reviews for: listing #96874 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Aloha -- 5 bedroom Beachfront Home
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sands of KahalaBeach
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $420 - $820 /nt
    $2,940 - $5,460 /wk

sort by:

Great house, fun for a big group!

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 4, 2014

This is a fantastic, beautiful property located right on the beach in Galveston. The house comfortably accommodated 4 families with children ages 8-12. The house is extremely well-maintained! Everything worked, and the kitchen is stocked with everything we needed to make meals and drinks for a big crowd. Some of our favorite things about the house that made it easy for a big group were:
HUGE upstairs deck with large comfortable deck chairs for at least 20 people
Large spacious common area with plenty of seating for hanging out
TVs in all rooms
Very clean!
Well stocked kitchen supplies, filtered water and ice maker in the fridge
Outdoor gas grill
Enclosed outdoor shower with hot water
PLENTY of hot water for a big group - we never ran out!
Very comfortable beds with nice bedding
Automatic hurricane shutters that acted as blackout shutters - great for sleeping in, even our kids slept in!
Close enough to all the Galveston activities but far enough down the beach that it was peaceful

Perfect house for families with small kids - we had a blast!!! The owner was so helpful and accommodating, answering any questions we had about planning our trip almost immediately via email. Great experience and fantastic beach house.... We highly recommend it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The view was great

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

The house is quite spacious and the layout allowed the kids to go to bed earlier while the adults could stay up. The kitchen was well equipped which was wonderful and the furniture was comfortable. The house wasn't ready though, when we arrived so there was a lot of noise and hurrying around by the housekeeping staff - especially irritating was the hammering of loose boards on the deck. Necessary but wish it wasn't the first experience of my vacation. One of the upstairs bedrooms needs some attention. I had the feeling that no one really stays in that room - no bedside lamps, no trashcan in the bathroom, etc. Overall, the house could use some interior paint. So, roomy and comfortable but not quite sure it's adequate to the price. Great view, though!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Girls trip 2014

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

A very comfortable home with a wonderful view. Excellent proximity to town for shopping and sightseeing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome get-away for big family!!

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

We rented out this big, beautiful beach house over Christmas! There were fourteen of us - ages 83-15 years old. The open floor plan was perfect for everyone. We cooked, played games at the table, worked jigsaw puzzles, went into Galveston to shop in the historic district, visited the aquarium, went on a dolphin watch and played football on the beach right in front of the house. The home is beautiful, fully equipped and a perfect place to make special memories!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

Well, if you want a nice big house, on the beach, close to Galveston's activities, this is the place. Had 10 ladies for a long weekend and there was plenty of room for us. Living room and kitchen is open space so we were cooking in the kitchen and visiting with the ones in the living area. Plus, open view of the ocean. Rooms were spacious, house was clean and absolutely, no issues whatsoever. House is as it is in the pictures. Everyone had a great time. Oh, yes, plenty of balcony chairs for early morning coffee drinkers and the late night wine drinkers...Ready to return.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beacfront Sands of Kuahla

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

The location of this home is wonderful; beachfront, close to shopping and dinning , but still private and quiet. The multiple porches accommodate the entire household as well as afford private sitting off the second floor bedrooms. The furnishing and linens are in good shape. Although the house equipment is adequate, it is not well maintained. The kitchen appliances (dishwasher and disposal) require coaxing to work, there is no icemaker, the pots and pans are scratched and rusted and there are at least 8 battery less remotes for the living room TV . With no instructions or batteries , the TV and the movies were not usable. However, those minor inconveniences did not affect our stay at the house, the view more than made up for the lack of TV and there are smaller TVs in the bedrooms.

We enjoy renting vacation homes through VRBO because it 'feels like you are renting a friend's home'. The houses are often highly personalized, sometime quirky and almost always interesting. The owner of this property is very nice and easy to work with. However, this beautiful spacious home is more like renting an investment property than a family home.

I would recommend this home to friends, it is a great house in an incredible location.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: Sorry for any inconveniences. Since your visit we installed a new refrigerator with ice-maker, new dishwasher, new disposal, new cookware, and new living room television. We'd be delighted if you visit again and enjoy the new amenities.

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Great home in a great location -- will be back!

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

We had a terrific weekend at this home and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place on the water (right on top of the beach!), close to town and able to accommodate a large group very comfortably. We enjoyed the large deck on the beach side, everyone had ample space to relax and plenty of beds to go around. The pool table/wet bar area was a neat touch, too.

Everyone in our group raved about the home and what a find it was - we definitely plan to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great weekend

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

Beautiful property on great beach. Home is large enough for the four couples that stayed. Each bedroom was a master. Kitchen setup was great for visiting while cooking. Would definetly stay again. Had some contact with owner who was very nice and accomodating.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Labor Day Mini Vacay

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

We loved our stay wonderful beachfront home! Very spacious home that accomadated everyone. We enjoyed that our trips tooth store were short. Definitely would recommend for large families!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunbather Lane, Galveston TX

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

The house was great - plenty spacious for our family of nine plus more! Location couldn't have been better - close to grocery stores, shopping and many other activities. Very private with only a few other homeowners/renters near us on the beach. The homeowner was very responsive and cooperative to all our needs. Would definitely recommend and visit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Adirondack chairs and peace

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

My favorite mind picture is the backs of the 15 Adirondack chairs that grace the back gallery overlooking the beach and out to the sea! When I need to go to my "happy place" (like in the dentist chair), that is where I will go! Peace and contentment rule there. Even with the excitement of my family of 3 grown children, their spouses, and the 5 little grandchildren, the peace permiated everyone. We made sandcastles, looked for sand crabs and shells, fished, and surfed. It was a wonderful week and we all want to go back. Two of my friends are already planning to book the house too. Let's hope I get it first! The owner was friendly and easy to work with and everything in the house was as described.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Happy Guest

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

The house was everything we needed. Everyone had a great time. The beach access was easy, the view was tremendous, and the amenities of the home were just what we needed. The house had plenty of games and everything was in excellent working order. There were a few signs of wear and tear on the home in a few spots, but overall the upkeep has been very good. The home lacked some basic written instructions on operations of the home, i.e. trash day, local guides, how to leave the home once done, etc. But, overall, we would definitely consider this house again in the future.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

This property sits in the perfect location! Close to town, but on a private community beach. Our morning view of the surf was awesome! The house was spotless and smelled fresh when we arrived, and there were plenty of fresh linens. The owner was accessible for any questions I had, and friendly. We had a large group with several young adults and there was enough room for everyone! This is a property I would definitely recommend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Easter Vacation with family and friends.....

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

We were 8 adults and two children under 5 and the layout of the house was perfect for our 3 day stay in Galveston. With 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms, one large deck and three private decks, we all had our own space when we wanted it - and could gather in the living room, game room or on the decks when we wanted to be together. In the past we have stayed on the West End and this was a much more convenient location for going into Galveston. Having beach front views and access was perfect on a weekend with no humidity and moderate temps and a cool breeze. The house was damaged in Hurricane Ike, and the owner had informed us repairs were under way. They were minor and didn't cause us any problems we couldn't get around. This is a beach house and with any beach house there are always issues. If I have to find something to complain about it would be that the "finishes" were not really top of the line. They were certainly sufficient, but not top of the line. As long as you are okay with that, you should love this house and the location and the view! We did!


We were happy that there is still plenty of beach at The Sands of Kahala Beach (where the house is), but there is a LOT of sea week/kelp on the beach. Tractors scraped it off on Saturday morning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review