reviews for: listing #96107 - Banff/Canmore, Alberta House rental

Wavehill estate
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $600 - $1,200 /nt
    $3,500 - $6,000 /wk
    $12,000 - $20,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect place to vacation in the Canadian hills

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

First impressions, WOW!!!!! We were a group of eight friends and family that stayed in Wavehill estate for the weekend and we cannot praise the place enough. This spectacular lodge is fully equipped to entertain a group without even having to step outside the front door. With a snooker table,board games, home cinema, gym, foosball and a hot tub there was no excuse to be bored. We had the perfect balance of fun and relaxation. Christopher the owner and Jason the caretaker were both a pleasure to deal with when booking and renting the property. The only downside of the weekend was that we couldn't take advantage of the valley observatory hut and the fire pit because of the cold weather. But that's just a good excuse to go back and experience Wavehill estate in the summer months.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Getaway

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

Amazing, Amazing, Amazing!! What more to say?! The estate is breath taking! A perfect location for a weekend or romantic getaway, it worked wonderfully for a memorable engagement! With a successful result! We were both blown away as soon as we saw the estate from the outside and even more impressed once we entered. Everything was in its proper place. It was very clean, inviting and cozy. The owner and caretaker were extremely hospitable. We loved how peaceful and secluded this location was and cannot wait to visit again!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Christmas

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

We just completed our third stay at Wavehill earlier this month. The morning we arrived and the morning we left everything was covered in a perfectly untouched white blanket of snow. It truly is a beautiful property unlike any other we have stayed. Quiet, picturesque, serene and every comfort of home. Most of our vacations are filled with excursions, shopping and an endless list of things to do and see... we often arrive back at home more exhausted than when we left... not at Wavehill... every morning we awoke without a care in the world and leisurely went about whatever we felt like in that moment. At home our mornings usually start at the crack of 7 am but at Wavehill even our children (only 2 and 5) slept well past 9 am on several mornings...there is something about the place that just puts everyone at ease. Even visitors feel right at home the moment they walk in the door.
It was a magical Christmas, that passed with an ease unusual to that time of year. Its a special place to say the least. I would recommend it to anyone looking to truly get away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Place

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Dream location and Dream House!! This was my second time at Wavehill.. the house is amazing!! situated in a great area with amazing views. Definitely will be coming back. If you come to stay you will be pleased with this choice for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous place. Exceeds expectations!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

Our weekend escape was made even better by staying at Wavehill. It is a gorgeous house with beautiful surroundings. The decorations were interesting with the styles ranging from antique to modern art and the amenities were top class. I would definitely recommend staying here for any period of time. You are close enough to town to resupply and there's plenty of things to do near by: paintball, atv tours, horse back tours. The owner also went above and beyond on having everything ready for us. There was an issue with the hot tub from the previous stay and he made sure to have everything ready to go by the time we arrived. Big thanks for that!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Amazing

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Our stay couldn't have been better. The owner is so helpful with making sure everything is just how you want it. The pictures are completely accurate, and if anything they actually don't do the place justice. It is completely spectacular. We'll be going back very soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful escape

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

When I booked Wavehill for my family I was looking for a true escape from the busy life. I found that and more at this beautiful get-away. True luxury and comfort, with amenities well beyond our needs, but remote and quietly tucked into the foot hills east of the Rockies. We enjoyed our trips into the parks, but loved to come back to the comfort and sollitude found here. I recommend planning on staying at the house, limiting the day trips, because you wont want to leave. Also, there are no shortcuts. Take the main road.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The experience matched the Title

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

We celebrated my 65th birthday at Wavehill and had a fabulous time. Gorgeous house with picturesque setting. The convertible beds in the loft above the garage were a bit disappointing for a couple but would be ideal for teen agers. We would do it again in the blink of an eye. Highlight was spotting a mountain lion crossing the road miles away from the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

This house was wonderful! The owner was excellent at getting back with me right away with questions. The caretaker was also very responsive. It is a beautiful home. It was a little far out and I did not realize it was so far from Canmore, Banff and Lake Louise so be prepared to drive. However, we had rented a cr and we made the drive a lot and it really was not that big of a deal. Plus it was nice to come home at night to the house and have the seclusion and peace and quiet. We are a family of 5, we have 3 boys ages 9, 13 and 16. They enjoyed everything about the house especially the pool table! It was a big hit. We did not see a lot of wildlife when there which was disappointing but that is just the way nature goes. I would recommend this place to people. Great place overall!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Never wanted to leave!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

My husband and I, along with our two 13 year old girls, just returned from a 3 night stay at Wavehill. We used to live in the area and have been meaning to come back for a visit and we are so glad that we picked this as our destination. Our stay at Wavehill goes down as one of the best vacations we have taken in a long time! It was close enough to Calgary to be able to easily visit our old neighbors while still being a very easy drive to Banff and Lake Louise. It was a perfect location to base ourselves in order to do everything we had planned. The only problem is that once we got to the cabin, nobody wanted to leave, including the two teenagers!

Chris, the owner was very helpful and quickly responded to any questions we had and upon our arrival, we were met by Kathy, who showed us around and told us everything we needed to know in order to start our vacation. It was nice knowing that if we had any questions during our stay that someone was just a phone call away . We found everything we needed at the cabin. There were plenty of towels and extra linens available if needed. It was nice having a washer and dryer available in case we were to run out of towels or need to do laundry for any reason. The layout was perfect and the house was very clean and comfortable. The property was very peaceful and secluded and we loved the feeling of being able to get away from it all. We will definatley be back!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous summer vacation

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

The house is spectacular in local, condition, furnishing, equipment. We were left without linens for the over the garage beds which was very uncomfortable. They were there but locked away with no one or way to access them. Also for a place with as many water activities and showers there were an insufficient number of towels and not of good bath quality. I say these things only to help improve what was a spectacular time. I would highly recommend it for anyone at any time. NExt time, we'll stay longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wavehill

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Wavehill for 3 nights and I think we saw every kind of weather in that time period from clear blue skies to heavy rain. It was a good location for us to visit Banff one day and Lake Louise the next. In the evenings we hosted friends and family from Calgary and it was ideally located for this purpose as well. Great for a family to stretch out. Our two twin sons who are 13 had a field day! One thing I must add is that the caretaker was outstanding. As it was time to leave, I noticed we had a flat tire. He showed up 10 minutes later with a compressor and we were good to go. I would have waited an hour or more in the city for a similar experience. All in all it was pleasant all round.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just GO!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

We went to the cabin instead of doing hotels in the Banff area. What a perfect choice we made!
The house has everything you need. Chris has thought of everything to make you comfortable and yet still be in the middle of nature! Couldn't get enough of the deck area at the top of the hill. The view is just breathtaking. My work requires to go to a lot of places and rent a lot of housing or hotels and this one is for sure on the top of the list. Really can't say enough nice things about our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Engagement Weekend

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

This remote destination was the perfect setting for a surprise engagement. The view from the property was picturesque and the cabin was eclectic in décor and met all our needs. There were plenty of activities at the cabin such as a pool table, hot tub, foosball, gym, hiking, entertainment-theatre and the chance to be alone and relax in a great, peaceful environment. The cabin offers space for a small party as well multiple guests In addition, there was a stunning look-out over the valley that included a quaint cabin for two that served as a the PERFECT location for the proposal. We had a great time with just the two of us, but at the same time it offers a ton more space for multiple guests. We would definitely come back with just the two of us, but would not hesitate to come back friends and family.

The owner was great at accommodating on such a short notice and was very trustworthy. He went out of his way to ensure our weekend was successful and we could tell he prepared the estate for our special event. Chris was a great host and I feel confident that he would provide any party with a great experience at Wavehill.

Thanks for an outstanding weekend and we hope all the best for you and anyone that gets to experience the Wavehill.

Ryan and Kayla
Lethbridge

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoy the Wilderness

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

Wonderful property for a relaxing getaway. Pictures don't do it justice. If you want to sit out on the patio and enjoy the view, or just hang out in the many areas of the home and visit and relax, it is perfect. If you want to spend alot of time sightseeing in Banff/Jasper, know that it is somewhat time-filled to get to those areas. It is a 30 minute drive from the property to the main road and another hour or so to get to Banff, and about 4 hours to get to Jasper. So it just depends on your trip priorities. Wavehill is truly beautiful and relaxing and the owner was very responsive to all my questions and very helpful. Groceries easily purchased in Cochrane, about an hour away.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommended for group weekend getaways

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

I highly recommend Wavehill for a weekend getaway with friends. The kitchen is fully equipped (with the exception of a screen shield for bacon). There is a trail head for hiking 3 km farther down highway 40. The hot tub is big and well maintained. Chris was a pleasure to deal with a quickly returned all emails and phone calls I made. The property is gorgeous, full of interesting antiques and well maintained.
The fridge in the kitchen is kind of small and was half full of left over condiments from previous guests. There are 2 other fridges on the property, but perhapes there should be a rule for people to leave the fridge completely empty when they leave?

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation location

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

Our family of 6 really enjoyed out stay at Wavehill. The location is beautiful and and there are many decks and windows in the house that give you a wonderful view of the forrest and the mountains. It took us about an hour and 15 minutes to drive to Banff and then another 45 minutes to Lake Louise. We spent one day at the park and then the rest of our time relaxing at the cabin. There are groceries availabe about 30 minutes away in Cochrane. We enjoyed the hot tub, pool table, movie room and other great features of the home. We would highly recommend this home. Chris, the owner was very helpful as was Jason who met us at the house and gave us the complete tour on all of the features of the place. There is wifi and there is a washer and dryer which was very helpful for us since we had been traveling for several days at Glacier before coming to Wavehill.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Unforgettable Adventure Amidst Art, Nature and Luxury!

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

We booked Wave Hill for a men's getaway weekend at the end of May 2013. It was such fun to see the look on the faces of the guests as they arrived and toured the property! We were blown away by the building itself and the art Christopher has so lovingly acquired and displayed. It goes without saying that this property is one in a million. We made ample use of the many decks, the BBQ, the hot tub, the gym/games room and the extensive a/v equipment. Everything you could possibly need is on hand; it is so easy to simply show up, move in and enjoy!

Please don't deny yourself time to enjoy the Observatory. Day or night, bring a bottle of wine up to the "sky deck", sit back and enjoy the best view in the Wild Cat Hills.  Build a small fire in the stove and stay a night in the most peaceful setting imaginable. 

Thank you Christopher, you helped us create a weekend we will never forget!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Brad, so much appreciated and so happy that you and your guests had a wonderful time.
Christopher

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Definately worth it unbelivable accomidations, scenery and riding

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mom's 65th

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

Wavehill welcomed us warmly from the moment we arrived with a front yard dotted with White Tail Deer and that welcome feeling continuing as soon as we walked through the door. It felt like Chis was intentional with his design and decor, like each artifact or art piece had a story to tell and as if he put it thoughtfully there for you to enjoy. The views of the foothills and mountains were beautiful and it was not difficult to sit out in the hot tub to enjoy these sights accompanied by more deer and Saw-Whet Owl visits.
We chose Wavehill to celebrate our Mom's 65th Birthday and I don't think it we could have chosen a better place, Mom thoroughly enjoyed herself and so did everyone else. It catered to our family's diverse wants and needs.
Thank you Chris for creating this space and sharing it with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Russell for your kind words of appreciation, it always makes us feel great to know that our guests appreciate the effort we make to try and create a unique and memorable experience.
We hope to see you again,

Christopher

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Birthday Celebration

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

Wow... Wave Hill!! What a wonderful experience. My Husband and I, with our three adult children and three extended family members stayed in this gorgeous sucluded log home for two nights. Just under an hour drive from calgary this amazing getaway offered breath taking views with absolute peace and quiet. The house itself was emaculate. The beds were all super comfy. The kitchen was extremely functional. Relaxing in the hot tub under the stars...one of my favorite memories. This
very tastefully decorated retreat was exactly the break we all looked forward to. The home had everything we needed. The photos show very well,even nicer in person. I would highly recommend this getaway. My next stay?...Perhaps a girls weekend. I will be back!!! Thank again Christopher.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Verna, Thanks for the wonderful review, it always makes us happy when guests appreciate the effort we make, so glad that you all enjoyed it,
Christopher

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Weekend At Wavehill

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

We had a terrific time at Wavehill. The "cabin" lived up to its billing completely.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks Richard, i am pleased that your weekend went well, sorry that Calgary lost the Grey Cup.
Christopher

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

OUR WEDDING AT WAVEHILL

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the big Wavehill gates it was a truly Canadian experience. Traditionally designed log cabin 5 star style! Kathryn and I had our wedding on the property at the Observatory lookout in nature with breathtaking views, it was a special day. Wavehill hosted us and our family that came from Australia to join us. We stayed for the week and enjoyed playing pool, entertaining on the big back deck and discovering all the special touches that unfolded each day throughout the cabin. "Always Love Well" was the theme of the cabin and you could feel the energy that Christopher put into making each and every guest that comes through Wavehill feel a unique and wonderful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

More than memorable!

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

My family and I have travelled extensively all over the world. Wavehill was one of the closest to our home and yet also one of the most memorable places we have ever stayed. The property is so private and self sufficient you never want or need to leave. The home itself is very unique, ultra comfortable, and you see something beautiful out of every window. Some of the highlights for our family were taking long walks around the property, roasting marshmallows on the patio fire pit, and once the fresh air had tuckered us out we would all melt into the amazing down stuffed couch and take in a movie on the projection screen. If you are looking to feel rejuvenated after your trip instead of feeling you need a "vacation after your vacation" then this is the place, it seems as if even your soul is at rest in this location. You will also be impressed that you are only a short drive from the city, since you feel like you are a world away. Christopher, Jason and Kathy all went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed and at the same time were not unnecessarily bothered. We loved every second and will be back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Christine, thanks so much for this, we look forward to seeing you again in December.
Have a beautiful day,
Christopher

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A relaxing summer getaway

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

We were scrambling last minute to find a vacation rental when we had to cancel a house boating trip due to flooding - and we were SO fortunate to find Wavehill.

The property is beautiful and serene - the perfect combination of rustic and luxurious. You can go for a hike, enjoy a campfire, and then hit the hot tub or the steam shower and watch a movie on the big screen. The house is huge, with tons of space to enjoy. It rained only one morning during our time there, and we had plenty to entertain ourselves with inside.

The property is also very private and secluded, but is a conveniently short drive from Cochrane, as well as from a number of ranches. We went horseback riding at Griffin Family Ranch, and would recommend it.

Christopher, and the property manager Jason were both very easy to deal with. Jason was there to meet us and showed us around the house when we arrived. We were able to check in early and enjoy the house longer, so that was much appreciated.

Overall, Wavehill was the perfect choice for a relaxing family getaway. We had a great time, and we hope to return for another family get together in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect vacation home!

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Private, well appointed vacation home! My family and I traveled from Nashville to attend the Calgary Stampede and to visit Lake Louise and Banff. Convenient to these locations. The house is stunningly beautiful. The pictures do it no justice. I can't imagine a better experience from dealing with the pleasant home owner to the fantastic accommodations. Excellent!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Corporate Retreat

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Wavehill was the site for my first corporate retreat for my staff in June 2012. The staff eagerly began planning the event [to the exclusion of their other duties sometimes :)] like giddy school children. Despite a generous amount of rainy weather, the retreat was exactly what I'd hoped for: a chance for us all to bond and recreate together. Wavehill has so many wonderful amenities that there was never a dull moment. The cooler weather allowed us to have many cozy fires, hot tub meetings :), steam showers, games of pool, and other group games. The photos of this property do not do it justice! We are already planning our return trip next year! Thanks Chris!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Lori, greetings from the French Riviera. wonderful review and so much appreciated.
Have a wonderful day,

Christopher

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend of Memories

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Our family is so thankful for the wonderful memories made during our escape to this dream location with extraordinary views and solitude... with all the amenities to keep three generations of adults happy. Even though the weather was wet and cold it was wonderful sitting by the indoor wood burning fireplaces, relaxing in the hot tub and unwinding in the steam room. It was such a blessing to have no distractions allowing our family to just spend time with one another. We spent as much time as the weather would allow outside on the amazing decks watching the little waterfall, a fox with her babies, squirrels climbing up to the decks, breathing the fresh air and watching the fire dance in the outside fire pit.
Truly amazing!
Thank-you Christopher and Jason

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Judy, so lovely for you to do this for us,

Christopher

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at Wavehill property

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2012

I just want to thank you (Chris) for your and Jason's hospitality. Jason had been awesome. We had a wonderful time at your beautiful vacation home and whenever we come back to Calgary area we will definately stay at your vacation home. It has everything that we wanted to make our trip cozy and comfortable.
The views from the home are spectacular. The Amenities are amazing. Very very very seckuded and have all the privacy which we ever dreamed of. Excellent property in short!!!!!! A must go place we would say!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rocky Mountain Hideaway

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Wavehill is off the chain! The web site does not come close to doing this wonderful place justice. You must stand on the expansive decking surrounding the wonderful lodge inspired home to get the full impact of the jaw dropping views! We were in awe of the beautiful vista of forest covered foothills and snow capped Rocky Mountain peaks. Wood burning fires on each of the three levels inside the home provide the perfect complement to the funky, eclectic decor of the owners impressive art collection mixed with rugged, rustic furniture. My boys, aged 10 and 8 could not get enought of the theatre room which is truly first class. My wife and I entertained quests for a Sunday brunch in addition to the many other meals we prepared and felt right at home in Wavehill's perfectly equipped kitchen. If you decide to leave the pleasure of the lodge you need only take a short walk to the "observation cabin" which sits high on a ridge line on the property providing yet another inspiring view. Inside you will find an antique wood stove, comfortable reading bed, and small table and chairs. We spent an entire afternoon reading and enjoying wine from this cozy place. We are already planning our ski trip for later this year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PICTURES DO NOT DO JUSTICE ON THIS PLACE!

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Me and my family booked this place for the weekend as we are from Calgary. If you want you and your friends/family to get away there is no better place hands down. The pictures DO NOT show how amazing this place is, from the views to all the amenities this secluded property offers. If you are looking to get this and are unsure let this review be a tipping point as we will DEFINITELY be coming back. Also, Chris is an amazing person to deal with so all round this place is worth every penny you spend.
~Rick

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a treat retreat!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

This place is insane! We gathered some good friends together to get away from the city and our expectations we're blown. Wavehill was an outstanding experience and everyone is already pooling money for the next getaway!

Our Friday started in the afternoon with delicious steaks grilled on the propane BBQ, enjoyed on the main floor patio, just off the very well equipped kitchen.. We we're unsure of what we would need for cooking utensils, so we brought the whole nine yards, yet we never even broke into the box. Everything we needed was easily found.

The theatre was our next spot.. Very classy and so comfortable. We were extra pleased that the DVD player accepted our USB drive and we could play our own music and even a few videos worked as well. We were all ready to relax and we thought this was as good as it could get. But then we discovered the steam shower.. Oh did it ever feel good. This was definitely the highlight of the house for us..

For the remainder of the weekend we relaxed to the max! The downstairs patio is absolutely stunning, and most of our time was spent out here. Awesome hot-tub with incredible views and an outdoor firepit for the evening.

Overall, our stay far exceeded our expectations. The house was absolutely stunning and the property surrounding is top notch. Everything was clean as expected, but what set it apart was the quality. From the wonderful beds, to the unique artwork, the firewood chopped and stacked ready for us, everything about our weekend away was sublime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Phenomenal 40th Birthday at Wavehill!

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

For my husband's 40th Birthday we rented Wavehill for 5 nights and had an exceptional time. We live in Calgary, so the drive time was < 1 hour, and only about 30 min from Cochrane. The house is gorgeous - log cabin design decorated with beautiful antiques in an artistic style of country/outdoors. We had some friends join us, and we made good use of the hot tub, steam shower, theatre room, pool table, telescope, and foosball table. The table in the kitchen was also perfect for late-night poker games. We cooked all our meals there, the kitchen is fully stocked with all cookware/eatware. We used the natural gas bbq a number of times, and it is well sheltered in case of any rain/wind. Our group spent plenty of time lounging in the deck chairs basking in the afternoon sun. The thing I loved best about Wavehill was the absolute serene calm and quiet - everyone commented about how well they slept at night due to the complete peacefulness. We saw multiple deer, hawks, eagles and squirrels all from the deck. The stars at night were amazing, we shut off all the property lights the one night and gathered on the deck for a little astronomy lesson. We also brought our quads with us, and quadded right on/from the property - exploring all 80 acres. You can access the South Ghost PRA trails right from the property. The owner was very friendly, provided all the information we needed anytime, and the caretaker gave me a great tour and info on how to operate all the house systems. I also appreciated the bottled water (water cooler style) that was provided, and the extra fridge located in the garage loft which was a big help as we had a lot of food there for 5 nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Wavehill and had difficulty leaving on our last day - we will be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded my expectations

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

I had my 25Th birthday party at Wavehill and could not have asked for a better place to celebrate. The cabin was absolutely breathtaking from the outside in. The description and pictures for the cabin did not do it justice, it was far more then I thought it would be. The property was well maintained and spotless when I had arrived, and the owner was extremely friendly and a delight to deal with. My parents joined me for the day and my friends later on in the evening, they were all blown away and mentioned that they would soon be booking a stay at Wavehill for a get together of their own.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow! Even my teenagers were thrilled!

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

A fantastic home away from home - all the luxury of a great hotel with an uncomprimised sense of seclusion and comfort. Everything from the view sitting in the hot tub on the deck to the fanatstic pool table area to the fact that every bedroom has it's own bathroom facilities - AWESOME. I travel extensively all over the world and can legimately say that this ranks as one of the best vacations that we have had. Thank you for being so thoughtful in creating and designing Wavehill - we will most certainly be back!
Cheers,
Shawn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hit The Slopes

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

Stunning cabin with incredible views and amenities. Definitely has the "wow" affect when you drive the road and turn the final bend when The Cabin comes into view. Sometimes the photographs on the website are better than the actual product - this is the reverse. Close to Calgary yet also an easy jump to the Rocky Mountain ski experience. This is a magical cabin to return to after a day on the slopes. Hot tub under the stars a great way to silence aching bodies after skiing.

Canmore and its many international standard restaurants are a 1/2 hour drive.

We have also experienced The Cabin in the Summer months and there is heaps to do in the area including rafting, hiking and ATVing.

A wonderful retreat and great spot to kick-back and rejuvenate at absolutely any time of the year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dave (Calgary)

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

I would highly suggest a stay at Wave Hill......the location is perfect being just 45 min out of Calgary, but the feeling is that you're a million miles away from everything. Great place to just relax........ the property has breath taking scenery that you won't soon forget, perfect for a romantic getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Chilling out time

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

I have had a chance to stay here serveral times over the last few years. Wave Hill is a great place to decompress, open up a bottle of wine, play some pool and enjoy the incredible nature opportunities at one's doorstep. The short drive from Calgary is as enjoyable as the private location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review