reviews for: listing #972164ha - Playa Grande, Costa Rica rental

Nestled in Nature Vacation Villa
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 250 - $ 500 / night
    $ 2,100 - $ 3,500 / week
    $ 3,000 / month
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Pura Vida! Life is good and our stay was great!

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 2, 2014

The photos are good but the house is even better in person! Just like being at home without the snow! Locals showed great hospitality at Seven, Wilmart, Great Waltini's at BulaBula, Frijoles Locos surf shop, estuary tours and water taxis to Tamarindo. The only thing missing was our own boogie boards, beach chairs & umbrella (expensive to rent at surf shop) and a king bed in email level. Didn't miss the snow though! Pool is great cool down in the afternoons. Very relaxing. Great buys at duty free at airport- take advantage of that! See you next year Steve!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Melissa M

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

Beautiful home, very clean well maintained. Was our 5th time in Playa Grande, the house and it's location are perfect. Short walk to the beach, convenience store and one of three restaurants. Looked forward to the pool after a few hours baking on the beach! Steve the owner was more than helpful. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House in Playa Grande

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

I have stayed in Playa Grande several times and this was my first time at Casa Marbella. The location is perfect as it's a 5 minute walk to the beach, right around the corner from Bula Bula (best breakfast!) and Wilmart (where you can pick up basic groceries or anything else you may need for the house). The house is spacious, beautifully decorated and gets tons of natural light. If you like to cook the kitchen is stocked with pots, pans, strainers etc but there are also many restaurants close by to the house. The backyard is a relaxing place to lay out and enjoy the pool and keep an eye out for birds and iguanas. Overall the house is spotless and beautifully maintained. I would recommend this to my friends and would definitely come back next time I'm in Playa Grande.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I am in LOVE with Marbella

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

The owners of this property have thought of everything. We were in the home 5 nights and had everything we needed to make meals, sleep comfortably, watch TV, listen to music, lounge around the pool and just be together.

The house is well appointed and comfortable. There were plenty of dishes and flatware for 2 families. We all had the space and privacy we needed to relax. The entire house and grounds are well kept and very pretty.

There is a trail behind the house that leads towards the estuary and Bula Bula and there is a little store and restaurant that is a quick walk out the front door. We drove to the beach everyday, but it would only be a short walk.

There are quite a few choices at Playa Grande and Marbella is the best one. We had an amazing time and the ease and comfort of the property made it all the better.

The owner, Steve, was communicative and easy to work with. His property manager, Alyssa was the same. Alyssa kept in touch with me prior to arrival then helped us get acquainted with the house once we arrived. She got me in contact with a private chef, Frank and masseuse, Margie. Both were amazing. A house keeper came after a couple of days to tidy and clean up. We live in Costa Rica and didn't need transportation and were aware of local activities, but Alyssa can help with car rentals and tours.

The photos really don't do the property justice. It is more amazing than the photos reveal. The owners, property manager and house spoiled us and I can't see any reason to stay in a hotel or anywhere else.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT & PLEASANT STAY

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

First and most important is that both Steve and Priscilla (owners) are great to deal with. The house is not only beautiful, but also in perfect conditions and fully equipped; nothing is missing to have a very pleasant vacation…. They have a great arrangement with next door family in case you need help with cleaning and laundry which was well appreciated…… Nearby convenience store for those unexpected needs. Very well located in beautiful Playa Grande……. Excellent choice!!! Hope to go back soon!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome house in a wonderful area of Costa Rica!

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

Casa Marbella exceeded our expectations. The house is great and Playa Grande area is one of our favorites in Costa Rica. The area is laid back with several really good restaurants (Hotel Bula Bula and El Huerto's). The beach is beautiful and uncrowded. PG also has a great local surf shop (Frijoles Locos) that rents surf boards, arranges surf lessons, tours, etc.). The owner of the house, Steve Julius, was great to work with. I would highly recommend Playa Grande and Casa Marbella.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Doris Rodríguez

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Excelente estadía en playa grande, la casa muy amplia , cómoda , con todo lo necesario para pasar unas excelentes vacaciones. Super recomendado para los que quieran descansar y pasar un buen rato en la playa que está muy cerca de la casa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most excellent stay ever!

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in Villa Marbella for 6 months in early 2012. It was the trip of a lifetime. The house is spacious and beautiful. Every bedroom has a really nice ensuite bathroom. The backyard is an oasis with a beautiful and nice landscaping. My morning routine frequently included dropping the kayak into the estuary out back and going for a paddle while enjoying all the wildlife.
The location could not be better. A short walk down the path out back takes you to Bula Bula which was our favourite place for breakfast. It's also where you can catch a water taxi to Tamarindo for $3.
Within walking distance was a small grocery store that also sells beer and wine, a great "typical" restaurant that has a very popular (and delicious) Friday night BBQ and a casual fine-dining restaurant called Cantarana. The beach is only 300 metres away! A short bicycle ride (or 15 minute walk on the beach) gets you to the other end of Playa Grande where you can get an awesome massage (Frijoles Locos) or do yoga. The owners are amazing, kind and generous people and they will make sure you have anything you need. The caretakers (Javier and Cecilia) are amazing people too. From this location you are able to explore many other parts of Guanacaste with ease. With the water taxi and estuary behind us, and the ocean in front, it felt like we were living on a tropical island. A quiet piece of sanctuary with all the comforts of home. I highly recommend Villa Marbella in Playa Grande!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, charming, and warm beach house!!

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

Hi there,

I have the wonderful opportunity to rent this property last Dec for new years and must say that this house is Amazing and the owners take the best care of it!!

The house has 3 gorgeous, spacious and beautifully decorated bedrooms and the lay out of the house is perfect as each bedroom feels like its own little apartment but the kitchen and living room are so engaging and fun to all gather together. Honestly, this house is a place you'll come and won't want to leave but rather cook amazing dinners and entertain your friends there. Of course there's also beautiful, gorgeous beaches walking distance and short drives.

I specially love how the owners really go out of their way to make sure every detail in the house is covered and when you arrive they even great you with water, drinks, and healthy snacks. If you're considering Playa Grande for a vacation, this property is a Must!!! :)

Midori

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Villa Marbella

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

What a treat! Villa Marbella was my home away from home for 4 months and it, as well as, the owners far exceeded my expectation. The accommodation is beautiful, quiet, comfortable, clean, new, spacious and secure. The owners were warm, friendly, responsive and very hospitable. In terms of location, I could get to everywhere I needed by foot or by bike including the beach and multiple surf breaks, restaurants, bars, grocery stores and shopping. I highly recommend Villa Marbella and will most certainly return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home in a gorgeous setting!

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

My husband and I found Casa Marbella having hurriedly departed our original vacation rental due to its disrepair and insect infestation. Staying at Casa Marbella was like a breath of fresh air after our initial experience, and Steve and Priscilla went out of their way to ensure our comfort in their beautiful property. We arrived the day after long-term renters had left, before Steve had time to restock items and do minor repairs. No matter - whatever we found and whatever we asked for, Steve was happy to accommodate us - including finding a full gas can from somewhere to rescue me when my rental car was almost empty! The house itself is beautiful. The architecture is unique - it's spacious, well-appointed and very comfortable. The layout affords each person or couple privacy, and the living/dining room, kitchen and pool area are perfect for indoor-outdoor entertaining. The neighborhood is also charming, with great beach access and a couple of restaurants (one fine-dining in a casual outdoor setting, the other serving local food and huge portions of BBQ on Fri nights)  "around the corner"  from the house. Playa Grande is a magical place and we loved it so much that we extended our stay at Casa Marbella for a couple of months and continued to enjoy the beautiful beach and the hospitality of wonderful people like Steve and Priscilla!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Marbella-Playa Grande Perfection

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Casa Marbella is perfect. From the manicured Gardens to the Top of the line appliances and furniture. this place is exactly as the pictures and description show. Steve and Pricilla were very welcoming and helped with all of our questions. They made every effort to ensure we were comfortable and had anything we needed. They even stocked the fridge for us before our arrival. Playa Grande is a beautiful 3.5 mile beach that is tucked away from the tourist traps of Tamarindo and yet still close enough to have all the conveniences within reach. Palm beach estates is a quaint little estate community with overnight security and friendly local restaurants within walking distance (We Recommend Los Malinches for Costa Rican Type food at reasonable prices), they also have a small mercado for any groceries you may need. Our stay at Casa Marbella was everything we hoped for. We travelled with our 2 daughters who are 2 and 5 yrs old and they loved the house and especially the pool and the beach. The pool was a great refresher on the hot afternoons and the house was fully air conditioned even though most days it was only necessary to turn the bedroom units on as the offshore breezes would blow right through the open concept and keep everything comfortable. The maid service was spectacular and Javier the Gardener was fast at work every morning keeping the yard and patio in tip top shape. From the Wi-fi internet and full security system, to the beautiful bathrooms and covered patio/pool, this house has all the luxuries of home but sits in an perfect location only 3 minutes walk to the beach and anything your heart desires. Thanks again Steve and Priscilla, we will definitely return to PG and Casa Marbella again and have already recommended your home to many of our friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review