reviews for: listing #96579 - Marco Island, Florida Cottage rental

Waterfront Cottage
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $400 /nt
    $990 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

A happy family week

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

Around New Year 2013 our family from Sweden, parents and three children in their twenties, spent a very pleasant vacation in Southern Florida. We especially enjoyed our week staying at the Marco Island Cottage. The  house was just perfect for our family, in between excursions the kids went canoeing and our daughter spent much time on the boat-deck in he sun. I much preferred this house to some of the more pompous structures we saw on Marco with their heavy columns guarding the front door. It was a real summer house (even in winter!).  The interior was spacious and comfortable, it was nicely furnished and well equipped, we had no problems asking another family of 5 over for dinner. The only thing we missed was a visit of an alligator in the garden!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A happy family week

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

Around New Year 2013 our family from Sweden, parents and three children in their twenties, spent a very pleasant vacation in Southern Florida. We especially enjoyed our week staying at the Marco Island Cottage. The house was just perfect for our family, in between excursions the kids went canoeing and our daughter spent much time on the boat-deck in he sun. I much preferred this house to some of the more pompous structures we saw on Marco with their heavy columns guarding the front door. It was a real summer house (even in winter!). The interior was spacious and comfortable, it was nicely furnished and well equipped, we had no problems asking another family of 5 over for dinner. The only thing we missed was a visit of an alligator in the garden!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful house

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

The house is beautiful. Tropical and Floridian theme, very nice. Fishing on the dock was good, but most caught were catfish, some sheepsheads. We definitely recommend this house to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Home, Fantastic Time!

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

We stayed in this home recently, had a wonderful time! The house was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean! What I was really impressed was that everything was new, from every piece of furniture to pans and pots in the kitchen! The house is bright and airy, you can watch the beautiful sunset over the wide water view from your deck, and we even did our fishing from the newly built dock. Everything was just perfect! The location is so convenient, close to beach, shops and restaurants. One morning, we rode our bikes, had a true taste of the Island! - What I mean is that we not only visited commercial places, but also the residential area; see all the beautiful houses and tropical landscaping, the true characters of the island. The deposit was promptly returned after departure and the rate was especially competitive. Overall, we had a fantastic time, love it! Will definitely go back again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We loved it!

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

We loved it! Our family rented this house for a week. It is in an excellent location and we biked to beach and shops most of the times. The water view is unbelievable. Kids really enjoyed fishing from the dock and caught fish ll week. We even spotted two dolphins chasing fish in the water.

The house carries a tropical beach theme and well decorated with all new furniture. Kitchen has everything you need. Brand new Kitchen Aid stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops are big pluses. We would recommend this house to anyone who is looking for a relaxed vacation at Marco Island.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Nightmare vacation

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

This house was filthy from top to bottom. The ad said completely renovated but it was not. Painting, bathrooms and even cleaning construction dust was not done. Even the "new" refrigerator was too dirty to put food in. Loose floorboards and bricks created a danger as well as the safety bar in the pool and unsecured carpet in the bedroom. The closet shelves were literally black with dirt. Dirty showers required showering with flip flops on. The worst part was the smell of feces for the first 2 days of the visit. Seriously!!! On our third day, it was repaired at 8AM with men we didn't know digging ditches in the yard. Not all the sliding dors locked and the railing on the wraparound deck was loose. This was a vacation nightmare!

Owners response: Guests' complete satisfaction is our number one priority. We have taken the following steps to correct the problems mentioned in the guest complain.

Cleaning – We have hired a new cleaning company to replace the old one. We will personally inspect the cleanness after each service before we make the payment to our new cleaning company to ensure the quality.

Loose floorboards and bricks-- We identified one floorboard and one brick in the lanai area that are loose, and made repairs. We also inspected all railings and safety bar to ensure they are secure. We removed the decorative carpet in the bedroom so that the guests will not step on it and slip.

Completely renovated -- Although, we feel the house is completely renovated, to avoid further misunderstandings, we will add a disclaimer to our lease agreement to inform our guests that one of the seven chandeliers is still the original.

Broken sewer pipe -- It was most unfortunate that the sewer pipe unexpectedly cracked while our property was in service. We repaired the crack as soon as we could. We understand the frustration the guests had experienced during the first two days of their extended vacation at our property. We are very sorry.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review