reviews for: listing #96773 - San Francisco, California Apartment rental

The casita mallorca
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $235 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Location and Comfort

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 29, 2014

We spent four nights starting 7/29 and found the location to be excellent. Street parking was available and then we never moved it...great restaurants and shops are two blocks away as are several bus stops and the Marina District shoreline is three blocks in the other direction we great views of Golden Gate and Alcatraz.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Wedding Weekend

Review submitted: August 2, 2014   Date of arrival: July 24, 2014

Casita Mallorca was such a charming property and the location was excellent! There were two of us in our party and it was the perfect size. It is within walking distance of everything you could need, you really don't need your car. If you have to get further into the City you can always use public transporation or we would call a cab for a pick up right at our front door. The Casita was beautifully decorated and very clean and updated. The patio garden was lovely and I'm only sorry we didn't get to stay longer to discover more of the Marina District and just enjoy being in the Casita! The owner's are delightful to work with and really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A gorgeous house, in an amazing spot and wonderful hosts

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

We stayed here with our 9 month old son and had such a great time.

The apartment is located in a beautiful and friendly part of the Bay Area and it was a joy to go out everyday and be within walking distance of everything we could want. Chestnut Street is a stone's throw away, Fisherman's Wharf a twenty minute walk away and downtown San Francisco about a forty minute walk away with the advantage of these being lovely walks.

The apartment was wonderful. Everything had been thought of to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Small details like the high quality bedding and towels, having all the basics available (dishwasher tablets, washing-up liquid, washing liquid, kitchen towel etc...) the beautiful decor, the California king bed, the garden with all the accessories you could possibly need...and more! This is truly a home away from home which has been lovingly put together. Kathy was a great help from the booking process to the very end and checking we were comfortable during our stay.

Can not fault the location or the apartment or Kathy and Rick! Wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A slice of heaven!!

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

The condo was perfect!! Beautifully decorated, clean and the patio was a wonderful surprise. As soon as we walked in we were pleasantly surprised on the the roominess of the condo. The patio made our trip beautiful BBQ, heater, lounge chairs and amazing fire place table was perfect for the colder nights (we visited in January). The condo was the perfect size for the two of us and the bed is amazingly comfortable. Great shower and kitchen was well equipped with wine opener and glasses. Lol. For a party of 2 or 3 this place is really and gem. Not to mention it's walking distance to Chestnut street which has everything you could ever want, great restaurants, the best coffee, bagels and croissants (Maria's) Wow!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our home away from home

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Casita Mallorca was our home away from home for 41/2 weeks after the arrival of our first grandchild. It had everything anyone could have wanted including an ideal outdoor space for sitting and reading, cooking on the bbq, enjoying an indoor fire or just picking some ripe fruit off the fruit trees. The interior of the apartment was immaculate, well maintained and with all the luxuries we could have asked for.
The location could not be more perfect. It’s a short walk to restaurants, food stores, specialty markets, bus stops and Crissy field. Being able to walk to the farmers market on Sundays was a very special treat for us, allowing us to enjoy fresh fruits and vegetables for the week.
Kathy and Rick are two very special people and were always concerned about meeting our needs. Kathy is full of amazing information about the Marina district, bus service and great places to shop and eat. Rick was right there when our Internet went down, making sure it was fixed promptly. We could not have asked for better owners to deal with. When we needed to change our dates Kathy was so accommodating making the change without a hassle.
We loved this apartment so much we are already making plans to return this year.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Little Gem!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

I rented this vacation apartment for four days while attending lectures at Fort Mason. The apartment is a little gem! It is beautifully decorated and maintained. And it has a lovely, serene garden to relax in, too! In addition to being quite close to Marina Green and Fort Mason, it is walking distance to a lively, vibrant area of Chestnut Street with excellent restaurants. A friend who was staying in a small room at a nearby hotel for almost the same cost came to visit, and I think she was quite envious! The owner e-mailed me a couple of times during my stay to make sure everything was to my liking, which it definitely was. In short, this is an attractive, comfortable little apartment in an excellent location, with a wonderfully attentive owner. I highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a Great Time in San Francisco

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We had a lovely time in San Francisco. The apartment was great. It was exactly as advertised, and suited the two of us perfectly. We were able to walk almost everywhere. Chestnut St was delightful. We had some great meals there (and a few drinks). On new years eve we decided to watch the fireworks over the hill from Marina Park. All in all a wonderful break. It was all made so easy.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great San Francisco Apartment

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

We stayed for five nights in the two bedroom apartment. It was fabulously appointed and decorated. The bedrooms were excellent with king size beds and loads of wardrobe space. We loved the kitchen which was sparkling and modern. Everything had been though of in regards to kitchen utensils. The lounge room was really nicely decorated and could be used as an extra sleeping space. We were travelling with three teenagers and this apartment gave us lots of room to spread out and be comfortable. There were three televisions in the apartment too.
The apartment was only about a block from Chestnut St and it was a fantastic place for shopping as well as eating.
Rick and Kathy were very attentive and helpful during our stay, even suggesting good places to eat etc.
There is a car parking space under the apartment and this was good for us as we had a car with us even though one is not necessary to get around. It is a bit of a tight space however.
Having washing machine and a dryer was a bonus for a travelling family.
We loved this apartment and will tell all of our friends.We will return again one day

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming place

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

This very nice apartment is very well equipped, sparkling clean, really comfortable and cozy. We got a temporary parking permit and never had a problem in finding a parking space. The location is great for shopping, walking, sightseeing as well as reaching main points of interest. The owners were very warm,friendly, helpful people. I would certainly recommend Casita to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

exactly as advertised

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

we rented this terrific apt. from 09/13 to 09/22/2012. this was the first time we had rented in this manner. we had heard the bad experiences people had with this type of renting, but the prior good reviews and there were many made us take the chance. no regrets here. exactly as billed and the owners were helpful and there with anything that was needed. the location of course was perfect for our needs and the apt. was very well maintained and clean. everything you could want was there and the backyard with barbecue was used thoroughly.no hills nearby and chestnut street a wonderful place to eat and shop within 2 blocks walk.we would certainly want to revisit this place in our next visit. enjoy this with confidence.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy, convenient, and comfortable!

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

We found Casita Mallorca perfect for our needs. It was clean and well-maintained, and the location can't be beat. In just a couple of minutes, we were on bustling Chestnut Street, with many good restaurants, interesting stores, and bars with lots of action and young people. Public transportation was also closeby. Mallorca Way itself is in a quiet and upscale neighborhood. The apartment is very small, but adorable, nicely decorated, and containing everything we needed. We loved the coziness and warmth of sitting in front of the gas fireplace after an active day in the city. The bed was big and comfortable, and the bathroom and shower were very nice. We didn't have time to use the outdoor patio, but found it lovely to look out on. We definitely would recommend this apartment, and hope to return in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casita Mallorca

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

Our wonderful visit to San Francisco was only enhanced by our stay at Casita Mallorca. Kathy and Rick have created a beautiful apartment-to-call-home while you are travelling. Quality linens in the bedroom and the bath gave an indication of the attention to detail that was obvious throughout the apartment. Heaters made the terrace delightful despite the cool weather; as did the fireplace for the chilly mornings. The flat was exceptionally clean and well organized. The neighbourhood was fabulous! Great restaurants, shopping, accessibility to Napa for day trips and also to public transit for the many other interesting areas of San Francisco. Kathy was so very helpful and always available for our questions. San Francisco was the outstanding beginning to our trip through California. We didn’t have enough time to enjoy the city to its fullest so we definitely will return to Casita Mallorca for a longer stay.

Adele and Alain
Toronto
Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Marina Cozy Gem

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

Loved this place & the location can't be beat! Great restaurants & shopping nearby, three block walk thru pretty neighborhoods to the Marina Green, we will definitely stay here again! Clean & so well thought out w/ tons of closets/cupboards, a quick call to the owners got a slight problem fixed in a reasonable time, & we definitely would recommend this to family & friends.Since this is a bottom floor unit , if the neighbors are a bit heavy footed overhead it could be annoying, maybe the insulation could be a bit better, but loved the French doors to the patio area & 'tho I dislike doing laundry during vacation, it was nice to have when I needed it. Roses's Cafe on Union St.(about 6 blocks) were great, as were Tipsy Pig, RistoBar & Bistro Aix. The Papyrus store & the Marina Market also great for shopping.& Susie's Cupcakes, Yummy!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gem in the Marina District

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Super great location! So close to Chestnut Street and Cow Hollow area, all the great restaurants and shops. Short walk to Marina Blvd/Marina Green/Crissy Field and the amazing views of the Bay and Golden Gate Bridge .
The apartment is super clean and comfortable. Great kitchen with all the necessary items to have home cooked meals. Full size washer/dryer and a wonderful relaxing patio to have morning coffee.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

LOCATION AND COMFORT X 3 = Casita Mallorca

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

As previous San Francisco city residents, we had the distinct pleasure of renting Casita Mallorca the entire month of April 2012. We currently reside in AZ, and during the past 5 years we have rented various monthly places in San Francisco. Without a doubt, Casita Mallorca is TOPS, and will remain our future rental spot. It is very private, quiet, flat, and located in the #1 part of SF (no hills!), and within close walking distance to excellent public transportation throughout the city. Bars, restaurants, shopping, you name it are also only minutes away. There are a couple super markets and a fresh seafood market only a couple blocks away. The Golden Gate Bridge is near by, and also the Palace of Fine Arts and Fort Mason weekend Farmers Market The casita is lovely and very comfortably furnished to include a kitchen with all the amenities you need to prepare a simple or elegant meal. The newly decorated bathroom has more storage space than some kitchens. The extremely comfortable king size bed is above reproach. The casita is located off the street at ground level.....no stairs to climb! The neighborhood is one of the quietest and safest to ensure a good night's rest. The living room has doors that open to a beautiful garden that has a gas grill, lovely greenery and flowers, outdoor heaters, chairs and table. The entire place is quiet and secluded. Your hosts, Rick and Kathy, are the hosts with the most! They go out of their way to ensure your stay is nothing less than an ideal and memorable one. Casita Mallorca will be our #1 rental in our future get aways to The City by the Bay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect Marina location

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

Had a wonderful monthlong stay in Rick and Kathy's apartment. Small, yet so well designed there wasn't a thing lacking. Nicely decorated, immaculately clean and the location was a plus. A short walk to a bus line in any direction, and the neighborhood was great - tons of restaurants and close to several points of interest.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

San Fran Condo in the Marina District - Great location

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

We came to San Francisco for business from Chicago. Only one word to describe our stay....WONDERFUL! We loved the location and close proximity to Chestnut Street and all of the great shops and restaurants. From the moment we arrived we felt at home.

.
The owners were very helpful and we hope to come back next year for a longer period of time.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best accomodations in the City

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

We stayed here in August 2011 and I have to admit it was the best place we have stayed so far in SF. The owners were great in providing information before hand and providing access information. The apartment was clean and everything was in good working order. We loved the patio and used the patio heater and gas grill to cook up some local seafood finds. What struck me was how quiet the neighborhood was. Not the usual traffic and sirens A short walk to both Peet's Coffee and Starbucks to grab some beans for the coffee maker and bagels from Noah's Bagels. We turned in our rental car as soon as we unpacked and took the buses everywhere needed to go. There are many bus lines available within a short walk. Make sure you get the bus app for your phone to time your travels.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Delightful visit to the Bay

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

My husband and I couldn't have asked for a more convenient and delightful condo while visiting our daughter for the birth of our first grandchild. This charming spot is fully equipped, very clean, cozy and couldn't have been more suitably located for our great event. I would highly recommend this property to anyone. The owners are delightful and couldn't be more accommodating. Great neighborhood and everything is in walking distance. Hope to have an opportunity to visit again soon.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Week!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

My husband and I had the most wonderful week at Casita Mallorca! The apartment is incredibly comfortable, pretty and well-equipped. We loved having the patio also. The neighborhood and general location is perfect. We walked to wonderful restaurants on one side and the gorgeous Bay on the other side, I would highly recommend staying here - we look forward to a return visit!

Melissa and Scott-Washington, DC

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location, Location!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

Very comfortable apartment suitable for two people in a great location. Recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

San Francisco one bedroom apartment

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights upon arrival from the UK and loved this apartment for our stay in San Francisco. It was exactly as it appears on the photos-cosy, stylish, immaculately presented, homely and beautifully clean.
It is located on a quiet residential street in a really lovely neighbourhood just afew minutes walk from Chestnut Street with a selection of great restaurants, cafes and shops.
We walked to Fishermans wharf and the tourist areas of the city and did not need public transport.
The owners were very helpful, friendly and efficient when arranging the reservation and providing arrival information and a folder with local restaurant and tourist attraction information.
The bed was so comfortable and cosy and huge! Bathroom was great with a very good shower. Kitchen was small but very well equipped.
It was lovely to look out on to the tranquil little garden as the weather was not warm enough to sit outside when we were there.
Very highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a great stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly a Cozy San Francisco Retreat

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

We loved our stay at Casita Mallorca. Well located in the Marina, it is cozy, well kept, with a lovely private garden. The owners are great and really helpful. The apartment, although small, had everything we needed. It was immaculate. We especially liked the heater in the garden, the washer/dryer in the unit, and our walks along the water. Fun place to stay in San Francisco. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Design/Great Place

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

We had an extended weekend here in wonderful San Francisco. We were very comfortable here with restaurants and shops a block away and fabulous walks with great views. The apartment was well-furnished and clean. It had everything we could ask for-two tvs,fireplace,and a cute garden with a BBQ and patio.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Stay in San Francisco

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

We stayed here Feb 15th through the 17th visiting family and enjoying San Francisco. The apartment was perfect. So comfortable and relaxing with a big king size bed and even a fireplace. Chestnut St was a block away where we had the pick of so many great little restaurants. We would take walks along the Bay to Crissy Field. Once we walked up to the Embarcadero and enjoyed amazing views. I love SF and will come back again. The owner, Rick, was very accommodating, coming by to make sure we knew where everything was.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Five night stay February 2011

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

This is a fabulous apartment. I don't know where to start, but the gas fireplace for the near record cold nights in SF in mid February this year (still no where near the cold at my home) is a good place. It is on a timer so you can just set it for between 10 and 60 minutes. The kitchen is to die for. The Weber grill on the private patio was a great plus for me as I really felt I was living in San Francisco (one of my dreams). I was on a two part trip so having a washer/dryer was a big plus. The Safeway is only a short three block walk in a gorgeous and safe part of town. The owner's attention to detail is obvious the minute you walk in the door and they couldn't have been more attentive. I hope to be back soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot to relax in a fantastic neighborhood

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

I had such a great time staying here. The inside of the house is new, clean, comfortable and stylish with really great amenities. I loved the king size bed and the great living room with a fire place. My favorite part was actually the patio in the garden which has a nice table to eat breakfast or bbq. While I was only here for a vacation, I would have loved to be able to stay longer and see more of San Francisco while being situated in such a great location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

I stayed here while interviewing for a job. It was also a wonderful vacation. I loved the apartment,so well-designed and cute. I also loved the neighborhood. It was so fun and perfectly safe, as well as beautiful.I'm coming back>

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Take a right out the door and you're at the park/beach in a couple minutes walk. Take a left and you're at some of the best bars/restaurants in SF.?The place was phenominal. Very impressed once we stepped inside. Cute little living room w/fireplace. Well-stocked kitchen. Great little outdoor patio w/plum trees. Bedroom was perfect...big comfy bed and pillows. ?Had a great time and hope to be back soon!!.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2010

"Absolutely, I would recommend this accommodation to my best friend!"
A wonderful place for a couple or a small family traveling without a car. Clean, secure, well kept apartment in great location. Walk to many places, shops, good restaurants.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

Casita Mallorca was comfortable and close to all! Close to transportation, cafes, great shops. A nice quiet neighborhood, family friendly, charming. It is perfect for a couple or small family traveling without a car. Annette was available and very helpful when we called.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

My kids and I stayed in your apartment late last week, and I want to say how wonderful it is! Many thanks! The place is beautiful, and the location is perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review