reviews for: listing #96130 - Whidbey Island, Washington House rental

Cottage for Couples ... Estate for Large Groups
  • bedrooms  9
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Clinton
  • sleeps  30
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $1,600 /nt

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect setting to draw people together

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

Perfect Setting to draw people together

Big enough for Comfort

Small enough for closeness

Love it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

This is a wonderful place for a family gathering!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful House

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

It's a wonderful house! We had a great time here! Thank you so much!

~ DSSA UW

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Church Retreat

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

Our church had the pleasure of hosting a women's retreat at the Quintessa. From the planning phases on, we found the owners to be extremely responsive in promptly answering our questions. The estate was very comfortable, quiet, and accommodated a large group nicely.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Flawless!

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

I am a youth minister, and I brought up a LARGE group of teenagers, college students, and young graduates to stay at the Quintessa and another property nearby. The students and myself had nothing but great things to stay. The owners were cordial, friendly, and very helpful in providing information about Whidbey Island. And, altogether, it was a very reasonable price for such a beautiful house. I couldn't recommend it more to anyone who has a large group, for any occasion!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4 generations all together under one roof

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

Dear Carrie and Tessa,

Still thinking of how wonderful everything was "R's Wedding Weekend." I just had to say thank you again for your lovely place! Thank you also for the welcoming gifts of wine and tahini sauce - Mr. Mobley's is a favorite.

This was such a special time to have 4 generations all together under one roof - we truly celebrated life - my Dad's 86th birthday, my nephew's 2 month old daughter, and the marriage of J & R!

Your home blessed us - Thank you!

Jan C. ~ Mother of the Bride

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Most Perfect Weekend

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

Dear Tessa and Carrie,

The last of the guests are now gone, and I can finally take a minute to tell you how much we enjoyed our family reunion. I don't think we could think of a single thing that was missing from this absolutely perfect home! The kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms had everything you could ever need or want, and were beautifully decorated.

It was a most perfect weekend, made even more so when we had a surprise visitor on Friday night. My son Rob, home early from Afghanistan! He, his wife and baby surprised us all by flying in from Utah! What a great Christmas gift that was, and especially with great grandma and all the brothers and sisters to be there to welcome him home! There were a lot of happy tears and celebrating that night ( I hope we were not too noisy!)

If we ever manage to get everyone together again in one state, it will definitely be at the Quintessa! Thank you again for all your help in making this a magical weekend.

Have a Merry, Merry Christmas!

Patty A.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, spacious home, perfect for large groups

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Quintessa, and are so thankful to Carrie and Tessa for opening up their home. It was the perfect place for my large family, and was very comfortable for all ages. We had quite a few children, toddlers, babies, and the house was large enough that the older children had places to play in the yard and home, and the babies only kept their parents up at night. There is so much space for eating, talking, catching up and celebrating birthday and weddings. I also really appreciated how quickly Carrie and Tessa responded to my questions, which was incredibly helpful when planning this trip. It is a lovely home, Carrie and Tessa are lovely people to work with, and it helped make my wedding weekend absolutely perfect!

Owners response: Dear Rachel,

Thank you for your kind words! Almost nothing else flatters us as much as positive reviews from our guests or referrals from them. In your case, we were just so honored that our place could be a part of your very special wedding weekend. We hold your dad and your family in the highest esteem. We have always been in awe of your family's dedication and compassion to healthcare around the world.

Best of luck with everything you do and best wishes on your future with Scott!

Warmly,
Tessa & Carrie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

27 family members under one roof

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

What a spectacular time at a fabulous place! Thank you! To have 27 family members under one roof (well, 2 with the cabin) and not feel like we were tripping over each other was amazing. We enjoyed every minute from the birthday party to the wedding celebration ~ Carrie and Tessa ~ you made everything SO welcoming & comfortable. Thank you!

~ Rachel and James C. ~ bride and groom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our deepest thanks

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

Our deepest thanks for the use of your wonderful setting. It made our weekend gathering complete. Looking forward to next time.

~ Mark & Sarah P. - UW 40th year Graduation Anniversary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of the best yet!

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

I am one of the infamous S clan members who recently stayed at your home on Whidbey Island. What a DELIGHT it was! We loved your home, and it was so well appointed. My husband and I have rented large homes for family/friend groups in other areas of the U.S. but this was one of the best yet! We could tell you take pride in keeping your home/grounds people friendly, clean and in good repair.

Loved the ease of clean-up for check-out. Your directions were very clear. The best idea ever is the large black bin in the front closet for the wet towels! Thank you again for everything! I will keep your info as my side of family loves to travel and stay in homes like yours!

~ Lynda S. - family reunion

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is by far the nicest place!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Our family has been doing this for 10 years in many different states. This is by far the nicest place!

~ Richard McP

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love it!

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

It's been such a wonderful experience coming to Whidbey Island for the first time and staying here ~ is just magical!

Love it!

We're here for the special occasion of the wedding of my niece M to K.

Thank you!

- Sandy D.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely place to stay, very relaxing

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

Dear Carrie and Tessa,

We really enjoyed our 3 days at The Cottage. Lovely place to stay, very relaxing ~ just what we needed to escape the Texas heat. Thanks for everything. We hope to be back.

~ Mark and Kathleen B

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful grounds

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely cottage stay. We really enjoyed Whidbey Island and would love to come back to The Quintessa. Beautiful grounds!

- The L Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A very lovely place to stay

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

Special thanks to Tessa and Carrie for a very lovely place to stay for our wedding anniversary!

- the chalkboard welcome
- the wine and sparkling cider
- the assorted bath salts
- the fun movie collection (we donated a couple more)
- the late and leisurely check-out
- the extremely comfy bed
- the beautiful grounds
- wonderful kitchen - next time we will cook!
- and all of the other fine touches

Nancy and Dean

*** In the beginning, there was an ocean. Then an island appeared. It was originally settled by the first North Americans. They called it Shire Island. They loved to smoke pipes and drink beer. Soon, it became necessary to build a beautiful gray house and cottage to add to their flourishing village They called it Quintessa. And it was known for many leagues around. There lived Carrie, Tessa, and their families. They defeated all the evil wizards and blessed all with wine and apple cider from the kingdom of Martinelli.

Thank you so much for a magical stay.

The End

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very peaceful yet lots to see and do for everyone!

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time at your house and on your island! Very peaceful yet lots to see and do for everyone! Thanks so much for everything. A great way to spend a birthday!

~ Mary Lou M and 28 more family members

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Fun Time

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Very fun time, beautiful house!

~ M Family Reunion

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fruit trees were all producing

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Adriana & Jordan Wedding

House was spacious, the view amazing. Fruit trees were all producing, pear, plum, apple. Garden was great. Yard art was fun to search out and find. The two cranes were amazing, but won't fit in my luggage. :( lol

Played bocce on the back lawn, great space.

Rehearsal Dinner was held in the back. Everyone had a great time.

Thank you for maintaining a great "Quintessa".

Sergio R.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious, Comfortable, Welcoming Home

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

Dear Tessa and Carrie,

We are sad that our week here at the beautiful Quintessa has come to an end. At our peak, we were 17, ranging in age from 17-87. Your spacious, comfortable, welcoming home provided a great home base for exploring Whidbey.

Fabulous family dinners on the deck. Great views!

Thanks! Carol

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Spot

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

Great spot ~ we enjoyed the sight and sounds for our 7th A-Day! Thanks for all the helpful info and suggestions @ Cottage. Must try Blooms Winery too ~ great live music 3-5 p on Sun.

~ Christy & Anthony

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a fantabulous time!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

Had a fantabulous, extraordinary, wonderful, responsive, beautiful, loving, wholesome, patriotic, celebratory, time in Quintessa.

We also had a nice time.

Nancy and Susan and Ley and Eva, Curtis, Rob, Susan, Matt, Jenn, Ruthie, Vera, Chrissy, Jenny, Dani, Carlyn, Don, Andrea, Karl, Craig, Andi, Bob & Liz, Valerie and Cori and Nikki the Humanoid

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Grandpa's 70th Birthday and family reunion.

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

5 days with 5 sons and daughters and their spouses, 10 grandkids from 15-1 yo, 1 brother and sister in law and 2 kids ..all from 5 states. Easy access from Seatac airport was a priority. Terrific time. The big yard entertained the 8 little ones, the teenagers and older kids helped with playtime. Beach and winery tours nearby for some. Treated everyone to the boat tour of Deception Pass..a big hit (along with post triip ice cream). Clamming by one couple and kids. We had 2 dinners full service catered and one food-provided so the girls wouldn't have to cook and cleanup (we brought the rest of the food from a huge Costco run before).We barbecued one night. The house is immaculate (and huge) and the grounds and yard are perfect. It was expensive (since grandpa and grandma were paying the bill) but a thrilling once in a lifetime event in a perfect spot with a perfect spacious home and cottage for all. No negatives at all. Carrie and Tessa are terrific hosts, are out of sight but are readily available if needed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Blown away at your hospitality

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

Tessa and Carrie,

Our leadership team was blown away at your hospitality. Your home is absolutely beautiful, and gave us great inspiration on how to flourish and grow.

Thank you for your generosity and opening up your beautiful home to us. We look forward to visiting again.

- Service Alternatives, Inc.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Our family reunion at The Quintessa on Whidbey Island was wonderful.
From grandchildren to grandparents, everyone enjoyed it.
We did some touring on the island as well as fishing at Deception Pass State Park.
The huge grassy area provided plenty of room for football, badminton, frisbee throwing
while the two year olds played under the trees.
We cooked most of our meals in the spacious kitchen and the weather was nice enough to
barbeque on the deck.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One word: MAGICAL

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

One word: MAGICAL

Thank you for making our 10-year anniversary so special.

You and Tessa have gone above and beyond for us since day one, and we cannot thank you enough.

xo Clare and Joe B (and friends)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our secret happy place

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

We really enjoyed the rope swing and the stumps. That was our secret happy place. It was really a magical stay. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, Peaceful, and Lovely

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

From Eliab's family: This is such a beautiful, peaceful, and lovely home ... that we wish would stay here forever! We really hope to come back very soon. May God Bless You and your family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Once again, we enjoyed your lovely place!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

Dear Tessa and Carrie,

Once again, we enjoyed your lovely place. It's gorgeous. It's nigh perfect.

We hope to be back, Aaron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

Dear Tessa and Carrie,

We loved your home! It was a wonderful experience. We are very thankful and hope to come back.

Love Melissa and family

God Bless You

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The kids loved playing with Molly!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

Thank you so much .... Tessa and Carrie, we had a Great time at your place. The kids loved playing with Molly! You have a lovely place, and we hope to be back sometime ... ! Regards, Jacob, Grace and kids from Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks!

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

Wow! Thanks for this wonderful space. Thanks for connecting us with a great realtor. Thanks for directing us to the coffee roaster in the woods. Thanks for the great view. Thanks for the comfy beds and cozy cabin. Thanks for Molly's shining face and bouncing spirit. Thanks for your kindness and hospitality. Thanks for beautiful trees and flowers. Thanks for Carrie & Tessa. NAMASTE!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So incredibly pampered

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

We feel so incredibly pampered - thank you so much, Tessa, Carrie, and Molly. Your home is so welcoming and comfortable - and you guys make us smile. Just looking out the window across the fields, seeing sparkles dance on the water with snow-capped mountains rising to the sky is so relaxing. Watching the full moon sail above the treetops, listening to the frog chorus, then falling into the comfortable bed gave us sweet dreams and restful sleep. We're so glad we came. Thank you for everything! All the best, Nancy, Jay, and Jerry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Healing to our souls

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

Thank you for enriching our lives with such a lovely time in this beautiful home! We enjoyed the quiet so much. Our lives are busy, and the peace and quiet was healing to our souls. *** Dr. Nick and Sue M.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Get together

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

We were 10 families with kids of ages ranging from infants to teen. All of us had so much fun. The kids loved the dress up costumes, air hockey and the board games. The view was great and so peaceful. The house had everything that we could think of and everything that we needed during our stay. Very neat and well organized.We had a very comfortable and fun couple days. It truly felt like a home away from home. We would gladly recommend the house to friends/relatives.
Thank You.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We're engaged!

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

We're engaged! Spent the weekend with our closest friends and family. What a perfect time. T proposed on the ferry. Came here and was shocked to find my whole family behind the door. Then further surprised to see the kitchen full of friends and T's family. We hope to return soon. *** K ~ surprise proposal planned by boyfriend

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We all will cherish the memories

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

Thanks for giving us all a nice stay and service. House has wonderful view behind. We all will cherish the memories of the stay for long. *** J. J. ~ Microsoft

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The staff really couldn't have been nicer

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

We had an amazing time on the island. I'd like to give a big shout out to the cabin and the staff. The staff really couldn't have been nicer and it was really great that they helped us plan everything from where we ate dinner to amazing places to go hike. We'll be back as well. *** Brian L. and Megan (almost) L. ~ planning for their wedding

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had A Blast!

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Karaoke and dancing at American Legion. Had a Blast!! Just joined our friends ... what a welcoming home to come meet our family! *** The Burning Man Ice Team

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So quiet, well appointed, and warm!

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

We had such a lovely time on Whidbey! In large part due to your wonderful Cottage, so quiet, well appointed, and warm! We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for an amazing space

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

Dear Tessa & Carrie,

We hosted a retreat for entrepreneurs this weekend. We started with the question "How do I validate an idea?" By the end of the retreat, we'd grown the theme "I'm most effective when speaking from my passions."

That was a wonderful experience. I got to watch a lot of learning and personal development happen here.

Thank you for an amazing space for this to happen.

With cheer,

Aaron A with the Dragon Curve Team

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

EVERYTHING about the home was wonderful

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

Hi Tessa and Carrie,

I can't even find words to thank you adequately for what you made possible for my father. My entire family has never come together to spend a weekend and that we made this happen for our dad meant so much to him. He has only seen his great grandchildren for a couple hours twice and here he had an entire weekend to enjoy them. All the grandchildren spent a little time with him one:one and we engaged in games and enjoyment of one another.

Tessa and Carrie, thank you. I will recommend The Quintessa far and wide as will my family. EVERYTHING about the home was wonderful. Truly the best place I have stayed in with a group and I have orchestrated a lot of group events/retreats, workshops, etc.

Bless you and your family.

With love and gratitude, Hestia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas at the Quintessa

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

We loved this location and the facility. It was better than the pictures indicated and worked well to support a 25+ person family reunion over the christmas holiday. Plenty to do on Whidbey Island, despite the time of year.

Our hosts Tessa and Carrie were great, they had it all decorated for the holiday before we showed up, and were immediately available if we had questions or needs. We would definitely book this property again

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Blessings

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 4, 2012

It is blustery, wild, noisy in the air, yet not too cold, not too rainy yet - There is a little light in the sky.

Luke 1:77 "The heart of our God is full of mercy. That's why his daylight has dawned from on high bringing light to the dark as we sat in death's shadow guiding our feet in the path of peace."

God's Blessing upon you, Carrie and Tessa!

Pastor Ron and Bonnie R.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for this place

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2012

I read the Christmas story in Luke - I hear about Jesus coming into a time of darkness and need. I hear and see Glory behind it.

I get to experience this here, now with warm bed, gorgeous surroundings, gentle, loving hosts, Hallelujah Praise be to God.

Thanks for this place.

Pastor Ron and Bonnie R.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My family had a great time!

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

This was a great house. I loved it. It is beautiful. My family had a great time. Thank you.

Love Manda T. age 8

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best Family Reunion Ever

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

This was the best family reunion ever. You have a beautiful home here, and we enjoyed every bit of it!

T family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Chance to enjoy with my whole extended family

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

Dear Tessa and Carrie,

I really enjoyed being here. It was great having everyone here to play. I loved the air hockey downstairs. The bedrooms were fabulous! Thank you for the chance to enjoy this Thanksgiving with my whole extended family.

Love, Kaitlan C. age 12

P.S. I love this Notebook!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We all had a great time

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your wonderful home. We all had a great time enjoying the beautiful island. Thanks! Rich and Juli C.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I had so much fun!

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

This house is wonderful! I love the view and how big the house is! I love the games and the movies! And the huge backyard and the Jolly Roger with the rope swing and the zipline! Also, the Lost Boys cabin with all the toys inside! I didn't get to see the Mermaid Lagoon, but my cousins told me about it. I had so much fun, and I hope I can come to this big, beautiful house again.

Thanks, Nicki C.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Magical Place full of Wonder and Beauty

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

Thanksgiving 2012

Thank you so very much! This is a magical place full of wonder and beauty. Our children loved exploring the Mermaid Lagoon, Jolly Roger, and Lost Boys Cabin. They had sword fights with pirates, trekked through dangerous woods, and played with magical creatures. I appreciated all the lovely books and enjoyed reading several. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and feel like home. Your hand drawn cards in the Allowance game are delightful! We are already talking about when we come again. It is the detail and thoughtful touches that make all the difference. It has been lovely.

Thank you, Amy B.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A space of quiet, beauty, light, peace, and love

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 31, 2012

"Be still and know that I am God"

"The Whole earth is filled with His Glory"

Thank you for creating a space of quiet, beauty, light, peace, and love. We are so grateful for this space as a part of our Healing journey.

Pastor Ron and Bonnie R.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful family gathering

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

As Wendy's mother, I want to second her comments and add we had a wonderful family gathering - Thank you for this lovely "Home" and to be able to share our time and reminiscings.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Comfortable and Lovely

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

Dear Tessa and Carrie,

Thank you for providing a beautiful setting for our family reunion. Your home and hospitality helped make a very special time for us so comfortable and lovely.

Thank you,

Wendy N. (family reunion)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I feel very pampered!

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

Thanks for a wonderful space to unwind in and enjoy! Your beds are so cozy I'm sure I'd fail the "Princess and the Pea" test if there was one. I feel very pampered!

*** Natalie, NZ - non-profit organization

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Epitome of a Spacious Dwelling Place

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

This house and place is the epitome of a spacious dwelling place. Being a woman who craves spacious places, I can't say enough about the beauty of this space, and the view. Thank you for your hospitality in sharing this with groups such as ours (VCC)!

*** Elise C. - Vineyard Community Church

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Delightful!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

I am so thankful we could have the mansion the whole week before and a little after our wedding, it was absolutely delightful! I can't thank you both enough!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gracious and Kind Hospitality

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

Thank you so much for our wonderful South Whidbey Anniversary Retreat! We enjoyed being here and will surely be back. Your gracious and kind hospitality was appreciated.

Blessings, Eric and Kimee S.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect place

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

The Quintessa is the perfect place to accomodate a large group. It has enough rooms so everyone can sleep well, a big kitchen with a big counter top to gather around and prepare dinner together, a cozy living room to chat, a nice playroom for the kids and a big garden to be able to run around. We had all a very nice stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your house is great!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

Nice house, nice view, nice everything. We had a great time - your house is great! Merci et a bientot ~ French Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed Every Minute

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

Dear Tessa, Carrie and Family,

Thank you very much for the wonderful weekend. We enjoyed every minute of your kind hospitality. What a beautiful place. We'll be back soon.

Fondly, Patti and Friends

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Accommodated Us In Style

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

Excellent choice for our Norman OK Class of 1969 Campfire - Horizon Club Reunion. The home accommodated us in style so thank you for sharing. We will speak fondly on the memories for years to come.

Enjoy your spot of heaven, Holly F. Leawood KS

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hoots/Thomas Family - Ryan & Michelle's Wedding

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

Our stay at The Quintessa was fabulous. The house and cottage were amazing, the location and view were prefect, and we couldn't have chosen a better location to bring our families together for this special wedding weekend. There was room for all, and there were 27 of us. We had a large family dinner, the first night we were there, and we actually had enough service for all who attended, including wine glasses. Carrie and Tessa could not have been more gracious in helping us with anything that came up that needed attending to. The only thing that didn't seem to get fixed was only having cold water in the cottage, the 2nd and 3rd days of our visit. We would not hesitate in recommending this beautiful home as the perfect venue for families celebrating any occasion...weddings, reunions, etc. And Carrie and Tessa will definately make you feel at home. Thank you so much for making our time with you so memorable

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bit of Paradise

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

What an amazing blessing we received being "rescued" by Carrie and Tessa and sheltered at the quintessential Quintessa! The beauty of our accommodations, the "Eden-like" surroundings are only surpassed by the gracious, kind, generous and gentle spirits of Carrie and Tessa (...and OH yes Molly of course!). Thank you for sharing your bit of Paradise with us. We will be back - sooner than you think!

Gratefully, Barbara and John ~ Lake Oswego OR

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pristine

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

The house was absolutely perfect! Pristine, I would say. We felt very luxurious in these surroundings – I don’t think we have ever had such a great space for our meetings.

*** Maureen M. - school administrator for Whidbey Island Waldorf School retreat

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Loved Being Here

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

We SO loved being here!

Judy and Blaine A. ~ parents of the groom

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ate, drank, and made lots of Merry

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

What a fantastic place to bring friends and family together. We met with new and old friends - Ate, drank, and made lots of Merry. We just need to figure out the next "group" outing and all come back!

Darren A. and Leah L. ~ groom and bride ~ Wedding Weekend Labor Day 2012

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for EVERYTHING!!

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

A huge "thank you" for making my stay so comfortable and fun. I really enjoyed picking lettuce and onions out of the garden for dinner along with plums, apples and blackberries! You are wonderful caretakers!

Thanks for having the great fire pit. WHEN I come back, I'll teach you how to build a campfire, Tessa. : )

I do look forward to coming back again someday!

Thanks for EVERYTHING!! : )

*** Joyce M. Redmond, WA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect House for our Children's Wedding!

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

The perfect house for our family to gather for our children's wedding.

Tessa and Carrie, you made it like home for us. Thank you so much for everything you did for us, and with a smile - always.

The view is amazing! The house is beautiful.

Sincerely, Fran and Jerry H. (parents of the groom)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll be counting the days until we can come back!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Dear Carrie & Tessa,

We had such a wonderful time during our stay in your lovely home, and I've been meaning to drop you a note ever since we returned from our trip!

I can't imagine a more beautiful and relaxing place to gather with our family than Whidbey Island, and The Quintessa was the perfect home base. We had so much fun exploring the beautiful beaches and charming towns of Whidbey, but my most cherished memories of our time on the island both revolve around The Quintessa: our kids playing for hours on end on your amazing expanse of lawn, and our wonderful dinners — cafe dining, we called it — with all of us scattered among the various tables on the deck, mixing and mingling and taking in that breathtaking view of water and mountains.

Throughout the trip, everyone kept commenting on how perfect the house was for us, how comfortable it was, and how lucky we were to have found it. And we were! Staying at The Quintessa made our reunion — which would have been wonderful, no matter what, just by virtue of all of us being together — all that much more special, and we thank you so much for your warm hospitality. We'll be counting the days until we can come back!

All the best,

Kate for the entire K, M, K clan

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Fantastic view,
Fantastic house,
Fantastic family reunion,
Fantastic hosts,
Fantastic time!

*** The M. Clan - family reunion (AR, IL, TX, CA, WA)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Blown away by the view of the Olympic Mtn range

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Thank you for a memorable, wonderful week!

Quintessa is a beautiful home and the perfect setting for a family get together. We could not have asked for a more ideal spot. The spacious house and terrific yard allowed for lots of activities and games. We enjoyed dinner on the deck every night and were blown away by the view of the Olympic Mountain Range.

Thank you for your hospitality! We are all sad our week has come to an end, and we have to say goodbye to The Quintessa and Whidbey Island.

Thank you!

*** Polly, Christian M. and 4 boys from Concord, MA

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome house for a family reunion

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

What an awesome house for a family reunion! Thank you!

*** The K. Family - family reunion

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Week Ever

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

I loved the mansion! Soooo fun! I loooved the yard. We played in the yard about 2 hours a day! Best week ever. Thanks!

*** Charlotte K.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Especially loved the yard!!

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

The Quintessa was great! We especially LOVED the yard!! Thank you!!!!

*** Ellie K.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

AWESOME AND BIG!

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

AWESOME!! BIG!!! Very beautiful, and not to mention, Awesome Yard!

*** Oliver K.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazingly Perfect!

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

This house is so amazingly perfect to create a perfect family wedding!

The space is so easy to live in and allowed for over 30 of us to live comfortably with lots of chaos going on to put our wedding together. None of us wanted to leave!

Thank you for letting us take over and create a magical day for our lovely T. and C.!

*** Martha and Jeff L. - parents of the bride

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Small details admired and appreciated

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Arriving was an experience in itself. Driving into the Beautiful grounds and the fresh breeze of the sea was Bliss.

The home is gorgeous and the small details were admired and appreciated.

Thank you soo much.

*** Wedding Party of T. and C.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful and Spacious

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Beautiful place, spacious and very nice grounds.

*** Wedding Guest

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing!

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here at The Quintessa.

The House was warm and relaxing. People here are incredibly friendly.

Thanks for letting us stay!

*** Erik and Arianna J.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

More Than Expected

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

We have arrived to a wonderful place and are more than pleased with the entire estate. The grounds are beautifully kept and the mansion is more than expected. Thank you so much.

*** C. C.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Stellar, Beautiful Space

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Thank you so much for creating such a stellar, beautiful space for all our family and friends to create a magical celebration for T and C!

*** The L. Family

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really enjoyed our 50th

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

We have really enjoyed our 1st part of our 50th!

Thank you, Tessa and Carrie

*** Jerry from Mississippi - anniversary

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very, very relaxing

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

This is a beautiful home! If I were getting married, this is where I would want the wedding to be. The island is a nice, quiet place to go to. You can go into the city very easily. The owners are right there if you have any questions or problems. They are extremely friendly and will make sure you have an unforgettable stay. Don't hesitate to book with them. You won't be sorry.

*** Vicki K.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Place Ever

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Best place ever- hope to return soon - Cottage is especially wonderful.

*** Mary F. - 50th wedding anniversary & family reunion

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly a Beautiful Place

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

This is truly a beautiful place in God's wonderful creation! We greatly enjoyed bonding together as a family and creating memories! Greatly enjoyed the weekend! Thank you for your help.

*** Teri F. and family

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love It!

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Love it!

*** Addlyn F.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's so big!

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

I can't wait to dine and sleep here! It's so big, I could get lost!

*** Chloe F.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I Love This Place!

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

I LOVE THIS PLACE! I would stay here for a year!

*** Conner F.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was Wonderful

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Everything was wonderful - thank you so much for the opportunity to stay here as a part of Vortext!

*** Jessica P. - Hedgebrook women's writer's workshop

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious & Spotless

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Tessa and Carrie,

Your home is spacious and spotless! I was so comfortable - thank you.

I hope to visit you again.

*** Stephanie C. - Hedgebrook women's writer's workshop

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Owners

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

To Carrie at The Quintessa:

Had a wonderful stay, clean and comfy. The jacuzzi bath is awesome! You are wonderful owners. Langley is a wonderful town. Would come back sometime soon.

Cheers!

Kinjal S. & friends

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Anniversary Weekend

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

Tessa,

Thank you so much for your hospitality! We had a wonderful anniversary weekend!

Wes & Bethany B. - anniversary

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

21st Anniversary at The Cottage

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

The Quintessa Cottage is beautiful, but the hospitality was even more so. Thanks for making our 21st anniversary even more special!

*** Peter & Tina H. - anniversary

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Elegant lovely vacation experience!

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

The Quintessa is an elegant lovely vacation experience! Our family thoroughly enjoyed feeling welcomed, your hospitality, and all the Quintessa has to offer. In particular, the layout of the kitchen/family room makes for great big group entertaining and adds to the fun. The Quintessa is a wonderful place!

*** Chris S. and family - family reunion

Helpful votes: 12 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Connect and share some love and happy times

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

Loved everything about this big, bright, friendly home where we were all able to fit in, connect, and share some love and happy times. Thank you SO much!

*** Kathryn S. and family - family reunion

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Slept Like A Baby!

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Such a comfy bed and no street noise! Slept like a baby - it was so hard to wake up. Thanks for sharing this beauty.

*** Dettlaff P.

Helpful votes: 11 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Gracious!

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

Beautiful home! You were so gracious, Tessa! Thank you!

*** Adrienne (mother of the bride)

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Very accommodating owners

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay for the weekend at the cottage adjacent to the large house. The place was clean and tidy, and Tessa had left the door unlocked for us since we were arriving late. We made our reservation for the cottage at the last minute, but Tessa was very accommodating, in spite of our last minute request. She called and emailed several times to check in on us. We had also considered using the Quintessa for our guests for our upcoming wedding, and Tessa and Carrie gave us a nice tour of the big house and answered all of our questions. They seem very sweet and will do everything they can to make your stay pleasant.

Owners response: A wedding on Whidbey will be like no other! You and your guests are sure to have an enchanted weekend! Best to you both for a happy and fulfilled life!

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful & Comfortable Space to Work & Stay!

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

Tessa and Carrie,

Thank you for so kindly offering such a beautiful and comfortable space to work and stay at The Quintessa. It made the work time at the Whidbey Island Waldorf School that much more enjoyable.

Thank you for your graciousness and generosity,

Kathy from Canada

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review