reviews for: listing #97148 - Laguna Beach, California Villa rental

Tuscan-Style Villas in the heart of Laguna Beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $210 - $450 /nt
    $1,400 - $2,900 /wk
    $5,600 - $11,600 /mth

sort by:

The retreat in Laguna Beach, California

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at The Retreat in Laguna Beach. It was a fabulous resort. The location is fantastic and the management is tremendous. The onsite management is extremely helpful, very professional and responsive.

In the center of the resort is an incredible and large deck. The deck overlooks the Ocean so the views are truly spectacular. It is a wonderful place to watch the gorgeous sunsets, and the furniture on the deck is very comfortable.

The room was immaculate and clean when we arrived. The room was recently remodeled and it is amazing. No kidding, the room is nicer than the rooms at the 5 Star and 5 Diamond Ritz Carlton Hotel. And the kitchen was 100% perfect, ok size, with first class amenities. You will definitely not be disappointed. We will surely be returning to the Retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Not a five star property

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

This is definitely not a five star resort. I would maybe call it a 3 1/2 star and the best word to describe it would be rustic. The positives were it was very close to the beach, down a long flight of stairs and also close to grocery store and walking distance to town for shopping and restaurants. Our 1 bedroom was very small,stained futon in living room that was very uncomfortable to sit in. When we arrived TV didn't work and we didn't have a toaster, both fixed the next day. The bedroom is very small and had no dresser. Must say the staff are very good and will get things for you. Bed was OK but felt it was going to fall apart anytime soon and alarm clock was a an very old clock.. Kitchen was good, modern appliances but not top notch. We were at back of property, so on the lane and had a lot of noise from behind us as it is a big echo chamber there. Also, couldn't sit on the toilet and close door as it hits your knees.
All in all it was comfortable but not deserving of a high rating.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

The Retreat is the cure for anything!

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Eileen from Arvada, Colorado: We stayed at the Retreat for a week while in Laguna Beach for my mother's memorial service. Staying in these beautiful, peaceful surroundings was so healing for us and it provided us with time to relax, revel at the sunsets from the deck, sit around our private patio firepit, be lulled to sleep at night by the sound of the waves... while being treated with the utmost in care by the staff. The villa was equipped with everything and more than needed, including on site laundry facilities. All we had to do was ask the friendly and accomodating staff if we had questions or needed anything. We were treated to a welcoming package that included an in room massage and gift card for a nearby restaurant. We will be back each and every time that we visit Laguna Beach to check on my mother's property. It truly became our home for the week at a time when we needed it the most. We would highly recommend it to others. The view is incredible, especially at sunset!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My favorite spot in OC

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 2, 2011

My Schmoopie popped the question here and it was hands down the most romantic experience of my life. The Retreat took care of all of the little details and filled the room with fresh flowers, millions of candles and the champagne was on ice of course. The went so far as to strategically place a book of love poems and another of love letters on the coffee table for us- the effort was amazing. Even despite all the extras the villa on it's own is fantastic with all the comforts of home and right on the beach! We have already booked for next year and plan to make this an annual tradition. Your money is well spent here and I simply can not say enough about the experience the Retreat offers....simply unforgettable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review