reviews for: listing #9577 - Southold, New York House rental

Luxury Wine Country Beach House for less than a Hotel Room
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Southold Shores
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $228 - $350 /nt
    $1,600 - $2,400 /wk

sort by:

A PERFECT escape!

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

As usual, the getaway to this rental was superb! It is like home away from home for us now. The homeowner has become a dear friend. The beds are super comfy, the house is always immaculate & welcoming... The private beach is nice & quiet... Many things to do nearby - great shops, restaurants, farms, playgrounds & parks! There was brand new furniture on the deck and it was so nice to curl up with a good book & just relax the day away! It's nice and QUIET. And we saw a lot of deer right on the property last time!! So cute!! We will be back ASAP!! Can't wait!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We know that you have many choices in rental homes and we thank you so much for your continued patronage. Katie has has grown so much over the last year she is no longer a baby but a little princess. I really enjoy your emails, keep them coming!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

girls weekend 2014

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

Myself and six friends spent two nights at the house. It is a lovely home, very clean, and with lots of amenities. There isn't much of a water view, but a short walk to a small beach allows you to see the bay. Pam was easy to contact and helpful when planning our getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: I always love hearing about how clean the house is and about the many amenities it has. Many other previous guests have commented on the wonderful water views such as Christine and Joe who left this review recently.
"The house has great water views which we enjoyed on day 1 sipping the wine Pam had left for us. The house is charming, warm and cozy with every amenity you need for a great vacation getaway. Comfy beds, linens, great shower plus everything the weekend chef needs in the kitchen."
Or these comments from Dover NH guest...
"All the comforts of home! Absolutely nothing is missing. We loved the fireplace and enjoyed sitting by the fire sipping on wine. What a great way for four friend to relax for the weekend. Beautiful walks to the beach and what a wonderful huge deck with views!! We shall plan on many return visits."
Suzie & Lynn Susan & Jane

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great rental for price - better than a hotel. Warm, cozy - great location! Great Weekend!

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We were greeted by our lovely hostess Pam who had already ensured the house was toasty warm. The temp was in the teens for our January weekend arrival. The house has great water views which we enjoyed on day 1 sipping the wine Pam had left for us. The house is charming, warm and cozy with every amenity you need for a great vacation getaway. Comfy beds, linens, great shower plus everything the weekend chef needs in the kitchen. We didn't want to leave at the end of our weekend. A sure sign that the house is a great choice. We look forward to coming back, seeing Pam and enjoying more time on the Northfork.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was such a pleasure meeting you and Joe. Thanks for the great review. I hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just Perfect!

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

Pam was so easy to deal with and the house is immaculate considering pets are allowed. She was so accommodating and even left a perfect sized dog bed for our pup. The house is in a great location, even for the colder weather. Very fair and reasonable rental terms. Great first experience with VRBO!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking your time to write an excellent review. Im so happy your first experience was a good one. I would love to have you back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Place for a Family Get-to-gether

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

My family had a very nice stay at your house. It was well equipped (a nice big pot for cooking lobster) and very comfortable. The common area(s) was great for the family to sing and have a good time. Very close to the charming town of Southold. The spacious deck was also nice with a very functional gas grill. Kyaking on the bay was fun, as well as wine tasting at the area's vineyards. The drive from and to JFK was not bad at all. We thought we would hit terrible traffic on Memorial Day, but we didn't have a problem.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Owners response: I'm so happy you had a smooth trip back on Memorial Day! Thank you for your positive comments, we try hard to make this house as comfortable as can be and well equipped with everything you would have in your own home. Please think of us for your next trip out East.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Outstanding accommodations!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

This home was furnished beyond our expectations. The kitchen was lacking nothing for our complicated home-cooked meals, and there were plenty of beach towels, chairs, toys, and even bicycles and helmets! Our favorite activities were sitting on the front deck and relaxing on the front lawn at the end of the day. The location is great: a fish market within walking distance, grocery and restaurants are very close. Pam was helpful throughout the process in answering our questions and providing brochures of local restaurants, wineries, and sightseeing opportunities. My only complaint: the week was not long enough!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review. Please book two weeks next season! I would love to have you back. Thank you for taking such good care of my home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Like Having Your Own Home on the Beach

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

Arriving here was like returning to your own second home at the beach. The house has everything a family or couple(s) needs from linens and loads of comfy white bath towels to beach towels, chairs and umbrellas. The kitchen is fully loaded with cooking paraphernalia so it's easy to make meals, plus it's located a block or so away from a cute little beach, great restaurants, and the Southold Fish market, where we got the most delicious lobsters.
There's plenty of room to spread out in this house with a large living room, kitchen/dining area and den. Eat in on a big family dining table or outside on the big deck. Plenty of outdoor furniture and grill, too.

The house was glistening with cleanliness when we got there. The master bedroom was so comfy with its own bath and an updated walk-in shower with great water pressure - which is often a concern at the beach. The second bathroom was also perfect with a big tub/shower, also in sparkling condition. The owner has thought of everything with cable TV in the bedrooms and den, Netflix, CD player in the living room. Even a washer/dryer and, of course, a dishwasher. We never said, "we wish the house had this or that" because it had just about everything.

The location is convenient to drive to the cute towns of Southhold and Greenport and walking down to the Bay and the boats was an added bonus. The photos don't do it justice. It's even better when you get there. We plan to return next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for taking such good care of our home, we would love to have you back any time! Thanks for the rave review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

The house was well equipped, beds and furniture very comfortable, and location was lovely as well as convenient.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Owners response: thanks for the wonderful review. I'm so happy you and your family had a great time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our April Vacation

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

Three adults stayed at Pam's place for a week in April. Her home was very spacious, clean and really had everything we needed plus more. Pam was very friendly and helpful. She even left a local bottle of wine for us to enjoy. (A very nice touch!)The beds were truly amazing....definitely Hotel quality! TV's in every room! Her home is located a short drive from Orient Point and not far off the main road but it is tucked away in a very, very quiet little neighborhood. As I said there were only 3 of us, but there is plenty of room for more people. We all enjoyed our stay and hope to return some time in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mary, thanks so much for taking your time to write such a nice review. It is important for us to have as many great reviews as possible it helps other people decide to rent our beach house. I hope to see you again in the future

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice stay.

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

The owner was very responsive over email and phone. When we arrived she was there to meet us to give us a quick tour. The house is best for responsible, thoughtful guests. There were a lot of details, info and rules to absorb. Makes sense as the owner has been renting out the house for years and it is still lovely and in great shape. The place was very comfortable with many unexpected luxuries and conveniences. The location is close to the main road, right across the street from the water and a very quick drive into Greenport. Because our stay was so short (2 nights) we liked the option of cleaning up after ourselves to avoid much of the cleaning fee. We will keep this place in mind when we come back to attend a family wedding next spring.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

North Fork Winery Getaway

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

This was the perfect house for a 3 day getaway to the North Fork. It had plenty of comfortable living space, very well equipped kitchen and updated baths. The listing description was very accurate and the property is very well maintained. The owner was also very helpful while we were making the arrangements as well as ensuring that the house had everything that we needed. The North Fork was a great destination - beautiful beaches, quaint waterfront towns, a wide variety of wineries - and this house was the perfect spot to stay while enjoying it all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental on the North Fork

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

Growing up in Southold, I was excited to bring my family back for a vacation. Couldn't have picked a better location. Easy access to private beach, water view from the deck, lots of great amenities. So many positives to mention. Owners are very responsive to questions and needs. I looked at a lot of properties and felt that this home had the best value. When vacationing in Southold, you have to be by the water. My wife was very impressed with the interior amenities. Great sleeping arrangements and comfort in all rooms. Family room was very comfortable with leather furniture and cable TV. Kids loved the wifi. Even our lab retriever had a good time! Already looking forward to another visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Barry. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. I so happy that you were able to show them your old stomping grounds!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another wonderful stay at your lovely house!!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

We have been renting this warm and cozy house during different seasons for 6 years now! We love the North Fork of Long Island, which is why we return so often! The house has ANYTHING and EVERYTHING you may need! Enjoy a short walk down the street to the private beach, curl up with a good book or take a lazy nap in the hammock in the yard, do some shopping at some quaint country shops, take a ride to the aquarium in Riverhead, visit the local wineries, a short drive takes you to the village of Greenport with an old fashioned carousel and great places to eat...the peace and quiet of the east end is delightful! Relax on the large deck and watch the sailboats on the bay. Then stop for some local veggies and fruits, the fresh fish market is a 5 minute drive away...and a delicious bbq every night!!! If a rainy day should happen, there are flat tv sets in every bedroom. Tons of books, dvds and games, internet access... The beds are so comfy with luxury linens. The central air conditioning is a must for us and it does not disappoint!! Pam always leaves us with fresh veggies, a nice bottle of wine or even toys for our kids (and bones for our dogs!)!! We recommend a restaurant, Elbow East, just a short drive away. The ambiance is rustic but the food is GREAT!! We will be back soon!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect Girls Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

My girlfriends and I rented this house the weekend of June 15th for a relaxing girls weekend. The house was beautiful, comfortably slept 7 and had all the amenities to make it feel like a home away from home (the iPod player and Netflix equipped tv room were a great plus). The house is within walking distance of a cute private beach and only a few short miles from the wineries and the charming town of Greenport. My favorite parts of the house were the large deck, the comfy couches and the hammock in the front yard. I would rent again and recommend this house to other renters looking for a relaxing weekend getaway.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heavenly Vacation!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2011

The location is primo, the house is beautiful/immaculate, and the hospitality of the owner(s) cannot be beat. This will be among your greatest vacation getaways, you can be sure. Don't forget to hit the farmstands and cook at home--you won't believe how much better truly fresh food tastes.

Thanks for a great, restful, totally enjoyable vacation, Pam!

Warm regards,
E

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Elaine, it was such a pleasure meeting you and Celeste. I look forward to your next visit. Happy New Year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for family reunion

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

I had family visiting from Colorado, Illinois, and Texas. 8 adults total.
This house was perfect!
Very spacious and comfortable for both sleeping and relaxing. The large kitchen had everything we needed for preparing meals and snacks. The bedrooms were all comfortable with nice details. The owner provided an air mattress for extra sleeping space, but we didn't use it because both couches provided luxurious sleeping quarters!
The listing description was accurate as far as it went, but words or even pictures could not do justice to the quality of this house. Besides being large and comfortable, the house is immaculate and contains so many little extras that only seeing it can give you an idea of what you're getting.
The owner has an eye for nice furnishings and a talent for displaying them.
We were there a week and never ran out of things to do. We spent one day visiting winerys and another taking the ferry across to Sag Harbor and out to the Mauntauk lighthouse.
We don't watch a lot of TV, but we did take advantage of the free Netflix to watch a couple of movies on the big TV in the den.
We are already thinking of doing this again. I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway for 4 to 8 people. The price for a week was less than I would have paid for places not nearly as nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your time in writing this great review. It really helps us when potential tenants read about our beach house from someone who stayed recently. Jon, I look forward to your next visit. You are the best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Malia and Adam, NYC

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

After 2 stays here last year, my family and I are looking forward to our 3rd stay at this wonderful home this Summer. We have rented other places in the Northfork and the reason we come back to this one is it is so comfortable throughout. The owners take great care of the property and provide wonderful amenities. We love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Malia, you and Adam are going to love the upgrades since your last visit. We put in all new Andersen windows and sliding glass door. We also went from mini blinds to room darkening drapes in the bedrooms and light filtering drapes else where. We also wall mounted the large flat screen in the family room and added netflixs. We replaced all the bedroom tvs with flat screens too. Can't wait to see you again this summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Phylis H.

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

I would rent this place again in the heartbeat. The owner provided everything we needed and we had all the comforts of home. It was scenic, spacious, and a wonderful place for the Mother of the Bride to receive family and friends throughout the week. The pictures do not do it justice. We had a wonderful time and the owner went above and beyond expectations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Phylis, it was such a pleasure meeing you. You are a real dynamo and a heck of a pastry chef. I'll be your first and faithful customer if you would please open a bakery in my neighborhood. Thank you for your positive comments. I try my best to provide a home away from home with all the comforts of a first class hotel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We just love, love your house

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

Thanksgiving in your home last year was a most memorable experience. Your beautiful house with all of the interesting decor and cozy fireplace made for a truly warm homey holiday. The walks to the beach and throughout this quiet community made the rest of the week truly enjoyable and unforgetable. Our experience here just keeps getting better and better. We just love, love your house as well as this enchanting community. Our little chihuahua had the time of her life here and as all of us she will miss being here. We hope to come back soon. In the meantime our memories will entertain us. Thank you for everything.
Catonzaro
Brooklyn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We highly recommend this rental

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

The most relaxing two week vacation we ever had. The house is so comfortable, you feel like your at home. The gracious home owner greeted us with a basket of fresh vegetables and fruits from the local farm stand. The house was neat as a pin and well maintained. The beds are very comforable and made up with high end linens. There was no expense spared. The house is on a private corner lot backed up to woods. You have wonderful water views from the hugh deck which is perfect for entertaining with gas BBQ's, table set that seats six and a wicker set that seats an additional five persons. We highly recommend this rental and have booked two weeks for next year.
Pat Becker, Louisville, Colorado

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was spotlessly clean

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2009

Our visit at Southold could not have been nicer. After much searching on the internet for a vacation rental, I was happy to find that I made a great choice. The location on Blue Marlin Drive was central to all the hamlets on the North Fork. We flew into Islip, caught a coach to Riverhead and rented a car so we had only a 20 minute drive to Southold. This was important to me for I do not like to drive in heavy traffic in a strange place. Easily found the house. Pam Smith had a big basket of beautiful, fresh vegetables for us. The house was spotlessly clean, beds very comfortable, a well equipped kitchen and two sitting areas for reading, watching TV, etc. She has a large selection of books and games for entertainment. Porch was wonderful for cooking out; a delightful, peaceful, comfortable place to vacation.
Gloria Mitchell, Mississippi

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All the comforts of home

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

Pam,
All the comforts of home! Absolutely nothing is missing. We loved the fireplace and enjoyed sitting by the fire sipping on wine. What a great way for four friend to relax for the weekend. Beautiful walks to the beach and what a wonderful huge deck with views!! We shall plan on many return visits.
Suzie & Lynn Susan & Jane
Dover, NH & Wausau, WI

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was my second time back

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

I had a wonderful time. This was my second time back, you thought of everything to have here that a person would need. As usual it was very relaxing. My children and grandchildren loved it here as well. Im looking forward to more vacations with my family in this beautiful area.
Parahus
Massapequa, NY

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Berrios family had a great time

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

The Berrios family had a great time in your home. The beds were very comfortable. The beack was real pretty. We collected every shell on the beach to bring back upstate. You thought of everything. Great hostess. Were sad to leave this beautiful place. Thank you again!
M.Berrios
Up state NY

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Extraordinary vacation

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2009

Dear Pam,
The Nguyen family enjoued our visit in Southold. The house was marvelous, which made this vacation extraordinary! We would like to thank you for your generosity. The fruits and vegatables were delicious. Since our first arrival here we knew rightfrom the start that this would be a great home. We would like to thank you for making our vacation an unforgettable memory.
The Nguyen Family
New York, NY

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second visit to Pam's Beach Huse

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

This is the second time that I stayed at this residence
and it was even better than the first time. The house
is kept immaculate. It is quite and a very restful stay.
I would recommend this property to anyone & I definitely would
book another vacation here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect weekend get away!

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

The house was beautiful and the fireplace was nice and warm (we had cold weather)there were 6 adults and we all your comfortble in our beds the kitchen was perfect for cooking. Great home away from home
Pam, Leesburg VA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our North Fork Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2009

When we return this week we will have enjoyed a total 7 weeks of great vacation time since we met in May 2007.

Thank you Pam for welcoming us into your home as if we have been friends for many years. We now feel that you are a part of our family.

Catanzaro Family
Charles J Catanzaro, Brooklyn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Home Away from Home

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

As usual, the getaway to this rental was superb! It is like home away from home for us now. The beds are super comfy, the house is always immaculate & welcoming... The private beach is nice & quiet... Many things to do nearby - great shops, restaurants, farms, playgrounds & parks! There was brand new furniture on the deck and it was so nice to curl up with a good book & just relax the day away! It's nice and QUIET. And we saw a lot of deer right on the property last time!! So cute!! We will be back ASAP!! Can't wait!!!
Karen & Michael, Bellmore, NY

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 21, 2009   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

The house was beautiful and the fireplace was nice and warm (we had cold weather)there were 6 adults and we all your comfortble in our beds the kitchen was perfect for cooking. Great home away from home

Owners response: Sorry we had such lousy weather all weekend! I glad you were able to enjoy the fireplace. I hope you found a good DVD or two in the video collection to keep you occupied during the storms.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

As usual, the getaway to this rental was superb! It is like home away from home for us now. The beds are super comfy, the house is always immaculate & welcoming... The private beach is nice & quiet... Many things to do nearby - great shops, restaurants, farms, playgrounds & parks! There was brand new furniture on the deck and it was so nice to curl up with a good book & just relax the day away! It's nice and QUIET. And we saw a lot of deer right on the property last time!! So cute!! We will be back ASAP!! Can't wait!!!

Owners response: I am so happy that you choose to spend your birthday out East this year with the gang, Michael, Katie, Scruffy and Moose!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 30, 2009   Date of arrival: September 30, 2009

When we return this week we will have enjoyed a total 7 weeks of great vacation time since we met in May 2007.

Thank you Pam for welcoming us into your home as if we have been friends for many years. We now feel that you are a part of our family.

Catanzaro Family

Owners response: Charlie, I feel the same too. You guys are the best. I can't thank you enough for all the goodies you bring me from the Brooklyn bakery! I look forward to your next visit in a couple of days. See you soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 17, 2009   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

this is the second time that I stayed at this residence
and it was even better than the first time. The house
is kept immaculate 7 it is quite and a very restful stay.
I would recommend this to anyone & I definitely would
book another vacation here.

Owners response: Thank you for your kind remarks. We are updating the master bath shower this winter. Next time you come the five foot shower area will be tiled, new glass doors and a new shower body and head will be added for your bathing pleasure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 2, 2009   Date of arrival: September 2, 2009

Dear Pam,
The Nguyen family enjoued our visit in Southold. The house was marvelous, which made this vacation extraordinary! We would like to thank you for your generosity. The fruits and vegatables were delicious. Since our first arrival here we knew rightfrom the start that this would be a great home. We would like to thank you for making our vacation an unforgettable memory.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

The Berrios family had a great time in your home. The beds were very comfortable. The beack was real pretty. We collected every shell on the beach to bring back upstate. You thought of everything. Great hostess. Were sad to leave this beautiful place. Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

I had a wonderful time. This was my second time back, you thought of everything to have here that a person would need. As usual it was very relaxing. My children and grandchildren loved it here as well. Im looking forward to more vacations with my family in this beautiful area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We had a wonderful time this week. The house and the beach was great. My family came up for a night and we had a great time. We're looking forward to coming back again. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 2, 2009   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

Our experience here just keeps getting better and better. We just love, love your house as well as this enchanting community. Our little chihuahua had the time of her life here and as all of us she will miss being here. We hope to come back soon. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 30, 2008   Date of arrival: November 30, 2008

Thanksgiving in your home was a most memorable experience. Your beautiful house with all of the intresting decor and cozy fireplace made for a truly warm homey holiday. The walks to the beach and throughout this quiet community made the rest of the week truly enjoyable and unforgetable. We will miss being here amd cannot wait to come back. In the meantime our memories will entertain us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 2, 2008   Date of arrival: November 2, 2008

Pam,
All the comforts of home! Absolutely nothing is missing. We loved the fireplace and enjoyed sitting by the fire sipping on wine. What a great way for four friend to relax for the weekend. Beautiful walks to the beach and what a wonderful huge deck with views!! We shall plan on many return visits.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 13, 2008

WE had a wonderful stay. The house was spotless and in a lovely area. We enjoyed visiting the vineyards with picnic lunches- watching the sunset and taking the ferry over to the Hampton's We hope top be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 28, 2008   Date of arrival: September 28, 2008

Pam,
Once again we had a great weekend despit the rain. We will be back again next fall.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 5, 2008   Date of arrival: September 5, 2008

Pam,
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home. We felt very much at home and each day we noticed something special about the decor. Everything, especially the basket of fruit and veggies, reflected your hosptiality. Wantagh will never seem the same!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Home!

Review submitted: August 28, 2008   Date of arrival: November 16, 2007

We have rented this beautiful home a few times and we plan to keep on going back! The house is super clean and decorated beautifully! The yard is big enough for a group to play lawn games. There is a hammock for a nice, long, cozy nap. It's really very quiet and we absolutely love going out there. In addition, Pam, the owner of the home, is a warm and welcoming woman. You really couldn't ask for a better rental!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 13, 2008   Date of arrival: June 13, 2008

Dear Pam,
Our family had a wonderful vacation in Southold. Thank you for your hospitality. The basket of fruit and veggies were appreciated on our arrival. The house could not have been any better-all your little personal touches made us feel right at home. We thoughly enjoyed the peaceful evenings on the porch, the BBQ's we had, and the private beach was awesome!! We took the kids to Broadway to see "grease" A real good memory for all. We will definitely be in touch to stay at your home again. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

excellent getaway

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We stayed at this house over the thanksgiving weekend for three days and it was a perfect experience. The house is amazing, it's very large, extremely clean and the owner has made every effort to make you comfortable. It has all appliances and everything you need so no need to take anything with you other than yourself! ours was a fall rental and it was really cold outside yet the house was perfectly heated -w/central heating you can manage yourself plus two fireplaces. It's very close to the ocean and also in the middle of a cozy, tree-lined area to take lovely walks in the afternoon.
My friends and I had a great experience. I wholeheartedly recommend this rental house for everyone. You won't regret it.

As far as sightseeing goes, in long island, you need a car to get around. There are supermarkets, convenience stores at a very short distance plus a very cute town center however you'll need a car to get around.. but you can also choose to bike - and three bikes are stored in the garden depot. The location is great for a weekend getaway, cosy, quiet and secure - yet at the same time close to the town. So it's the perfect location for a weekend getaway and a good spot to rest after a day of sightseeing around long island.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We know you have many rental choices and we are grateful you chose ours. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable home and use high end luxury beds and linens so you get a restful sleep. Please keep us in mind for you next visit to the Island.

Kind Regards,
Pam

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 11, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Our visit at Southold could not have been nicer. After much searching on the internet for a vacation rental, I was happy to find that I made a great choice. The location on Blue Marlin Drive was central to all the hamlets on the North Fork. We flew into Islip, caught a coach to Riverhead and rented a car so we had only a 20 minute drive to Southold. This was important to me for I do not like to drive in heavy traffic in a strange place. Easily found the house. Pam Smith had a big basket of beautiful, fresh vegetables for us. The house was spotlessly clean, beds very comfortable, a well equipped kitchen and two sitting areas for reading, watching TV, etc. She has a large selection of books and games for entertainment. Porch was wonderful for cooking out; a delightful, peaceful, comfortable place to vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 26, 2007   Date of arrival: October 26, 2007

ENRTY FROM GUEST BOOK:
Dear pam,
This has been a wonderful vacation for me and the Halten family. The house is so comfortable and perfect for us. The fresh vegetables were a real treat. The weather was perfect. The area has charm and many sites of historical interest. We shall always remember this week in Southold. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Gloria Mitchell
Karl Halten
Clyde & Marlyn Halten.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 29, 2007   Date of arrival: September 29, 2007

ENTRY FROM OUR GUEST BOOK: The Krementa's and the Wheeler's from Maryland and Virginia want to thank you for a truly wonderful holiday week away from home. Your house felt like our home. My husband and I celebrated our 50th Anniversary with a wonderful affair given by our children at Giorgo's in Baiting Hollow. The area and beach brought back many wonderful memories of when we lived on the North Fork 10 years ago. Much has changed, but it's still quiet and beautiful. Thank you,
Fondly,
Pauline & Lee Krementz. our children, Leon & Lorrie Krementz
Pauline & Bill Wheeler and our special granddaughter, Jessica Wheeler.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 25, 2007   Date of arrival: May 25, 2007

ENTRY FROM OUR GUEST BOOK:
Dear Pam
We have been coming to the Island for years and never quite found a home as beautiful as this one. Aside from all the amenities which you offer, the home is impecable. We felt so at home and relaxed. We really enjoyed the deck and peace and quiet. Thank you so much for making our vacation a very memorable one. We will definitey be back.

Michael, Karen, Katie Morea and Scruffy too
Biill & Marisa Neary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 24, 2007   Date of arrival: May 24, 2007

ENTRY FROM OUR GUEST BOOK: We have been vacationing on the North Fork for more than 30 years and we consider this week the best of all times. Looking forward to returning as often as our schedule and yours will allow. Thank you Pam for welcoming us into your home as if we have been friends for many years.

Rigina, Charles & Carl Catanzoro

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 1, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

ENTRY FROM OUR GUESTBOOK: The Janssens visiting family from the netherlands. The weather was marvelous and the sky just perfect! It's only May and we had a BBQ twice already! Pam. you were a great host and we will consider returning next year. We'll keep in touch.

Cheers,
The Janssens

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 15, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

The most relaxing two week vacation we ever had. The house is so comfortable, you feel like your at home. The gracious home owner greeted us with a basket of fresh vegetables and fruits from the local farm stand. The house was neat as a pin and well maintained. The beds are very comforable and made up with high end linens. There was no expense spared. The house is on a private corner lot backed up to woods. You have wonderful water views from the hugh deck which is perfect for entertaining with gas BBQ's, table set that seats six and a wicker set that seats an additional five persons. We highly recommend this rental and have booked two weeks for next year.

Owners response: I am looking forward to your next visit!Late May thru June is the best time for fishing. You bring the bait and I take you out on the boat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 14, 2007   Date of arrival: February 14, 2007

FROM OUR GUEST BOOK: If you are looking for that peaceful, comfortable vacation rental with a great location, then this house on Blue Marlin Drive is just the ticket. Sitting on a corner lot, bordered on one side by woods, and surrounded by a lovely yard, it’s a great spot to relax on the deck or the hammock and listen to the bay just across the street. The house was spotlessly clean and roomy with extremely comfortable beds. A large bowl of local fruits and vegetables greeted us upon arrival – a great touch! The appliances are all top notch with a washer and dryer in the laundry room. This room also contains a slop sink where you can wash off your catch after a day of fishing. Minutes from the villages of Southold and Greenport, a short bike ride to Orient, a ten minute drive to some great LI Sound beaches, and a short walk to the community beach, this is a delightful place to spend time. We were here for two weeks and loved the ability to pick up fresh produce at the local farm stands and great wines from a huge choice of vineyards. If you want to eat out, there are choices galore in Greenport, Southold and Mattituck. We loved The Frisky Oyster in Greenport Village. Add to this mix a gracious owner, and . . . hey . . . what more could you want?

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Most relaxing vacation ever.

Review submitted: February 14, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

The most relaxing two week vacation we ever had. The house is so comfortable, you feel like your at home. The gracious home owner greeted us with a basket of fresh vegetables and fruits from the local farm stand. The house was neat as a pin and well maintained. The beds are very comforable and made up with high end linens. There was no expense spared. The house is on a private corner lot backed up to woods. You have wonderful water views from the hugh deck which is perfect for entertaining with gas BBQ's, table set that seats six and a wicker set that seats an additional five persons. We highly recommend this rental and have booked two weeks for next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Home

Review submitted: February 14, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

I want to tell you that we really enjoyed Southhold. We usually go to the Hampton's & Montauk but we are now hooked on the North Shore. You have a lovely house and it was decorated excellent taste.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review