reviews for: listing #96615 - Melbourne Beach, Florida House rental

The Pelican House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,500 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Perfectly Wonderful

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

This house exceeded our expectations. It looks beautiful in the website photos but they do not do it justice. It's much more open and spacious than it looks. Views from every room. The beach is very private and gorgeous. The view from the comfortable deck are amazing and we loved sitting there listening to the waves crashing just a few fee away. It felt like sitting on a cruise ship. The home has everything you could want for a lovely vacation. We would stay here again in a minute.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breathtaking!

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

This house is fantastic!!! Look no further!!! Like the previous reviews stated, the pictures do not do this house justice!!! The house is much bigger and open, the water is incredibly close, the balcony is much wider and was used everyday. It was perfect, I wouldn't have changed a thing!! The privacy was amazing as well! Our group decided this is where we will always come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

INCREDIBLE HOME...STELLAR LOCATION......SUPERB OWNERS.......

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Our stay at The Pelican house was a "10"
The home is beyond beautiful, the views from everywhere room are priceless
You have windows galore
You feel like you are on a cruise ship
The owner was unbelievably accomodating
Whatever we needed it was literally at our door step in minutes
The Kitchen was my favorite place in the house
We cooked every night with the sliding glass doors open, lisening to the waves crash.......
The only negartive thing I can say about our stay was the weather,,,,,,,,it rained everyday..........HOWEVER the trip was still a "10"
Lets put it this way, I will only stay at The Pelician House when we come to Melbourne..............

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and we can't wait to have you back... hope it's sunny every day for you too!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Visitor

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

The Pelican House was a great place to spend a vacation. It was very clean and excellently decorated.The beach is quiet, right out of the door and the design is tremendous with two BR down and the Kitchen, Family Room and Master BR up. The sunrise in the morning is magnificent and can be easily seen from the windows in any room. I will definitely stay here again upon my next trip to Melbourne.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect vacation!!!

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This house was absolutely wonderful! Everything about it was perfect! The owner was so great to us. We stayed in mid June, and had wonderful weather the whole time. We saw sea turtles every night, dolphins right in front of the house, and stunning sun rises! We initially thought we would go do some of the parks a couple days on our vacation, but one of the first things out of my mouth after getting there was, "I don't want to go anywhere but here." There is a publix right down the road, a cute icecream shop in walking distance, you can walk down the beach to another cute restaurant. The view while making breakfast was wonderful! We are a family of 6 that stayed there and we never felt crowed, the house is large and spacious! The beach was gorgeous, and our kids loved being able to try surfing with the surf boards at the house. All of the reviews said how the pictures didn't do justice, and they were right, the house was so gorgeous!!! The master bedroom and bathroom was right out of a magazine! There was so much natural light from the many windows, and every window had a gorgeous view of the ocean! Thank you again Tim for letting us rent the house, our vacation was perfect!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Cathy

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

This was the perfect escape from the crowds at Disney for the second leg of our family vacation. The house is well equipped and very comfortable with great views of the ocean. We especially enjoyed seeing the sea turtles and dolphins! The owners added some nice "special touches" that made our stay very enjoyable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

fantastic mini -vacation

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

We just loved it, it was so relaxing, we had the beach to ourselves. Our entire family ( parents, siblings, kids ) really enjoyed our stay. The views are breathtaking, the pictures posted does not do it any justice. The house was filled with amenities, anything you can think of... Even toys for my 2 yr old. The owner was very accomodating to all of our needs. It was like a bit of paradise. SO sad it was so short, wish we could of stayed at least a week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Amazing house right on the beach!

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

My friends and I booked a spot at the Pelican House as a place to stay for a friend's wedding that was close by. Upon arrival we were more than satisfied with our selection! The house is gorgeous and set right on the beach. Sun floods the house during the day, and there are even storm screens that can be used to block sunlight in the morning or, god forbid, to protect against a major storm. Along with the house comes a boardwalk-like path right out from the house to the beach, which is all of about 100 feet or so away from the house. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate very well on our visit, but that didn't prevent us from having a blast, which says a lot about the house! In addition to the house itself we were also provided with welcome gifts such as bottles of wine, chocolates, etc. It's so nice to enter a vacation house and feel welcome, and this was definitely one of those instances! There are 3 bedrooms but that didn't stop us from sleeping about 8 or 9 on the busiest night at the house, so that's not out of the question and makes the price even sweeter. Safe to say I would highly recommend this house to anybody interested in top-notch accommodations in Melbourne for a very reasonable price!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great place

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

My friends and i stayed at the Pelican House for a week in March of 2013. What a great place! Clean and updated with an awesome sounding surround sound system! Having the kitchen/living room on the 2nd floor was an unexpected bonus! The beach was outstanding and pretty much vacant. Relaxing and quiet, if your party is 8 or less, stop searching and book the Pelican House. The owners were also very attentive and interested in making our stay very enjoyable. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptional home!

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

The location and amenities were absolutely perfect. After a rough week hiking through theme parks, the Pelican House provided the highlight of the vacation. Access to the beach is amazing and we had a mostly empty stretch of beach all to ourselves.

The house itself is very well equipped with anything we could have wanted....lots of extras that I never expect in a rental. The kids loved the toys, and my wife loved the kitchen (which was fully equipped). Very positive experience, and we'll definitely be renting again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great vacation!

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

We can't say enough good things about Pelican House. Our family of 4 stayed for two weeks and during this time we had various family and friends visiting. Everything was great. The location is fantastic, the house is well equipped and comfortable. The direct access to the beach is priceless. We visited in February which is not exactly beach season. If we were not directly on the beach it would have been easy to say, it's too cold, it's too windy; but staying right on the beach it was so easy to put on some swim gear, get wet, and when we'd had enough there was a warm shower waiting at the outdoor shower. Priceless for me and my two kids. We got down to the water most every morning. (Water temp in Feb is about 70F or 20C).

The house has a tremendous number of window and the natural light is fantastic. If you never leave the house you could spend hours watching birds and beachcombers. In fact, if I ever visit again I will definitely schedule in more time for just sitting around the house. Again, priceless.

Easy trips to Orlando and Kennedy Space Center. Excellent seafood available (Moon's Seafood in Melbourne) and excellent food available generally (Petty's Meat Market).

On a practical note, the house is equipped with everything you might need. There was a surf board and boogie board in the garage as well a a couple of high quality fishing rods and reels. To our surprise we found a load of kids' toys (both beach toys and house toys) that worked well for our 4 and 6 year old kids. The kitchen is well fitted out and linens are abundant.

In short everyone visiting Pelican House had a great time and we'd all do it again tomorrow if we could!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great stay at a great beach house

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

The photos don't really do the house justice... it looks nice on paper, but it was even nicer when we actually got there. We spent the first half hour just oo-ing and ah-ing as we explored the spacious rooms and the nice path down to the beach.

The house was clean, cozy, and the perfect place for our visit to Melbourne Beach. The location is a bit far from Orlando and any "attractions," but as we were going there for an event in Cocoa Beach and mostly cared about having a relaxing stay on the beach, it was really an ideal location. Waking up in the morning to walk down to the beach and have a quick swim in the ocean was really the perfect way to start off the day.

The house was a bit hard to find with GPS, but the owner gave helpful directions so we were able to get there just fine. Just note that if you're giving someone directions there, it's easier to put nearby intersections into GPS than to use the address of the house.

The owner was helpful and friendly, and we had a great time. I'd highly recommend this beach house to anyone visiting the area. Also, just up the road, visit Robburrito's--their food is fantastic!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Haven in Great Location

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

This was the perfect getaway for the whole family. Found everything as expected. Everyone relaxed, played and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of Pelican House - what a beautiful and convenient location. (Supermarket and restaurants a short drive but the ocean, in the backyard!) The owners have created a very comfortable, well-maintained and well-equipped home away from home and we enjoyed it immensely. We appreciated the welcome package. I am sure we will plan another visit in the not too distant future. (Maybe more wine glasses for our next trip?) Thanks!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: More wine glasses it is...! As with all of our guests to date, thank you so much for being 5 star renters!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Pelican House Top Notch

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

Our stay at Pelican House was top notch. The home is beautiful; in fact, the only criticism I have is that the photos do NOT do it justice. It was immaculate and completely stocked, right down to the soft soaps and paper products. The grounds were private and amazing. Nesting sea turtles steps from our door! We had a technical problem trying to figure out turning on the TV, and we called Tim, the owner, and he called back immediately and walked us through it. The house is beautiful but homey, we felt completely at home at Pelican House. Don't hesitate, if you are thinking about a stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A beatiful house on a an empty beach

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We are a family of 5 with 3 boys aged between 4 and 10 and had a great time at the Pelican House. The rooms are large and beautiful and the kitchen provides everything you need (the pictures are good but we thought it is even better in real life). The house was clean and the furniture made the impression of being almost new. The views from the living room and the large balcony/terasse are wonderful. The only thing you hear are the waves. In the area where the house is, the beach is not crowded at all. Our kids had a great time and used the body boards/surf boards which were provided by the owner. We had sea turtles coming to the beach during several nights.

Melbourne Beach made a good impression on us and there are also some restaurants, although we did not try any as we always cooked on our own. It is relatively close to well-known attractions such as the Kennedy Space Center which we visited before we got to the Pelican House. During our stay we did not make any excursions as we just stayed at the house and on the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful house on an empty beach

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

e are a family of 5 with 3 boys aged between 4 and 10 and had a great time at the Pelican House. The rooms are large and beautiful and the kitchen provides everything you need (the pictures are good but we thought it is even better in real life). The house was clean and the furniture made the impression of being almost new. The views from the living room and the large balcony/terasse are wonderful. The only thing you hear are the waves. In the area where the house is, the beach is not crowded at all. Our kids had a great time and used the body boards/surf boards which were provided by the owner. We had sea turtles coming to the beach during several nights.

Melbourne Beach made a good impression on us and there are also some restaurants, although we did not try any as we always cooked on our own. It is relatively close to well-known attractions such as the Kennedy Space Center which we visited before we got to the Pelican House. During our stay we did not make any excursions as we just stayed at the house and on the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful house on an empty beach

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We are a family of 5 with 3 boys aged between 4 and 10 and had a great time at the Pelican House. The rooms are large and beautiful and the kitchen provides everything you need (the pictures are good but we thought it is even better in real life). The house was clean and the furniture made the impression of being almost new. The views from the living room and the large balcony/terasse are wonderful. The only thing you hear are the waves. In the area where the house is, the beach is not crowded at all. Our kids had a great time and used the body boards/surf boards which were provided by the owner. We had sea turtles coming to the beach during several nights.

Melbourne Beach made a good impression on us and there are also some restaurants, although we did not try any as we always cooked on our own. It is relatively close to well-known attractions such as the Kennedy Space Center which we visited before we got to the Pelican House. During our stay we did not make any excursions as we just stayed at the house and on the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond Expectations

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Vacation for one week with family. We loved the home. It is exactly as depicted and even nicer in person. Property is right on the beach. Practically exclusive access to the beachfront. Home is beautiful, very well maintained. Fantastic views from all rooms of the house. We were able to observe and photograph the sea turtles nesting on the beach. Property owners are hands on leaving a wonderful welcome package. All necessities provided for. We had a wonderful experience. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Pelican House is for the discerning vacationer looking for a private direct oceanfront luxury home experience with all the Atlantic Ocean has to offer in Melbourne Beach...!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review