reviews for: listing #96082 - Austin, Texas House rental

The Tram House, Austin's Best Secret
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $425 /nt
    $1,925 - $2,450 /wk
    $3,000 - $6,500 /mth

sort by:

Tram House is perfect

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We were married in Austin 5 years ago and wanted to celebrate our annniversy there. We love the city and have been several times always staying on South Congress. Wanted something different this time and boy did we find it. This house is one of the coolest things on the planet. Perched on the side of a hill, accessed by tram up 250ft(I think). Step off the tram onto a deck with a panoramic view of Lake Travis and the hills. It's breath taking. If you were dropped here blindfolded, you would never in a million years guess that you were in Texas. The living room and kitchen has a wall of glass with the same view as the deck. The third floor view is even better. The house itself is beautiful, simply great design. We took the easy 25 minute drive to downtown several times to see music. Had a great time, then couldn't wait to get back to the house. If you want a peaceful, relaxing, unique place to stay with easy access to anything you could want or need, then book it, you will never regret it. The home owners are super nice and responsive. It got cold in Austin while we were there(30s at night). The heat wasn't coming on one morning, they had the HVAC repair guy there and problem solved in an hour. My wife and I are in retail. We had a long, 7 days a week season which began in August. As soon as we stepped on the tram, seemed like we forgot the whole thing. This place will suck the stress right out of you. Cannot say enough good things.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Special Experience

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

The house in unique and terrific for a get away vacation. Superior views, great mattresses, and linens. Very comfortable! The master shower makes you feel like you are in a spa!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind response. We are happy to share the house with many travelers and get to live through their comments. We are glad you and everyone in your party had a great experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love, love, love the Tram House!

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

Keith and Shelia....

Just wanted you to know we enjoyed our stay at your "tram house". I was so excited to find a house near where our son's wedding was being held I didn't really pay attention to the fact that the house was "waaayyyy" up the hill! How fun! The "thrill" ride to the house and the AMAZING view. It was perfect. Extremely comfortable and well appointed. We still had some cooking to do before the ceremony on Saturday evening so we spent the afternoon cooking and enjoying the spectacular view. (The cat freaked me out a little when it came in the house as I was alone chopping onions....gave my sister quite a laugh since she was on the phone with me at the time... I had a little "melt down" - I am a sissy and afraid of cats!!!)

I do regretting not getting to meet you nor Sheila - maybe next time!

Thank so much,

Bill and Sandy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tram car experience

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

Enjoyed staying at a unique property. Location is a little far from the hustle and the bustle and getting to the actual property was somewhat of a challenge. The tram car is unique and reliable. Leaving the lights on the first night was great....we really needed them on every night as the steep climb to get the tram car was difficult to negotiate in the dark.
Home is very clean and comfortable. Might want to add a TV in the 2nd bedroom. There were some grumbles and groans about no TV up there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: True, there is no TV on the 3rd floor, but there are 2 TVs in the house. I have always thought that TV was not meant for vacation, especially when you just have a short time in such a beautiful place surrounded by friends and family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hotel or tram house for Business

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

I travel often for work and get so tired of Hotel rooms. A co-worker and I were able to rent the Tram house for less than what our rooms would of cost. It’s perfect with the bedrooms and huge bathrooms on each floor. Great places to eat nearby and what a view!!!!!! Keith and Sheila were awesome. It was so nice and relaxing it was hard to leave and make my meetings.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Find

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

We were so thrilled with our "Tram House" find. The house is absolutely gorgeous and the Powell's were so nice. Went above and beyond to accommodate us. The layout is so unique and the views are breathtaking! Comfortable beds and plenty of space for 2 couples. Kitchen fully stocked with everything you need to cook a meal or their are plenty of restaurants just a short drive away. Very clean and well maintained. We will definitely return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful & Unique!!

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

We found our stay at the Tram House to be perfect in every way. The house is absolutely gorgeous and very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the decks with their stunning views. Lots of great restaurants close by, but dining in was a nice experience, too. Keith & Sheila are very helpful with any questions and recommendations. We hope to stay again soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FANTASTIC!!!!!

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

I was looking for an escape from my hectic life and this was absolutely perfect. It's gorgeous, well kept and unique in every way. It's the coolest place I've ever stayed and I plan to spend an entire month every year here. Keith and Sheila are the best and a pleasure to be around. I really enjoyed my time with them and look forward to going back. This will be a regular retreat for me from now on!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tram House get away

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

My husband and I rented the Tram House for a long weekend in April. What a perfect home in the hills of Austin overlooking Lake Travis! We found the home to be spacious and very comfortable. Both master suites were large and very accommodating. Loved all the natural light that came into the generous bathrooms and bedrooms. It was an architectural gem, and the owners really put a lot of thought into the layout of the house, allowing an open feel to each room. We entertained while we were there and enjoyed our meals on the spacious deck taking in the views. The kitchen had all the amenities we needed. The house location was perfect giving us easy access to many areas in Austin. Loved the tram, and the experience with each ride up and down. Our favorite was being greeted by George (one of the tram cats), that rode the tram down when we first arrived. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best location in Austin, Private, Views Views Views.

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We were so happy with our choice of locations. This area is only 20-25 minutes from the downtown area, but is is the perfect retreat for a long day. There are some great restaurants in the immediate area that we thoroughly enjoyed; the Oasis, Steiners Steakhouse, and Rudy's are a must. There is a full service supermarket 5 minutes from the house which has everything you need to stock the fridge for your stay. This rental house itself is FABOULOUS. The views of the lake from the home are incredible. The view from the deck off the living room felt very much like a Mediterranean experience. The personal tram to the house made the stay one of the most memorable and unique experiences. There are two separate and private bedrooms which was perfect for two couples. We slept in the second floor bedroom with the french doors open to the private deck, and enjoyed all the song birds and sounds that nature had to offer. The 2nd floor bathroom and open shower were spacious and beautiful. The observation deck from the third floor bedroom is a great retreat, again with picturesque views of the entire area. The home is fully equipped with everything you would need for comfort, cooking, and just relaxing. We enjoyed great hikes in the local area down to the water and through the hills. There is a lot to see in downtown Austin which we enjoyed, but we honestly found it hard to leave the house and local area. If we are in Austin again, we will definitely be back. The owners were most gracious and accommodating,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review. Honestly, we couldn't have said it better ourselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A one of a kind gem!

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

My parents, boyfriend and I stayed here to celebrate my Dad's birthday. And wow! It exceeded our expectations in every way and was absolutely amazing. The tram is just so unique and cool on its own (I mean, how many people take a tram to get to their house!). But when you get up to the house... the view is incredible. We sat outside every night under the stars and just took it all in. There is definitely no need to go to the Oasis for the view when you're staying here! The house is loaded with amenities and great, high-end touches. It's comfortable, cozy and the house is stocked with everything you need. The owners were also incredibly responsive and friendly. There's nothing not to like.

I used to live in Austin and always wanted to stay in the hill country. And THIS is the way to see it. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Get Away

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

My wife and I rented the property from Oct. 21-23rd, 2012. We wanted to get away from San Antonio, TX and enjoy the view. The house is in a great location! It is close to the Oasis area which has shops and food establishments.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a wonderful girls' getaway weekend!

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

The Tram House was JUST what we were looking for, with the bonus uniqueness of the tram. We stayed two nights, got a mani pedi lady and a masseuses to pamper us, and had a wonderful relaxing weekend. The house is the perfect distance away from Austin - not too close but not too far that going to the city is inconvenient - and we had great views and felt right at home. One huge bonus is that the lakehouse is stocked with toilet paper, dishwashing liquid, laundry detergent, towels, paper plates, etc...so you don't have to bring every little thing yourself. Keith was also amazingly helpful; he lives right down the hill so if he is home he can come up and help you learn how to use the amenities like the sound system that plays music in every room and on the decks (you can turn it off in places you don't want it). Also, the shower in the second floor bathroom is AMAZING, but so is everything else :) I highly recommend this place to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This place is AMAZING!

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

This house is such a unique architectural home and the tram to get to it is super cool. Add in amazing views from just about every room, a deck to enjoy the views and take in the natural surroundings, and you have the recipe for a perfect weekend getaway or relaxing vacation by the lake. I highly recommend this place and the owners are a pleasure. The pictures absolutely do not do it justice -- do yourself a favor and check it out. I'm a huge fan and you will be too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great way to experience Lake Travis

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

We spent three days at the tram house at the end of our two-week visit to Austin and it was a great way to end our trip and experience Lake Travis. The views from the deck are awesome and the house is very comfortable and well-equipped. The beds were super comfortable and the overall design of the house was contemporary and fun. We loved the cubby holes in the shower for towels. Having to take the tram to and from the house made the experience even more unique- our daughters loved that part the most.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Incredible!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

What a wonderful place! I hosted a surprise birthday party for my wife here and it turned out excellent. She loved the place. All the guests loved it too!

The Tram house is truly amazing and so unique. And Keith was so very helpful through the whole thing. I had so many questions for him, but he was always patient and nice!

Would love to stay here again, and again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Place!!

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

We rented the Tram House for a mini honeymoon. It was the perfect place to spend a long romantic weekend relaxing, enjoying wonderful views, and accessing the lake. We will definitely stay here again in the future!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Secluded Getaway!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Austin for a few days before heading down to the Caribbean for our Honeymoon. It was everything we could have hoped for and more! It was secluded, extremely private, and you felt like a part of nature surrounded by woods on 3 sides and an amazing view of the lake down below. All of the switches were labeled and instructions were left on how to operate everything, they really did a wonderful job of making my stay absolutely effortless in every way!

I highly recommend the Tram House for a romantic getaway, among other things!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

One sweet house

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

I rented the house for my brother's bachelore party, and it was a great success! The house was amazing with awesome views and had spacouse decks to relax and take in your surroundings. It was close to the lake and was very easy to get there. But the Tram was the biggest hit. its a cool concept to have to ride the tram to your front door.

But most importantly Kieth was great to rent from. Very easy going and professional. He really made like the house was ours.

All in all the party was a success, and would not have been what it was with out the Tram House. This is a great property and I highly recommend it for anything. Good for parties, or just a weekend away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great weekend!

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

What a weekend! My wife and I did nothing and it was everything we thought it would be. We spent more time on the deck than anywhere else. This place is all about staying in. The bedrooms are comfortable, bathrooms are beautiful and the view from anywhere is the house is breathtaking. Keith is always merely a phone call away. Check in was effortless, groceries are within 5-minutes of the house and there is an abundance of walking trails. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Review

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

We just got our deposit back and wanted to thank you again for the use of your gorgeous home. We had a really great weekend. I almost stole your cat, but I thought he/she would miss the place too much!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Tram House

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

This is our second time staying at the tram house, we enjoy the comfort of the house, beautiful view, very relaxing. Relaxing week.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family head

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Perfect place for a family meeting. We imported barbeque from Rudy's nearby, and minimized kitchen chores. The view was splendiferous, and the house and furnishings modern and classy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Girls' Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Home was as described (spotless) and we very much enjoyed our stay. It was perfect for a girls' getaway. The home has great natural light and seems far away from anyone else. You feel like you are tucked away on a cliff with no one else around (even though there are homes above, below and nearby - they are not close and not easily seen). We sat out on the deck and chatted and enjoyed several meals amongst the gorgeous scenery and birds singing. At night we sat up on the top deck and it was beautiful as well. The lake level is still down so pray for rain! It is still beautiful despite seeing a bit more beach than "back in the day". We went to The Oasis for drinks one night and while it is beautiful, my opinion is that it is not the "same" as it used to be before the big fire. Much too "commercial" now for my taste, but still fun. We were able to load all of our groceries, luggage and 3 people onto the tram and only make one trip up to the home to unload. I will caution anyone with a physical disability that you still need to go up a small steep cement incline and a set of steps to get to the tram. The home is split level so there are also steps inside the home. I considered having my elderly parents visit for dinner but was concerned my mother couldn't make it to the tram. All in all I highly recommend it and hope one day to go back!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

CCD

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

It was an AWESOME trip.

My family and I booked this beautiful Tram House for my B-day this month. It was the most exciting
3 nights and 4 days ever. I was undecided due to my fear of heights to book this place. After speaking w/Keith, he explained how the Tram operates. He suggested I go to his website to view the Tram in action. The video doesn't do it any justice. Its like ur on top of the world literally. Smooth short ride to take the Princess to her castle for the weekend. Keith was very professional and kind. Our family plan on visiting again, real soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

IN 3 WORDS I LOVE IT

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

I CAME WITH MY COUSIN ON HER B-DAY WARM WELCOME ON ARRIVAL SPOTLESSLY CLEAN AND WELL DECORATED ROOMS THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL PLACE I CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE HIGHLY ENOUGH AND WILL COME BACK AGAIN, AGAIN AND AGAIN I HAVE ABSOLUTELY ENJOYED MY STAY AT THE TRAM HOUSE

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful getaway

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

We booked this weekend stay on a short notice and Keith and Sheila were very gracious. Beautiful house with a great view of Lake Travis. Worked out wonderful for two couples. Will be back to stay again. As afraid as I am of heights, the tram car was not scary and even loved it. One con was the sink in the second bathroom needs to have the faucet fixed. I'm sure he will have that taken care of before our next stay. looking forward to more stays.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relax and Enjoy..

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

Lovely home with beautiful views, comfortable amenities, and gracious hosts. Delighted with the experience. Looking forward to the next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving stay

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

First trip to Austin and a chance to visit 1st grandchild.
The house was wonderful with nonstop views, including a thunderstorm on the first night.
Also saw a deer in the back yard next AM.
Great kitchen successfully made a turkey dinner including all the trimmings.
Only ate out 3 times during the week but I love to cook.
Will have to return to Austin to experience the music, highly recommended by everyone.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't wait to come back!

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

Dear Keith and Sheila,

We throughly enjoyed our time in your lovely home. We wish we could have joined you for dinner on Saturday, but hanging out on Friday was still a lot of fun. You two are gracious hosts, and we think you have a great house! Please accept this bottle of wine as our way of saying thank you for making our trip to Austin a memorable one. We are going to tell everyone in Dallas about the Tram House and let them know they need to visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Views

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

The views are wonderful and relaxing looking over Lake Travis. The house is unique, nicely furnished, and smaller than the photos would suggest. The disappointments were the fire ants in the kitchen which got into our food, and the gas grill that was "out of gas" and that we were assured was available. Grilling would have been far preferable to the oven!
Pretty place, not sure we'd go back.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: The "sugar" ants in the kitchen have been taken care of and we also have spare gas for the grill. However, if no one tells us that it's empty, we don't know.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Girlfriends' Getaway

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Rented the Tram House for my birthday weekend with three great girlfriends. The house was gorgeous, comfortable and quiet. It was so much fun to go up and down the tram and sit out on the deck and enjoy the view. We felt like we were in Italy, not the Hill Country. Keith's directions were spot on and everything was there as promised.

I am a clean freak who brings Lysol and antibacterial soap with me everywhere I go, and I didn't even need to use them because the house was spotless. The only downside was how fast the time went!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Austin Girls Trip at the Tram House

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

This house is simply amazing! Beautiful views inside and out. We expecially enjoyed the three different balconies, the coolest bathroom we've ever been in and of course the 210 ft tram leading us to our private oasis. We will definitely recommend this place to our friends and family. Thanks again for allowing us to have a very pleasant and peaceful girls' trip 2011!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Superb Place!

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

Our stay at the Tram House was superb! The house itself was very cool and contemporary. The pictures don't lie and really don't even do the place justice. The house has awsome views and is an excellent place to just hang out and relax while enjoying a beautiful house in a beautiful setting. Great restaurants and entertainment are literally just a few miles away. The house was immaculate and very clean. Our favorite place was just relaxing on that great deck with the music playing. Every room had its own speaker volume control to keep the vibe going througout the house. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Honeymoon Destination!

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

We came to the Tram House for our honeymoon and to say the least, we had a blast! The view, the house, and the nearby attractions all made our trip unforgettable! We definitely hope to come back hopefully sooner than later! We would recommend this house to anyone looking to experience austin from a bird's eye view!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Visit

Review submitted: October 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 3, 2011

We had a wonderful time and loved staying in your beautiful home. The views were incredible. The home was very well furnished and so comfortable. Riding the Tram was fun. We would certainly refer this lovely home to our friends. Also, loved the kitty cat visits.
Casey

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Total Relaxation!!!

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

The time we spent at the Tram House was true bliss. The accommodations were awesome and it felt like we were totally secluded. We will definitely do this again and would recommend this experience to anyone!!! Wish we could have stayed longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highlight of our Austin Trip!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

My wife, two kids, and I absolutely loved this house. It was everything we hoped for and more. The views were fantastic, the interior was gorgeous, and everything was perfect -- even the Tram Kitty!
Thanks for a great stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: For those who want to know.... The "Tram Kitty" that Michael mentions here is one of our outerror kitties that likes to ride the tram with our guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Oh My Gosh!!!

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

In attempts to make my 50th birthday unforgettable, I went into full gear to find a place to stay in my 2nd favorite city, Austin. Years ago, we made a promise that my milestone will be celebrated on Lake Travis (a special place for us). I stumbled onto the Traum House and my decision was final after speaking with the owners, Keith & Sheila.

The pictures of The House were breath-taking and the aniticipation of our arrival was overwhelming for me and my significant other. Once we arrived, The House was so spectaular (the pictures just don't tell the true story)-- you'd have to see it to believe it! We were in awe of the place!

The atmosphere/setting was everything we could have ever wanted... and more. The accommodations were right on! EVERYTHING was absolutely perfect! No problems- No incidents- and No failure! Initially, the traum to the house was concerning because I am afraid of heights, but it was a quick adjustment-- I enjoyed the slow speed of the traum because it allowed us to enjoy the view of the lake.

Keith & Sheila were special people that made us feel welcome and left the impression their house was our home. This birthday celebration was a milestone and will never be forgotten. We're still talking about it and smiling!... Awe!

Thank you Keith & Sheila, for sharing your blessing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stay at the Tram House

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

We stayed at the tram house for ~10 days in March (just before SXSW). It was a memorable experience - the view from the deck is stunning and the experience of taking the tram to/from the house is surreal. Also, the interior design is classy, including high ceilings, floor/sink pebbles, etc. The owners were welcoming and responsive. We experienced a couple of challenges with the facilities: no hot water in the lower shower (upper shower was fine), and an AC system that started/stopped at unexpected times and temperatures. The location is beautiful, but expect to drive ~25 min to town. All in all, a highly recommended spot for vacationers who are interested in a unique experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: During this guest's stay, we realized that there was a broken pipe in the basement from a freeze that we had experienced two weeks earlier, hence the no hot water. We fixed the leak the day after we were alerted to the problem and the hot water returned. As for the AC system, there is a complex thermostat system in the house. Each of the 3 levels has it's own controls, but each level is also joined together by a single air flow system. Not to mention a staircase that rises 3 stories through the middle of the house. Each time a new guest checks in, we set a desired temperature for each floor and program the system to hold that temperature for the duration of their stay. This is usually good enough, but it is true that if you start pushing random buttons on the thermostat, our efforts to control your temperature become moot. These guests finally alerted us to their situation, and we reset the preset temperature and demonstrated how to use the system going forward. We have now outlined thermostat instructions in great detail and posted these instructions near each thermostat.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely perfect for two couples

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 29, 2011

When relatives from Ohio agreed to come for a visit, we wanted to show them the Hill Country and "the best of Texas," with the last stay in the Lake Travis area. One of our guests has health issues, so in case she did not want to go sight-seeing, I wanted more than an ordinary, boring hotel room. I wanted lodging that would be a great place to hang out, just in case.

The Tram House did not disappoint, it surpassed my high expectations. The view was spectacular, the location (convenient to Austin) was perfect, the view was spectacular, the kitchen had everything you could want, the view was spectacular, the linens on the beds were very soft, the view was spectacular, the house was spotless, the view was spectacular, the bathrooms were gorgeous, the view was spectacular, and the living area spacious and comfortable. And, lest I forget, the view was spectacular!

When showing Austin to our guests, I found myself wondering how long much longer it was going to be before we would be done and could get back to the house. Staying in the Tram House was just as much (or more) of an "event" as any place we visited in the city. You can't say that about a hotel room.

When we were preparing to leave, my husband said: "Who can we invite to come back here with us?" We really hated to leave, and hope to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tram House Heaven in March 2011

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Last weekend we spent 2 remarkable nights in this magnificent house. Walking in, it is bright and breezy with beautiful elevated views of Lake Travis. Well furnished from A to Z we enjoyed every nook and cranny of the house though my best part was the deck.
Sitting here you look at all of Texas with the birdlife and sky right at your fingertips.A genuine find.We were lucky to live it. Hope to get back very soon. Thanks to owners who were helpful and responsive .

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Fabulous!

Review submitted: February 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 10, 2011

We just finished a long weekend at the Tram House, and there simply aren't enough or the right words to say what a fantastic time we had and how wonderful this home is. Anything and everything you could have wanted or needed was there, the home was immaculate, and the owners were beyond gracious and accommodating...the pictures don't even begin to do justice to this wonderful piece of paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

The house was easy to find and this is comming from a girl who has no sense of direction. Once I was there the tram just blew me away, I love it. I had expected like a ski slope lift but it is enclosed. It takes a good minute to get up but for this type of get away time didnt exist until check out. Once up I actually got to meet the owners of this home and they are by far a lovely couple and they take very good care of their home. I quickly toured the home so I could get to the deck and there I sat looking at the sun setting, with music from the outdoor speakers playing and a over all calmness. After the sun set I decided to go in and take a look at the place I rented. The bedrooms are comfortable and set up nicely. The bathrooms were a BIG hit with my group. The master bathroom has a walk in shower with two shower heads and the shower also leads out to a private balcony. Also in the bathroom is a jet bath which next to the view was my other favorite part of the home. Everything about this home is perfect for a small chill get away. In the surrounding area you will find some good restraunts, nature walks, parks etc.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Almost like being in another country...

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

We Spent Thanksgiving 2010 at the house. When our friends saw our pictures, many thought we had vacationed in another country. The house is awesome and it's only rivaled by the view. There was one morning we could see thick fog roll in then quickly dissolved by the rising sun--THAT WAS SPECTACULAR!. The ride up to the house on the tram was magical... We are from Houston where the only things significantly above sea level are buildings...(it's FLAT) So anyone could imagine how thrilled we were. The kitchen is modern and fully stocked with every utencil and kitchenware you will need. The refrigerator is modern and has a nice size ice maker. The bathroom is awesome [a bathroom with a view, no less]. The jetted tub was relaxing and there were plenty of nice, clean towels. Our 4 and 8 year old kids begged us not to leave.

Seriously--If you are reading this review and are thinking about renting in the Austin area, don't look for other properties--none will be better than this one. We are so glad we booked this house and will continue to book it for years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very cool get-away!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

The tram house will really make an impression on you and your friends/family. Begining with the private tram ride, the amazing lake views are everything you would imagine high in the Hill country. Equally as impressive, is the house itself. The unique architecture is not like any house you have seen. In addition to the wall of windows facing the lake are small things that add to the uniqueness of the experience such as: twisting staircase, little lights everywhere, angled ceiling windows, rock garden sinks, "studio" shower, etc.

It makes spending time together even more fun and memorable. I highly recommend the Tram House.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing views that will take you away from it all

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

We came to The Tram House with plans of enjoying the views and visiting our favorite spots in Austin, but we were so relaxed that we never wanted to leave. My suggestion is to check in as close to 3PM as possible, then head the grocery store and load up on groceries and wine for a night in. Don't forget the coffee because you will not want to leave in the morning either. We ventured out later in the day, sampling some of the restaurants closer to the lake but we always rushed back to ease back into the night at the house. I miss the view already.

A minor issue we had was sleeping due to new noises. The A/C sounds and the noise of an exterior tree hitting the deck took some getting used to, but the bed was so comfie (and the wine was still running through our veins) that we eventually dozed off. It was a small trade for the amazing view.

In my dreams we live in a place like this and envy the owners who get to visit whenever they so choose. We plan to come back soon! Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have widened the hole that the tree grows through. Next time we get high winds, as we did that weekend, we'll have to check to see if the new hole is wide enough. Look at the picture of the tree coming through the deck to see what we are dealing with. Notice, still a great expeirience for the travelers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT WEEKEND GETAWAY!!

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

The tram house is amazing!! The pictures simply do not do it justice. My husband and I travelled with another couple and the house was absolutely perfect. There are 2 king-size bedrooms with private bathrooms so it was perfect for our group. Wonderful views, beautiful house, and the tram ride up to the house is indescribable. We were so amazed with the house, we cancelled some of our plans for the weekend to stay and enjoy it as much as possible. I will never rent another house on Lake Travis again. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Magnificent!

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

My family and friends enjoyed this amazing home for a weekend getaway. We had an amazing time! Keith&Sheila were both very friendly and accommodating. The pics on the website really drew us to this house versus others that we were considering. And believe me when I say, the pics don't do it justice. The house was even more incredible in person! From first time you set foot on the TRAM that takes you up to the home, to the breathtaking views from all 3 decks. All of which had their own unique vantage point to enjoy the entire lake and surroundings areas. The location is perfect as well. We were minutes from volente beach, windy point, and cypress creek boat ramp. The interior is 5 stars. You will feel like you are in a futuristic home that is smartly designed to ensure optimal ease of use and relaxation. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms were like nothing I have ever seen. Do yourself a favor and rent this house. It is better than anything else around both for the price and accommodations. You will not find a better lake house to relax and spend quality time with your friends and family as you are taken away by the character and uniqueness of the TRAM HOUSE!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent lake house for a group trip!!!

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

I rented the tram house for a weekend in July for a bachelorette party of 5 girls and this house made the weekend a complete success! It's modern, very clean and was ready with everything we needed when we arrived. The tram ride up to the house is very unique and a great way to enter the house. The living room and open kitchen are the heartbeat of the house and provide a great space to spend time with your group. There is a sound system that goes through the whole house and deck which is a major plus as well! It's just 2 bedrooms so while 4 girls split up across the 2 rooms, 1 girl ended up on the couch but even the couch was comfy and was a good make-shift bed.

The views from this house are incredible and my words cannot do it justice. You overlook a large part of Lake Travis and the main terrace off the living room was where we spent most of our time. In fact, we cancelled our dinner plans on Friday night just so we could hang out on the deck! But even if you do want to venture away from the house, Austin landmark The Oasis is just a 5 minute drive down the road.

While the house does have a great views, that means it is not directly on the water. That was not an issue for us as we did not plan on boating, but if we wanted to, there was a boat and jet ski rental place very close by. But I think the views and the cooling breeze you get on the deck far outweigh having direct access to the lake.

If you are more interested in being part of the action in downtown Austin, this house is a bit far out for that and I would suggest something else closer to central Austin. But, if you want a relaxed weekend in Austin on the lake, it doesn't get better than this house! I will absolutely stay here again for another group trip to Austin!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent lake house for group trip!

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

I rented the tram house for a weekend in July for a bachelorette party of 5 girls and this house made the weekend a complete success! It's modern, very clean and was ready with everything we needed when we arrived. The tram ride up to the house is very unique and a great way to enter the house. The living room and open kitchen are the heartbeat of the house and provide a great space to spend time with your group. There is a sound system that goes through the whole house and deck which is a major plus as well! It's just 2 bedrooms so while 4 girls split up across the 2 rooms, 1 girl ended up on the couch but even the couch was comfy and was a good make-shift bed.

The views from this house are incredible and my words cannot do it justice. You overlook a large part of Lake Travis and the main terrace off the living room was where we spent most of our time. In fact, we cancelled our dinner plans on Friday night just so we could hang out on the deck! But even if you do want to venture away from the house, Austin landmark The Oasis is just a 5 minute drive down the road.

While the house does have a great views, that means it is not directly on the water. That was not an issue for us as we did not plan on boating, but if we wanted to, there was a boat and jet ski rental place very close by. But I think the views and the cooling breeze you get on the deck far outweigh having direct access to the lake.

If you are more interested in being part of the action in downtown Austin, this house is a bit far out for that and I would suggest something else closer to central Austin. But, if you want a relaxed weekend in Austin on the lake, it doesn't get better than this house! I will absolutely stay here again for another group trip to Austin!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tram house is an amazing place to stay

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

I rented the tram house for my 30th birthday and enjoyed it very much. The house is amazing and the view is better. I can't even describe how cool the tram is. The owner was very nice. The water is a bit far away but it's private and a great area to hand out. This was so much better than any hotel or resort. I highly recommend it and will rent again as soon as I can.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Breathtaking View, Beautiful House

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

I stayed 3 nights at the Tram House and absolutely loved it. The house was the most unique place I've ever been. Although only 2 bedrooms, it felt much larger as the floorplan snaked up the mountainside. My favorite was grilling out on the deck with beautiful Lake Travis sprawled across the horizon. The house is wired with speakers in every room and deck so we wouldn't miss a beat. Fantastic place. I'd highly recommend it for anyone wanting a real escape from reality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best View Ever

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

We loved staying at The Tram House. It was beautiful, well maintained, and the accomodations were perfect for two couples. As promised, the view of the lake was breathtaking. We are hoping to return again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Recommended

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

We loved staying at The Tram House. It was beautiful, well maintained, and the accomodations were perfect for two couples. As promised, the view of the lake was breathtaking. We are hoping to return again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review