reviews for: listing #9693 - Newport Beach, California Cottage rental

Balboa Island on the Grand Canal
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Balboa Island
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,000 - $2,950 /wk

sort by:

Ideal Location

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

We've stayed in Orange County at various locations over the past 15 years but this has been by far the best. Apart from to and from the airport we did minimal miles with everything being within walking or cycling distance.

This is also the first time we've ever rebooked a property and part of the reason is the owners, John and Sue are great!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family vacation spot

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We loved our stay at the cottage on Balboa Island. The cottage was clean and very cute--just what we were looking for. We loved being on the canal, so we could enjoy coffee or wine on the porch and have easy access to the kayaks. We were easily able to walk to restaurants and the shops. We hope to come back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great summer cottage!

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This is the ideal place for our family. We've come here for a week in the summer for several years now and love the accommodations. Perfect, quiet location on the water and at the same time close to main street. The house itself is very comfortable and well decorated and has a great front patio and dock as well as a BBQ area on a side patio which is more secluded when you feel like some privacy. The owners and property manager are super pleasant and easy to work with and do a great job in making this vacation rental feel like home. Oh, and thanks for the addition of the bicycles! Great way to get around the island or for a longer ride to back bay or Corona Del Mar.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Balboa Cottage was terriffic

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

This was the most relaxing place to stay. The cottage was well appointed and very clean with everything we needed, 2 BBQ's, bikes, beach chairs, well stocked kitchen, and plenty of chairs for the patio. We cooked and ate outside on the patio, loved being able to walk and ride bikes everywhere. We took the ferry to the beach and the Fun Zone, ate and shopped right around the corner. We rented an Duffy boat and cruised around the bay. Our friends and relatives that we usually visit preferred to come to the cottage to see us which saved us time not having to drive. The owner, John, was so helpful and always responded promptly to any questions I had. Being right on the canal was a lot of fun. People are always walking by or paddling by on the canal. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation. The only complaint I have is I wish there was more than one restaurant/bar that stayed open past 9pm on the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This was this guests first stay at the Cottage and I hope they make it an annual family affair, even without another bar). The two beach cruisers were a recent addition and have been a big hit. As for bars and restaurants on the Island - there is one and will probably never be more. The bar scene is on the Peninsula across the ferry and most residents and guests want to keep it that way - the Peninsula is for the party animals, the Island is for families.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Christmas at the Beach

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

The property on Balboa Island is a delight! Cute and cozy with clean red, white and blue furnishings, you feel like you're right on the beach with its nautical theme. The lights on all the houses were sparkling, adding a festive glow that could be seen through the front dutch door. The main bedroom had a very comfortable bed which is important to us. It was a special time for us as our family had not been together in a long time, so all three of our children were with us. They did have to share the couch as the other two beds were not workable for the extra person. However, the owner was very accomodating in letting our 3rd son join us. The owners answered all our questions and were very welcoming as was the caretaker who left us our privacy after letting us in. I would recommend this property to a friend or relative. It's near the little town, and we had fun at the Olive Oil store (I still go back there to get olive oil!) and the Stabucks around the corner woke us up every morning with pastries and the New York Times! We watched the Christmas Boat Parade which was great fun, and took the car ferry over to the Peninsula. Just walking around the neighborhood looking at all the great houses is a good time. We rented a Duffy boat and took a picnic out on the bay one evening which I highly recommend. I hope someday we can return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Property 20833

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

This is a wonderful location, with a cute, cottage atmosphere with a fireplace and great charm. We were only a block from the main street. The on site assistance was fabulous. We would strongly recommend this to anyone

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

"Thanks for all you do to keep this place so warm and inviting, we just don't feel right anywhere else".

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

"Balboa is amazing and I am loving it here?

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

We wanted to let you know that we really enjoyed your lovely cottage, the location, and the weather - we would be interested in coming back again next February.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review