reviews for: listing #96521 - Boston, Massachusetts House rental

Luxurious and Spacious 4 Bedroom Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $295 /nt
    $1,700 - $1,850 /wk

sort by:

Very spacious house in an upscale neighborhood

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay!

We were a party of 4 with 2 adult children. Plenty of room for everyone, even to find your own private place after a full day of sightseeing.

We cannot agree with the negative reference that you may read further down. Based upon that reference, I specifically contacted the owner to ensure we would arrive in a clean house with plenty of clean towels. And indeed, all bathrooms were clean, no mold to be seen, clean toilets... We agree that the house could use some more TLC, but overall the floors, bathrooms and bedrooms were clean, and that's the most important. The laundry room came in very handy!

The house is located in an upscale and quite neighborhood. The owner himself was very kind. We only met him once, but we were under the impression that he lived in the basement underneath (his car was there most of the time). If indeed so, he never bothered us, we never heard him, so we did not feel in any way uncomfortable.

I would definitely recommend this house for its spaciousness and the neighborhood. Good alternative to a hotel for larger families or small groups of friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for family reunion

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

Very spacious. Nice maintained property. We enjoyed our stay there. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very spacious house in an upscale neighborhood

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay!

We were a party of 4 with 2 adult children. Plenty of room for everyone, even to find your own private place after a full day of sightseeing.

We cannot agree with the negative reference that you may read further down. Based upon that reference, I specifically contacted the owner to ensure we would arrive in a clean house with plenty of clean towels. And indeed, all bathrooms were clean, no mold to be seen, clean toilets... We agree that the house could use some more TLC, but overall the floors, bathrooms and bedrooms were clean, and that's the most important. The laundry room came in very handy!

The house is located in an upscale and quite neighborhood. The owner himself was very kind. We only met him once. He never bothered us, so we did not feel in any way uncomfortable.

I would definitely recommend this house for its spaciousness and the neighborhood. Good alternative to a hotel for larger families or small groups of friends.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing House and quiet Neighborhood

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This house was fantastic and in a quiet Neighborhood. It was the perfect distance to Boston for my family and it was right off of I93, so it made my commute very easy. I stayed here with 5 others in my family, there was plenty of room for all us and a good yard for my kids to run around. The deck in the back of the house was great to have a beer after a long day. The House was very clean and the bathrooms were spotless. This is not really a complaint but we did notice someone moving something out of the basement. It didn't really bother us and I think it was just the owner getting supplies for something. I really enjoyed our stay here and I would recommended it to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice house but...........

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

This is a very nice house but it was so dirty we would never stay there again. The bathrooms were disgusting with dirty toilets and moldy showers. Some of the towels were dirty and the others had a smell. We had to go to the store and buy towels.

I would recommend finding some other place to stay. We've used HomeAway several times and this was by far our worst experience.

Owners response: Your review is basically not true. Entries house inside and outside-the bed rooms, kitchen, dining room, living room, family room, bath rooms were ALL clean and nice !!! except only few towels not good. We strongly disagree that you grade the house as one star which is irresponsible. There was $35.10 due which you own us. And after you left, we found our HD TV remote control was missing, Please return it back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Boston 2012

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2012

We loved the house and the location. There were 6 adults and 2 infants staying in the house. After a long day of sight-seeing it was nice to go back to house and relax. The babies had room to play instead of being in a hotel room.
The only complaint we did not know that the landlord and his son stayed in the basement. They did not bother us in anyway, it was just a little uncomfortable knowing that they were in the house.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely House - In an AMAZING place

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

This house is a lovely house in a quiet street. It is in a perfect location 15 mins from Boston and Logan International, and seconds from the I93 giving you easy access to New Hampshire and Cape Cod. The house is stunning and had everything we needed. The owner was there to greet us and ensure everything was to our liking. The only downsides were 1 on-suite bathroom for the Master Bedroom and 1 Family Bathroom for everyone else. This proved to be difficult when we were all rushing to get ready in the morning. More of a problem was that the owner did let himself into the house without our consent twice (that we know of) while we were out. Once to take some Washing Detergent from the Laundry and once to replace the Coffee Machine in the Kitchen. This just unnerved us a little. We would have preferred it if he had done this while we were there. This aside - we had a great time in Boston and this house was perfect for our needs. We would love to visit again, and when we do we would love to stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great House

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. There were only 4 of us, so that house felt huge, but we didn't mind. There is plenty of space, 4 good sized bedrooms, beds were good, family room had a comfortable couch set, very nice TV. House was right off the highway. The only complaint we had was that the house felt a little dirty (little thingies on the stairs, pots and pans felt greasy). The towels were a bit stained. I would change a few things if it were my house, but it isn't, and we had a great time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

We went there for a family vacation to Boston. This house is huge, we had plenty of space for 4 adults and 2 kids. But before we were confortable, we had to do some cleaning... We cooked everyday instead of eating out (easier with 2 young children...). Cooking was a bit of a challenge because we didn't have all the utensils we needed, but maybe that's just us, since the cupboards are filled with stuff.

The location is good, we took the train to go to Boston. Since the house is near the highway, it was a bit noisy, but the neighborhood is very nice! Very close to Stone zoo, a must if you have kids!

The owner was easy to reach, we mostly had communication via email. We arrived an hour late (because of the Canada/US customs) and he wasn't there, but we easily reached him by phone and he came right up (took like 30 seconds, we didn't really wait).

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lea Chen

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

This is a gorgeous house for my family's vacation in Boston. We enjoyed this spacious house very much. It's very clean with tasty decoration in each room. The kitchen with all kinds of utensils that we can cook our own food. The laundry room is very handy that we can iron our clothes after laundry. We also enjoyed the beautiful quiet neighborhood as well as the little European Winchester Town. The location is a big plus to easily drive to the Airport, and to Downtown of Boston. I will give this house a five shining stars.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious, elegant house near Boston

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Spacious and elegantly appointed house. Rooms are even larger than photos suggest. We were very comfortable (6 adults + one child) and slept well (no noise from outside). Great location for exploring Boston area, offering quick, easy access to I-93 and I-95. Owner was very responsive: quickly correcting a minor problem with an appliance. Winchester area is lovely.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home off the beaten path but not too far

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

This home is very large and was great for my entire family. We had 10 people which stated on the VRBO website can sleep 10. There are 4 beds, but we had an additional blow up bed and used the couch for one of the kids. We didn't do a lot of cooking, just sandwiches and breakfast type stuff but did have adequate cookware and dishes. Not great on sharp knives and only a 4 cup coffee maker. Great TV with the world of channels in a very large family room with comfortable and plenty of seating off the large kitchen. There was also a TV in the master. Yes, there is wireless internet. The pretty living room has plenty of seating for visiting. Plenty of seating through the house. There is a huge laundry room upstairs.
This is not a great house if you have unsteady elderly people. All bedrooms and full baths upstairs and steep stairs going up from driveway to the front door.
Very safe area. It is a quiet neighborhood, but the rules state not to walk around the neighborhood (that is OK, there are plenty of parks in and around Boston). The owner was readily available when we needed anything. The house wasn't super clean, but adequate. There was a broken wine glass that hadn't been cleaned up before we arrived. This really is an ideal place for a group of 8 (tight for 10) for those who would like to visit Boston or surrounding areas and be able to spread out and not be in each other's way.
If you are there during the week, I would highly recommend using MTBA. I don't think the house is on the bus route, so you will still need to rent a car (or use taxi). Traffic on Monday going into the city was horrible after 10am (we purposefully postponed going in until "rush hour" had passed. Weekend traffic was OK, but get ready to pay big $ for parking.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable and spacious home

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

We stayed in this beautiful house north of Boston for two nights, and enjoyed being able to cook our own meals rather than eating out all the time. We even bought live lobsters and had a delicious feast one night! Our family ranged in age from our 23-yr-old son to my 81-yr-old father, and it was nice to be all together in the same house yet not feel too cramped. The beds were comfortable and there was good internet access. We kept one car parked on the driveway the whole time and used the van to get around. The neighborhood is safe and quiet, and very close to I-93. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable and spacious home

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

We stayed in this beautiful house north of Boston for two nights, and enjoyed being able to cook our own meals rather than eating out all the time. We even bought live lobsters and had a delicious feast one night! Our family ranged in age from our 23-yr-old son to my 81-yr-old father, and it was nice to be all together in the same house yet not feel too cramped. The beds were comfortable and there was good internet access. We kept one car parked on the driveway the whole time and used the van to get around. The neighborhood is safe and quiet, and very close to I-93. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Generally Nice

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

Good sized house... 15 minute drive to downtown Boston. The owner was responsive and easy to contact. On the negative side, the bathroom countertops and mirrors were not clean, and the house in general seemed like it could use a good dusting. (The first thing that we did when we got there was to wash both of the upstairs bathrooms.) I assume that this was an oversight, but I thought it was worth mentioning.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review