reviews for: listing #96635 - New Braunfels, Texas House rental

Lakeside Vacation
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $800 /nt
    $2,800 - $5,000 /wk

sort by:

Excellent lakeside vacation

Review submitted: August 3, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2014

We had a family reunion here with 13 people. The house is spacious and provided everything we needed. Ample beds and baths for everyone without any battles. I would absolutely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Look no further!

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 30, 2014

This house is wonderful! Pictures do not do this rental justice. It is very beautiful inside & out. Being the last house on the lake was a huge plus, boat traffic was minimal & it seemed we had the lake to ourselves. Would love to book this for next summer!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

lakeside vacation review

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

Would recommend this property to my friends and surely won't mind staying here again. House is nicer than it looks on the photos! House has all amenities one would need on a vacation. It was clean, spacy has a nice lakeside view.
This is the last house before the spill gates, the photos on the website don't show that. I didn't have a problem with that but a photo of this view will help renters make a more informed decision.
PS: Landlord is helpful and responds quickly to texts.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Lakeside Retreat. Yes the home is located at the end of the lake which makes it so much better than other places in my opinion. You have you own private swim area where you and your family don't have to worry about rough water or boat traffic. Please recommend us to others and come again. Thanks Kendra Wray- Property manager

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Yearly river trip

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

I just wanted to take a minute to let everyone know this house is all it is cracked up to be and more. The only two negative things we could find about the house were that there was no poker room like showed on the listing, and the master bedroom had no privacy from the stairs leading downstairs. Other than that the house is way bigger than we expected and the outside patio is amazing. We spent all of our time either out there or in the lake! Oh and the master bathroom is to die for! New big shower and deep bathtub! Definitely will be booking again next year! Also the leasing agent and staff are amazing to work with and very helpful.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fun but needs improvement

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

This is a beautiful house and has a great location on the river, we especially enjoyed the rope swing.
The house does need better up keep. The shower knobs down stairs are backwards and we were not aware which resulted in cold showers for two days, the towel rack downstairs broke but was just a loose screw, outdoor shed with floaties and other river accessories was disheveled and the fridge downstairs needs a serious cleaning and had food from left over tenants which was gross. Also, the trash from the previous guests had not been picked up and an animal had strewn garbage everywhere which we had to clean up since it was in the neighbors yard and there is a broken down mule in the back which just doesn't look very good from a guest perspective.
On a positive note, the rooms were comfortable and four bathrooms is great for large groups. It has beautiful floors and the kitchen, dining room and large televisions in both living areas are great. I think it is a great choice, just needs a maintenance on a couple of things and more attention to detail between guests.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good for large group

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We stayed three nights very comfortably with 15 people which included adults and teen children (3 families). Overall, it is a nice place with a few "rough" edges (see Cons below).
Pros:
*Spacious. We were able to have the kids play and stay downstairs giving the adults the upstairs to visit.
*Lots of sleeping places. With 15, we were all able to have a bed space. There was even enough space to add air mattresses on the floor if we had needed to.
*2 refrigerators helped with drink storage
*4 bathrooms. The upstairs bathroom nearest the bedrooms has a great shower!
*House was clean.
*Being on the lake is great. Our kids really enjoyed the rope swing and swimming in the lake. There was plenty of outdoor seating.
*Quiet setting. The house sits at the end of the lake so wasn't too busy with boats and noise.

Cons
*Downstairs bathroom had cut-out pieces of sheetrock just propped into place - kind of gross
*Downstairs refrigerator was filled with leftover beer and condiments (some expired) from previous renters - some may not have a problem with that but we thought it was kind of disgusting.
*Downstairs tv does not have satellite box and we could not find the dvd remote. Kids were able to use the Playstation to watch their dvd.
*Never did see the poker table
*Kids found a pair of underwear on the floor left from a previous renter - housekeeping issue but still kind of gross

We would consider renting again though would prefer a place with a bigger green space for the kids to play in. We had brought soccer balls and frisbees and there really wasn't enough space to play that. The rental agent was great to work with. If the details don't bother you and you mostly need the space this is a great spot.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent for Large Groups

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

This property exceeded my expectations. You never know what you will walk into when renting and we were pleasantly surprised. We were celebrating my husband's 50th with most of his family; parents, siblings and children joined us. Plenty of room for all!! Nice features included a huge master bedroom that had a view of the whole lake..very nice. Nice living/dining area and plenty of kitchen room for all of us trying to get meals going. I agree with some of the previous comments that the pictures do not do justice the size of house. The extra fridge downstairs was nice; it had a working ice machine really helped; -upstairs ice machine was not working that well but also provided a closer spot to keep things cold while we were downstairs on the patio. Plenty of pots/pans to help with cooking..I brought 2 cookies sheets with me and only had to use one. Big fire pit outside that we used nightly. Liked being down by the dam; nice and quiet and plenty of cool deep water to enjoy while floating. Lot's of small perch were around the dock that we could catch and use for bait; ended up catching a pretty good size bass this way!
We would definitely rent this house again for a large group but will probably look at new rental for just my husband and I so we can get to know the area better!
ps; I have a great photo of the lake taken from the upper patio that you might want for the listing pictures. Just email me and I'll send to you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place for a Group Stay!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

This place was great for me and my group of about 11 people. The rooms were in great condition, the owner had everything cleaned up and in good shape, and plus the view of the river from the back was just what I needed everyone morning when I woke up. The pictures don't do this place justice, because it's much bigger inside than what it seems.

Me and my friends would definitely recommend this property to a group of adults looking to get away for a weekend and go somewhere relaxing and to have a good time. If we come back to New Braunfels for a weekend, we'll definitely put this place at the top of our list for a place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The good outweighed the bad...

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

First let me say that overall the stay was delightful but that was mostly due to the company!
The Good…
The house was very large and perfect for our group of 14! The kids took the 2 rooms + small living space downstairs and the adults all stayed upstairs. It really was the perfect arrangement. The house was at the end of the lake by the dam so we didn’t feel crowded.
The kids all LOVED the rope swing for jumping into the lake and we set up washers on the hill where we could be right there to watch them swim.
For those of you wanting to fish there, it was not a great fishing spot. For us, anyhow…We only caught about ten fish in three days and they were all very small. But the fishing/swimming was still nice and relaxing.
The Bad…
The first thing we noticed in the house was the garage downstairs. There are French doors that stay locked because the owner’s personal items were “stored” - thrown in there. They should definitely put up some curtains!
The second thing was the stairs leading to the lower level in the house. The carpet is nasty and needs to be replaced!
The kitchen was definitely under stocked for it to be a house for 14 people. We were juggling pots and pans to cook dinner. And worst of all, we found dirty dishes in the cabinets! Since the renters are responsible for the dishes, I don’t think the cleaning lady even checks them. There were spider webs all in the windows and curtains, a funky spill in the refrigerator and weird splatters of food(?) something on the wall in the dining room. Also, the top bunk bed was slept in and not made or sheets washed.
The mattresses in some of the rooms were not comfy at all and the fans did not all work. None of the 3 grills had propane. We had to go buy our own so be prepared to do that before you are ready to cook.

For the price per night AND the $200 cleaning fee, I would expect an immaculate home. I would consider a new cleaning lady!
Also, the trash was an issue. Any bags that don’t fit in the cans outside cost $5. We were able to squish ours in, but again…a house that sleeps 14 should be a little more renter-friendly.

Overall the house was great as far as size and location. If the cleaning issues were resolved, we would stay there again…

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Carpets has been replaced and other issues addressed as well. Thanks for feedback, and glad you had a good time.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Funtastic!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

I surprised my husband for his 30th birthday renting this home. It was perfect, not too far from home, and we had a great time. We didn't bring our fishing poles this trip but will have to next time as the fish we biting us. Great for kids of all ages, no one wanted to leave. We will definitely be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Caution

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

We rented this home for four days. The upstairs is nice, but the downstairs needs alot of work. The carpet on the stairs should definetly be replaced! Everything seemed good going into the rental, but afterwards when our deposit was not refunded, it was a shock. The home was not the cleanest when we arrived and we left it in a cleaner condition, yet our deposit was not refunded. It seems like the owner is thirsty for money. Not worth the money!!! Very disappointed!!!

Helpful votes: 22 / 24

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review