reviews for: listing #96406 - Banff/Canmore, Alberta Condo rental

FamilyFriendly, MountainViews, Downtown, Fireplace, Wifi
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Canmore
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (CAD) $135 - $245 /nt
    $819 - $1,470 /wk

sort by:

Great for families!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

This is a great apartment for families. It covered all our needs for both the baby and the adults, from a high chair and playpen to an X-box with games and movies. A grocery store and Canadian Tire (among other stores) were also within walking distance, making it really easy to grab any last minute items.

The owners were great! They were highly accessible and any issues were dealt with right away. They were also very accommodating and made us feel like VIP clients. Never made us feel like we were bothering them.

All our needs were met and it honestly felt like our home away from home. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We had THE BEST time at your condo in Canmore!

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Hi Laurie and Larry,

I just wanted to write you a quick note and let you know that we had THE BEST time at your condo in Canmore! Aside from dog sledding, we really didn’t have time to ‘explore’ any of the other fun things you had listed, because we were too busy skiing :) We did, however, spend all of our evenings and days off walking around and sampling local life and fare of Canmore and we were pleasantly surprised. First of all, it was amazing that we could walk everywhere- even in the winter! Splitting our time between New York, LA and London, we tend to get a bit spoiled for choice. I was very VERY impressed at the quality of establishments in Canmore. They rank right up there with some of the best food I’ve had...we didn’t even get to try all of the ones we wanted!

Of course, the condo was so lovely and perfect, it was sometimes difficult for us to get up the motivation to leave :) Honestly, what a perfect location! We stayed in the loft since it had such a wonderful, airy feel and waking up to that huge picture window facing the mountains and the sunrise...well, there just isnt a better way to start the day :)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Finally a Relaxing part to our Holiday!!

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 17, 2011

Thank you for the use of your condo during a BIG Canadian holiday. We had been on the road for nearly 2 weeks when we hit your little piece of paradise. The moment we walked in the door it just felt like home. It was truely the first time l had relaxed during our trip. Although our days were still busy and filled with seeing the sights, our evenings were relaxed and enjoyable. The kitchen is well appointed and had everything we needed, along with the nice little extra's in the cupboard. It is hard when travelling to make food as tasty as you would at home, but the little herbs and spices in the cupboard where a nice surprise. The large open windows were lovely and allowed you to really enjoy the view that your condo had to offer. The location for grocery shopping was super, and it was surprising that you could not hear any noise from the street and carpark below. Our little family of 3 fitted well into your condo, and the convenience of you have the playpen for our son to sleep in was great. We all used the top bedroom, and also enjoyed the large spa bath. The condo was clean and meet all of the descriptions stated in the advert, and the pictures are exact. It is a definate what you see is what you get.... If there is one thing that l could change in the condo it would be the curtains, they simply did not block out enough light (especially for us Australians who have the sun going down at 7pm and not up again till 7am!!!) But overall, it was just wonderful. It was our first time at using VRBO and l would not hesitate to use them again, provided they are all as lovely as this property. The owners were also very helpful and easy to contact with small enquiries, responding quickly via email. THANK YOU once again for makinig our holiday a great one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to write a review and your feedback. We only make it out to the property about once a year so we find emails from guests as to any possible improvements very helpful.

We are going to the property in about two weeks and will look in to what can be done about the light in the morning. The upstairs loft has wooden blinds so my guess is that you are referring to the huge set of windows in the family room. It is a combination of blinds and curtains. Are you referring to the balcony sliding door curtains? If yes, then we'll look to adding another layer of darker material behind the curtains.

For other guests we leave some basic spices but other guests constantly add to the spices that are in the cupboards. Your call as to whether you are comfortable using these spices or if you want to buy your own. Occasionally we clean house too so it is possible that there may not be anything more than salt and pepper.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great accomodations

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

Thank you,Laurie and Larry for the use of your Condo. It served our purposes perfectly as my two adult children and their spouses met me in Canmore to celebrate our Christmas together on the weekend before Christmas.We had a great time skating on the outdoor rink, skiing and snowshoeing. The Condo was equipped with everything we could have asked for. So much better than any hotel room. The Christmas tree was a fabulous surprise. We enjoyed the Monopoly game, X Box and the rooftop hot tub. Thank you again. I've already recommended it to many friends....Dorothy

Owners response: We try to make the place comfortable and definitely provide a lot of extras compared to a typical hotel.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Canmore Crossings

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Three of us resided in the condo; highlights included great scenic view, good security (codes), quiet, spacious condo. It was conveniently located for incidental shopping. Area maps very useful. Location info accurate, listing photos accurate, place clean + tidy, owner very helpful. I will recommend this condo to friends. B/c we were in town for my daughter's wedding, we only tried 2 cafes; both were good.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent alternative to Banff

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

We just returned from our first trip to the Canadian Rockies. WOW! It was amazing. When looking for accomodations we started in Banff. We found the prices and availability prohibative. When we found this condo in Canmore we were initially reluctant to rent it because it wasn't in Banff. However, Larry and Laurie were great to work with, and we were wrong about Canmore. We liked it even better than Banff! The views out the huge windows in this condo were amazing! The kitchen had everything we needed. We enjoyed playing games in front of the fire and enjoying the view. The unit was very clean. We walked into town every day (easy, short walk) There are 2 markets very close. Don't miss the little restaraunt "Communi-Tea" it was fabulous. Canmore is great and this condo couldn't have been a better place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We too like Canmore better than the Town of Banff. In our opinion the Town of Banff is a bit of a tourist trap these days. Canmore is the quant mountain town most people wished the Town of Banff still was. Canmore is nestled in the valley just outside the eastern gates to Banff National Park.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent condo and location

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay. The location in Canmore and Canmore itself is excellent. Close to stores, restaurants, and to Banff. The condo is well stocked with kitchen supplies and has comfortable furniture. Easy access via building and condo codes. Would definitely recommend as a place to stay.
Just 2 of us stayed, but it gave us a chance to spread out and enjoy.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location + great owners = great stay

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

We have just got back to the UK from our (extended) stay at canmore crossing. Thanks to the volcano in Iceland and the flight ban across Europe we got to spend four more days in lovely lovely Canada. As this was unexpected Laurie, the condo owner, couldn't have been more helpful. We extended our stay on a 'standby' basis and this was such a relief as news of our departure was changing by the hour.
Aside from that, the condo is great. Showing fair signs of wear and tear for a property of that age with regular rentals but nothing that puts you off staying there.
What was nice was the, as promised, little extras. The beds were very comfortable, the linens and towels were in abundance and the place was clean, clean, clean. Also, what I liked in comparison with other rentals was that in the kitchen cupboards there were 'little' ingredients so you didn't have to go out and buy bottles of spices/ oils / marinades. Loads of crockery, cutlery and pots and pans, all of good quality.
To agree with another review, it would be a little cramped with 6 adults, unless you knew each other really well, if you didn't by the start of a holiday there, you would by the end! We had three adults, one nine yr old and an infant and it was cozy.
We did wonder why there were so many electric fans in the closets when we got there, when the weather turned warm, we found out why, this place gets hot!
All in all it's a great place, easy to get to, easy to stay. Great location, great owners who provide all the information needed. Excellent find, I would love to return. nuff said.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The condo is approximately 950 sq. ft (90 m2). For future guests, compare that to your house size, and the average hotel room (probably about 200 sq ft) to see how comfortable you would be for your group size. I agree, I'd be fine in the condo with 6 friends for a week, for a couple weeks it would only work with if everyone was easy going. We get dozens of people every year asking to fit 7 or more people in our condo and we just don't allow that.

The warmest day during this guest's stay was a high of 23C (73F) and then the temperature dropped down to -2C (28F) at night (welcome to life in the mountains). We do have an air conditioner for the condo. However, it is turned off outside of summer months. The problem being the condo has a lot of large windows to allow people to look out at the mountains. If the blinds are left open during sunny days the radiant heat coming in from the sun can warm up the place (similar to a green house in the winter). Options are to close the blinds during sunny days, or open the balcony doors/windows to allow the cool air in. The fans help to quickly get cool air in and warm air out in case guests left for the day with the blinds open and return to find the place warm.

Thanks for your comments. We spent extra money on the mattresses to it is good to hear they are appreciated. We listen closely to our guests comments (which is why we bought the fans and air conditioner through out the years). The condo was built in 2002 and we are constantly working with our property manager to ensure that nothing becomes too dated and that guests feel comfortable.

Cheers,
Larry

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: February 7, 2009   Date of arrival: February 7, 2009

We were six people having the pleasure of staying in this condo three weeks in january 09. It's a bit tight to stay six people, as two people has to sleep on the couch - but four would be perfect. Never the less we really enjoyed this place and the rooftop hut-tub is super nice after a whole day of skiing! You need to have a car though if you want to go to the ski resorts, as there at this time only is one bus a day leaving from Radisson. We will definately consider renting this place again!

Owners response: The couch referred too is a queen size pull out sofa bed in the open concept family room. With 6 adults the two adults on the sofa bed wouldn't have the same privacy as the people in the bedrooms. The sofa bed when folded in to a couch is the main seating area in the family room. With 3 weeks of folding the sofa bed in and out I can appreciate the comment that the unit started to feel a bit tight. The condo itself is about 950 Sq Ft (90 sq metres) in size.

We also recommend having a car to get to the ski resorts in the area.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 4, 2006   Date of arrival: April 4, 2006

Great 360 view of the mountains. Easy access to all amenities (groceries, liquor store) and a short walk to Main Street. Awesome skiing and boarding within a reasonable drive and relaxing open air hot tub to unwind in afterwards. I’d recommend this condo wholeheartedly and defiantly go back to discover more.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 4, 2006   Date of arrival: April 4, 2006

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Canmore. The
scenery is spectacular from every angle, and I love
the location--nestled in among the mountains. The
shops were quaint and plenty, as well as the
numerous restaurants within walking distance. I
would love to stay again one day soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 23, 2006   Date of arrival: March 23, 2006

Great cozy place nestled in the mountains with a fantastic view. The Condo is within walking distance of Canmore’s best shops and restaurants. It is a short drive to Banff and it truly was the home away from home that made our trip that much more amazing.Thank-you so very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 21, 2006   Date of arrival: March 21, 2006

Thank you. We had a wonderful time, what a great location, close to everything, love the nearby restaurants, especially the Tapas place. Your please is kept in meticoulous condition. We will come back next year.

Katherine

p.s. forgot to mention the great views that welcomed us each morning...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 4, 2006   Date of arrival: March 4, 2006

Hi Larry, Thanks for the use of this very comfortable and homely Condo. We had a great time in the area and will pass the word! Thanks again, Adrian & Jackie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 11, 2006   Date of arrival: February 11, 2006

Travelling the globe we always try to find ski-in / ski-out accommodation. Having researched and ascertained that this type of accommodation is extremely limited in the Banff area changed our approach, and what a revelation it was !

Having a vehicle on hand meant that we could pick and choose which location to ski on any given day. Waking up and checking the snow reports clearly showed how the snow-gods roll the dice even on ski areas located relatively close to each other, enabling us to pick our hills and put in the best powder-days we'd ever skiied.

Canmore is literally 2 minutes from the Banff park gates, and only a few more to the town of Banff. The access roads to the ski areas at Norquay and Sunshine are a short drive further, my wife was more than happy to drop the family off for a day's skiing so she could sight-see and shop in & around Banff.

If you're a member of the jet-set and your idea of a holiday is swanning around in a fur coat & bling, then stay in Banff. If however you prefer practicality, value and flexibility, then hire a vehicle and stay in Canmore.

Moreover, stay at Canmore Crossing. The facilities are great, all amenities are walking distance, and it's just a really nice space to holiday in.

Finally, any sensible person should have concerns with purchases made over the internet. In this case the owner is trustworthy, honest, helpful and reliable. Acceptance of credit cards provides additional confidence, and there is a well organised local management contact in case of any issues, (redundant due to the property being new and well maintained)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2006   Date of arrival: January 5, 2006

Hi Larry

Just a short note to thank you for the use of your great apartment [condo], we will be recommending it highly to friends who are looking for somewhere to stay in Canada and we had the best time over there.

Kind regards

J Palmer
Australia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 26, 2005   Date of arrival: April 26, 2005

We love the Canmore/Banff/Kananaskis area and believe we've set up our home away from home in one of the best possible areas. We've tried to make the unit feel like home with extras like a picnic basket, extra pillows, warm duvets, DVDs, CD's, books, the unit goes far beyond any hotel you'll find in the area and most other rental homes. We hope you love the place as much as we do.

For more guest comments, from the guest book we leave in the suite please search google for "discovervr guestbook" (can't put web addresses in the comments)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2003   Date of arrival: March 21, 2003

"The condo was absolutely fabulous. It was cozy and convenient with all the modern amenities we could possibly want. It was the perfect location for going out at night in Canmore as well as easy access to Banff Park and the various ski hills. We especially liked the roof top hot-tub. It was a great way to relax after a day on the slopes."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review