reviews for: listing #96734 - La Jolla, California Condo rental

La Jolla Condo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  La Jolla Village
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful place to stay in the heart of La Jolla

Review submitted: August 15, 2014   Date of arrival: August 5, 2014

If you are looking for a place that offers all the amenities of home, this is the one for you. The location is perfect for the tourist to San Diego. You are minutes from the major freeways for any sight seeing you would like to do. The beach is only a couple of blocks away. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance to the condo. The owner is wonderful and extremely helpful with any problems that arise. I will be staying here again when I visit my family in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We are always pleased when someone has had such a nice time in the condo enjoying the sights of La Jolla!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Spot to stay with Children

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 22, 2014

My family of 5, including girls aged 13 and 11 and a 9-yr old son, just spent 4 nights in Robyn's unit. Tremendous location near plenty of restaurants, shopping, and the Cove. Condo was plenty spacious for all of us, very clean, and had everything we needed. Indoor parking garage was a plus. Robyn was wonderful to work with and very responsive to questions. Wouldn't hesitate at all to stay here again...wish our first stay was longer!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I am so pleased to hear you had a great time! We look forward to having you stay in our place again. Take care!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for our needs.

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

Solid. Great location. Quiet in a busy area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Business Traveler

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

The property was as listed, it was clean and neat, and had lots of room. The owner was very helpful and was available if there was an issue, which we had none. Good security. Close to everything. We walked the beach every night after dinner, which we enjoyed at the numerous restaurants in the area, all within walking distance. We will stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

This condo was clean, spacious, convenient, safe, and very affordable. We lucked out finding a place that was so suitable for our 18 month old. Location was great too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad you had a wonderful time and that our home was a welcome place to be. Take care.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect La Jolla Cove location

Review submitted: May 1, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

This is a nice little place for 2 couples to share a long weekend, close to restaurants and shops and the Cove. We came for the La Jolla Half Marathon weekend and the location and layout of the condo was perfect. The condo itself is super-spacious, everything was clean and very comfortable for lounging and prepping for our race. Considering how close to the La Jolla shops we were, at night there was no noise to disturb us (as early risers the garbage trucks were a non-issue). I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to enjoy convenient access to the Cove without subjecting themselves to noise and traffic.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent stay in La Jolla!

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 8, 2014

We are a family of four with two young children who just visited this jewel of a condo in La Jolla. The condo was everything we could have hoped for and more. Clean, spacious, and filled with all of the necessities...we especially appreciated the beach chairs, towels, and toys! We felt so safe and the condo was very private, even though right outside our favorite shops and restaurants! We have already recommended it to family and friends and can't wait to visit this beautiful spot again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We do try to have all that you will need in the condo so that your vacation is just that - a vacation. When you are visiting with children, we try to supply a few games for each age level so that you are not bringing all those items with you. We are so glad you were able to use the chairs, beach towels and toys! We hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Second Stay

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

We are just back from our second stay in this property. This time we were there for 6 weeks. The place is absolutely perfectly located. Within minutes of the ocean whether you want to watch seals, surfers, swimmers or strollers. It is all there. The condo is exactly as the pictures represent. Clean, spacious, comfortable. The owners are extremely accommodating and wonderful people.

The one drawback is that the garbage pick up is very noisy in the morning and comes every day. But that seems to be a La Jolla thing. They do not seem to have a coordinated trash pick up system.

I would highly recommend this apartment. It is well worth the cost too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Children Welcome

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

We arrived with two children ages 17 months and 4 years. What great accommodations! We were pleasantly surprised by the children's activities in the apartment as well as the beach items for the renters use. This was our first non-stressful family vacation and all because this apartment had everything we needed. No need to bring a pack-n-play...this space has it.

The beach is within walking distance as well as a plethora of shops and tasty eateries. We loved the location because we didn't have to look for a place to park like everyone else. This place is so great that we were thinking on coming back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh goodness! You made my day! Thank you for the amazing review. We have 3 kids so I feel that I have put so much thought into what you would need traveling as a family. I am glad you found everything you needed. And, yes, there are so many wonderful places to eat around the village. I hope you got to try George's at the Cove up top with the ocean view. Please take care and we hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

This condo is BIG. It looks exactly as pictured in the photos. We knew nothing about the area, coming from Washington DC, and what a surprise. La Jolla is gorgeous and this location does not disappoint. We had a rental car and were close enough to do the fun kid and adult stuff: Coronado Beach, Mission Beach, Legoland, Gas Lamp, zoo. We drove to all of that and walked around La Jolla to see the beach and seals, and we even ate at this fab spot recommended by the condo owner, called The Cottage. You can walk to the beach (rocky, mostly for surfing and laying out, not really for little kids to go in but you can see the children's cove/seals, GORGEOUS), and the condo has everything you need, beach chairs, umbrella (we left that for you, ha ha wouldn't fit in luggage, and our night light, oops...enjoy), sand toys for kids (SO appreciated those), DVDs, 2 giant flat screen tvs, kitchen utensils, spices, plates, pots, freezer packs etc. I couldn't think of a single thing she (Robyn) could have supplied except maybe some smaller tea spoons (and that is being nit picky!!!) for kid sized mouths. The garbage trucks do come early, I don't remember it being daily, maybe 2-3 of 6 days, but it didn't bother us, and we didn't hear anyone else in the whole building at any time. The exterior is a bit weird, it's in an office building on the end and the ceiling in the condo is evident of this, as are the sliding doors. But, especially with kids, the space was amazing. You will be so happy to stay here when you go to the other beach areas like Mission and Pacific and see where you could have stayed, if you don't know the area like we didn't. Also, we did all our laundry on the last night in the full size front loaders, so we came home to 100% clean clothes in our luggage. Can't beat THAT! My only other suggestion other than the spoons is some kind of device to child lock the sliding doors in the bedrooms. Maybe that permanent cross bar thing on the master bedroom window door (by the way, that thing rattles like crazy, I am sure it's just not tight, easy fix)? I did a little re-arranging of furniture, moving some side tables against that window, so my kids wouldn't bother with trying to open it, which was easy to open. So for anyone reading this, YES, in a heart beat, we would stay here again. I am only bothering to write my "cons" because I absolutely know the owner will address what she can! She is amazing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, thank you for all your kind words! We appreciate your thoughts. :) I will work on that door. It had never crossed my mind. Thanks for that. I'm sure others will appreciate the change in the future. Take care! We hope to have you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer vacation 13

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

Awesome vacation rental. Great location and felt as if we were at home. Hope to stay again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for choosing our place for your vacation! I am truly pleased that you had a great time and we DO hope to see you again. Take care!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location!!!!

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

We really enjoyed staying near the heart of La Jolla Village where we were able to take walks along the cliffs and down to the cove, the cave and the old children's beach which is great for viewing seals. The cove is a good place to go swimming if you don't mind the sea weed and is also great for snorkeling. Of course, the condo isn't far from La Jolla Shores beach. There are a lot of good restaurants nearby and also the shopping starts right on the corner or the front of the building. So leave your car parked and enjoy walking to all the shops or to the restaurant.

The only thing I would say as a negative about this place is that it is up two stories from the garage...a long way to haul suitcases if you arrive after business hours. During business hours there is an elevator you can arrange to use, but you do go through an office using it. This was a negative for me as my husband is handicapped and isn't able to carry luggage. However, my sons (33 and 26) had no problem with carrying the luggage up 4 flights of stairs.

So overall we had a great time. We really liked the spaciousness, especially for my husband who uses a rollator walker. He felt he was never in anyones way!!!! The grandchildren loved the space. Our friends and family who came to visit enjoyed the space. As it was the only rental unit in an office building it was nice not to have to keep children quiet because of the neighbors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

4/3 - 4/10

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

The only think I wished was different our entire week there was a lock on the first bedroom door. Since no seperate door for shower / bathroom we didn't have a private way to bath without wondering young kids. Not a huge deal, just the only thing I would say about an otherwise perfect condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for your helpful comment! I will have that taken care of this week. We strive to continue to make each and every person's visit a positive experience.

We hope to see you again. Thank you so much for choosing our place to stay. Take care!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time in La Jolla-Great place to stay-Great property owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We (A family of four with two teenaged boys) had a great week. Everything was just as listed in the AD. The owner (Robyn) was awesome. We had a couple things come up on our arrival, but she was quick to return our call and help us. Everything in La Jolla is so close. We even jumped on the I-5 went to Knotts Berry Farm one day and it was nice to return to a home away from home, not a busy hotel with hundreds of people. Public transportation is also very close and cheap. We did this to go downtown and to Old Town.

The reason I would give 4.5 stars and not five stars are as follows:
-The Condo doesn't have regular windows to open up. It has sliding glass doors that open up to an alley and a common patio type area shared with at least one business during the day. This patio and balcony are nice in the evening though.
-The garbage trucks were there 4 of 5 days (mon-fri) at 6-630 am
-The home directly across the alley had a new roof put on the week we were there so we did not open the slider for fresh air as we only got the sound of a hot tar machine running, roofing crew hard at work and the smell of hot roofing tar.

With that being said the question is would we stay here again? Without a doubt that is a YES!! You will not regret your decision to stay here.
We understand Robyn has no control over the garbage truck schedule or the neighbor doing the roof the week we were there.

Robyn, Thank you for everything. Hope to stay again sooner than later.
Guests from AZ

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovin' LaJolla

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

This was our second wonderful month's stay at this condo right in the center of La Jolla - a perfect spot, where you can walk to the Cove in a couple of minutes, the Museum of Contemporary Arts in 10 minutes, as well as restaurants, shopping, etc. The extremely spacious condo has everything we needed. We had friends stay over and family (including our 4 year old granddaughter) stay for a week with total ease and comfort. With two complete master suites, privacy and enough room are never an issue. Combined with the caring hospitality of our hosts and reasonable pricing, it is hard to beat. Thanks for a great experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We love having you! Thanks again for your kind words. Take care until next time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

La Jolla

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

Good location, close to shops, restaurants, art galleries, and beach walks. I appreciate the secure parking garage. The property was well maintained, but be prepared for some early morning phone conversations (heard through the wall) from the adjoining office suite. Hopefully, the construction activity just outside will be over soon. The owner was very helpful throughout the entire process. Description and photos accurately describe the property. I would recommend this property to friends/relatives.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Deal!

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

The condo is exactly as it appears in the photo and the description is accurate. The entry to the apt. is from a back street with several garbage cans but is not a problem. It is very clean and well maintained. And the owners are extremely pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this property and hope to return next year. We enjoyed the BarFly as it had a variety of music genres in the evening. Otherwise, it is a matter of whether to watch the seals or surfers, to visit the botanical gardens or zoo safari, drive to Del Mar or Carlsbad. So many things to do......

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Deal

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

The condo is exactly as it appears in the photo and the description is accurate. The entry to the apt. is from a back street with several garbage cans but is not a problem. It is very clean and well maintained. And the owners are extremely pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this property and hope to return next year.

We enjoyed the BarFly as it had a variety of music genres in the evening. Otherwise, it is a matter of whether to watch the seals or surfers, to visit the botanical gardens or zoo safari, drive to Del Mar or Carlsbad. So many things to do......

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the positive feedback! We are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to having you back next year. Take care!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

La Jolla

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

Good location, close to shops, restaurants, art galleries, and beach walks. I appreciate the secure parking garage. The property was well maintained, but be prepared for some early morning phone conversations (heard through the wall) from the adjoining office suite. Hopefully, the construction activity just outside will be over soon. The owner was very helpful throughout the entire process. Description and photos accurately describe the property. I would recommend this property to friends/relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

We had a great stay in this condo. Able to walk to beaches, shopping and eats. The condo is spacious, well laid out and very clean. Had everything we needed for our stay. Robyn and Rob were very helpful and responsive. Thanks for a great vacation
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious Condo in Heart of La Jolla

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

We spent a great month at this condo which has an absolutely ideal location just off Prospect St. in the heart of La Jolla. The condo is a stand-alone second-floor unit at the back of a small business and is very private. It is a short walk to to the beach, shopping, a variety of restaurants, and everything La Jolla has to offer. It is very clean and spacious with 2 large master suites, nice open kitchen, dining area and living room - everything needed for a comfortable stay. The owners are very friendly, accomodating and helpful.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for a wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

From our guestbook:
The place was so accommodating for our family, was great with two little guys. We had a great time in San Diego and a great place to relax in! Thank you for everything. Schaumburg, IL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding/Vacation

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The stay was great, Location to the wedding site made things very easy. The help I received from the owner insured that I was able to complete a job related emergency. I would stay there again when I return to San Diego.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great space and location - but.......

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

There are many, many pros to this place....Pros: amazing location - you can't be the location in La Jolla - you truly are in the middle of everything and can walk to shops, restaurants, the beach, etc. Communication with the owners - they were over the top GREAT to deal with and made it super easy. Size - the place is huge and the furnishings are nice. Parking - there is underground parking for the unit that is secured which makes it nice and convenient. Safety - we felt 100% safe in the space and walking around La Jolla.

With the good, comes the bad. The unit is in a commercial office building which was fine on the weekends but Monday - Friday it was super loud. Monday morning we woke up to the person in the office next to the back bedroom banging on the wall to hang a picture at 630 in the morning. We could hear his phone ring and most of his conversation while we tried to sleep feet away from him. The trash trucks coming down the alley woke us up as well during the week. Again, take it for what you will. You see all of the great PROS above but on vacation, I don't want to be awake at 630 AM when the guy next to the bedroom gets into his office or when the girl with the high heels walks past the door.......other than that - it was GREAT. Ifyou are going to be there during the weekend - I would have no reservations about staying there but during the week - just know it is noisy and loud.

Overall it was a great stay. The only reason I can't get it an EXCELLENT star rating is because of the noise.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and spaciousness of the condo. And we agree that you really are in the heart of it all! However, more importantly, we'd like to address the "cons". We feel badly that your stay wasn't exactly as you had planned. We try to cover all our bases to ensure that our tenants have a wonderful experience in all aspects of their stay.

As far as the garbage trucks are concerned, the condo is located on a residential street. We try to remember to let possible tenants know this when inquiring about the property because having the garbage trucks is normal procedure when you are on a residential street. We feel badly that it was disruptive yet it is necessary. We have also taken care of the foot traffic in the building so that all traffic near the condo will be the tenants only. Lastly, there also has been some construction going on in the street which should be wrapped up in fall of 2012.

In any event, we really appreciate the feedback. Thank you and take care.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome place

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

I would highly recommend staying here.The location is perfect. The condo is very clean and has plenty of room. More than expected. The owners were very accommodating. We all loved the location. Close to restaurants and my kids favorite ''Haagan Daz' ice cream.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Steve,
Thank you for such kind words! We really hope to see you again next August!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding / Vacation

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The stay was great, Location to the wedding site made things very easy. The help I received from the owner insured that I was able to complete a job related emergency. I would stay there again when I return to San Diego.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Danny,

I am so glad you and your family had such a good experience. We hope to see you again!

Yours truly, Robyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

June 2012

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

Great property, very clean, spacious and close to everything San Diego.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Ross! So glad you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again. Take Care!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

We had a great stay in this condo. Able to walk to beaches, shopping and eats. The condo is spacious, well laid out and very clean. Had everything we needed for our stay.
Robyn and Rob were very helpful and responsive.
Thanks for a great vacation

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Sandra, We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed yourselves! We hope to see you again in the future. All the best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lots of space!

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

This condo is very conveniently located in town just a short walk to the beach. It is quiet, very spacious and very well equipped. The bedrooms are very large and the bathrooms are roomy. We were very surprised though to find ourselves in the only condo in a commercial office building.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much! We would love to have you again. Take Care!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious Condo in Heart of La Jolla

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

We spent a great month at this condo which has an absolutely ideal location just off Prospect St. in the heart of La Jolla. The condo is a stand-alone second-floor unit at the back of a small business and is very private. It is a short walk to to the beach, shopping, a variety of restaurants, and everything La Jolla has to offer. It is very clean and spacious with 2 large master suites, nice open kitchen, dining area and living room - everything needed for a comfortable stay. The owners are very friendly, accomodating and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Dear Ed,

Thank you so much for such kind words. We really enjoyed having you and hope to see you again next year. Take care!

Regards,
Rob and Robyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Beautiful, spacious condo! All the amenities of home. Private parking was a plus. It was only a short walk to the beach and great restaurants right out the front door. We definitely enjoyed our stay and highly recommend.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Family Vacation Destination!

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

The location of this rental couldn't be better! We were in town for a family reunion and in between all the events we were able to go for scenic walks, hang out at the beach, do a little shopping & at night we were able to walk across the street and enjoy live music and the La Jolla night life. It was a very comfortable space for our family, the decor is beautiful & it is super clean. We look forward to vacationing there again this summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We were happy to host your family! Hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review