reviews for: listing #9747 - West Molokai, Hawaii Condo rental

Beautiful Condo at Paniolo Hale Unit T2
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Paniolo Hale
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $600 - $650 /wk

sort by:

Loved being at this condo on Molokai!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 29, 2013

My hubby and I stayed at this beautiful condo for 5 days, after a busy 9 days on Maui. It was a wonderful way to end our time in Hawaii. As soon as the plane hit the runway at the airport, I felt 'peace and rest'. And when we arrived at this condo, I felt the same! It is just as described...a wonderful, clean, nicely decorated, peaceful place to be..especially where I came down with an illness during our stay. As we walked the grounds, my hubby and I just felt like we were home, even though we come from New England. This is just a lovely, lovely place to stay. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to go to Molokai, especially those who love quiet and peace, writers, readers, photographers, etc. My sis and her friend came over to visit us and they loved it too, and said the sleep sofa was very comfortable. The ambience of the condo is wonderful, and when you leave, you step out into a beautiful smell of plumeria! The whole complex is tastefully arranged and sort of hidden by tropical trees and plants. Molokai is like stepping back in time....no commercialization at all. So if you're looking for that, go to another island! We did the hike to Halawa Valley, swam in the bay there, took in Purdy's Macadamia Nut Farm, Coffees of Hawaii, and drove to Kalaupapa lookout, bought produce at organic Kumu Farm, and drove around Kaunakakai and other areas of the island, including the beaches on the west shore which is where the condo unit is. Deserted beaches, beautiful big waves, though rough undertoe, and certainly beautiful sunsets. Dixie Maru Beach is the only place we felt safe enough to swim. I found Molokai to be a wonderful photographic opportunity, also. Be forewarned though, that you need to get anything you will need for your stay, all in Kaunakakai, as this is the central point for the whole island, including restaurants. Again, there is no commercialism here, and very few restaurants...nothing at all like the other islands, but so beautiful and peaceful..a pleasant change from other islands. And I can't say enough about the owner of this condo. She was delightfully helpful with everything about the condo and the island! She was a joy to make my plans with! If I ever get to Molokai again, I will be renting her condo again, and will tell others to do the same! Truly the "aloha spirit" is alive and well in the people on Molokai....nothing but friendly. No wonder they call it the 'friendly isle'. :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

From -15C/0F and snow to 25C/80F and warm breezes in 24 hours

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

We absolutely loved the island - from the beaches and the Kite Shop at Maunaloa in the west to Halawa in the east, the quaint city of Kaunakakai and its Saturday morning Market Place south central, Kaluapapa NHP at Kalawao, by mule ride, in the north, the monk seals (saw 2), the toads, the turkeys, the birds (no need for an alarm clock) - and your condo unit. What a home away from home! Clean, comfortable, fully equipped. I particularly liked the screened-in lanai - after a shower from having sweated it out in the sun working on a tan, gentle breezes blowing and a good book, and enjoying our meals at the lanai table. Beautiful setting, well kept grounds, close to lovely, (almost) people-free beaches. I think we had a "people jam" on one weekend day ... there were about a dozen people on the beach in addition to us. Chatted with a fella from Maui ... he comes to Moloka'i on business and prefers to stay over a weekend so that he can take advantage of the surf and quiet beaches. Took in part of the Hula Festival and left just before the ukelele workshop.

The plantation shutters sold me when looking for a place to stay on Molokai. When we arrived we were very pleased to find that the condo is truly a home away from home. We didn't want for anything - fully equipped kitchen; two full baths; all the beach equipment (& towels) you could want; washer/dryer; very comfortable queen bed in the master and a comfortable pullout queen sofa bed. No need for a/c - gentle tropical breezes, screened lanai and quiet ceiling fans move the air around.

The golf course between Paniolo Hale and the shoreline has been abandonded but the cart/people/turkey path makes for a nice morning walk with the option to turn off and wander along the beaches, There is only one golf course on the island now - about half an hour away, up past Kualapu'u, an almost hidden left turn just before the Sugar Mill musuem.

Looking for a place to really get away from it all? This is it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Fantastic Weekend!

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

We escaped to Molokai for a quick weekend away from our hectic life on Oahu. We were seeking peace, quiet, unpopulated beaches, and we got exactly what we wanted! This condo suited our needs perfectly.... it's outfitted with everything we needed, and more. The pictures don't actually do it justice.... sitting in the main living area, we felt like we were perched in a beautifully tranquil tree house. Just steps away, we had several beautiful beaches entirely to ourselves.
The owners were a dream to work with in arranging our weekend, and they included several incredibly helpful info lists about the island with our confirmation email, so we were able to get a feel for what we wanted to see and do before we even arrived (I'm a planner!). And, additional info awaited our arrival in a convenient binder in the living room.
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this condo... we will return as soon as our schedule permits!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love affair with Molokai

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

It was a “vacation of a lifetime”! I spent the entire month of October, 2012 in Molokai and moved into a ready made home at Paniolo Hale, #T-2. This home away from home had every single amenity that made my vacation the most relaxing time away from home and job ever. The living area is spacious, the furniture cozy and comfortable and the kitchen is well appointed. Everything I needed was at my fingertips. The bathrooms were spacious and the bedroom large and relaxing with a very comfortable queen bed and balcony overlooking blooming plumeria trees. The huge screened in lanai (with fabulous hammock) couldn’t have been nicer. I spent many hours swinging in the hammock, watching and listening to the wild birds including majestic wild turkeys. I could hear the pounding surf from the lanai and bedroom, which was a luxurious sound.

Molokai is a unique island, full of beautiful scenery, full of local residents welcoming you with open arms. If nightlife is your cup of tea, you should go to another island, but if you want an easy pace with daily adventures like swimming, snorkeling, hiking, exploring then Molokai could be your paradise. It was mine.

Not to be missed: Mule Ride to Kalaupapa, Purdy Nut Farm, strolling and shopping through Kaunakakai, Hoolehua and Mauna Loa, “Aloha Fridays” at Molokai Hotel from 4-6 pm, BBQ at the Cook House, lazy drive to far East side of island, LomiLomi massages at Massage & Acupuncture in Kaunakakai, The Big Wind Kite Factory in Mauna Loa, watching the sunset on the beach with a glass of wine – a 2 minute walk from home.

I will be back. Aloha. Su

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Get away from it all

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

From the distant UK, this was our second stay on Molokai and it exceeded even our high expectations.
It is a long way to travel but so worth it. The weather was outstanding, the whale-watching from boat and beach wonderful and such a relaxing island. We loved Kaunakaki and the Saturday market, the friendly people and the wine store! Thank you Shell and Mike.
The Condo was also outstanding - clean, comforable, quiet and everything we needed was on hand.
We have already booked our return trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOVED it here!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

Shell, thank you SO much for sharing your lovely condo with us. The location was perfect and you provided everything we could possibly need. We felt so cozy tucked away in the trees and loved star gazing directly over our heads every night through the large arched window over the bed. The beaches were amazing and we almost always had them totally to ourselves. All of your information about what to do on the island was extremely helpful and we enjoyed visiting all of your recommendations. You are SO right....the homemade Pesto from Kumu Farms is to die for! The bread from Kanemitsu Bakery was so delicious that we went back and bought several more loaves to take to Kauai with us as we continued our vacation. Our first visit to Molokai will DEFINITELY not be our last! Thank you!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Some Real "Downtime" on Molokai Condo Retreat

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

My wife, Diane, and I had a FABULOUS stay on Molokai in this beautfiul, well maintained, lovely decor condo. We spent 7 wonderful nights in what we called "The Treehouse". It was exactly what we were looking for. Somewhere to truly relax and get out of the "Rat Race". This place totally fit the bill. I hope we can go back someday.

Doug and Diane Wilson
West Jordan, Utah

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Moloka'i West end magic :-)

Review submitted: November 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

Our stay @ this condo far exceeded our expectations. A very nice floor plan, beautifully decorated. Very well equipped, with good directions from the owner family on everything from "where in the condo is it?!" to secure WiFi log in code :-), and where to shop,what to see, what to do, etc.
This unit has a lanai that protrudes out from the building so that a flow thru breeze is not blocked by other units. Even so the foliage around it is just right to offer privacy and a view.
The complex is very quiet, very safe. Nice swimming pool, with community gas grill available and clean. Easy access to beaches. Some of the best beaches in the islands with surfers on two of them and relatively safe swimming access on the 3rd. Tho safe lighting in parking areas and walkways at nite, the lighting does not pollute the skies so star watching by the beach is fantastic, a must do!
I can't remember sleeping so very comfortably and well on a vacation as we did here.
Owner family is very helpful and easy to contact and make you feel like family. Beach towels and even chairs to take out to star gaze or beach sit. Great cookware, and little things like a coffee grinder for your fresh Moloka'i coffee add that home away from home feel.
We will plan to go back to Moloka'i for many reasons, but this condo rates right up there on the list of reasons.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise at Paniolo Hale

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

After researching many condos on Molokai my fiance and I found this gem of a condo to spend our honeymoon in and what a find it is! We were looking for a tranquil, clean, spacious, self sufficient condo near the beach and this beautiful condo surpassed all our hopes. It provides every amenity including beach towels and toys, all the kitchen gadgets you would need, lots of local information in a white binder on things to do and where to eat and shop. It is a real bonus having two full bathrooms...a real luxury for each of us to have our own! The condo is so bright and clean with beautiful comfortable furniture throughout. We kept the lanai doors and all the windows open the whole two weeks allowing the constant breezes of Molokai to flow through but if that's not enough there are large ceiling fans on both levels. We woke up just at sunrise every morning and had our coffee in the beautiful bedroom, as the sun rose through the huge window above us, listening to the waves in the distance, it was absolute heaven. At night we would sit on the deck off the bedroom and gaze at the stars. And if you are into star gazing, it is an incredible sight down at the beach just a 5 minute walk away. We also would take our wine and catch the sunsets, so beautifully peaceful. Everywhere we ventured to the beaches (and lots of them) we were at most times the only ones there...a honeymooners paradise!
The pool is exactly as it looks in the pictures and most of the time we were alone!
Molokai is not a 'night life' kind of place which was exactly what we were looking for but we did enjoy our Friday nights and a good meal at the seaside hotel restaurant/bar in Kuanakakai listening to the local musicians. All the artists set up booths outside as well to sell hand crafted beautiful jewelry and artwork. They also sell their wares at the Saturday market in Kuanakakai, if you miss them on Friday...but be sure to go early as they pack up and leave at noon.
Molokai is a truly beautiful island with huge vistas of land and sea and you really should take a trip to the east end to see the cliffs and falls and the contrast from the drier open ranch land of the west to the green lush mountainous east.
I just want to ad that the owners are so wonderful and helpful and accommodating to deal with...and my husband and I would highly recommend their special place. Our hearts and minds are full of the beauty of Molokai and will definitely go back one day. Mahalo Nui Loa...dearest Pates!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Molokai Retreat Condo

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

My wife and I spent six (6) peaceful, delightful days in this condo on Molokai. The decor and furnishings in the condo were every bit as nice & comfortable as advertised by the owner, The grounds around the unit were lovely & the whole resort was well maintained with easy access to the beaches in front of the condos as well as a short walk to other beaches nearby. The interior of the condo was clean & well maintained with pretty much everything needed including a washer & dryer, a well equipped kitchen, 2 tv's, a dvd player complete with a good selection of movies. There was lots of reading & reference material including items of interest about Molokai, local birds, beaches, & places to visit nearby for swimming, sightseeing, historical interest, restaurants, grocery shops, local fruit and vegetable markets - every Saturday morning 7 - 11 a.m. in the town of Kaunakakai where we purchased very tasty fresh local corn on the cob as well as delicious papays - 3 for $2.00 & other veggies, fruit & nuts. In addition to all of the lovely, mostly deserted beaches there are organized ocean activities such as snorkeling & whale watching as well as a modern daily ferry to Maui that we did not take. We visited Kumuh Farms on the way from the condo to town where we purchased organic vegetables and homemade pesto - to die for. We toured Purdy's Macadamia Nut Farm (informative free tour), the Molokai Museum & Meyer Sugar Mill - the volunteer staffer working that day had made several trips to Kalaupapa National Historic Park - the former leper colony & had taken the mule ride down the cliffs on more than one occasion hence he was able to talk at length about these experiences. We found the people of Molokai very friendly, helpful & had many enjoyable experiences in the local restaurants, bakeries, grocery stores and other shops. We particularly enjoyed one day when we drove a paved highway from one end of the island to the other visiting many beaches & any historical points of interest along the way. At a certain point the road narrows to basically one lane (with wider points for passing), and we continued without any problems seeing some wonderfull views along the way, until we literally arrived at the beach in a bay at the end of the pavement. If you take this trip I suggest taking drinks, lunch, bathing suits & mats and snorkeling gear. My wife and I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending a stay at this property to a friend or relative.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

So relaxing!

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

We were fortunate to spend a week here during the Thanksgiving holiday. It was restful and peaceful and the condo was everything we'd hoped for. With the information provided by the owners, we did a lot of exploring and the saw things and places we likely wouldn't have found on our own. We especially enjoyed eating at the Cookhouse, and having a relaxing cup of coffee on the big porch at the coffee plantation. Big Beach was incredible and was there wasn't a soul around. We found an old fashioned float and many unsual shells. The drive to Halawa Valley and the beach cove there was delightful. From there we went to Maui for two weeks, where we wished we'd stayed much longer on Molokai!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Beautiful Place To Relax and Enjoy

Review submitted: April 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

My wife and I spend one whole very relaxing month here. The owners of this Unit have put a lot of thought into the needs of their guests. Everything you need to make their home your home is provided. And to make things very easy for you they have written into a white binder everything you need to know about the unit and the island. The Unit is shaded by a lovely canape of trees which makes sitting out on the lanai comfortable at anytime of day. The Unit is situated only a few minute walk from the ocean where we enjoyed many spectacular sunsets. We enjoyed walking the beautiful isolated beaches and swimming at Dixie Muru beach which is about a five minutes drive. On Wednesday night we went and enjoyed the Hula Dancers at the Molokai Hotel and on Friday evening the Aloha Friday show there is fun too. There is even more local musical talent at the Coffee House on Sundays. We would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to spend their vacation relaxing and unwinding.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: December 9, 2009

We are heading back to the wonderful island of Molokai in January for the third time! This will be our second time staying in this beautiful condo, it was already booked last year or it would be our third, as it is our first choice. The condo is spacious, clean, bright and airy, comfortable, and very well equipped with everything that you may need to help you have a fabulous vaction. We absolutely love it! The resort is quiet and serene and just a short walk to the beach and other walking paths. We have met many wonderful people there and on the island. Now we are REALLY excited to get back to the beautiful quiet island of Molokai for another great vaction!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 5, 2009   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

My husband and I have stayed in the Pate's beautiful condo many times in the past four years. We love everything about their unit, it is perfect in every way. The unit is spacious and has everything you need for a wonderful, relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 19, 2009   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

I really can’t say enough good things about this condo and its location. My family and I stayed here during Dec/Jan of last year. I was looking for a place to relax and play with my kids, and I don't think I could have made a better choice. The condo is clean and beautiful, a wonderful place to spend time. The complex is very quiet and is located with in walking distance of several beaches and surrounded by an un-kept golf course where I loved to take a daily walk. Molokai is quiet and slow and has a small town feel, (which I loved) And the people (in contrast to the other Islands)are remarkably friendly and helpful. When I returned to my snowy home I was fully relaxed and satisfied. With out doubt, I would go back annually if I could.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 4, 2009   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

I have realized in my life that it is not only a blessing but imperative that at some point throughout the year I get away to a place where I can truly begin to let go and relax from the daily grind. I love venturing to new and exciting cities, but just as important- if not more, are the times where I venture to the "countryside" and live as the locals do, experiencing life a little more the way I truly desire: without the hum of traffic or the many stressors demanding my attention, and letting go of all that binds. As soon as I see Molokai from the plane I begin to feel more at ease, but it's not until arriving to the Pate Place that I ultimately feel that all the "noise" dissipates, and I am finally at peace. A year that goes by without a visit to the condo and I am feeling something crucial missing in my life. There is nothing like waking to the sounds of doves, sensing the breeze scented by the plumeria outside, and descending from the bedroom to the lanai enjoying my breakfast surrounded by serenity and nature. The Pates have done a marvelous job at creating even more paradise within paradise. I will forever be a devoted patron. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

We felt that we were truely in paridise when we stayed at this condo. So close to such a beautiful beach, and surrounded by peaceful beautiful countryside, it was one of our favorite vacations ever.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 1, 2009   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

My family and I stayed here in June 2009 and really loved it. The condo is very welcoming and is beautifully decorated. The hammock on the screened-in porch is a wonderful place to relax. The owners were extremely easy to deal with and very accommodating. You will not be disappointed in this condo, I would recommend it to anyone visiting Molokai. We enjoyed our stay and we will stay here again on our next trip to Molokai.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 30, 2009   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful condo on
our Honeymoon and then on our Babymoon. We
would (and want to) go back in a minute. The
condo is beautiful and clean and just minutes from
the gorgeous beach. I have never felt so relaxed
after a vacation than staying in Molokai at this
place. And it is an amazing deal. Thanks and I've
just remembered all the beauty as I write this
comment...it is wonderful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review