reviews for: listing #96808 - San Juan Capistrano, California House rental

Villa San Juan Capistrano
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  San Juan HIlls
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $350 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,750 /wk
    $3,900 - $4,900 /mth

sort by:

A wonderful place!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

Our family is from Switzerland and stayed in the wonderful Villa San Juan Capistrano for two weeks.
The first evening Ginger and Charlie offered a real good bottle of wine and the delicious homemade cookies, the gave us so many advices for our holiday in California.
The kitchen has everything you ever need to prepare an excellent meal. In San Juan Capistrano we could buy organic products and regional wines in the farmers markets. Every day we made our excursions, such as to Hollywood, San Diego, Huntington Beach, Carlsbad, La Jolla, Temecula ... From San Juan Capistrano there is a rail link to Los Angeles and San Diego, very comfortable and quick.
The beautiful and tastefully decorated Villa San Juan Capistrano has exceeded our expectations, we would not hesitate to book again.
We did really appreciate the hospitality of Ginger and Charlie, you guys are great!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. You & your family were so lovely. We look forward to visiting Europe and seeing you again. Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Villa San Juan Capistrano has it all, clean, well equipped, great location. All you need is your
clothes and food if you want to cook and great local eateries. Ginger & Charlie were so
hospitable it felt like they were old friends. Don't hesitate to book a vacation it will be
the best time you ever had in Southern California.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Our family of six adults stayed at Villa San Juan Capistrano Christmas week and it couldn't have been more perfect! We arrived late on Saturday afternoon after a long trip through holiday traffic to find freshly baked cookies, Christmas music playing, a glowing fire and beautiful holiday decorations throughout the house! We immediately knew that we had found our holiday home away from home. Ginger and Charlie are the perfect hosts and they included so many nice touches that we felt welcome and absolutely comfortable. From the mints on the pillows to the variety of teas and honeys on the kitchen counter, everything was perfection. There were even food and water dishes, a bed, and Christmas-themed toys for our dog!

The house is beautifully and tastefully furnished and there was plenty of room for all of us to either spread out and get away by ourselves or come together. The beds, bedding and towels in the house are heavenly and the kitchen was well appointed with everything that we needed for our holiday cooking. We were delighted to cook our Christmas prime rib in the Wolf oven and I am now convinced more than ever that I require a pot filler at my stove! The patio is a perfect spot for a leisurely breakfast, reading or just relaxing in the comfy hammock. For cool evenings there is even a patio heater.

Because we were there for Christmas, we were busy doing things that we normally wouldn't be occupied with on vacation and we didn't have a chance to take advantage of all of the amenities. We did take some lovely walks in the neighborhood and beyond and we spent some time (and had some delicious meals) in the beautiful town of San Juan Capistrano. Even after a full week we all agreed that there was much more to do and we will definitely plan to return to Villa San Juan Capistrano. Thanks Ginger and Charlie, we look forward to seeing you again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Thank you for your fabulous review. That is the best one yet. We look forward to seeing you and your lovely family again next year. Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely VRBO - thanks!

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

What a wonderful November I spent in sunny San Juan Capistrano. Ginger and Charlie's vrbo property provided the perfect home away from home. The villa was just as described on the website, with a well equipped kitchen for those who enjoy cooking and a lovely private patio for morning coffee and relaxing happy hours. The location was within easy walking distance to town and to spectacular CA sunsets. Thanks for sharing your home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Jane! We hope to see you back soon. Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hidden Gem in San Juan Hills

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

We just spent 13 days here, and were truly sad to leave. The owners have remodeled the interior to the highest quality; every fixture and fitting is top of the line which created a wonderful, comfortable 'home away from home'. The high ceilings and transom windows throughout the villa show the hills and tall palm trees in the garden, which makes the whole villa light and airy. Comfortable bedding and lovely soft towels were the icing on the cake. Just as important as the actual accommodation, was the welcoming nature of the owners, Ginger & Charlie. They live nearby yet never intrude, and are so kind and likable you just want to return to see them again.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to return!

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Quite possibly the nicest place we've stayed through VRBO! The area is lovely and inside the home the owners have left no detail unaddressed. The house is spacious and provides every comfort one could ask for when away from home (in fact, some that we don't even have at home!). The pool & gym room being so close was a big hit, as were the bikes. The location is less than 10 min drive to amenities such as a grocery store and a great little Mexican restaurant. I plan on returning as soon as I can make it happen...

- and the fresh-baked cookies waiting on the counter upon our arrival were a big hit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wedding

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2013

excellent we were treated well and hope to do it againe also the golf is amaysing

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad you had a great time. We hope you can come visit us again. Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Holiday Rental

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We just wanted to say we had the most wonderful time in your beautiful home. The house has all you need for a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday with all the mod cons of a 5 star hotel. It was in a great location with easy access to all the beaches, golf courses, restaurants and shops! and we just wanted to say we really miss it and want to come back asap! Thank you also for your hospitality letting us use your facilities on our departure day, it was very kind of you. Harry wanted to thank Chuck for the golf balls and Chloe said thank you for the shells. Hope to see you again next year, looking forward to seeing pictures of your new rental in Laguna.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank for your kind review. We hope to see you again in the near future. Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little oasis

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

We arrived at the Villa somewhat late at night, as our flight arrived at John Wayne airport at 9:30p.m. Regardless, we found the villa easily and let ourselves in. To welcome us, there were fresh flowers, a plate of choc chip cookies, and a note from Ginger asking us to let her know when we had arrived. She and Charlie soon came over, went over what we needed to know about the villa, gave us some tourist tips and departed. The villa is lovely; everything is as promised, maybe better-- and we didn't even use the pool! The location near downtown SJ Capistrano is perfect. I ran into town one day and ran on a hiking/biking trail the next two days. We were attending a wedding in SJ Capistrano, which was only a bit over 2 miles away--wonderful! We had a great stay with extended family and this villa provided the perfect space to allow for lots of "family time."

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your glowing review. We hope we can host you and your family again in the near future. You were perfect guests. Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Our family of four stayed here for two weeks and LOVED it! The owners are very kind and informative in both written communications and on the phone. The booking and payment processes were very clear and easy to do.
The house is even more beautiful in person than in the pictures. When we arrived we found fresh flowers, cold drinks in the refrigerator, and homemade cookies waiting for us. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome! They also gave great advice on local restaurants, beaches, running paths, and biking trails.
The house is in a quiet, safe neighborhood with a community swimming pool just a few steps down the street. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept very well even though we had jetlag from flying in from Europe. The kitchen has very nice appliances and everything you could possibly need to prepare meals. The barbeque in the garden is great! The house also has wi-fi which worked very well.
We especially liked all of the “extras” provided: beach chairs, beach towels, coolers, boogie boards, bikes, and beach/pool toys. There is a computer and printer available, which we used to order and print tickets for Disneyland and Sea World.
We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation here and hope to stay again next year!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Thank you for such a great review. We look forward to your next visit - BBQ at our place. :) Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

This is a beautiful home. Ginger and Charlie you were so welcoming, thank you. We would recommend to anyone wanting the best!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Place Like Home!

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

I stayed in this comfortable and beautiful home for a week, while visiting my son in San Juan Capistrano.
The villa was every bit as beautiful as the pictures on VRBO. It was like coming home!
I loved the lay out, the cleanliness and so comfortable. The location was convenient to the beach, restaurants and shopping.
The owners have thought of everything to make your stay a wonderful experience! From flowers when we arrived to a bed for my dog, even stamped postcards =)
I will definitely keep this villa in mind when I return to San Juan Cap and will recommended to my family and friends!
Thank you for a memorable stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review. We hope we can spoil you again soon! Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

We stayed at this location for about 5 weeks. Could not have been more pleased. Facility was in excellent condition and the pictures accurate (though I think it was smaller than I expected - still plenty big enough). The owners were readily available and quick to answer any and all questions, whether related to the facility or the area. We would absolutely recomment this place to anyone. It's good for just hanging out, playing golf, or visiting the beach and beach towns.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

San Juan Capistrano Villa

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 8, 2013

Ginger & Charlie were exceptional hosts as we rented their two bedroom 3 bath villa located about a mile off of Interstate 5 just north of San Clemente, CA. We loved the layout of the the Villa as one bedroom is on the first floor with on suite bath and the other bedroom is on second floor with private bath and dressing area. Kitchen is very well stocked and the amenities are many. We were within just a few feet from a community pool/spa which our granddaughters made good use of. It is a first class Villa with tile floors throughout the first floor, beautiful travertine shower. jucuzzi tub and walk in closet. The kitchen is first class. Our dogs enjoyed the backyard and the walking trails. Except for the unusual cold weather we experienced we had a great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the rave review and for leaving the Villa so immaculate. Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home for the holidays

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We stayed in Villa San Juan Capistrano over the Christmas holiday and couldn't have asked for a better home away from home. The house was decorated for Christmas, the kitchen was beautiful and well outfitted for holiday cooking, and the beds were very comfortable. Every amenity we needed was there in the house. We also loved the hiking & biking trails right outside the neighborhood. Thanks, Ginger and Charlie. We hope to see you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Gina! We hope to see you and your family again next year. Charlie and Ginger

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 29, 2012

We spent a month at the Villa. It had everyting one needs for a "home away from home". The yard was perfect for enjoying our morning coffee and our BBQ dinner at the end of the day. It was great to "come home" to the Villa after a day of sightseeing. The location, halfway between LA and San Diego, allowed for easy access to the many attractions of Southern California. San Juan C. is a quiet residential town from which to venture forth...or not, as the mood dictates. The wine and flowers that greeted us upon our arrival made us feel very welcome and Ginger and Charlie were always available to answer questions about the house/area. We especially enjoyed using the bikes to cycle to Dana Point and San Clemente. The bike trails in the area are wonderful. A comprehensive binder prepared by the owners with cycling and walking trails along with grocery stores and restaurants helped familiarize us with the area when we arrived. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Villa.
Bob and Darlyne

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope you can visit us again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

This property lived up to my family's expectations. The living space when we were home was perfect for what we were looking for (spacious, updated and clean).
We would highly recommend this property to anyone considering a family vacation.
Everything was perfect and that we couldn't have asked for anything more. The owners, Ginger & Charlie are exceptional people! They could not have been more helpful and were more than happy to answer all our questions. Looking forward to renting this charming house again!
Bogdan & Lucy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We look forward to seeing you and your beautiful family again! Thanks for the lovely review. You were awesome guests. Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

San Juan Hills

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

Beautiful house and wonderful hosts! My family and I were in San Juan for a soccer tournament and stayed in this gem of a house. It is beautifully decorated, well maintained, and very comfortable for an extended family of 5. The house is well stocked with all the essentials you need to cook, either in the kitchen or the outdoor BBQ. The house is centrally located to all the wonderful sites in San Juan. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. Including several binders with things to do, see, and eat while in San Juan.

The owners were wonderful to work with, accommodating, and made us feel very welcome. They were beyond generous with my daughter as well. She can not stop talking about her adventure here and the treasures she was able to come home with!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review! You are always welcome at our Villa. You were perfect guests!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely, comfortable home

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful stay, my family and I had lovely time. Ginger and Charlie were very warm and welcoming upon arrival. The house is very well equipped, comfortable beds and even included beach equipment and toys which we enjoyed at the local beaches. The villa's excellent location is a real bonus and allows for easy access to all major attractions in Southern California. I would highly recommend this property and will certainly be looking into renting it again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Jessica! You and your family were perfect guests. We hope to see you again next year. Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Slice of Heaven in San Juan Capistrano

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Awesome, Awesome, Awesome place!! My husband and I rent out our estate on vrbo and always look for something locally, to rent while we're out of our place. We have stayed in a lot of dumps over the last two years so we were extra thrilled to find that this darling home had all the comforts of our upscale estate. It is spacious with beautiful kitchen (even has a Wolf oven/stove), lavish master bathroom, huge walk in closet, great decor, big patio area with nice furnishings (even a hammock and BBQ), very comfy beds and so on. The owners, Charlie & Ginger saw that everything we needed was at our fingertips, even providing bikes to cruise around on. We took our two giant Old English Sheepdogs and they even provided dog beds & bowls for them.. Wow! I think in a former life, they must have run a B&B as they thought of everything, including gift packages of bath salts for the jacuzzi tub and remote control candles. There were individual packages of coffee and snacks provided, along with a detailed book, containing directions, maps and recommendations for all the local restaurants, grocery stores and other amenities. There is a pool and work out facility a couple doors down, not to mention hiking trails and the golf course, practically at your doorstep. This place is great, you won't be disappointed... We will be back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Cheryl. Makes me want to live there instead of renting it out! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Slice of Heaven in San Juan Capistrano

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

My husband and I rented this property for nearly five weeks and were sooooooooo happy! It is fantastic!!! Although we were just looking for a modest place to stay while our estate was rented out to fellow vrbo'ers, we hit the jackpot with this place...nothing modest about it. It had all the comforts of home, and I do mean comforts.. awesome kitchen with "Wolf" oven/stove, great big office, wide screen tvs, plush master bathroom with jacuzzi tub with remote controlled candles and very comfy beds. The owners, Ginger & Charlie have thought of everything, even placing gift bags of bath salts in the bathroom and gourmet coffee and snacks in the kitchen. We brought along our Old English Sheepdogs with us and they also loved the place. They had a beautiful back yard/patio to lounge in, during the day, with plenty of umbrellas strategically placed for shade.. Our pooches were nice enough to share the patio with my husband who especially loved reading his books, while lounging in the awesome hammock, strung from the palm trees. We spent our time, relaxing, BBQing, taking long walks, along the golf course and parks, riding bikes the owners left behind for us to use and just pretending we were actually on vacation. This place is conveniently located on the golf course, near downtown, restaurants, shops and other local conveniences. The price is a steal for all it has to offer.. Trust me, my husband and I have stayed in some real dumps over the past two years and this place is an absolute jewel. My husband and I will always look to rent this place, when our place is booked out :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury, comfort, tranquility and convenience...couldn't ask for more!

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Villa San Juan Capistrano is in a beautiful gated community and from the moment you drive through the gates, you feel safe and at home. We opened the front door and were immediately impressed with the home! As we walked around and checked out the living room, kitchen (which had a bottle of wine and 2 chilled glasses waiting for us in the fridge!), master bedroom and bathroom; my husband and I agreed that the home was even more beautiful in person.
We stayed at Villa San Juan Capistrano for just short of a month and felt completely comfortable, completely at home and completely welcomed. The night we arrived, I contact Ginger and Charlie and they came right over (from across the street) to show us the ins and outs of the home. We quickly became friends and feel that our stay was made even better having met them! However, one of the things we loved most were Ginger and Charlie's 3 dogs, Colette, Sasha and Savannah! We left our doggies behind at home and we got to borrow their doggies many times for walks and visits. ;)
The home was luxurious and beautifully decorates, kitchen was well equipped, the beds were super comfy and the master bathroom and closet were awesome! I took a bath every other day!
It was very convenient having a 2 car garage too!
Groceries, freeway access, other activities and entertainment were just minutes away. The location was excellent!
It was a great place and we loved it! We truly consider it our home away from home. We will plan our next trip back to California around the villa's availability!
Luxury, comfort, tranquility and convenience...couldn't ask for more!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Andriana & Jim. You were awesome houseguests. We look forward to coming to visit you soon!

Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Villa San Juan Capastrano

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

The property, looked exactly as the pictures on VRBO. It was close to the beach ,(about 5 minutes away) shopping was also the same. Very tastefully decorated, with plenty of recreational things to do. The owners were very helpful in giving suggestions, directions on places to go to site see ,and they supplied a very detailed book on restaurants and points of interests in the Capastrono area. The property is in a gated area on a golf course with a geat pool and hot tub.I would recommend this property to anyone who wants a nice and relaxing vacation. We have two small children and the place was perfect for us. Also it is only about one hour away from Sea World and about 45 min. from Disneyland. We are looking forward to our next stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review Ryan. We look forward to seeing you all next year and hope you are feeling better! Ginger & Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review