reviews for: listing #95834 - Winchester, Virginia House rental

Blue Hill
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $150 /nt
    $950 - $950 /wk
    $2,500 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Email Review

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

Hi Carla:

We enjoyed our stay at your beautiful home, and I'm happy to report that everything worked out smoothly. We had a lovely time. We had a wonderful beginning to summer thanks to Blue Hill.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful home.We thoroughly enjoyed our trips to the different areas and are looking forward to another visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review & Email Review

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

Thank you enjoyed the stay.
Your house is very nice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing your house with our family.the bedroom setup was perfect and the hot tub was very relaxing after a very busy day in D.C.
Even though the drive was long it was nice to come to this house of peace and quiet after the harried pace of D.C. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Review

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

What great memories we made with our family here. The wedding was perfect as was the stay in this awesome house, the grandkids loved all the space to run and play. We felt so comfortable and relaxed --- lots of good talks & laughs on the front porch Thanks you!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Email Reveiw

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Carla,

Thank you for letting us stay in your home. We had a great time and enjoyed the area greatly. Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Email Reveiw

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Hi Carla,

We really enjoyed your home!!! It was more beautiful than I expected!! Dan and Ali are super sweet!
I wish we had more time in your area, the mountains are beautiful and there was a lot more we would have like to have done.
I will highly recommend your location to anyone I know traveling your way.

Thank you again for your hospitality!

All my best,
Connie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

Carla & family,
Thanks so much for the lovely weekend. Your home exceeded all of our expectations. I could have lived on the front porch alone. The house is exquisite, comfortable and interesting in each and every nook and cranny! Can't wait to return and explore the area further. Very peaceful and relaxing. Enjoyed wineries and trip to Winchester for dinner! Nice to unplug for a couple of days! Thanks again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Review

Review submitted: May 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Carla,

I can't begin to tell you how "at home" we have felt here at Blue Hill, and if Ames,Andy or Ruby could talk they would say the same thing.

Thank you for allowing us to share the experience. This is truly above all expectations that we had.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest book review

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

Dear Carla

Your house is beautiful! We really enjoyed our stay! We are looking forward to coming back in June.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest book review

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

Dear Carla

Your house is beautiful! We really enjoyed our stay! We are looking forward to coming back in June.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest book review

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

We have had such a peaceful stay. Your home extends hospitality in a very warm way. This is definitely a respite spot that makes you want to return. Thank you so very much for opening Blue Hill to visitors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Review

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We came to celebrate the anniversary of our wonderful parents. For 40 years they have been incredible role models of God's intent for marriage and commitment and have raised four amazing children. Now all married and some with kids of their own (and more on the way). We all chipped in to rent this house to be together for a long weekend with Mom & Dad. We throughly enjoyed the spacious house & accomodations and the beautiful scenary of the Shenandoah Valley The hot tub was relaxing & we had some fun times in the dining roomm & living room eating meals & playing games together. We appreciated all the little unique things of this house as well as the beautiful updates that have been made to it. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Email Review

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Hello Carla,

I am one of the friends who stayed with Carol and Peter. I know Carol shared our finds and pleasures of the Millwood area. I just wanted to reinforce all that by telling you how welcoming and comfortable the house is. I hope we will have another chance soon to sneak away to the area. I joined the Delaplane Cellars Wine Club. They assure me that there will be invitations to cooking classes and special tastings etc.; another good reason to escape to the area.

Thanks again for making it available to us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Email Reveiw

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

Our group had a great time at the house! Neat little town and very comfortable accommodations. The hot tub was a nice luxury in the evenings and we enjoyed the large dining room table for group meals.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Email Reveiw

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We had another AWESOME weekend at your lovely Blue Hill Home!! This time, we took our two miniature long-haired dachshunds (Kona and Hilo) and our friends brought their 2 mini schnauzers (Clara and Fritz). We had a lovely weather weekend and spent most of our time outdoors! We took many walks to the Locke store, spent time in the beautiful Millwood park, visiting the farm animals across the street and playing in the yard! So perfect for our little guys!! We also (without the little pups) visited 5 wineries and toured Middleburg. The house was perfectly perfect for our accommodations. We cooked incredible meals and ate in the gorgeous dining room. Such a treat to spend time there! Many thanks for opening your lovely estate up to us again. We will be back soon...if you will have us!!!

Many thanks for such a relaxing step back in time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

Carla and Family,

Your home in the country is so amazingly beautiful, peaceful and comfortable - our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt quite at home!
We truly appreciate all you did to get the TV up and going again, you're a fabulous hostess! May God bless your family in every way this year. We are very excited anticipating our stay in the coming holiday season when we Christmas in Millwood!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

Thank you so much for opening your home and allowing us to stay in this beautiful home. We loved all the space and wonderful accomodations. The Christmas decor was lovely! This is such a relaxing and peaceful place - perfect for our family! We will definatetly be back when in this area again. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book #2 Review

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful place for our family to spend time together.

Ashley - I like this place because my bedroom was big.
Connor - We liked farmer Dan.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Email Reviews

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Had a wonderful time - would like to book again for the dates of June xx, 20xx.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Reveiw

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us celebrate Thanksgiving in your home. This is an absolutely beautiful place to spend time with famly & we loved the home and town of Millwood. We will hopefully return and will recommend this place to others! Thanks again & happiest of holidays :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Email Reveiw

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 31, 2012

Carla,

We had a good time, the area is beautiful! Thank you for the restaurant referrals and the florist, they did a great job.

Thanks again for all your help!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Hi Carla,

We all appreciated being able to stay in your beautiful house. The week flew by. It was a very good week here for our family and everyone was so pleased with the house. Thanks so much for sharing it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fall get away

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

The home is quaint and charming, full of quirks for being an old home and lots of antiques and collectibles to view. The rooms are comfortable and we too missed not having any window coverings, expecailly during the thunder storm on our last night.

The owner responded to questions and concerns except for one that remained unresolved - we only wish we'd felt safer staying in a home without any working some detectors.

Owners response: I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your visit and I appreciate you letting me know that the red lights were not blinking on the smoke detectors. You emailed me about this on Oct 15 and within 24 hours the batteries on all the smoke detectors had been changed by our handyman. I also was not aware that you had left one day early, on Oct 19, due to safety concerns since the email stated that you had to leave for personal reasons. I hope you will come back to visit us in the future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

Hi Carla -

We had a wonderful time at Blue Hill; though we were all pretty busy, so there wasn't a lot of time to enjoy it as we would have liked! Everything was very inviting and made us feel right at home.

Thanks for your hospitality.

All the best,
Chad

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Blue Hill Home Away from Home!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate to stay at Blue Hill for the Summer enabling us to enjoy the amenities of not only the farm but the community as well. The house has the charm and comfort as you would expect of a vintage home, yet with modern conveniences.
Historic sites, shopping, restaurants, the Virginia State Arboretum are all close by providing more than enough activities if not just enjoying the sites and sounds of the farm itself.
Carla is a lovely hostess and definitely made us feel we were "at home" during our stay. Can't imagine it could have more comfortable nor enjoyable!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Blue Hill Home Away from Home!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate to stay at Blue Hill for the Summer enabling us to enjoy the amenities of not only the farm but the community as well. The house has the charm and comfort as you would expect of a vintage home, yet with modern conveniences.
Historic sites, shopping, restaurants, the Virginia State Arboretum are all close by providing more than enough activities if not just enjoying the sites and sounds of the farm itself.
Carla is a lovely hostess and definitely made us feel we were "at home" during our stay. Can't imagine it could have more comfortable nor enjoyable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

Carla
Your home is lovely and we all enjoyed vacationing here. The majority however questioned the lack of window coverings in their bedrooms. They were anxious to sleep in on their vacation and complained of the early morning sun. I really enjoyed the early morning sun. I really enjoyed the early morning check in and late in the day check out. It was a good place to reconnect with our busy adult children.
Thanks so much for allowing us to spend some time there. It was great.

*Note from Carla - We did not put up curtains due to the views but we are putting up curtains so guests can block out the sun and sleep in!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

Carla
We absolutely love your house! It's beautiful. We had an awesome week here. We hope to make your house a yearly vacation spot :) Thanks you so much for letting us stay in your home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

Carla

Another wonderful weekend @ Blue Hill. Thanks for having us back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Carla
Well it's been a hectic week! Your home was a great place to relax and unwind . We really enjoyed our stay.
The countryside and farms of the surrounding areas are truly beautiful.
We didn't have a chance to fish due to high water levels in the river, but otherwise the vacation was a special memory. Thanks again for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

Thank you Carla for sharing your house with us! Our son's wedding was held at a nearby winery and your house provided a great meeting place for all! Hope to enjoy your house at a later date!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Log Review

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Carla,
The house is beautiful! Our weekend was so relaxing & perfect. Definitely a great change of pace from busy DC life. We really enjoyed the wine festival in Winchester, only 10 minutes away. The house is decorated beautifully, as well. And we really enjoyed the hot tub. Can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home~~

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

Blue Hill exceeded our expectations! The House is grand in style and extremely spacious, well decorated, and very clean. The owner provided us with a new coffee maker when the original one started having problems. Very attentive! The fenced in yard for our pups was a definite bonus that allowed our dogs to go straight out of the house into the enclosed deck and yard! The area is quiet and relaxing with quaint places to visit. Although my husband and I were the only guests for 5 nights, it would be a wonderful place for family reunions, wedding receptions, or for a conference meeting place. For us, it was simply a great get-away with all the amenities of home!! I would recommend this historical home to anyone who wants to experience the quaintness of an older home, but has been upgraded to have the conveniences of a new home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

Dear Ms. Carla,
We're off to the Easter Egg hunt! My baby sister is so excited to see what awaits for her at the egg hunt. All she knows is she's so excited! We're going to check out the Giving Tree and my parents are going wine tasting, Yum! We will also find some hiking trails and have a trek for ourselves to wherever we travel today. We definitely have to take the dogs walking though, I'm not sure where. Well write to you later bye
PS my youngest sister says your house is pretty

Ok so the egg hunt was and carnival was fabulous!
There was a balloon shaper man, face painting,popcorn,cotton candy,BBQ, hay rides,carriage rides,a pet farm, golden eggs in the hunt and of course the Easter Egg Hunt.
4/8/12
So today we took the dogs on a nice walk first thing in the morning. Then we drove to Historic Winchester and ate at the Winchester Thai Restaurant there. After k
Lunch we walked around a little moreband went back home. Blue Hill that is :)
after my parents took a short nap we went for a walk around the state arboretum and we had a BLAST! It's too bad that we need to leave tomorrow, but we will try and come back to Blue Hill in the future. Thank you for letting us stay here!
Lauren

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

Thanks for sharing your home with us. Our son's wedding was held at a nearby vineyard and your house provided a great meeting place for all!
Hope to enjoy your house at a later date.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Email Review

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Good Morning Carla!

We really enjoyed staying at your home! The place was everything and more than we thought it was. We went to a few wineries, dinosaur land, a park for a great walk, grilled out, had a relaxing time in the hot tub, etc....
We were actually thinking we'd like to set up another visit in the future. Somewhat like a small family reunion - of 8 adults.

Again, we had a fabulous time, and will probably be back! Thanks so much for the experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Email Review

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 24, 2012

Your house is wonderful! We had an amazing time, and the environment could not have been better for what we needed. It was a perfect way to get out from the office and be able to relax and work – and Millwood is an adorable little town. The hot tub was a great amenity, and the house itself was beautiful. I will certainly be coming back sometime soon.

Thanks again, and hope you have a great weekend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Email Review

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

Carla,

We are enjoying our stay beyond every expectation! We've all decided we would live here if only we could! Our schedule is about right for tomorrow...although we may be leaving a tad later than what I had originally thought. I think we'll be packing up & be out by mid-morning or so. I do need to mention that the sink in the "green bedroom" bath, the one off the upstairs office, is not draining. Other than that, everything has been perfect. I am doing my best to plan a return trip with some friends in a couple months & will be contacting you later about that.

Thank you so much for your lovely home & your attention to every detail to ensure a fabulous visit!
Jamie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Hi Carla. This is such a fantastic place. We are having a wonderful time already.
Love it here, if there's a way to let the other folks know the dog is welcome to roam, we're cool with dogs.

Thanks for sharing this beautiful home, it's really gorgeous.
I look forward to coming back.
Thanks for the hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Phone Review

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

Your house is beautiful and we had a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Your home is amazing! It is so homey and spacious. We had a wonderful girls weekend away. We journeyed here from Columbia, MD - for a much needed weekend to relax and your beautiful house was the perfect retreat.
Thank you so much for making your home so accommodating, clean,beautifully decorated, and comfortable.

PS Gus and Cleo are the most adorable mascots!
We are thinking of making this a tradition.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Review

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

Carla,
Your home is Beautiful! My husband and I enjoyed our vacation lots! The house is so spacious and well maintained! Indy, our puggle,loved the dog run outside, he was exhausted by the afternoon! I can't tell you how much we really enjoyed it here. It was great! Thanks yo so much again and we will def be returning again! Take care and God Bless!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook review

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

Hi Carla,
We had a great stay. The house was even better than expected. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest email

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

Carla, we were a part of the "Robert" crew that had a FABULOUS time at Blue Hill!! The farmhouse was just perfect and absolutely beautiful. The snowy scenery just set the mood for such a relaxing weekend with friends. (and the wonderful coffee maker was quite a treat) We felt very at home there :)
We hope you will invite us back because WE LOVED IT!
Thanks so much!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book Review

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

We had a great weekend here celebrating my 30th birthday! The house is beautiful, spacious & yet "homey". Throughly enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest book review

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

Carla, we sojourned from Roanoke & Lynchburg with expected chatter. When we arrived we were thrilled and found Blue Hill to be the perfect retreat for our mind body & souls. Your home had a charm and comfort that exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed Costa Rican coffee @ dawn, shared stories in the comfy breakfast nook & laughed & laughed & until dusk arrived
Kudos, thumbs up - found Blue Hill to be a haven for another winter Super Bowl retreat.Thanks for the gracious hospitality

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook review

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

Carla -
Your home provided us with a much needed release from life in the city! The family room was a great space for our group and the bedrooms were perfect! We took a walk around the property and loved the garden and rolling hills. The hot tub was a great addition to the weekend. The house is a treasure - we loved all of the antique furniture and decorations. We're all looking forward to making a return visit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook review

Review submitted: January 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Your family home is lovely. The house is magnificent - the rooms are so inviting and comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked - I came prepared to cook most meals here and had all that I needed! Would have enjoyed master bathroom tub - hope you can repair it or remove from VRBO listing.
The countryside of Marshall. Middleburg, the Plains...the wineries and the tolling horse country - a piece of heaven here on earth.
Thanks you again for sharing your home! We truly enjoyed our quick get-away!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Guestbook

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Can't think of a better place to spend a long New Year's weekend.
Carla your home is beautiful and each time we are here there is something new to look at. We even were able to sit outside on NY day and watch the sunset. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time in your beautiful house...

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We had a great time in your beautiful house. We loved all the
Christmas decorations & the hot tub. We definately found so much room to move around in and relax. The property is gorgeous. Our family played this game called "Game of Things" that you had at the house. A MUST play & we laughed a lot. Again, thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Home

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

Blue Hill is a lovely house that brings in the best of the old and the new. The house is over 150 years old and as you walk in the front door, you will immediately enjoy the design and layout from an era long gone. My wife and I love the ambiance of older homes and Blue Hill house did not disappoint. At the same time, the house is full of modern appliances and amenities, from the Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom, a glass shower in the guest bathroom, a hot tub on the outside deck, a modern full kitchen and top of the line washer and dryer. The pictures of the house are very accurate. My wife and I spent four nights here and relaxed with a movie or a book. We visited several historic sites in the city of Winchester (20 minutes away) and did a little shopping while we were there. We spent our nights in the hot tub listening to Christmas music and star gazing. If you like visiting wineries, this house is a perfect location; only minutes from several local wineries! Carla (the owner) was so easy to work with and we had no problems at all. I would recommend this house for couples, and families with older kids who enjoy outdoor activities. For those families with kids that like to work there fingers more than their legs, there is a Wii and X Box for their enjoyment. Thanks for sharing your home Carla!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...a perfect location for a relaxing long weekend

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in your beautiful home - a perfect location for a relaxing long weekend Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for all the hospitality you afforded us!

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Thanks very much for allowing us to stay in your home! It is an amazing house and we had a great time staying here! Thanks for all the hospitality you afforded us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We just LOVED the place!

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

We all arrived Friday night from Florida to Washington DC, made some late dinner and all hung out together. At 11:11 pm I lit the candles and surprised my wife with a cake. We also played a Wii dance game which was wicked fun. Saturday morning, slow moving...had a nice big breakfast. All the guys went out to the river after breakfast and fished and hiked. Beautiful scenery, great photos. When we got back, all of us went on a hike on the trails in the backyard. We saw a lot of signs of active Bucks back there. Must be fun on the 4 wheelers! When we got back, the girls went to the local bar in Boyce? We found it in your "things to do" book. We got the campfire going and started up the grill. When they got back, it was a wonderful evening of smores, hot dogs, hot tub, Wii dance and a great place to experience it all in.

We just LOVED the place! The house was old yet new, such character. Clean and organized. I miss older houses and their layouts. Everything today is so plain, just a simple box. The administrative part of this rental was a breeze. Easier than electronically clicking "reserve" on the Internet. It's good to see there are still trusting, good people out there. Thank you for the Wine for my wife. She was surprised and enjoyed it, white wine is her favorite. The hot tub was awesome. It was big enough, clean, nice stereo, thank you for the high recommendations. My wife took special notice of the flower arranging cart on the wrap-around deck. She's in school learning that trade and works part-time for a wedding florist. We saw Dan & Ali a few times, hopefully we didn't bother them. I would rent Blue Hill again and consider other properties you may own and manage.

Thank you for such a wonderful place. You helped make this birthday a very special one for my wife. Her, the guests and myself were very pleasantly surprised when we pulled into Blue Hill.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A dream that came to life...

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

This is a magical place. A dream that came to life for a truly amazing weekend. We will treasure our time here long after we're gone. We thank you for your hospitality and this incredible house. It's like a vision come to life.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely lovely!

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

Enjoyed a 3 day weekend w/family, poodle and maltipoo. The snow was beautiful. Carla kept us informed at every step of our rental process - even checked to assure we had power. She is an excellent facilitator. We will certainly be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a lovely stay!

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

We had a lovely stay and thoroughly enjoyed the house. We hope to come back again. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was perfect for our wedding week.

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

Thank you for letting us stay at your beautiful house. It's amazing! It was perfect for our wedding week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely georgeous farm home!

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

We came to VA to see the Fall colors and celebrate my husbands 60th B-day. The area is beautifull, but once we entered the driveway, we were speachless! Blue Hill is a beautifull home straight out of Country Living magazine. The rooms are beautifully furnished, the hot tub wonderful and the kitchen is huge. There are several nice deck areas, perfect for watching the sun go down. Carla was a perfect host, and easy to reach when needed. We will definately be back.. Thank you, Carla. Douglas and Caroline

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks again for your hospitality -- hope to be ba

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

We were here for three nights celebrating my hubby's 60th bday and boy did his eyes light up when we entered the drive. Your house is so beautiful and peaceful!
We could not have asked for more.
The beds were comfy, the porch cozy and the kitchen to die for.
We enjoyed trips to the caverns, Skyline Drive and hanging around the hot tub and reading.
One night we got lazy and ordered Chinese food down the road -- very good and plentiful for the price.
We enjoyed all the feline attention, watching bats at sunset and waking up to this beautiful place.
Thanks again for your hospitality -- hope to be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Es increible! (It's incredible!)

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

No me imagine que ibamos a encontrar una casa en donde hospedarnos como esta!
(I never imagined I would be staying in such a wonderful place!)

Awesome home! We love it! Hopefully one day we can come back it was part of a wonderful weekend!

I made new friends and beautiful friendships!

Thanks for the chance of letting us stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A place where families&friends can truly reconnect

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

Carla,

The stay at Blue Hill was the most wonderful, relaxing, convenient and inspirational stay our family has ever experienced. We were just amazed not only at the home but with all the unique and eclectic decor. Every day
our senses were tantalized with some piece of art or "bric-a-brac" we had not noticed the day before. Everything was just perfect! I could go on and on about how comfortable and complete the amenities were that you provide your guests! You have made available a place were families and friends can truly reconnect!
I would like to inquire about booking again over New Year if the house is available (Dec 30 - Jan. 2).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I already want to come back!

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

This place is just what we both needed scenic beautiful romantic secluded and yet not to far from town center.
The house was amazing so beautiful words can not describe how good this house is. All our needs were met. Carla (the owner) is just an email away.

I already want to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our stay!

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Thank you! You're home is beautiful & it was the perfect setting for our leadership retreat. We loved our Stay :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful Getaway

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

I have stayed at Blue Hill on several occasions; the house is warm and welcoming outside and inside! The large wrap around front porch is a great place to sit and read, nap or visit as you enjoy the view. The back deck is a great place to unwind in the hot tub with a glass of wine under the stars. Inside, the kitchen is well appointed and efficient, with an amazing cofee machine and tasty Costa Rican coffee provided for your enjoyment. I've celebrated several milestone events, doing food prep here - as easy as in my home kitchen. The dining room and living room are both large enough to accommodate 10 people very comfortably and, with their large mantles and well chosen decor provide great atmoshere as well. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, removed from the activity downstairs if you like to turn in - or get up - earlier than most of the crowd. The grounds are beautiful and nature hikes are lots of fun. There are many parks and historical sites nearby, and do not miss out on the great food, wine and beer sold at the Locke Country Store just up the road. Middleburg and Winchester are nearby and offer lots of shopping and dining choices too, if you want a diversion from the quiet country life.
The description on the website is complete and accurate and the home is clean and very well maintained. The owner is fair and honest in her dealings with guests and makes every effort to meet any reasonable requests.
I HIGHLY recommend this charming country home. I am going back before the end fo the year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely stay at Blue Hill

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

I had the pleasure of visiting this farmhouse in Blue Hill, Virginia in the winter of 2011 with several close friends. When we first drove up the driveway, I was in awe not expecting such a magnificent structure (expecting a farmhouse). I had not seen pictures.

The wrap around porch is charming with lots of fun decorations. Upon entering the house, you could feel the history and just imagine the owners from the 19th century. The was decorated to the tee, comfortable for our winter stay, and a good night sleep was had by all.

I cannot wait for another visit in 2012 to Blue Hill!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WIN weekend @ Blue Hill

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We had a terrific time, you have a fabulous home, thank you for allowing us to use it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved our time here!

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

Thanks so much! Loved our time here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very charming!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

"We had such a lovely time at Blue Hill. What a picturesque setting!
Our family came in from neighboring states to meet and leave behind the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We had a wonderful time at the Blue Hill. Very charming!" Kathy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review