reviews for: listing #96673 - Cadillac, Michigan House rental

Magnificent Edgetts Lodge on Pine River sleeps 23+
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $545 - $595 /nt
    $2,995 - $3,495 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic visit to Edgetts Lodge!

Review submitted: July 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

My goodness!
Honestly....we have been to many different places for weekend getaways....you have a piece of Heaven out there Mark!
The Lodge is remarkable. You have paid such close attention to detail in every corner of this beautiful get-away!
The views, the grounds....so well thought out.
Our four days together were completely relaxing, restful, peaceful....unmistakably perfect.
We had fun together....we went for walks, we talked around the fire, we played games, we read, we watched videos, we played ping-pong and foosball....we ate like kings and queens....
Thank you for allowing us to share in your vision of what Michigan has to offer us.
The river was outstanding!!! We went for an adventure, and an adventure we got!
We are all very confident kayakers...water friendly people.....it was truly a great experience. The absolute best part of the trip!!
The Lodge....we certainly hope to come back again soon, Mark.
We will talk about it for years to come....absolutely the best long weekend we have had in ages.

Best wishes to you....continued success with the Lodge!
Thanks again....we are truly grateful for your hospitality and willingness to share such a wonderful and beautiful place.

Paul, Michelle, Isaac Joel, Chris, Zander, Sydney and Sophie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect! you gotta stay here!!

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

bring the family and the food....everything else is here. superb weekend. peaceful.
the river was outstanding...the kayaks were fun...
the lodge is absolutely everything and more than described....if you leave here disappointed, then you can never be satified...stay home!

thank you for sharing your dream, Mark....we loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome lodging

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

Edgetts lodge was a wonderful home for our couples snowmobile weekend. Accommodations were perfect and the home is very nice, well kept and worked great for us all. Would rent again if we vacation in the area.

Owners response: You are welcome Lisa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Northwoods Hide Away

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

My family and I had a marvelous week at Edgett's Lodge. The listing description and photos accurately illustrated the facilities and the local opportunities for fishing and boating. The owner is very responsive to ones needs and questions and his care takers are friendly and helpful.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely but please be aware...

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

The lodge is spectacular and very well kept. We were charged an extra couple hundred dollars after our week stay for a small tear in upholstery in a bench and a crack in a refrigerator shelf. Both of these items were already showing abit of use and this type of damage was not a result of carelessness. These were things that another owner may have considered normal wear and tear. Oh, well. We paid it without complaint and were glad the water heater or the stove hadn't gone on the fritz while we were there. Would have been distressed to have to pay for that.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

It's a True Beauty!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

The Family Reunion was a wonderful time at the Lodge - because the Lodge was so georgeous! Mark, you have a great place here in the woods. My family cannot wait until we come again - and we will come again. Doug and the girls were a wonderful assest, helpful, funny, and had the little ones just a touch spooked - and that's a good thing... The pictures on the site made me excited to see the lodge in person and no one was disappointed. All week long, we just kept finding that little thing that no one had noticed yet - we laughed and kept looking for something else to surprise us. The Nugent Wall was my personal favorite. With 32, a baby and a 90 yr.old, we all slept in quiet bedrooms on comfortable beds (and that's hard to find). We loved your roomy, well stocked kitchen and relaxed in the river or on the deck catching up with the all the family. We all felt that we have 'spoiled ourselves' this time in your lodge and want to thank you and Doug for a wonderful time.

The Cusick Family

Owners response: You are more than welcome Claudia! You left the Lodge in perfect condition. We look forward to your next Family Reunion at Edgetts Lodge.

Mark Slavsky

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Our entire stay from arrival to departure was wonderful. The pictures on the website do this place no justice - it is absolutely spectacular. I have zero complaints and no regrets about staying at the Lodge.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We had a great time at the Edgetts Lodge! It was beautiful! Great space, well maintained, and the owner and caretakers were wonderful! We would recomend this lodge to anyone. We will definitly be staying here again!

Owners response: Thanks Robilyn. I am glad you liked Edgetts Lodge and that you had such a good time. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Mark Slavsky

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Lodge, Great Vacation

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

We had an AMAZING stay at Edgetts Lodge. What a lovely lodge, lots of room for our large family AND lots to do there too! Loved sitting in front of the fire at night playing board games, or just talking. The closet filled with toys was an unexpected surprise for my grandchildren! Mark was wonderful and accommodating during our planning phase and during our stay. It is obvious that he cares about the lodge AND about the guests. We found the lodge to be very clean, very well maintained inside and outside. The view of the river, which was at flood level, was truly beautiful.
Doug was so much help to us, a wealth of information. We can't wait to return! (And you were right Mark, who needs TV!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Lodge, GREAT Four Days!

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

We had an AMAZING stay at Edgetts Lodge. What a lovely lodge, lots of room for our large family AND lots to do there too! Loved sitting in front of the fire at night playing board games, or just talking. The closet filled with toys was an unexpected surprise for my grandchildren! Mark was wonderful and accommodating during our planning phase and during our stay. It is obvious that he cares about the lodge AND about the guests. We found the lodge to be very clean, very well maintained inside and outside. The view of the river, which was at flood level, was truly beautiful.
Doug was so much help to us, a wealth of information. We can't wait to return! (And you were right Mark, who needs TV!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Martin Gang (Fred and Gen)

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Our Stay March 2 through March 4, 2012
This was our second stay at Edgett's Lodge. Once again all 15 of us had a great time. Lots of laughter was shared and the Lodge made it so homey to do so.
Thanks Doug (our caretaker) for plowing out the drive after the snowstorm. We enjoyed watching it snow sitting amongst the warm fire in the fireplace. We were able to go sledding. This was a treat of its own for we had no sled but our behinds beneath. That was the funny part rolling down the hill.
The eagle once again flew by twice making himself known. Just beautiful.
We all had a GREAT time, worries were left at home and our focus was being together all as a FAMILY.
We all plan on coming back in 2013. The countdown has begun.
Blessings we send to Doug Galloup and
Mark Slavsky and your Families
Best Regards,
Martin Gang

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Lodge

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend at the secluded all handcrafted wooded lodge. Surrounded with quiet and wild life and a beautiful winding river flowing right out the windows. This roomy, spacial lodge has a great local build history to share as well. Would highly recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lodge get away

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend at the secluded all handcrafted wooded lodge. Surrounded with quiet and wild life and a beautiful winding river flowing right out the windows. This roomy, spacial lodge has a great local build history to share as well. Would highly recommend it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

I don't know that anyone visits Edgetts Lodge without planning their next visit! Every convenience is provided for and the kitchen is well stocked to cook for family and friends. What a wonderful winter retreat, with skiing close by, games, a ping pong table, and a roaring fire to welcome you after those intense family snowball fights. The security deposit was returned promptly. Mark and Doug checked in to make sure everything was as expected and to answer any questions. I would highly recommend this accommodation

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Mark - this was our second trip to the lodge this past weekend and it was an awesome experience. We have 3 generations from 3 families who enjoy the lodge, nature, the river, etc. , etc. Doug is a real pleasure to talk to and very helpful on how things work, what to expect, and knowledge of the area. We hope to be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

We looked forward to our second visit to Edgett's Lodge and the stay was as great the 2nd year as the first! The facility is well managed and maintained and we are appreciative that you share you beautiful property with folks you have never met! Having Doug available close by is a great convenience and adds to the up north experience with his local lore. Wonderful time spent by all, from snowshoeing the property, skiing, crafts, rock band and games, including minute to win it competitions. Thanks again, and plan on us returning again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2006

We have completed our second visit to the Lodge this year, and we look forward to returning again in the future. We are a large group of friends and the Lodge is perfect. It easily accomodates our six families. This year we came over the Christmas holidays and the Lodge was cozy and warm, the snowy views were beautiful and there was even a Christmas tree in the living room! Last year we came in the fall which was equally beautiful. Mark and Doug are very gracious and attentive hosts, checking in (Mark by phone, Doug dropping by) to make sure everything is as we expected and we have everything we need. It is a great vacation rental and we couldn't be happier with the service.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 24, 2011

Wow! Wow! Wow! I think that is what we said to each other all weekend.

We found Mark's add on Craiglist and went to his website with low expectations of the accomodations. After visiting the website and arranging the weekend we had high expections of what we were going to experience. We shared our plans with family and friends; we showed everyone we talked to the website and pictures.

Well, our expectations were exceeded and we had a great time. Our plans were to ski Friday night, but after starting a fire and getting cozy we didn't want to leave the lodge.

We skied all day long both Saturday and Sunday, coming back to the lodge in the evening was great. The warmth and comfort of the home was beyond what we could have asked for.

We traveled with 4 families, 8 adults and 12 children. We had plenty of room and never felt crowded.

Mark called twice to check on us and ensure we had everything we needed. Doug visited twice to ensure we had everything we needed and all was okay. Both clearly wanted to make sure we were happy and having a good time.

Again, this was our first visit and we took a chance that the lodge was everything as advertised. It was everything we had hoped and hopefully won't be our last visit.

We encourage you to visit and enjoy your time like we did. Leave your worries, bring some good company, comfort food, and let your surroundings do the rest!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

Throughout the years, we have stayed in a number of locations in Northern Michigan for our annual family Christmas celebration. Several years ago, we found Edgett’s Lodge; it was truly magical experience.

Staying at Edgett’s again this Christmas was like coming home for the holidays; we all felt the same warmth and magic that Edgett’s has always stirred. In addition to the pristine setting of the lodge and its amenities, the owner, Mark Slavsky and Doug have always made our stay a memorable and unique experience through their attention and commitment to making the comfort and enjoyment of their guests their personal priority. Doug stops in several times to make sure that all is as it should be and to provide whatever thing that might make the experience even more memorable. Mark always makes a personal phone call to welcome our family, ensure that we have everything we need, and to provide us with cell phone contact numbers should we have any questions. Of all the places we have stayed, none has provided the impeccable setting and amenities of the lodge or the personal attention that make for such a special and enjoyable experience. During the course of this year’s stay, our family made the decision to annually reserve Edgett’s for all our future Christmas celebrations.

Thanks Mark for another wonderful family Christmas! We all look forward to Christmas at Edgett’s, 2011!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

Awesome fails to describe our weekend at Edgetts Lodge. Our group(12-16 guys)gets together for a golf outing every year. Mark graciously set us up in the Lodge on short notice as our plans for a trip further north fell through. The Lodge was great, and Cadillac golfing was great(and cheap). The Lodge was so impressive, none of us wanted to leave to play golf...... We are already planning next years trip and a few of us are going to set up a weekend this fall to just hang out. Thanks again for an awesome trip and we all look forward to staying at Edgetts on our next outing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2010

What a beautiful and relaxing scrapbooking weekend. We spent our girlfriends birthday here. Some of us scrapped and some relaxed. Not only is this a beautiful place to scrap the food is great also. I am looking so forward to another weekend of scapping. Thanks Mark!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

Awesome place for our group of 19 ranging in age from 1 to 54. Great location for outdoor activities. Open space in the lodge for entertaining, dining, and relaxing.

Doug is an awesome guy with great knowledge of the area and help with anything we needed.

I will suggest the lodge to family and friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

This was the perfect retreat spot for our small management planning session. The outstanding views, comfortable cooking and dining, and convenient location will probably have us headed back. We especially enjoyed the quiet during the weekdays in the winter. Many thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

This is the second time our high school youth
group has stayed at Edgetts Lodge - and once
again our stay was awesome! Our kids love the
accommodations - Mark is extremely easy and
personable to work with and I HIGHLY recommend
this place to others who are looking for that perfect
spot to house a large group. We will be returning!
Thanks Mark for the wonderful experience -
blessings to you and your family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

SCRAPBOOKERS BEWARE!!! A weekend at Edgetts Lodge will release an EXTREME amount of creativity and fun. Upon returning to reality, you may suffer from constant distraction as you begin to plot your return......

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

This was the first retreat I put together for my employees and their families. Edgetts Lodge was a perfect setting to leave the office at home and just relax in the woods. The lodge itself was nothing short of custom luxury,with plenty of room to host, dine and just be lazy. The kids had so much to chose from that it allowed the adults just to unwind and enjoy the weekend. Big thanks, we hope to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 22, 2010

Hello Mark, This was the 4th annual Birthday trip for mom's 80th birthday . It is hard to find somewhere with enough room for 21 people, My sister-in-law found your lodge and it was perfect,you have a really great place Thank you,We all had a great time, Maybe we'll be there for the 5th annual 80th party.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

Awesome place for our group of 19 ranging in age from 1 to 54. Great location for outdoor activities. Open space in the lodge for entertaining, dining, and relaxing.

Doug is an awesome guy with great knowledge of the area and help with anything we needed.

I will suggest the lodge to family and friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

This was the perfect retreat spot for our small management planning session. The outstanding views, comfortable cooking and dining, and convenient location will probably have us headed back. We especially enjoyed the quiet during the weekdays in the winter. Many thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

This is the second time our high school youth
group has stayed at Edgetts Lodge - and once
again our stay was awesome! Our kids love the
accommodations - Mark is extremely easy and
personable to work with and I HIGHLY recommend
this place to others who are looking for that perfect
spot to house a large group. We will be returning!
Thanks Mark for the wonderful experience -
blessings to you and your family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2010

I almost don't want to give any good feedback and keep this place a secret but my mother taught me not to be selfish. Edgetts lodge is absolutely perfect. We had 19 adults in the house and never felt cramped. It is absolutely breathtaking and I will leave it at that. If you like the outdoors and appreciate architecture and construction don't hesitate to stay. Thank you again Mark for a wonderful family vacation. I WILL see you next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: December 9, 2009

Our 4 sons and their families along with ourselves had a great time. It even snowed for us. It was fantastic. The kids had a ball. Everything we needed was supplied and the view is beautiful as well as the cabin. Thank you very much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 2, 2009   Date of arrival: November 2, 2009

We are a group of friends who have been getting together each year for the past 35 years. We represent six families and we are always looking for a place that can accomodate us. Edgett's Lodge was perfect. There was room for all of us. It was very comfortable, a beautiful view from every window. Mark made us feel very welcome and we hope to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 19, 2009   Date of arrival: October 19, 2009

This is such an unbelievable piece of property. It
was perfect! Plenty of room, great kitchen with
everything you need to cook for large numbers of
people. Beautiful views, clean bathrooms and
house, comfortable beds, lots of hot water,
comfortable couches, great fireplaces and fire pits.
Doug and Mark are great- so welcoming and
helpful. I can't think of a single thing that I would
change about it. We can't wait to go back!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

Edgetts Lodge went above and beyond all my expectations! From the detailed woodwork inside the lodge to the beautiful natural landscaping of the Pine River outside, every inch is just as beautiful as the next. I hosted a large group of 15 friends here over the summer, and it has been the highlight of our year. The pictures do not do justice to this sanctuary! Mark and Doug were great to work with, and I look forward to meeting with them again in the years to come! It is truly a must see location!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 24, 2009   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

I would like to share with you that my experience was fantastic! The lodge is absolutely beautiful and very accomendating. My friends and I spent a few days in the lodge. We enjoyed the space that the cabin provides along with the serenity of the surroundings. Thank you so much for allowing us to use the lodge. I would recommend it for anyone with a large group looking to get away and relax. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 21, 2009   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

Dear Mark,

We wanted to find a special way to celebrate our 50th Anniversary and wanted it to be with our family. Our son, Mike, looked on the internet and found several possibilities. Edgett's Lodge seemed to be the perfect answer. There was enough room there for us and our 4 kids and their spouses and our 8 grandkids. There seemed to be lots of things to do at the lodge and in the area. We are so happy for our time at your lodge, for the beauty, peace and tranquility. We picked the hottest week of the summer, but were very comfortable with the air conditioning. We ate most of our meals there with everyone helping with the cooking in the great kitchen that was so well equipped and outside at the fantastic grill. We found plenty to do at the lodge, Kayaking, and fishing on the Pine River, relaxing talking, playing cards and putting puzzles together. The area also had plenty to offer--golfing, swimming, go-carting, and tennis. The store in Bristol proved very helpful for little things we needed too. We appreciated Doug being so available and stopping in. He knew the area so well and answered any questions about the lodge. We want to thank you for all the fond memories we have of our special time at Edgett's Lodge.
Sincerely, Burt and Mary Hooker

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 31, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We celebrated my parent's 50th wedding anniversary at the lodge. We are already talking about making a return visit to this wonderful place. We created some precious family memories in this beautiful home. Breathtaking really is the perfect description, not to mention spacious, immaculate and cozy. We enjoyed having bonfires, watching the "Dogman" legend, playing ping pong and just sitting by the fire in the beautiful living room overlooking the Pine River. It really exceeded our expectations. Doug was wonderful showing us the lodge and bringing us firewood. Mark, I really appreciate your quick response for recommended places to eat and phoning us over the weekend to make sure our stay was going well. Thanks for sharing this magnificent place with us. We had an amazing time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

As professionally and beautifully as this Lodge is presented on the website, the pictures do not do this "mecca" proper justice. The experience was wonderful. You have yourself a real gem here! The amenities were top-notch, it felt like we were guests at a highly rated hotel. However, the authenticity of the cabin as well as the surrounding nature made us feel as if we were a million miles from our day-to-day lives. Everyone who walked through the front doors did so with their mouths open in amazement. Mark was a complete professional, accomodating, he even called during the weekend to make sure the cabin was up to our standards. Doug was always available, and a nicer man you won't find. I told Mark before the weekend that if all goes well, he will have some repeat business. Now I say this with full confidence. Mark, you will have repeat business! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 27, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

I am a youth minister from Ann Arbor, MI. Our
youth ministry had a long tradition of going to a
large event in Gatlinburg, TN each year. My
students absolutely loved this event. This year, due
to the cost of traveling that far, we were not going
to be able to go. I decided to look for a "cabin" that
I could take my students to in MI. I only found one
that slept more than 20. It was Edgetts Lodge. I
decided to take a chance and book a date there. I
was afraid that my students would be
disappointed. Surely Edgetts Lodge could not
match up to all the great experiences that my
students had in Gatlinburg, TN.
When we arrived at the Lodge, the students' and
adult leaders' jaws dropped to the floor in
amazement! They could not believe how nice it
was! Also, the students were amazed by how "cool"
the place is.
After the trip was over, I asked my students if they
missed Gatlinburg. All of them said they would
have rather come to Edgetts Lodge! If you need to
do a retreat, consider using this location. It was an
awesome experience for our group. (If you have
more questions about our experience, please don't
hesitate to contact me. I would love to tell you
more about our awesome trip.)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 26, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

I am a youth minister from Ann Arbor, MI. Our
youth ministry had a long tradition of going to a
large event in Gatlinburg, TN each year. My
students absolutely loved this event. This year due
to the cost of traveling that far we were not going
to be able to go. I decided to look for a "cabin" that
I could take my students to in MI. I only found one
that slept more than 20. It was the Lodge. I
decided to take a chance and book a date at the
Lodge. I was afraid that my students would be
disappointed. Surely the Lodge could not match up
to all the great experiences that my students had in
Gatlinburg, TN.
When we arrived at the Lodge students' and adult
leaders' jaws dropped to floor in amazement. They
could not believe how nice the Lodge was. The
students were amazed by how "cool" the place was.
After the trip was over I asked my students if they
missed Gatlinburg. All of them said they would
have rather come to the Lodge! If you need to do a
retreat consider using the Lodge. It was an
awesome experience for our group. (If you have
more questions about our Lodge experience please
don't hesitate to contact me. I would love to tell
you more about our awesome experience.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 21, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Anyone looking for a log cabin (or"Up-North") experience with all the amenities will not be disappointed. The "feel" is magical! Our family has spent 2 Christmases here. It has room to accomodate (we fit 18 comfortably!) A well stocked kitchen, and activities galore. You can curl up with a book in front of the fire place or be adventurous and go sledding, cross country skiing, or take in some nearby downhill slopes. The owner and the caretaker go above and beyond to ensure a pleasant experience. They are available at any time to answer questions or address any needs. I've recommended the place to several friends and family members...and would love to come back in the summer to give kayaking and canoeing a try!

Thanks Mark for sharing this beautiful place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 13, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Dear Mark & Family
My family had a wonderful time at the lodge. The lodge is awsome, we have stayed at some the best hotels around the world...we feel that Edgetts ranks right up there with the best of the best! Doug was very kind & helpful to our family. We truely pray that we will make Edgetts Lodge a annual get away. God Bless from the Van Camp Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 3, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

It has been said that “you can’t go back”, but our second annual family Christmas at Edgett’s Lodge proved that such is not the case, as this year’s celebration was every bit as special, spiritual, and magical as the first. Cross-country skiing, sledding, and playing in the snow at the river’s edge with our children and grandchildren along with brothers and sisters, nieces and nephews and their children and grandchildren, is the “essence of life”! The atmosphere and pristine setting of Edgett’s Lodge certainly expresses the beauty of the northern Michigan experience. The owner, Mark Slavsky, has not missed a thing in supplying all the necessary amenities, from a kitchen equipped for gourmet cooking, to games for small children and adults. Furthermore, Mark takes a special personal interest to ensure his guest’s enjoyment, from the booking of the reservation to a telephone call to make sure that all the guests are comfortable and everything needed is available. Thanks Mark for another wonderful family celebration which will fill the scrapbooks of the mind as well as those captured in photograph and video.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 17, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

My adventure group and I absolutely loved the lodge! The interior was stunning yet cozy. The exterior was a beautiful secluded winter wonderland! We're already discussing coming back in the summer. I can't count how many times my friends said "Charity, how did you find this place? It's great!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 16, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

I am a pastor at a church here in Michigan and we have taken 3 trips up to the cabin for spiritual retreats. The cabin is a perfect setup for groups from the room/bed situation, to having space to gather the whole group, to the large kitchen for meal prep, not even mentioning the peace and "get away from it all" feeling you have when you're there. Mark has also put an esquisite amount of detail into the construction and feel of the cabin.
I actually carry around business cards in my wallet for the lodge in case I'm in a conversation with someone looking for a great getaway, that's how much I enjoy it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 16, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We have just returned from our Thanksgiving weekend at this beautiful lodge. Four families enjoying walks, kayaking, the beautiful colours of the leaves and time just to enjoy each other!! It was amazing and we hope to do it again next year!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 22, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Thank you so much for the wonderful vacation that we had at your lodge. Your home is really beautiful and a true compliment to the natural beauty that surrounds it. Our group of 25 had plenty of space and had a lot of fun fishing and kayaking. What a great place to relax and unwind! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 11, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Simply put - Amazing! Our eight days at the Lodge were exactly what we needed. The stay exceeded our expectations. Having both our families together at the lodge (28 or so in total) and allowing them to feel comfortable and at home was perfect. Doug, the caretaker/helper/local historian/"Dogman" storyteller, was a huge help. I could write on and on about how nice it was.

Mark, Beth and I would like to thank you again for making our gathering of two families everything we wanted and more. Our travel weary family members, who came all the way from South Carolina, Virginia, Kentucky and California thank you as well. Oh, and the Kids absolutely loved the trail/hay ride that Doug took them on. They even saw a Bobcat. Pretty amazing! We hope to visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 6, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Our stay at Edgetts Lodge can only be rated: The Best! Our entire family (19 in all) were able to be there at least part of the week. Everyone of them enjoyed the Lodge, the scenery, the river kayaking, the trails. and wished the week wasn't over. It was such a peaceful, quiet area to enjoy. The weather was great. The Lodge is beautiful, roomy, and furnished and supplied abundantly. The caretaker and you Mark were always available and making sure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. Thanks again. Edgetts Lodge helped to make great memories for our family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 24, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

The setting at "THE LODGE" is near spiritual. The peace and tranquillity are a theraputic change from everyday life. We look forward to returning for years to come.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

After our stay at Edgetts Lodge last year, we wanted to do it again and so glad we did. It was really a super vacation! What a wonderful comfortable setting for us to get our family together. Jim's parents came from Florida and we even got the newlyweded newphew and wife to come over from Illinois. We're already looking forward to bringing the twin grandbabies next summer.

I never seem to get tired of just looking out the windows. Loved the tall pine trees, wild turkeys were fun to watch; I even saw a doe and fawn one morning. The longer voyage we took down the river via kayak was amazing. Denny caught a fish. Edgetts Lodge is truly a place in our hearts now.

Brenda Barnes - Grand Blanc, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 15, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

What a lovely way to spend a few days ups north! This was our second stay at Edgetts and can't wait to do it again. The setting enticed family members from Illinois and Florida to want to return which they did. Loved seeing the wild turkeys and the doe with fawn Saturday at breakfast time! We did the longer kayak voyage this time and that was outstanding. You certainly have a lovely corner of Michigan captured at Edgetts. Thanks again for one of our summer highlights.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Our combined family of 17 really enjoyed the lodge and the kyacks. It is exceptionaly clean.

The Ludington city beach and the State park are not too far if you want a traditional white sand beach and dunes.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 24, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Stayed at Edgetts with customers in order to fly fish the local rivers. The lodge is beautifully positioned on a sweeping bend of the Pine River which can be fished from shore or waded. The Pere Marquette flies only section is only a 30 minute ride from the lodge. Great setting for spending quality time with customers. The bedrooms slept 6 very comfortably, and will easily sleep more. The kitchen and deck grill were great for steak dinners after fishing all day. I would highly recommend this lodge for a corporate function whether it included fishing or not. It is a beautiful log cabin lodge providing a very comfortable setting in order to relax and converse.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 23, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Our stay at the Lodge was wonderful. My parents had a memorable 55th Anniversary Party, with all 6 of their children, their spouses and all of the grand children, 16 in all. The lodge is magnificient, beautiful and so comfortable. We enjoyed the trip, even though it was rainy (but only at night!) The windows added some great lightning viewing. We were amazed at how completely the cabin was stocked - even with extra sweatshirts! Doug was great too. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 19, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

The lodge and river were fantastic! All 18 of us enjoyed our time. Mark was extremely helpful and timely in making sure our stay was all we hoped it would be. Now if we could just find some more mushrooms! Thanks for renting to us. We will be back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 9, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Hi Mark,

Thank you for letting us staying at your wonderful lodge. What a wonderful experience we had this last Memorial Weekend!
My family and friends loved it so very much. Everyone had a great time and everybody agreed that that was one of the best vacations that we have ever had.
We love the fact that you are very flexible with everything, very generous and very helpful. The lodge, the view, the care taker, the owner, the activities, everything about Edgetts Lodge is FANTABULOUS!!!!
The kids cried cos they didn't wanna leave.... and even until now... the adults still talking about how we miss to be at the kitchen in the morning and chit chat and having some coffee out in the deck..... or just looking at the river from the living room HUGE windows....

Thank you!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 12, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

The are no words available that I know of to properly describe this lodge and the grounds around it. Peaceful, beautiful, and those don't even start!
Mark, Thank you for making this happen for us. We really needed it!
Off to get the Big Buffalo!
Bobbe, Joe, and Joey Dauer

Owners response: You are welcome, Bobbe. And I am so glad that Joey was successful on his buffalo hunt! Mark

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 6, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

It's hard to express in words the feeling when we entered the lodge upon our arrival - it was every bit as magical as we had hoped it would be. Our son-in-law and daughter had arrived before us and they were enjoying Doug's welcome and his wonderful review of the lodge's amenities and history. We rent a home/lodge every year for our family Christmas celebration; this year's will be etched in everyone's mind as the most memorable. We especially appreciated Doug's "hayride" through the woods on Saturday afternoon and with the freshly falling snow, it indeed was something out of a Norman Rockwell painting. Our family holiday celebration was as perfect as we could have hoped; our sincere thanks! We also would like to extend our thanks to Mark for his congeniality and his genuine wishes along with his telephone follow-up to ensure our complete enjoyment during our stay; it is obvious that there are some very special memories and a family legacy with respect to this property; we felt the "spiritual" connection and certainly appreciate and understand his family's love and attachment to this special place. Again, our sincere thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 1, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Mark:

Just wanted to let you know what a great time we had at your lodge for our golf outing. The river, the view and the overall beauty is what brings people back to Morthern Michigan in my opinion.

We had numerous golf courses to choose from and the courses were within 20-25 minutes from us, so we didn't have to venture far. Thanks again for letting us stay there and we'll see if the guys are up for coming again next year. -Jeff Matlock

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 26, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

As I first stepped into the Lodge, the only word that came to mind was breathtaking. Amazing views from the great room, spectacular kitchen, wonderful decor and very spacious throughout the Lodge. Our group had a fantastic time and talk already of returning again. Mark and his son were very kind and helpful. Thanks for the assistance with the kayaking, starting the fire and obtaining directions for us late at night :)Everything we needed was on site and didn't even entertain the thought of venturing out to a neighboring town. All in all the entire stay from beginning to end was a 10! My only regret is that our stay was only 3 days..I easily could have enjoyed an entire week. Thanks Mark!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 6, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

What can I say that all the other reviews didn't already? On a scale of 1-10...Ease of doing buisness with owner is an 11, Doug the caretaker was a 12, The house was a 13, Ammenities were only a 10.5 LOL...my only complaint would be they didn't force us to stay longer. It was for my mom's birthday and us 7 kids and families...18 in all and we were more than comfortable. If you are on the fence about where to rent and are searching the internet I would error to Edgetts Lodge. I have rented many places from Costa Rica to Cabo to Steamboat, CO and this was by far the best overall experience I have had hands down.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 17, 2007   Date of arrival: August 17, 2007

We had a wonderful time at your beautiful cabin. The setting was gorgeous and secluded and the house was stunning. One of my favorite little decorating touches was the pump faucet in the powder bath! Having the cabin stocked with essentials like paper goods and bug spray was an added luxury. You have done a great job to make your cabin very homey and a comfortable fun place to vacation. I think my favorite part (and the kids’ favorite) was the kayaking and tubing. The river was peaceful and refreshing. Doug was wonderful, taking his time to help us learn the river, change the ball on my truck so that we could haul the equipment with his trailer, and helping us to rent canoes and more tubes. And taking all of us on a hay ride was icing on the cake! The kitchen was well stocked and did a great job of accommodating a pretty big crowd…lots of big pots, serving stuff, etc! I recommend it to anyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 17, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We had a wonderful time at your beautiful cabin. The setting was gorgeous and secluded and the house was stunning. One of my favorite little decorating touches was the pump faucet in the powder bath! Having the cabin stocked with essentials like paper goods and bug spray was an added luxury. You have done a great job to make your cabin very homey and a comfortable fun place to vacation. I think my favorite part (and the kids’ favorite) was the kayaking and tubing. The river was peaceful and refreshing. Doug was wonderful, taking his time to help us learn the river, change the ball on my truck so that we could haul the equipment with his trailer, and helping us to rent canoes and more tubes. And taking all of us on a hay ride was icing on the cake!
The kitchen was well stocked and did a great job of accommodating a pretty big crowd…lots of big pots, serving stuff, etc! I recommend it to anyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Hi Mark,
Thanks for allowing us to stay at the Lodge. It was perfect for our vacation. We had 18 in our group and there was plenty of space for us all. The lodge itself was beautiful both inside and out. You have it set up and decorated to where we felt right at home.
The river setting was the perfect backdrop. Whether you want to just sit around and enjoy the water rushing by or if you want jump in a kayak and float down stream, you can't lose either way!
And finally I wanted to Thank Doug your care taker. He was great. He filled us in on the area, both history and what is currenly going on. He was a big help in our kayaking adventures as well as getting us anything we needed while at the lodge.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Mark,

I think awesome pretty much sums it up! Your lodge is incredible and the attention to detail impressive. More than once I found myself just sitting in a chair in the great room taking it all in, both inside and out. The craftmanship is something to be proud of. Doug was great, very helpful and always available to answer questions. We enjoyed learning about the area and couldn't believe it when he told us he is a great-grandfather. Thanks for sharing your lodge. Hopefully we'll stay again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

At any given time throughout our week's stay, we had up to 18 people staying at the lodge with a good mix of older and middle-aged adults, young adults, teens and elementary-aged kids. We had plenty of room and spaces for all with much to do. Plus the lodge is absolutely beautiful! We all enjoyed the special touches inside and out. We especially appreciated Doug! He was great - giving us tips for kayaking/tubing (ie access points), providing a wagon ride powered by an ATV, a history lesson or two, etc. His attention to our every need was awesome. Our whole family had a great time together and we also really appreciated the kitchen and all of the comforts of home and then some. Meal time was incredible. The scenary was also gorgeous and we think you have a great spot on the Pine River. Thanks for a memorable family vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 30, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Dear Mark, Just a quick note to let you know how much we enjoyed our family reunion at your gorgeous lodge. We had 9 adults and 10 children of all ages with plenty of room and activities for everyone. The kitchen was fully stocked with all our needs to make some great family recipes. The river with the kayaks and tubing was a perfect get away from the big city. We'll be sure to recommend your place to others. It was a memorable vacation spot. Thanks for all you and Doug did to make our vacation perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 26, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Thank you Mark and Family for an absolutely wonderful, restful vacation, in your beautiful riverside lodge. We thank you for sharing your kayaks and tubes with us, and also for sharing Doug with us. He was so very instrumental in making this vacation wonderful. He instructed us in all we needed to know to kayak, rent canoes, in and out priviledges, etc. His stories and history lessons of the area also made our stay more meaningful. We didn't ever feel the need to leave.. we enjoyed the river and the lodge, and cabin completely. My mom couldn't get over the beautiful decor, and unique knick knacks. I absolutely loved your wood floors. The quiet and isolation was just what we needed, and the weather was divine.. After our Houston heat. I would recommend this location and lodge to anyone. It was especially perfect for a family reunion. We were worried about only 2 and 1/2 baths,, and even that did not turn out to be a problem.
Thank you for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 18, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

What a picturesque location for our family reunion! We loved every minute of our stay and hope to return next summer. My father-in-law from Florida has spent many hours working on wood projects as a hobby and he couldn't get over the attention to detail at the lodge. Personally, I loved the hand-painted pine cones on the sink in the bathroom off the master bedroom. Mark, you're a gracious host and Doug was so helpful with little questions we had. Next time, we'll take him up on his offer to drop us off upriver for a more extensive kayak voyage. So until next summer, thanks and hope you have many more visitors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2007   Date of arrival: July 17, 2007

Mark....this is Brenda Barnes' father-in-law from Bayonet Point, Florida (near tampa)....we flew up on July 11th to attend the Barnes family reunion at your '"Edgetts Lodge". It was a wonderful experience for all of us and we enjoyed every moment we were there. Being a "wood hobbiest" myself, I fully appreciated all the great woodwork and craftsmanship put into your facility....everything was beautifully done and your decour was full of interesting surprises....seems like we were always discovering something new and different! Loved the hand-painted sinks and toilet seat tops and all the little things you have sitting around.....I congratulate you on creating such a comfortable and interesting place. We thank you for renting it to us for those 4 great family days and we hope to do that again some time next year.

Fond Regards..........Rex Barnes

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 4, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

One Word- WOW! We stayed at the lodge to celebrate my parents' 50th Wedding Anniversary. (21 people in our party) Could not have had a better time. This place is not only gorgeous, it's just breath-taking. We want to go back in September. Kayaking on that river in the fall is something I must see. Doug, the caretaker, is helpful & kind. He was always on hand for anything you needed.

Owners response: Thanks Cindy for the thoughtful comments. You will find the fall colors spectacular on the river and surrounding the Lodge.
Mark

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 29, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

This place is awesome, best we have stayed so far in Michigan. Great facilities, good privacy. On the river with great Kayaking & Fishing. Good Road & Mountain Biking as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing

Review submitted: May 12, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Stayed at this cabin and was blown away with all the little details that were put into this place. Everything was done with thought to detail and I would recommend this cabin to everyone. I've been up there twice now and am already looking forward to going back in the summer!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 30, 2007   Date of arrival: March 30, 2007

Mark, this place was a great place to get away and relax. No bustle of the city outside the door, but the city is still close enough to run to if necessary. Very nice with views of Pine River and wildlife including deer, small animals and birds including a Bald Eagle. Totally Cool.
Luke

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 30, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Wow, what a great place to relax. Totally loved the view of the Pine River, seeing the deer, beaver, ducks, water cranes, chipmunks, squirrels, bald eagles and other wildlife. Everything was well laid out and very accommodating. Thanks for allowing us to rent the Lodge.

Owners response: You are very welcome, Carleton. I am glad the eagle showed up for you.
Mark

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 10, 2007   Date of arrival: March 10, 2007

The calm and peaceful nature of the pines that surround the lodge, coupled with overlooking the river with a hot cup of coffee, made our vacation a "10". We applaud the fine craftsmenship of the builder, and I loved cooking in the kitchen. Book us for the same time next year. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 30, 2007   Date of arrival: January 30, 2007

"Stayed at this cabin and was blown away with all the little details that were put into this place. Everything was done with thought to detail and I would recommend this cabin to everyone. I've been up there twice now and am already looking forward to going back in the summer!!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review