reviews for: listing #95802 - Pinehurst, North Carolina House rental

Cardinal House in Historic District
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $400 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,400 /wk
    $3,000 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Awesome guys golf trip home!

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

Our group of 8 guys has stayed at the Cardinal House two years in a row and loved it. Each person gets a bed, there is hot tub to relax in at the end of the day and the house has plenty of space to lounge around in. One of the best things about the Cardinal House is its close location to downtown Pinehurst and Maxi's bar. The owner is awesome to work with and very accommodating. We will be booking this house again in Oct 2014!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks guys! See you in October! ~ Susan and Dave

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

We stayed here with eight golfers and the accomodations were very good. We used the hot tub nightly and everything was well maintained, The owner stopped by and let us know how to contact her if we needed anything. The pool table was a bit small and located in the garage that was re-done into a rec. room and we ended up not using it. The neighborhood was very quiet and everything was very acssesable from this location. My only suggestion for improvement would be to upgrade the main TV.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks! Renovations and upgrades planned for this winter. A large flat screen tv for the living room is included. We are also planning to make the garage/rec room more inviting. Thank you for the review! We are always willing to make your next stay even more enjoyable!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Golf Trip - Perfect Location

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

8 guys stayed here for a long golf weekend, and it was great. Everyone had plenty of room, there was plenty of space for hanging out inside and outside, a great deck and large yard, and we were within walking distance to the village . There are a lot of great restaurants in walking distance, including Maxie's Sports Bar, where the food was excellent for that type of place. The house is very clean, the back yard is immaculate, and the owners were very accommodating. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Weekend

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

The houses (Arundel House as well) were absolutely beautiful and well kept. Susan was extremely helpful and accomodating. The yards were absolutely perfect. We had our wedding ceremony (less than 30 people), reception, and had our guests stay in the two houses. It was a beautiful ceremony and the backyard was the best place we could of picked to have it. The houses are very home like and comforting. I would definitely recommend this house, the Arundel House, and Susan to anyone traveling that way.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

My golf group had such a wonderful time staying at the cardinal house. The layout of the house was perfect for entertaining my large golf group. Kitchen and accomodations were great and the outdoor space can't be beat. Would recommend to anyone for any sort of occasion.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A+ Vacation Rental

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

I highly recommend this rental house, perfect for golfers or visitors. Owner is a pleasure to work with, great communication.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for golf getaways!

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

12 guys stayed here for a long golf weekend, and it was perfect. Everyone had a bed to themselves, there was plenty of space for hanging out inside and outside, a great deck with a grill and a very large and clean hot tub, and we were within walking distance to the village and country club. There are a lot of great restaurants in walking distance, including Pinehurst Pizza, one of our new favorite places. The house is very clean, the grounds are in impeccable shape (2 of the nicest fig trees I have ever seen), and the owners were very accommodating. We couldn't have been happier with this property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Another perfect stay

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

Oh my, we had a great time again this year! "We" are a group of women who have known each other for about . .. . never mind. Enough to say that we go back many years - as far as 1st grade and earlier. There are 10 of us but to our great sorrow, 2 couldn't come and one came only for a few hours but it was so much fun! We love both houses that the owners have - we stayed in the cottage last year and Cardinal House was home this year. Beautifully equipped, such a gorgeous site - we loved eating on the deck, listening to the birds, throwing the ball for Max - everything was just wonderful. Even the sand wedge and golf balls got used for a little while (BTW that's a pretty good club!) Thanks y'all, we will see you again!

Owners response: You ladies are great! You'd have fun anywhere! Look forward to having you back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great golf trip to Pinehurst Area

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

The Cardinal house proved to be a great place for 4 golfers to stay - there's plenty of room for more if we would have had them though. We played several great golf courses and then put the hot tub and grill to good use! The house is very comfortable and everything was as stated online - thanks Susan for being so accomodating during the booking process.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Rental for a Group

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

Our group of 12 stayed at Cardinal House for the first time for our annual Pinehurst trip this year and we all agreed this is by far the best house we've seen. The owners couldn't be better and they have gone to great lengths to create an amazing place to stay.

Highly recommended.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks Bart, Glad you all had a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect spot for groups, walk to downtown!

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

We had a group of seven women stay at Cardinal House in February... the house is very clean, very comfortable and very convenient to everything we wanted to do. We walked to the spa, enjoyed a nice dinner out, and all had more than enough room to spread out and relax for the weekend. Had a great time shooting pool in the game room, sitting on the deck, and gathering in the big kitchen and living room. Owners are super-nice and very accommodating. Highly recommended for groups any time of year.

Owners response: Thanks Ladies! Hope you all come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Annual "girl" getaway weekend

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

What a treasure Cardinal House was for a group of 8 women on a weekend getaway who want to relax, eat, and shop! It had everything promised in the listing description. We especially liked the way the house is set up in terms of bedrooms, living area, and kitchen. It was perfect for our needs. The location was great for a visit to the Spa, shopping, and dining out. Working with the owners to reserve the House was an easy and pleasant experience. We loved looking out at the yard and visualizing how beautiful it will be in the spring since we were there in January. We have already made reservations for next year for our annual getaway; we can't wait to go back to Cardinal House! I would recommend it without hesitation to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Gretchen! We look forward to having you back again next year! The hot tub will be ready and waiting!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Garrett Family Gathering

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2009

Susan and David,
We thoroughly enjoyed the use of your home over the past several days! The accommodations were excellent and we "discovered" a fine sand wedge next to the tv in the living room! No Golf for us this week, but we had a great visit and loved the solitude. Thanks again for your hospitality! Please enjoy the blackberry Jam my sister, Cindy, canned this summer!
Sincerely Annie Garrett and family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Annie, We keep the sand wedge there for our guests to practice with in the sand trap in the back yard! And the jam was wonderful! We hope you all come back!
Happy Holidays! ~ Susan and Dave

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Strong Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

Susan and David,

Thank you very much for your part in making our 3-4 days in Pinehurst a wonderful family event. The house couldn't have been better suited for the 9 of us - terrific accommodations, with friendly, open, warm hosts. Four of us drove back to RI, getting away at 4:20 am Monday with smooth sailing all the way through. The others flew out of RDU and were here by 1 pm. I'm confident that all in the house was in order but with (3) 3- 6 yr olds surprises are never out of the question - please let us know if anything is amiss.

Four of us made the beach/lake/marina Sunday afternoon after golf which was just the ticket. An inconvenience in you're busy schedule I'm sure, but thanks again for that - it was worthwhile for us.

Enjoy the remainder of your summer and here's hoping a repeat comes into the cards,

Best Regards,

Norm

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cardinal House is a Winner

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Our 3-night stay at Cardinal House was wonderful. It is a beautiful property with a large and lovely backyard, including areas shaded by fig trees and a vegetable garden, Inside was very clean and comfortable, with a kitchen opening onto the living room, a sunny breakfast area, and comfortable beds. We were a group of 6 adults and the house provided plenty of space for us; it could easily accommodate 8 to 10. It is an easy walk to Pinehurst center. We enjoyed bike riding around town (we brought our own bikes), a visit to the Sandhills Horticultural Gardens, the 4th of July festivities in town, relaxing in the yard, and cooking dinner for my Dad's 90th birthday. Golfers will enjoy other things. We highly recommend this rental property for enjoying the Pinehurst area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks Pat! We're so glad you enjoyed your weekend! We hope you come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review