reviews for: listing #95746 - Stowe, Vermont Cabin rental

Modern Cabin -JettedTub, Gas Fireplace
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $170 - $300 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,750 /wk
    $3,000 - $5,600 /mth

sort by:

terrible stay away.

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

pictures of cabin were fabricated. doors wouldn't lock, stairs were completely unsafe, dog crap all over the lawn also left in pooper scooper right by the door, there was a constant beeping, water pressure was terrible, and the icing on the cake is the owner was rude, unaccommodating, and belittled me the whole time i tried to talk to him. the only reason i give it 1 star is because the waterfall was nice. thanks for nothing.

Owners response: Well, I am going to let our reputation stand on this one. We love our guests and am truly sorry that our home that brings joy to so many was not to your liking. Some people are just not able to be happy. Gob bless and we would love to have you try us again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing vacation in the snow!

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

We stayed at the Falls in March and it was such a beautiful and comfortable place to stay. We were lucky enough to find some place to rent which would let us bring our dogs! Randy and Cara thought of everything, and the information they had about Stowe was so helpful. The house was clean, warm, and an absolute pleasure to stay there.We can't wait to make our next trip up to the Falls.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Warm, relaxing, Stowe get-a-way

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

My wife and I wanted a relaxing week in Stowe with our dogs. We found everything we were looking for in the cabin at the falls. The cabin is exactly as its depicted in the pictures, spacious for a couple or a family of 4. Though there's bedding enough for 6.
It features a large main living space, a sleeping loft, a big kitchen with separate dining area and a back bedroom. There's one bathroom.

The location is 5-10 minute drive from downtown stowe, and 15-20 to the Stowe mountain resort/ski area. For us, it was ideal. Its on a quiet road and immediately across from the moss glen falls park. The park is not large, and while we were there it was fozen over - but it was a perfect place to walk the dogs, and do a bit of light hiking.

We'd like to go back again sometime in the warmer weather to see the area in another season.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great cabin just outside of Stowe!

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

This is a very nice cabin in a great location just outside of Stowe. The cabin sits on a great piece of property with a steam running along one side and directly across from a hiking trail that takes you up to Moss Glen falls. Very dog friendly with a small fenced in area and plenty of places to take the dogs for a walk. Cabin itself is very cool with a big living area and loft space, and a nicely done kitchen. Has everything you would need for a great trip, and only a couple miles from Stowe village.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SWEET LITTLE PLACE

Review submitted: November 2, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

We really loved The Falls during a visit in early October. It's well-appointed, and nicely laid out -- if slightly sparse. Nice fenced area in the back yard for the fire pit, so we spent lots of time out there. Owner was helpful and responsive. There is a spiral staircase leading to the loft, and it's somewhat difficult to navigate. It's visually interesting, but won't be everyone's cup of tea. As advertised, the property is in close proximity to The Falls, allowing us to walk there with our dogs every day that we were in town. Short drive into Stowe wan't bad -- giving us privacy and quiet without being far from activities and restaurants/shopping. Would recommend to others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

My mom and I stayed here with our two pups and loved it. It is in a perfect location. Everything we needed was within a 15 minute drive. Very peaceful. We enjoyed walking to Moss Glen Falls. It was so pretty! We loved having the fenced yard for our dogs to run free :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good time at the falls

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Overall, we had a nice vacation in Stowe, and in this house. There was plenty of space for us, my son, and our 2 dogs. Stowe is very dog friendly which is awesome. House was as advertised, cool little cabin in the woods. The fenced in yard was awesome for the dogs.

Positives: Great location near downtown, roomy, and very close to hiking trails and gorgeous waterfall. Randy and Cara were great in responding to any and all questions and concerns during the booking process.

Negatives: Bathroom and bedroom were very dirty upon arrival. There was a mix up with the check in time, and I was given an early check in time by Cara via email. When we arrived, I spoke with Randy via phone and in his defense, I told him the house looked clean as he was unsure if their cleaners had been there yet. That was because I hadn't been in the bathroom or bedroom yet. So, I ended up cleaning and vacuuming which wasn't really what I wanted to do after a 3 + hour drive. But, at that point I wasn't going to call him and have him send out another cleaning crew. I would guess they either never came, or did a really crappy job, not sure which. Also, the house got REALLY hot and has no AC, so that was a bit uncomfortable. I was more concerned for the comfort of my 15 month old son than any adults. So, if you go, make sure you bring some fans to at least circulate some air around the house.

All in all, we had a good time, and would probably rent this house again. Must do's in the area are moss glen falls, the auto toll road up Mt. Mansfield (though a bit pricey at $28/vehicle), but you can also hike trails at the top, hiking at Smuggler's Notch, and Crop Brewery and Bistro. Piecasso is also very good, but we thought Crop was the best. Vermont Ale house is great if you're a beer lover, but food was a little "eh". We also walked the recreation path a couple of times, which is really nice, especially in the morning. Burlington is definetley worth a trip, lots of cool stores, and restaurants.

Overall, I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a rental in the Stowe area, it was a great time, and as I mentioned, the owners are super nice and attentive to any concerns.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Stay at the Cabin Was Great..................except

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

We stayed at the Stowe cabin in Vermont at the end of March and had a great time! The cabin was clean and just as the owner had described to us. It had all of the amenities that we needed to make our stay there comfortable. We snow shoed to the falls and it was only a short drive to the shops and restaurants in the downtown area.

I did have 2 complaints. The 2nd floor loft area did not have a railing at the top of the stairs which left a dangerous drop off for little ones or anyone getting up during the middle of the night. I also need to mention that it took 1 month to receive the return of our security deposit. After emailing and calling numerous times, it was finally deposited into our account with no explanation as to why it took so long. Unfortunately, this one factor alone will prevent me from staying here again.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place for snow lovers and dog owners

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

We rented the cabin for a weekend in February. We brought our two dogs, a black Lab and Shiba Inu. The fenced in yard was perfect for them (especially the Shiba who likes to explore!) The house is a quick drive to the Mountain and to town. Definitely a repeat next year, except this time hopefully for a longer stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Getaway at the Falls

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Our family of four, including 2 teenage boys, had a wonderful time in this cabin. Coming from Texas, we wanted a vacation with snow and options for outdoor activites. We found all of that and so much more! We skied on Stowe Mountain, hiked through the snow to the Falls everyday, visited local restaurants and had delicious meals, ate way too many apple cider donuts and saw some of the the most beautiful scenary in the U.S. The cabin was perfect for family game nights and video game tournaments by the fire. And their Top 10 list of things to do in Stowe was wonderful. I think we got them all in with the exception of the night rides. Much preferred the fireplace at night. The driveway was a bit steep, we had been warned, and we would definitely recommend a 4 wheel drive vehicle in the winter. The cabin was just as we had seen in the pictures and the owners couldn't have been nicer as we arranged the rental. We want to come back during a different season and will definitely check on the availability of this cabin as a place to stay. We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

October Visit

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2012

We had a wonderful stay! Everyday began with an enjoyable walk to the falls and ended by relaxing while taking in the view around the cabin. We loved that everything was labeled and easy to find. The owners were gracious and eager to accommodate to make our stay pleasant.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our cabin in the woods

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Perfect place for three of us but plenty of room for 6 people. Walked in the woods to the waterfall which was great. Perfect weather, great location, a few miles from the town of Stowe. Listing description, photos, etc. were just as the listing described. Great Italian Restaurant (Piecasso) suggested by the owner; food was excellent. Plenty of other restaurants, close to grocery shopping, gas, anything you would need. We went to Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream for the tour, but we went too late in the afternoon; you need to go early in the morning; looks like it would be fun. I would recommend this property, owner couldn't have been more helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Pictures dont do this place justice, everything we needed for a week. Randy even emailed me a few weeks before we arrived to see if we needed him to pick up any thing specific while he was there. Great people and a great place.Quick drive to the mountain no fresh snow while we were there but it was a quiet winter in the east. If you go in winter make sure you walk over to the frozen falls. Will definatley be returning there again. Thanks again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vermont Weekend

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

We traveled to Vermont for a family weekend. We absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Falls. The house was extremely clean and so well organized. Everything was labeled and very easy to locate. I may need to do that at my house for my husband! We loved that there were huge recycling bins and trash barrels right outside. That definitely makes it very easy for us as guests to help out. We spent a lot of time hanging out with our family outside in the backyard. There's plenty of outside furniture and a fire pit to enjoy when it gets chilly at night. We would 100% recommend the Falls to anyone looking for a perfect VT getaway. The waterfalls and hiking trails are a bonus too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable and Spacious!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

Our spring break is almost over and we're having a lovely time with your cabin as our base. The cabin is spacious and comfortable. Loved everything about the layout...big kitchen, high ceiling in the living room, loft, fire place, dining area. Definitely bigger than it appears from the outside. It was all we needed and was very nice to have our dog comfortably with us. Thanks for your quick response in all communication. We will return here on our next trip to Stowe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good Times!

Review submitted: March 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

Our stay at the Falls was very relaxing and enjoyable. My kids fell in love with this cozy cabin and didn't want to ever leave! The loft bedroom was awesome! And the gas fireplace was wonderful to sit by during the evening after spending the day on the slopes. My wife loved the large kitchen, especially the dishwasher. We eat in due to food allergies so this kitchen was pretty much perfect except for the absence of a griddle and kettle. Plenty of room and the island was our favorite eating spot.
The cabin was clean and well maintained. It was wonderful to be able to bring our two dogs. The fenced in side yard was very convenient.
Stowe is only a couple of minutes away and it was less then a fifteen minute drive to Stowe Mountain. We walked to the Falls and were blown away by how beautiful it was.
We will definitely be back again! Thanks Randy and Cara :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

We booked this cabin for our party of 4 and our 2 dogs for a four day weekend. The only disappointment was that we didn't stay longer. Randy and Cara are great hosts. The house was clean and completely stocked with everything we needed; toilet paper, paper towels, detergents, bedding, pillows, bath towels, etc. Even extra dog food! Our two dogs seemed to love the fenced in yard, and to be able to romp in the snow. It was just far enough outside of town (5 minutes) to be able to enjoy the mountains and the scenery, yet close enough to be able to enjoy the things that the village has to offer. The kitchen was really big with a great island in the middle with bar stools. It made for a nice gathering spot. The family room had a large vaulted ceiling with the loft above. I would definitely recommend this home to others, and plan on going back, myself, in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

My wife, infant son and parents stayed here for 5 nights and despite the lackluster conditions on the slopes had a great time. Our dog enjoyed the fenced in yard off of the great room.

The proximity of the cabin to Stowe is fantastic, and the ability to easily jump on 100 to head to other resorts made it ideal. Each night we picked a new place to eat on Mountain Road and arrived within 10 minutes.

We had a few issues with our stay which were reported to the owner (hence the 4 stars), but none which negatively affected our stay.

I would have no problem recommending this to my friends or family, and will be seriously considering this property for future trips to Stowe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Spacious & Comfortable

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

This house was very comfortable for our family of 4 plus 2 dogs. The only reason I took off a star was the lack of a functional coffee maker and enough glassware (both items were reported to the owners so are probably remedied). The dogs enjoyed the fenced in yard and morning walks to the falls. We went mountain biking right from the house as well as at Trapps. Running along the road was peaceful and scenic. Hiking to the top of Mansfield and along the ridge was exhilarating as was swimming at the Warren Falls swimming hole. We had plenty of space for our 2 large teen age boys to spread out. We made meals inside and outside on the grill, watched movies, sat around the burn pit, and even did some star gazing off the deck. The boys were happy to have good cell reception and wireless internet. We experienced one stormy day but were rewarded with a gorgeous double rainbow. Thank you for a memorable vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback! A regular coffee maker has been added as well as more drinking glasses and wine glasses. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely escape from the heat and humidity in the South

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

My husband and I and our two huskies stayed at this cabin for an entire month to escape the heat and humidity in the south.

The cabin is well suited for bringing your canine family members along. There is a good-sized fenced yard directly off of the back door and a minimum of carpeting. There was plenty of space even though we didn’t use the loft bedroom. There was even enough space for us to set up our two large dog crates – we brought our own, but there are two large crates and a dog bed supplied, a very nice touch. We were pleasantly surprised to find it well stocked with cleaning supplies and paper products and plenty of towels. A bonus for us was a bunch of brochures about local attractions and dependable WIFI (this was a working vacation). It is conveniently located with a short drive to downtown Stowe and a little further to the ski areas.

We enjoyed walks along the road, to Moss Glen Falls and on Stowe’s popular Recreational Path. Festivals and farmers’ markets are in abundance in the summer and we took advantage of many of them. We also took road trips to visit the Shelburne Museum and explore Burlington – a very dog friendly town.

Caveats: A couple of things should be noted. The loft bedroom is reached by a very narrow circular staircase that makes accessibility challenging. The owners have not had the cabin very long and it is a work in progress with a lot of rough edges. Having said that, the owners were very responsive to our requests for additional cookware and even provided us with a new propane grill. They have plans to keep renovating and adding improvements.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We loved having your and your sled dogs! Hope to see you again next year so you can see how we are progressing on our renovations.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Time had by all!

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

We loved your cabin and it was a perfect getaway for our ski vacation. The house had everything we needed and we were impressed when it was stocked with laundry detergent, toliet paper, fabric softner, etc. The area was beautiful and we had a great time skiing at Stowe. I would recommend this vacation cabin to anyone going to Stowe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: we are delighted to hear you had a great time! We hope to see you again next season!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

Hi Cara, we are packing our stuff up today and heading out after a wonderful time at your place. We enjoyed your place very much and can't wait to stay here next year. There will be a nice review online.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

Wanted to say Thank you so much for letting us stay at your place! We had a fabulous time. The place was amazing! We would def. like to come back again soon... maybe towards the end of March! We'll be in touch next month i'm sure to come back again. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

We had a wonderful time and your house is nifty! Oscar [our first kitty renter] really enjoyed the trip

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

We had a lovely week in your chalet so thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Utter Disappointment

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

I was extremely excited to go to this beautiful looking home for a Christmas vacation with my family. Little did I know that this was going to be a horrible trip. The house was clearly not cleaned. We had to clean all of the bedding, dishware and towels in the house ourselves. There was old food everywhere, in the refrigerator, the cabinets, and the freezer. The toilet was broken already before we even stepped foot in the door and we were forced to repair it ourselves. If this wasn't enough the house was mouse ridden. We found mouse poop in some of the food we brought that was on the counters and were visited by them multiple times while in the bathroom. The house was so bad that we didn't even stay our entire trip nor were we compensated for any of these inconveniences. Long story short, don't go here.

Owners response: We had lived in this house as our home for over 2 months while we finished several renovations including installation of a $10K central heating and tankless hotwater system. We left only 3 days before the arrival of our First Guests and were very familiar with the state of the home at the time they were renting.

We were disappointed to see this review from our very first renter who arrived on Christmas Eve. We assured them that the house had been Cleaned, all dishes were Washed in the $700 stainless steel Dishwasher, and the bedding and linens were all Brand New. Still, in order to address their concerns we made Multiple Phone Calls to cleaning companies in the Stowe area, but could not find someone to clean on Christmas Eve/Christmas.

Since we had just left the property a few days before, we did leave a few food staples, most of which were Unopened, that we thought our guests might find useful. We did not want to be wasteful and thought guests might appreciate sampling Pure VT Maple Syrup for example.

The toilet handle was slightly loose, but was Fully Functional when we left. Following the concern rasied by this renter, we called our Plumber's Emergency Number to have them go out to replace the toilet handle on Christmas Eve/Christmas, however the plumber didn't consider that an emergency. The flush handle has since been replaced with the $65 Kholer specific flush handle (that is the exact part for the specific $400 Kholer toilet that is present in the home). The flush handle had been on Back Order at the time we left the property in late December.

When we first moved to this Country location, we plugged in a few ultrasonic units to ensure no critters tried to make a home in our new space. Those small units successfully prevented any critters in our home and we have never found any excrement or evidence that anything was getting into our food. To be overly cautious, we had an exterminator also come out to treat the property recently and had our cleaning person ensure that all of the ultrasonic units were still plugged in.

We have also followed up with our subsequent renters and have had only extremely positive feedback from all of them on the home.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review