reviews for: listing #9668 - Waimanalo, Hawaii House rental

Tahitian Hut
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Waimanalo
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $155 /nt
    $945 - $1,100 /wk
    $4,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

Everything about this location was perfect for us. The cottage is lovely, with lots of beautiful artsy touches, and the gate made us feel very secure. With gorgeous Waimanalo Beach right across the street, we enjoyed early morning and late night walks on the beach. The property owners are incredibly friendly and helpful. We loved using the barbeque and the supply of Boogie Boards and other beach items. The location (right between Hawaii Kai and Kailua) was perfect for us. Overall, this was a wonderful place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A real paradise

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Me and my family had a great time at this place. I thought I had to buy all basic stuff to use for the house, but everything is already there. Everything that you need to a house. Except your personal seasoning:). We don't even have to go somewhere else. The beach of waimanalo is only 50 meters away from the cottage and it's a secured place too. The hosts are very friendly, helpful and hospitable. A place that worth everything. Thank you so much Mr. Gilles and Ms. Angela

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 5, 2014

Angela and Giles are wonderful hosts! The cottage was clean and bright, the grill area was great and the grassy space was great for our 3 year old. It took less than one minute to walk to the beach across the street which was near empty every day and was beautiful. They have all sorts of beach gear and are a wealth of information of where to go and what to see. They were wonderful with our children and really made our trip relaxing and enjoyable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A real gem of Waimanalo

Review submitted: December 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Tahitian Hut and cannot recommend this place highly enough! The cottage is in a very private and quiet setting in Waimanalo and the hosts are extremely nice and hepful. The beach is litteraly across the street and you can easily stroll in 15 minutes all the way to Waimanalo Bay Park, a great place for boogieboarding, relaxing or simply enjoying turquoise blue waters of this absolutely awesome windward beach.
The cottage is fully equipped with everything you need and more. We would definitely stay here again! Thank you Gilles and Angela for sharing this little piece of paradise with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven is the Tahitian Hut

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

Great place to stay and is exactly as described. Very clean, private, safe and welcoming.Gilles and Angela are great hosts and are there to answer any questions you may have.This was our second time staying at the Tahitian Hut and is the only place we will stay when we visit Oahu. If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle and love the beach this is the place for you. You won't be disappointed !!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Amazing Honeymoon!!

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

We had a great time at the Tahitian Hut! The photos provide a good idea of how it looks, but it was way cuter in person! It is very nicely decorated and in a very quiet neighborhood. The beach is right across the street and very private and beautiful! The owners were really friendly and suggested nearby hikes and snorkeling places. The town of Waimanalo is very non-touristy yet still nearby lots of attractions. We would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a quiet getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Across the street from one of the most beautiful beaches ever.

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

Our stay at this cottage was perfect. I'm so glad we picked this place for our family of five to stay. The owners Angela and Gilles are such great people. Angela picked us some gardenia flowers from the property that smelled amazing. Gilles was very accommodating for all our needs. The supplied boogie boards and beach chairs/ umbrella was a nice added bonus. The property is behind a gate so felt very safe the whole time. As far as Waimonalo Beach it is breathtaking. With the steep Hawaiian mountains as a backdrop and islands off in the distance and the clear blue/green water. Plus there is hardly anybody on the beach. We did the luau at sea life park which was the perfect ending to our vacation. There is also a hike to the lighthouse with a great view.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

just right for us

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

This is just as advertised, but a lot more. The Beach is only across the street. Unbeknownst to us Waimanalo Beach is where Hawaiian Royalty used to swim.

The weather while we were there was not the best, it rained in the afternoon on most days and all day Wednesday, but who cares? It gave us a chance to rest and visit other places on the island like the Polynesian Cultural Center and Waikiki.

Your hosts of this property are nothing short of being one of the nicest couples that you can hope to meet. Gilles and Angela are wonderful hosts. Their dog Ena completes the trio. We enjoyed sharing a glass of wine with Angela and talking to Gilles on the beach while he was taking Ena for a walk. They are a really grand couple.

Of course the place was clean and cheerfully decorated, mostly with Angela's artwork. Our two daughters slept in the Living Room and we slept in the bedroom. There was plenty of room and since the Hawaiian lifestyle is mainly outdoors, especially for tourists, what more could we want? The kitchen is large and well furnished. All you need to bring is food, your bathing suits, and your sunscreen.

Will we be back? God Willing and the Creek don't rise, we will be back at some time in the future. Not just to stay in Gille's Tahitian Hut, but to visit our new friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfortable Cottage in a Perfect Location

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

Our family just returned from a week's stay at Tahitian Cottage. Gilles and Angela are wonderful hosts who helped us with whatever we needed. The cottage was well stocked, perfectly clean and just a two minute walk across the street and through the access to the beautiful Waimanlo Beach! The outside deck was a great addition of living space for our week's stay. We highly recommend this place for folks who want to get away from the hectic pace of Waikiki and yet are only 30 minutes from Honolulu!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Tahitian Cottage

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

The Tahitian Cottage more than met my expectations. It's almost what a place in Tahiti would have but with all the conveniences of spacious and well stocked kitchen, nice bathroom with sparkling clean shower. Gilles and Angela the owners were nearby if you needed them and were very considerate with our comfort and privacy.

I love the way the cottage is decorated and especially enjoyed relaxing in the sunroom before or after our daily adventures on the east side of the island.

Definitely would recommend it to anyone. Honeymooners would really enjoy it.

Waimanalo Beach is very unspoiled, there is a 5 minute walk. If you walk further down the beach there is Waimanalo Beach Park which has a lifeguard during the daytime. Also we were allowed usage of beach chairs, boogie boards and beach towels, it was so accommodating!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My favorite place on Oahu

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

Staying in the Tahitian Hut was lovely in its own right and what you see in the photos becomes even lovelier when you walk in and experience it in person, but what made the stay oh-so-perfect was Angela and Gilles. They have created an oasis. The neighborhood is pretty quiet as a whole but the property itself is serene. Surrounded by fence (barely visible because of the lush flora) and stone wall and occupied by friendly resident security system (Ena) we felt completely relaxed with open doors at all times, day or night. Who can put a price on THAT amenity? Plus, because of the neighbor's neem trees there are virtually no mosquitoes... how's that for a bonus?
The beach is never crowded and if you head there early enough you can enjoy beautiful sunrises. We kayaked and had lessons on stand up paddleboards, chased sand crabs at night and just basked in the warmth and beauty.
Sweet Home Waimanalo, a pleasant walk from the cottage, makes lovely food using both organic and local foods and their Arnold Palmer (housemade lemonade and ice tea combo) is the most refreshing thing around! Every Sunday at the gates to Bellows Air Force Station (just a quick jaunt down the road) you will find huli huli chicken being barbecued over kiawe charcoal... be sure to stop in and get some. There is a farmer's market at the beach park one (early) morning a week and be sure to stop in and check out Waimanalo Feed store. If you are lucky you might score some lovely local eggs for breakfasts at the cottage. If you want to get your toenails done stop in at Cutie Nails, next door is Gina and Nam's barber shop. A few more doors down is Dave's ice cream with flavors youv'e never imagined.
I have a personal love for Waimanalo, both the town and the beach, but now I have yet another reason to return: to visit my new friends Angela and Gilles.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

I hope we'll come back a day ..

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

It was our first time in Hawai, traveling with 2 kids, 7 & 4 years old and it was a great place to stay. We had only one week in this wonderful island and we enjoyed a lot. It's a perfect place for a small family. You can walk easily to the beach (2 minutes), there is no crowd, and you can find anything you need in this little town.
You see the owners only if you want to see it, so it's looking like you are at home ! The day we arrived, they gave us boogie boards for the kids
And for french people like us, the owners speak french so it can help.

Now we are back at work, and we really hope we'll come back a day

Aloha !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful vacation cottage

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

I just spent a week at the Tahatian Hut and had a fabulous time! It was even better than the pictures depicted--very comfortable with great attention to details (e.g., lovely furnishings and a well-appointed kitchen) that put this cottage heads above the average "rental." Angela & Gill, the hosts, are very welcoming and concerned about your comfort without being intrusive.
The beach across the street is as pretty as any I've been on in Hawaii or elsewhere and easy to walk to. There are beach towels, chairs, fins, snorkels, etc.
Ten minutes from the bustling town of Kailua and thirty from Honolulu, gives the hut the perfect location for travelers who don't want to be in the middle of it all but like access to more activity occasionally.
I would recommend this rental without reservation and plan on returning. Aloha.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect personal setting in an ideal location on Oahu

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

Thank you for the opportunity to experience the windward side of Oahu. The spacious beach was wonderful to visit each day. The small number of people on the beach made the visit seem like we had our own personal beach. The small and friendly neighborhood setting made for the relaxing vacation that we were looking to experience. The accomodations were an excellent suprise to have as our base for our adventures. The reading comfort on the couch with a light breeze was a refreshing pause in the afternoon. The advice you provided and access to the beach equipment led to great enjoyment of the snorkeling, boogie boarding and sitting on the beach. I experienced the trip with my daughter, who enjoyed the proximity to so many areas, including the shopping in Kialua, climbing Mt Olamana, snorkling in Hanauma Bay, all within a short drive from our temporary home. I would recommend this property for couples and small families that want to experience Hawaii as a semi-private island with access to all of Oahu. Honolulu and the North Shore are a short enough of a trip to experience them as partial day trips. The return to the seclusion of the Waimanolo Beach allows for a refreshing pause from the day's excursion before preparing the BBQ for a pleasent outdoor meal. The only additional request that I would make is to have a second area for reading and relaxing in the breeze as the entry area couch. Racing my daughter for this area resulted in me looking for the 2nd best location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A little piece of tranquility in unspoiled Oahu

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

This is a great place to stay with a beautiful span of beach. The Tahitian hut is a simple elegant place with lovely examples of Angela's art and the community of artistic friends she has clearly built around her, which capture the island. Additional subtle touches of fresh flowers from the garden and fruit too.

100 yards walk to the beach and glinting blue sea and pale golden sand.

The range of facilities around the area suit those who like holidays amongst local people trying local places in a quiet and unobtrusive way. Not a hint of manufactured designer resorts anywhere and something they are struggling to keep at bay. Waimanalo beach is a mixture of calm to allow you to remind yourself how bad you are at snorkelling and enough swell for the beginner boogie boarder. Angela and Gilles offer these along with snorkel kits.

Waimanalo is placed well for Kahlua which is busier but still more localese. Thursday night farmers market pick from the food stalls. Also a trip up the coastal road to the North and Haleiwa beach, eating shrimp from Giovanni's van on the way.

Difficult to tick the different categories that this place might suit - depends on what families/teenagers are used to, people with disabilites could probably enjoy it if it was not a mobility issue, romantic getaway if you like simplicity and not $250 worth of dinner (unless you buy a whole shelf off food in Shima's food store.) There is a regular bus for those without a car but I don't know the full range of facilities bus wise.

If you or yours are high maintenance and require to be entertained then this is not the place for you and this infers no negative implications of any kind it reflects the chilled laid back nature of it all.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best kept secret on Oahu

Review submitted: December 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 14, 2010

If you are looking for the best beach in Paradise steps away from a spotlessly clean and comfortable country cottage, then this is where you will want to stay on your next trip to Oahu. The photos and video depict exactly what you will find at Gilles and Angela's property. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean waves, and waking up to the sound of the many tropical birds in the trees will definitely relax you. Waimanalo is not Waikiki - this is not your spot if you are looking for lots of nightlife and to be surrounded by lots of people. This is your spot if you love body surfing, miles-long walks on an empty beach and quiet evenings BBQ'ing on the deck. Ena, the lovely resident Hawaiian German Shepherd, is also happy to engage you in a game of squeaky-toy fetch if you are looking for something to do in the afternoon. Serg's Mexican and Sweet Home Waimanalo are excellent daytime restaurants a few blocks away to satisfy your fish taco cravings after swimming. Kailua is a short drive up the road for shopping. We hope to return soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful stay at tranquil beach cottage

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 26, 2010

We had booked the cottage for 9 nights and were not sure what to expect. Wow, we were more than pleasantly surprised. The cottage is wonderful. It is not a super luxury cottage, but the most cozy, intimate place, furnished with lots of love and decorated with Angela's beautiful paintings. The cottage is spotless clean and the bed incredible comfortable.
We actually enjoyed that the cottage did not have air condition. You really don't need it! There are fans in the cottage but we did not even use them as the cottage is so quiet that we had the windows open all night, enjoying the nice breeze and the sound of the ocean.

We also loved the beautiful garden (when lazing in the sun room, you look at palm trees swaying in the wind), and the closeness to one of the best beaches in Hawaii (turqoise waters, great beach for beach walks and boogie boarding).

Thank you Angela and Gilles for a wonderful vacation!

If you are looking for a quiet, tranquil place to stay, only a short walk from one of the most beautiful beaches in Hawaii, and super friendly hosts we can fully recommend this cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fourth Stay - Awesome as Always!

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

I will warn you that the photos for this listing do NOT do it justice - the beach is even MORE gorgeous than the photos and the hut is even better than you can imagine (especially since they installed a new shower that rocked our socks!). Gilles and Angela (and Ena) are lovely hosts and add to the beauty of your stay with their kindness and generosity. If you choose to stay here, be sure to eat at Sweet Home Waimanalo and the Ono Steaks wagon. Delicious. We fully intend to come back for a fifth stay - it's too beautiful to resist.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Waimanalo cottage

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

We just spend 15 days at this lovely cottage. It was a darling place in a amazing location. The beach across the street is our favorite in Oahu. It is beautiful and safe with very little use. We feel asleep at night, in the comfortable bed, to the sound of the waves and the wind in the palm trees. The cottage is well equiped with all you need. Gilles and Angela are so welcoming and a great resource for your stay on the island. We are trying to figure out when we can come again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

We've been coming to Hawaii for many years since 1981 and we've stayed in many places hotels, resorts, condos and beach houses in many areas of the islands... but we stopped searching for the perfect place to hang our vacation hat, when we found this cottage by the sea in 2006. We've come back here every year and stayed for at least 6 weeks, but it's never enough time. The compound is secure and completely surrounded with tropical plants and palms... it is so private you forget you are in a neighborhood. The ocean puts you to sleep at night and you wake to the coo of doves in the morning. The art and decor is splendid, but comfortable and the beach is across the street. You can not find a better host and hostess than Gilles & Angela, who provide hospitality in a secluded environment, which feels better than home.
I was born here in Hawaii and have been searching for the Polynesia of my childhood memories... family lost and a family found. We found the True Spirit of Aloha here, the lost soul of the islands, the elusive Paradise of Peace within your Tahitian Garden by the Sea.
Mahalo Nui Loa to you... Gilles & Angela

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: October 19, 2009   Date of arrival: October 19, 2009

What a Gem we found in Waimanalo. We felt like we owned a piece of Hawaii for a few weeks. We cannot say enough about Angela and her family, we were treated just like family, and nothing like staying in a hotel. Hotels are so inpersonal. Instead we felt private, we could do as we pleased unlike a Hotel. The children played outside, we walked accross the street to a beautiful almost private beach, we had dinner on the deck or sat outside on the deck while the children were in the cottage napping or sleeping. We cannot say enough about this little Tahitian, Hawaiin cottage. We will definately go back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 25, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

This place was great. The house was clean, beautifully decorated, and really celebrated the colors and warmth of Hawai'i. The house is moments from the beach, so if you forget your towel, no worries! Waimanalo is a great central location to everything on Oahu, and the folks we met in town were all really wonderful. Gilles and Angela were great hosts, happy to explain and recommend, but also happy to give us all the space and privacy we wanted. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 13, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We enjoyed 5 magical nights (7/29-8/3/2008) in this charming beach bungalow. Hidden amoung gorgous tropical plants and fruit trees, it is perfrect for couples (like us) seeking a romantic beach getaway. The bungalow is nicely decorated with all the amenities. Plus, an outdoor shower, a cozy lani, beach equipment, and postcard like views. When we could tear ourselves away from the amazing semi-private beach, we often drove the 7 miles of stunningly beautiful road south to Hawaii Kai. There were many "must see" stops along the way. Hawaii Kai offered everything we needed such as Starbucks, 24 Hour Fitness, grocery store, water sports rentals,and many little shops. Angela and Rosey were wonderful hosts who provided a wealth of useful information about the island. It was one of our best trips ever! We will be back for sure.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 11, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

As a busy Tour director and Interpreter of high end foreign groups, I love to hide in this very special Tahitian Hut with spectacular views of the Ancient mountains and the haunting smell of plumeria and Tiare...While my guests stay at the local five stars hotels...
Waimanalo is one of the last real Hawaiian places on Oahu.
What a discovery!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 18, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Our vacation at the Tahitian Hut was one of our favorites ever. From the location, to the accomodations, to our wonderful hosts Gilles & Angela....& Ina too, it was probrobly one of our most relaxing and comfortable stays in Hawaii. Pictures do not do the "Hut" justice. It is such a cute place,-Angela,.....You have great taste!!-....the colors, and the furnishings are so appropriate, and combine that with the beautiful garden just outside....you know you are in paradise. If our travels don't take us further West in the future, we definately plan on returning, to what felt like our home away from home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 7, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We have stayed in the cottage many times and you could not ask for a better place to stay. The cottage is equipped with everything you could possibly want -- it is very cozy and comfortable, but best of all, Angela and Gilles are the nicest hosts we've ever experienced! They are very warm, welcoming and make you feel instantly comfortable. And the beach across the street is SPECTACTULAR!!!! Possibly the most beautiful beach on the island.

Ned and Chris
Southbury CT

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 6, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We love the Tahitian hut! We have stayed here three times and have never been disappointed. The owners, Gilles and Angela, provide a relaxing and wonderful get-away cottage filled with extra anemities that help make the vacataion experience even more awesome (e.g.,beach gear, fresh fruit, cooking utensils/grill). And it's located just across the street from a breathtaking beach. I highly recommend this rental.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 5, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We have stayed at this beautiful place 3 years in a row now....and we love it!
Angela & Gilles are the most special hosts and the house is right on the most beautiful beach in Oahu. You will fall asleep to the waves and wake up to the most amazing sunrises......

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 22, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

What a wonderful cottage, we spent 2 weeks with Angela & Gilles, the owners.
I felt as though I had know them forever and we were made to feel like part of the family. A cottage in the country, quiet and a 2 minute walk to a beach which cannot be described in a few words. Evenings were spent sitting on the lanai, listening to the ocean and smelling the sweet tropical flowers. My favorite place on Oahu!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review