but the climb is worth it. The terrace with flowering plants has a view of the tower of Santa Cecilia and is a lovely place to eat breakfast in the mornings and enjoy a glass of wine in the evenings. We were surprised to find at night we could see constellations! The apt is small but very functional, and we appreciated the windows on two sides and the bright light everywhere. The bed was firm, which I like. Groceries can be gotten immediately outside the building. A large supermarket for more elaborate eating is under 15 minutes away on foot. A half-dozen restaurants, high and middle-end are steps out the front door.

Luca, the landlord, was cheerful and helpful. He carried my small but heavy suitcase up the stairs upon arrival and showed us around. And when the airconditioning didn't work for a couple of days, he refunded us some money. Trastevere is small, intimate, and far more comfortable on foot than monumental Rome; this makes a great base for exploration.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A fab place to stay.

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Our first thoughts when we arrived was that it seemed a little smaller than the photo's and was a bit like a student flat. However I have to say this is the best apartment we have ever stayed in. It was absolutely charming, with Luca's paintings, comfortable bed and wonderful balcony for breakfast and evening drinks. The apartment was clean and had everything you needed if you wanted to cook. We didn't as the Trastevere area has great restaurants and cafes nearby. We walked or caught the tram (at the end of the road) to all the sights - we saw Rome in 4 days and walked miles! Just to mention there are five flights of stairs to the apartment, but really worth the climb. We never got to meet Luca as he was away, but we hope to return again. We would not hesitate in recommending this apartment it really is special, and I would confirm what all the other reviewers have said.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Apartment in a great area!

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

My wife and I just stayed at Luca's apartment. It was wonderful!! The apartment is very clean and in an excellent location. The views at night from the terrace while drinking some wine are fantastic. The apartment is on the 5th floor of a building so be sure you can climb the stairs. Luca, who owns the property is very nice and great to work with. He meets you at the apartment and goes over everything including excellent restaurants nearby.

Thank you again Luca we really enjoyed our Trip!

John and Courtney Rambo

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Spot- the Ultimate Host

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

I recently spent eight days in Rome with my daughter and Luca's spot was the absolutely perfect place to stay. The view and light is really incredible and Luca's sense of the neighbourhood and helpfulness made our stay one of my most memorable vacations.

Trastevere is the neighbourhood to be in and Luca was the ultimate host!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed for one week in June 2010. We loved the apartment and all of Luca's artwork that decorated it. The balcony was wonderful for relaxing on the hot June days. We absolutley loved waking up each morning and visiting the bakery downstairs for cappuchino and crossiants before setting out to explore Rome. We found wonderful restaurants in the area along with entertainment and there were even movies playing at an outdoor theatre next to the river! We walked everywhere. We visited all major sites on foot like the Spanish Steps, Colloseum, Pantheon,etc. I think the location was great because we felt like we were in an Italian neighborhood while we were there but we could go and be tourists when we wanted to. The steps up to the apartment were many...but that is part of Rome. Luca was very helpful in getting us to and from the airport and getting us familiar with the neighborhood. The air conditioning worked wonderfully. I would come and stay again and would recommend this apartment to anyone looking for a fabulous Italian experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Artist Loft Spectacular!

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

My 11 day stay at this charming apartment was incredible! It was everything that Luca had presented and more! The mornings drinking coffee on the terrace, listening to the sounds on the street below and the church bells ringing was the perfect start to the day. I felt immersed in the culture and neighborhood around me. Luca was a wonderful host! He met me at the apartment and made sure I was familiar with my surroundings and the apartment before leaving. One of the BEST features of this apartment is the location! I walked everywhere without the need of a taxi, bus or train to get to any of the attractions without missing any of character of the city. Thank you Luca for sharing this amazing place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for several days and absolutely loved it. It's an fantastic place to stay in our favorite part to town. I highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time in Trastevere

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 lovely days in Rome. Luca arranged to have us picked up at the airport and was at the loft when we arrived. The description and pictures are accurate. Luca was friendly and oriented us to the loft and the neighborhood. While the steps are a climb we felt they were well worth it to have the view and the terrace. The morning we sat on the terrace eating fresh bakery from the shop below while the church bells rang and the sounds of Italian drifted up from the street we knew we had made the right decision. Luca's loft gives you a neighborhood experience in Rome while shops and restaurants are nearby. We were able to walk all over Rome from our apartment. Thanks Luca for a wonderful experience!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

8 Spectacular Nights in Trastevere

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

This is a great apartment, very clean, in a delightful neighborhood conveniently situated away the tourist zone but easily walkable to all major sites. The roof terrace provided a great window into the immediate very charming neighborhood. Many excellent restaurants are within a short walk including a very friendly cafe (the No Name Cafe) at street level we visited most mornings. The internet connection is very good. (The best we encountered anywhere in Italy.) Luca is a welcoming host who helped to orient us to our immediate surroundings upon check-in. We highly recommend this terrace apartment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfectly relaxing

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the artist's loft for about a week in early July. We had spent a lot of time in Rome already, in fact having met there, so our aim was less to see all the sights than it was to soak up the city and relax. This apartment was the perfect place for that, allowing a gorgeous and super comfortable spot for us to unwind after a day out at the markets and museums or before an evening out in Trastevere or Testaccio. It would be an ideal place to stay for *any* kind of visit to Rome. Its location is excellent: easy to get to and from the airport as well as within striking distance of all the city's attractions. We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Loft Apartment with a Terrific view

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in this loft apartment and had a great time. The highlights are the terrace with a lovely view and Luca's wonderful art decorating the space. The apartment is quite small, but has everything we needed. We shopped at the open air market at Campo de Fiori - perhaps a 15 minute walk away - and made several lovely meals in the apartment. There is also a very nice little market directly across from the apartment. The location is very nice, very close to Santa Cecilia church and a short walk from most of the restaurants and bars of Trastevere. We actually walked to nearly all the sites we wanted to see, taking a cab only when we went to St Peters. One word of warning, this apartment is on the fifth floor (fourth floor UK) and there is no lift. My wife and I enjoyed the climbs up to the apartment as a part of the experience, but this might be an issue for some.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Artists loft in perfect location

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

An apartment perfect to experience the real Rome. The location in Trastevere was in walking distance of nearly all of the main sites and plenty of great restaurants nearby. The apartment itself is exactly as described with a bohemian artist feel. The outside space recieved sun all day and was a perfect place to relax on the outside daybed. Being on the top floor of the building however it is not advised to people who are elderly or with any mobility issues.
The apartment owner Luca was extremely helpful and organised a mini van to collect us from the airport which took any hassle out of relying on public transport. Would recommend over a hotel to experience this amazing city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review