reviews for: listing #96254 - Woodland Park, Colorado Cabin rental

Woodland Valley, Woodland Park, CO
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $200 /nt
    $1,225 - $1,295 /wk

sort by:

Love this place!

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

This is our second time here in only 4 months and I hope to go back soon! The hiking trails are literally right behind the house so if you like to hike this is the house for you. There is plenty of room and so close to everything yet it feels far away. I can't wait to go back! If you do not choose this cabin you are missing out.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Great Find

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

The pics and reviews just didn't do this place justice. It had more than enough room and had stunning views off the back porch. Entire property was covered in snow when we arrived. Kids quickly found sledding equipment in the garage and it was hard to get them off the hill on the side of the driveway. Everything we needed was in the cabin. Short drives to grocery stores was also very convenient. Overall, I would hope to come back to this place during the winter again and I would recommend to anyone thinking of renting this house.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3



Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

We fell in love with this place! It was what we expected and more. We had an amazing time. We have rented many cabins over the 4+ years we have lived here and this is by far our favorite. The hiking trails are literally right outside the back door. It was so nice not to have to drive somewhere just to hike. We hiked in the morning and afternoon and enjoyed every second of it. It was so close to everything but felt like you were not. I know people complained of the bathroom door sticking but it was not an issue for us. We had everything we needed there and more. The 3rd level does get really hot during the day so keep a window open but don't forget to close it at night! There were cute little fireplaces in the master and the 3rd floor bedroom. Overall I gave this place a 5 and I can't wait to go back. It was beautiful and relaxing. Sitting outside by the fireplace and listening to the breeze go through the trees was very peaceful. I would highly recommend this place! We even got to see the most beautiful red fox!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Excellent place to enjoy the mountains!

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

My entire family went together to rent this house, and we are ready to go back again. We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the house. It is nice, clean and had the necessary things to get by for a few days. There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep, and different areas for watching TV/ movies. The view is perfect and having the trails behind the house is great.
Overall, everything was great. I do agree with some of the others that there are a few repairs that are needed like windows/screens, door knobs and the dragging bathroom door. None of these things prevented us from enjoying our trip though. We could have used a couple more trash bags and TP, but we did not run out. There was not foil, so we got our own at WalMart. A couple of more suggestions would be blinds/ shades for some of the windows and a spare propane tank for the grill. I was only able to grill part of the food that I wanted to because we ran out of propane. I did request a refill, but it did not arrive before we left. No hard feelings, but a spare tank in the garage would be helpful.
We can't wait to come back. We already feel like this is part of "our" home. I highly recommend this home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Perfect place for 5 old fishing guys.

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Nice, clean, large enough for all of us, convenient location. Needs a few repairs, but would not hesitate to stay here again. Good value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Great house, poor maintenance, broken hot tub and pellet stove

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

We were less than satisfied with this particular home, after staying at multiple homes previously in the area. Upon our arrival, we found many items broken in the house, specifically the hot tub and pellet stove which heated half of the house. We were sent "hot tub rules" prior to our arrival and picked this home out specifically for the hot tub which viewed Pike's Peak. It did not have any water in it and when we called the mgmt company after our arrival, we were told it was broken prior to our reservation, yet instead of an apology or offer of a partial refund, we were scolded that we arrived thirty minutes earlier than we should have. Secondly, the entire north side of the house is heated by one pellet stove, which had a sign on it that it was broken. There was a sign to use space heaters. One outlet worked in that wing, and it would blow a fuse if two space heaters were plugged into it. Thus, that area remained around 50-55 degrees our whole stay. The main pellet stove was also difficult to work, and we would find the house frequently would go from 70-50 degrees in the blink of an eye. The house simply is lacking in overall maintenance. Many lights burnt out and no lightbulbs found to replace them. Vacuum broken. Starter switch on gas grill broken so you had to light by sticking your hand down inside it. Propane tank was empty.The lack of attention to upkeep in this house, made our stay frustrating and the difficulty getting a hold of management made it worse. The house, however, is a very nice home and in a beautiful location, with breathtaking views of Pike's Peak. Had the hot tub been working as indicated, it would've been truly a memorable view! The house sits in front of an entrance to Pike national forest, which was so great to have that accessibility so close. The trails were amazing and very memorable for our family. the property needs more attention and the agency needs to to work on their customer service. When we called with the complaint about the hot tub, we felt like we were treated like disobedient children. We had invited another family to join us on this trip and thus we made the best of it, however we were very let down by this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Owners response: Dear Guest,

We are so sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay! Please accept our apologies for the confusion on the hot tub. While this property did not advertise a hot tub at the time that you made your reservation, we did make a mistake and email a copy of our "hot tub rules", thus getting your hopes up that there might actually be a hot tub. That was a clerical error on our part and we are very sorry that it caused you to be disappointed upon arrival.

I did speak with you over the phone concerning the pellet stove on the day that you arrived, but you said that you had figured out how to operate it and that it was no problem. We do wish you would have let us know that you continued to have issues!

Regarding the other maintenance issues that you mentioned, we sincerely wish you would have let us know about these during your stay as we would have been happy to send someone over to address these items. We are very sorry for any inconvenience they may have caused. We do appreciate you letting us know about them so we can repair and replace items as needed for future guests.

Our management staff is always available to address issues during a guest's stay, however due to the mountainous area that we live in cell phone service is sometimes limited. As a note to future guests, please be sure to always leave a voicemail containing your phone number and we will get back to you just as soon as possible.

We strive to provide a superb lodging experience to all of our guests, and are very disappointed to hear that you ended your stay with us unhappy. We would like to extend a 15% discount to your family on a future stay with us.

Property Management Specialists

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Everything we expected!!!

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Me and my family loved this home, it has beautiful views, it was nicely decorated and very clean. I would definately stay here again!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Awesome Vacation Cabin!

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

This cabin is wonderful and one of the nicest ones in the area! The pictures do not do it justice. Rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated in a log cabin theme. Beds and furniture are all very comfortable. Hot tub was awesome -- so nice to soak to the views of Pikes Peak in a private setting. Huge deck with plenty of patio furniture. Floor to ceiling windows in some rooms made for amazing views. With 3 family rooms and 3 televisions, everyone could really spread out. Dining area housed a huge table that was perfect for family dinners and playing board games. Cabin is situated in a private and quiet area. Woodland Park is a beautiful town and within driving distance to a lot of attractions -- Pikes Peak, Manitou Springs, Colorado Springs, Cripple Creek, Royal Gorge, etc. We visited the Colorado Wolf and Wildlife Center in Divide and that was really interesting. Took a fun tour of Mollie Kathleen's Gold Mine in Cripple Creek. It was an easy drive to Manitou Springs to take the Cog Railway up to Pikes Peak. So much to do and see in this area,but it was also so nice to take some days to just relax at this luxury cabin. It was supplied with everything we could possibly need. We would definitely stay here again in the future!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3


Colorado vacation

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

The stay was great! Everything about the house was just as described. And the owners were wonderful to work even with the added stress of the fires! We would definitely rent again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Woodland house rental 245199

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

This is a gorgous house and is fully stocked. We loved our stay, you couldnt ask for a better location. The house is beautifully decorated, with lots of room and great beds. We will always rent a house in the future verses a motel room, we couldnt have been more comfortable. We were alittle surprised at the manager or owner pulling in 30 minutes early but we were already leaving anyway. Thanks homeaway.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Spring Break Fun

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay in Woodland Park. The house was just as advertised and a great place to stay. Plenty of room, great view and loved the deck.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Love this home.. Perfect location

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Woodland Park is not far from my home.. but staying in this lovely home made it feel so far away. I loved the floorplan and the space. The view are spectacular and the access t the national forest trails was such a bonus. Maggie and Mike were absolutley wonderful to work with and the house was clean and well stocked. I loved the Hottub.. it was such a nice evening and so peaceful and quiet. I would stay here again.
Comment to owner would be to invest in blinds upstairs.. gets too hot.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Central MO

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

House is set up so nice and decorated so cute. Outside is perfect, but the home needs a lot of maintenance and a good thorough cleaning. There weren't enough necessities. Two trash bags for a six-night stay for 10 people. We also had to purchase bulbs, T-paper and paper towels. Bathroom and bedroom doors do not have locks on them. Need a shade or curtain on master bedroom window. Deck is right outside, so anyone could look thru the window. Pellet stove in dining/sitting room was not working, so it was very cold. Plumbing under sink was not fitted properly and the first time we turned on the disposer, water came out from under sink. My husband tightened it, but it should be looked into. The faucet in the downstairs bath didn't properly work. The kids couldn't even adjust their own water for showers, and we had a very hard time, too. Ice maker didn't work in refrigerator/freezer. One of the windows in upstairs window wouldn't open (it got very hot upstairs during the day). We still had a great time with everything there was to see close to this house. We would definitely come back to this house if the above items were taken care of.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so sorry to hear of the issues you had, and we thank you for pointing them out to us. We take so much pride in making sure our cabin are in the very clean and well maintained and supplied. We have never ever had a complaint about the cleaning staff that clean this home. They are also very good about making sure the cabin is stocked with TP and PT, as well as checking and changing light bulbs.
As far as the maintenance items. The owner continues to make improvements to the home - she had just bought a new pellet stove and we put that one in the living room and move the one that was there into the back room - and found we had a problem with it - so since you all were arriving very soon - we did go ahead an put an out of order sign on it and left some electric space heaters. Every door in the house are actually very historic and came from an historic hotel in Victor - they did not have our typical locking mechanisms.
And although the new fridge does have an icemaker - we purposely chose not to have it hooked up - not an easy way to do that with a slab floor and not being close to a water source. There are several windows upstairs - were you not able to open some of the others - we recently had a window company tune up and make sure all the windows were operational we will get them back over.
So we do apologize if these things upset your vacation, and
will take all our your comments and check these things out.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Awesome Cabin, Beautiful View of Pikes Peak

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

we had an awesome time at the cabin we cooked on the grill outside it worked like a charm just everything you could ask for in this cabin (and may i say the loft bedroom ahh was absolutely awesome, i had my own little fireplace and wake up to the view of pikes peak WOW!)we had two other familes with us( total of 8 all together) and there was plenty of room. the second family room was awesome, we had plenty of room to play cards on the dining table( just a couple things i would change is the lighting there could have been more lighting in the second family room and the rail once you get to the loft in second family room was loose) we cant wait to come back! woodland park was just a great place to come to, there were plenty of restraunts and things to do in woodland park, can't give no tips on good restraunts we bought food to cook ( family of cookers) our family cant wait to come back :) thanks Mike and Maggie so much! and one thing that we like was the binder of things to do around that area and tips for altitude sickness( my brother and i experienced that when we first got there we felt like we were drunk, but one thing to do if you have altitude sickness is increase your water intake and after we did we had no problems) something you must do while you're there is the Cog Railroad which goes to the top of pikes peak( if you do decide to go make reservations) another must see is the GARDEN OF THE GODS!! ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2



Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

Very clean, well cared for, and gorgeous house. Mike and Maggie are fantastic property managers, and there is not one thing I could complain about, other than that we didn't book a longer trip. The hiking trail right outside the house was so fun. We truly could have just hung out at the house the whole time and not been bored for a minute. Our 6 kids (ages 11 on down to almost 2yrs) had a blast exploring inside and out, and when we were out seeing the sights, asked when we could go back to our 'cabin'. We ate most of our meals there, and while I brought most everything I needed (except the pans and utensils), I needn't have. Well stocked kitchen and plenty of space for a family of 8 to spread out. Had a great time. Thanks so much!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Perfect Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Our stay at our Woodland Park vacation rental house was wonderful. The houses was clean and fully stocked with bath towels and just about every other household item you would ever need. The water pressure was great and the convenient location was everything we wanted. It was easy working with Mike and Maggie. The renting process was easy and honest and our stay was carefree.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4



Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

In celebration of our 30th anniversary our children and their spouses joined us for a family vacation (our first one). The accomadations were wonderful...plenty of room for all four families. The view....what can I was beautiful! Waking up to a view of Pikes Peak through your bedroom window every morning was an awesome sight. We brought most of our food with us but picked up necessary supplies at Safeway and Walmart. The house was well stocked with general supplies so no need to bring them along. The hot tub on the deck was a hit with evening temps and a warm relaxing dip in the water:)
Thanks Mike and Maggie for an enjoyable and relaxing stay in your home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Awesome Experience

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

Just got back from staying at this home. We had an awesome experience. The house was clean and well stocked. We drove in on a cloudy day and woke up to the beautiful mountains. National forest in the backyard provided us with a day of hiking. Can't say enough good things about our stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5


Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

Our daughters family recently moved to the Springs area and we decided to drive from Utah to visit with them. Thought it would be nice to spend some time in the mountains with their family. It was perfect for adults as well as two young boys and a teenager. The weather was beautiful with warm days and cool nights. We all had plenty of room to spread out and the game room served as a eating area as well. The pellet stoves kept the cabin cozy while we played games and watched movies. Was a wonderful base to visit Manitou Springs, Cripple Creek, Garden of the Gods or just chill at the cabin. The cabin was clean and well maintained, I replaced a few light bulbs that had burnt out. We could have used some additional lamps and kitchen utinsels for convenience sake. We ate our breakfast & dinner at the cabin and lunch while we were away from the cabin. Enjoyed the COG railway and ate our lunch at the station, also ate lunch a Mexican restaurant in Manitou Springs. Our family had a wonderful time at the cabin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at this cabin, which is one of the favorite cabins. Pikes Peak Views incredible, can't beat the location - seems to work for everyone - those that want to be close to town and those that want that mountain feel.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5


Woodland Park, Colorado #245199

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

The house was wonderful. The living room furniture was very comfy. We had 12 in our party and never felt cramped for space. The kids in our group camped out in the separate family room with the futons and an air mattress. That room also had the dining table in it but there were only 6 chairs so that was used for games, etc.The kitchen also needed more silverware. We basically had our meals at the bar and throughout the attached living room. Only the king bedroom is on the main floor so if their are elderly people in your group they will be climbing stairs. There was a main floor bathroom and a second floor bathroom, Both were well stocked with bath towels etc. It would be nice if the house had more working screen windows and screen doors.The view was Spectacular!! Loved the fact that you could walk out the door and immediately be on a hiking, biking trail. Woodland Park is large enough to have a superwalmart and we also loved the yellow house Mexican food restaurant (Carlos Migual's?)corner of Baldwin and Hwy 24, and the Friday night fish fry at Buck's in downtown Woodland Park and the farmers market on Friday.Of course all the Colorado Springs tourist attractions are very close, Pikes Peak, Garden of the Gods, SevenFalls, Cave of the Winds, NorthPole Village, etc. If you like shopping check out Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs. We also did rafting in Buena Vista, about 80 miles away and passed herds of buffalo and antelope. At dusk we would drive 6 miles to Rampart Range and saw herds of elk. At the house there were chipmonks, rabbits, foxes, and mule deer. Our group ranged from age 3 to almost 60 and everyone was very comfortable at the house. The management firm called back in a timely manner when we did have a problem or question. You can't beat the location or the view of Pikes Peaks from your living room windows, third floor sitting area or the large deck with the outdoor furniture It was nice to have the large garage for all the outdoor equipment we brought, mountainbikes, fishing gear, etc. We would definitely rent the house again!! We had an awesome time!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Amazing Scenery

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

My family and I stayed in this home during the first week of June. The pictures on this website do not do it justice. You never know what you're going to get by booking online, but I can say that this place truly exceeded my expectations. There was so much room, and the owners left plenty of items in the house, so that you didn't need to run to the store for things like coffee, tissues, and condiments. There was a closet full of clean towels, and even brochures for area attractions. I felt like this was more comparable to a Bed and Breakfast instead of a vacation rental. Although we never saw the owners, their hospitality was left in the details of this beautiful place. And don't forget the most important part-Amazing views of Pikes Peak. If you are looking for peace and quiet with plenty of room to roam, this is the place for you. Also, most of the area attractions are within a 15 mile radius.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 8


We Recommend

Review submitted: July 30, 2009   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

Our group thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There are several different living areas that allowed everyone to spread out. The kids could go hiking on the trails, or hang out as a group and play video games. The location is perfect. We were close to Woodland Park, yet out side of town. We would definately recommend this property to family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7


Wonderful in Woodland Park

Review submitted: July 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

We stayed for a week at this house, and had a great time. The description of the property was right on, and the location was breath-taking. The only thing required was groceries, and we were ready to go. The layout was great for what we needed. Everything was clean and very well maintained. I would recommend this home to anyone looking to stay in the Woodland Park area. We were there for a baseball tournament, and being 5 minutes away was awesome. Our favorite place to eat was in Manitou Springs, a little pizza joint called Savelli's. Great eats!! We had 10 people, and one of our concerns was the hot water for showers. Never had a problem, even with the washing machine running. Don't hesitate. I promise you that you will love this place. Lots and lots of room, even a sweet little family of chipmunks living under the deck. We didn't want to leave....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review